Results of the Big Garden Birdwatch

Male Cardinal


Female Cardinal

White Throated Sparrow

Carolina Wren

Male Cardinal


White Breasted Nuthatch


Tufted Titmouse


Gray Squirrel
(he eats enough sunflower seed to qualify as a bird)


Male House Finch


Male Downy Woodpecker

Carolina Chickadee


Pileated Woodpecker
Here are the results of the birdwatch at Faire Garden, January 26, 2008, from 8:15 AM to 9:15 AM
White throated sparrow, zonotrichia albicollis-5
Rufous sided towhee, pipilo erythrophthalmus-2
American goldfinch, carduelis tristis-5
House finch, carpodacus mexicanus-6
Northern cardinal, cardinalis cardinalis-7
Brown thrasher, toxostoma rufum-1
Carolina wen, thryotherus ludovicianus-1
White breasted nuthatch, sitta carolinensis-2
Red breasted nuthatch, sitta canadensis-1
Carolina chickadee, parus carolinensis-3
Tufted titmouse, parus bicolor-2
Bluejay, cyanocitta cristata-2
Downy woodpecker, picoides pubescens-2
Red bellied woodpecker, melanerpes carolinus-1
Mourning Dove, zenaida macrovra-3
The Pileated woodpecker, dryocopus pileatus, was seen and photographed the same day, January 26, 2008 in Asheville, North Carolina. The Faire Garden clan went on a road trip there after the bird count was completed in Tennessee to visit one of our offspring and spouse. Many thanks to Miss Ash for helping out with photos of some of the counted birds from her files. We were standing in the kitchen looking out the window when the magnificent woodpecker began to work on a dead tree snag at the rear of the property. The camera was grabbed and out the door I ran. Slowly tiptoeing toward the bird with camera on, the shutter was opened. Then off the bird flew. My heart was racing with adrenalin. One hopes to improve the quality of bird portraits with practice. It is quite different to snap an earth bound flower than to shoot the moving, shy winged flowers.
Frances

This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Results of the Big Garden Birdwatch

  1. Carol says:

    That’s quite a list of birds at Faire Garden. I looked at my feeder a few times and… nothing. No birds today. I guess they still need to find me.

    Carol, May Dreams Gardens

  2. kate says:

    The Pileated Woodpecker must have been quite the beautiful sight. The male house finch was more colourful than I thought – you attract lots of birds and gathered an impressive list!

    I liked the way you included squirrels – they do pretend to be birds and steal all the food.

  3. Frances says:

    Carol…It sometimes seems the birds know when we want to capture their images, and stay in the tress and bushes. Your pictures from before are proof they know you have upgraded the menu, the little bashful beauties!

    Kate…For a long time I could not tell the difference between the purple finch and the house finch. The camera helped see the markings to assist in that. And those squirrels, grrrr!

  4. brokenbeat says:

    that’s not the first time our friend, the pileated woodpecker, has been banging his face against the nearby trees. he comes and goes, but i think, due to the decomposition of the big tree in the backyard, he will be around, digging his beak into the softened tree bole. that’s a hope.

  5. Frances says:

    brokenbeat…As long as there are bugs in your log, he should hang around. We have one out back, I can hear his hyena cry and occasionally see his wings spread wide as he soars around the tree tops. He is captivating.

  6. chuck b. says:

    Wow, that’s a lot of birds! If I’d joined in this year, I would have had a blue jay, some finches, and maybe a hummingbird. I see those every day. Once in awhile I get some birds I don’t recognize.

    How did you learn to recognize birds?

    I think your male cardinal is my favorite on this post.

  7. Frances says:

    chuck b…how wonderful to see a hummingbird everyday! We see them in the summer here, they love the rows of salvia greggiis. Need a whole yard of those plants. I bought a bird book, the Peterson guide to eastern birds, Peterson makes a lot of field guides and surely there is a good basic ID book for western yards. I need binoculars also to see the details of stripes and bars to differentiate between similar birds.

  8. chickenpoet says:

    BIRDS

    Beautiful little winged flowers that sing heart soothing songs. Good post. Much love

  9. Frances says:

    chickenpoet…how lovely. BTW how is your phone?

  10. Yolanda Elizabet says:

    How nice to see that so many birds decided to visit your garden to be counted Frances. In my country we had a bird count too, we have that every year. The housesparrow is the most popular bird although in my garden the bird I spotted most was the chaffinch.

    I like the white throated sparrow, it’s very pretty.

  11. Frances says:

    Yolanda Elizabet…We should consider ourselves lucky here to have the diversity of birds. But when I was trying to count them, they were hiding for some reason.

  12. semi says:

    your pics are wonderful of the birds. you have so many. I wish we could have photoed some of the bluebirds that were in the backyard. BTW I saw one as I was coming home from work in the neighborhood. They must have found a home nearby.

  13. Frances says:

    semi…we’ll keep trying to get a photo of those bluebirds. Maybe they will use your little house for them.

Comments are closed.