July Bloom Day 2008-A Wide Variety

As we were assembling this month’s bloom day photos for the flower extravaganza sponsored by super blogger Carol at
May Dreams Gardens, it was noticed that the flowers open now are as wide a range of types as any other time during the year. You will see what I am talking about in this post. Most of the orchids we grow bloom during the winter months, that is the object of having them, exotic flowers in the greenhouse/sunroom during those dreary days. But here is Paphiopedilum Honey ‘Newberry’ x Paph. primulinus ‘Lemon Glow’, with even more buds showing for future flowers in the dog days of summer. The Old Farmer’s Almanac lists the traditional timing of the Dog Days as the 40 days beginning July 3 and ending August 11, coinciding with the ancient heliacal (at sunrise) rising of the Dog Star, Sirius. There is a growing bud on another of the paphs as well, hooray!
This vanda alliance hybrid usually give us three blooms a year.
More seasonal is this coneflower, echinacea ‘Sundown’.
We couldn’t resist E. ‘Coconut Lime’.
E. ‘Harvest Moon’ has been a good performer also.
Roses grown here include old fashioned or antique roses such as this R. ‘Grootendorst Supreme’, we have nicknamed this one Thorny. Even the leaves have sharp spikes.
Rosa’ Ferdinand Pitchard’ is unscathed by the Japanese beetles so far, thanks to Jersey and her milk jug of soapy water.
Dahlias have been known to winter over here, so we like to give them a try. This is a brand new one, no cultivar name. Lowe’s refers to it as *annual dahlia*, we hope for this to be perennial dahlia instead. It could happen. For those of you sensitive souls who have an aversion to red and yellow, what do you think of the addition of the orange from our little friend the Pearl Crescent?
We have had luck overwintering the seed started D. ‘Bishop’s Children’, when we don’t try and move them mid season that is. I like the washed out color on this one. The dark leaves earned it a place in the black garden, surrounded by taller shrubs to help protect it against the ravages of winter.
Another annual one with iridescence to the petals. I’ll let you know next spring if these made it or not.
Searching for the truest blue of the eryngiums, this flower and stem seemed the darkest hued.
Followed by this one.
Here is the whole plant, showing many blossoms of varying shades of steely blue next to it’s new best friend, Helenium ‘Mardi Gras’.
The blue balloon flower, platycodon, a passalong from neighbors Mae and Mickey offers cool color during the hot days.
We love the white one too, with it’s blue veining.
Monarda ‘Blue Stockings’ is visited by butterflies, bees and hummingbirds.
As is the red M. ‘Jacob Kline’.
The first flower opened of the rudbeckia fulgida ‘Goldsturm’ group. This little bee wants some pollen, but the actual flowers in the center don’t appear to be open for business just yet. Or maybe those at the outer edge are available for the early diners. The brown plate special.
The white phlox paniculata ‘David’ is enjoying it’s new home in the white/yellow garden. Blooming next to it is rudbeckia hirta, the annual gloriosa daisy. In the background is echinacea ‘Harvest Moon’.
The old fashioned no name phlox paniculata from Mae and Mickey is very tall and mixes well with the other bright colors of the summer garden. Paniculata means tall when it is seen in the latin name of a plant.
This morning glory snuck by me and bloomed in the pyracantha bushes. We are overrun with all colors of these as they carpeted the top of the hill when we bought this property. Many years of seeds are buried in that soil, and germinate everywhere. We try and catch them all now, but mistakenly let them bloom in the beginning when there was lots of open garden space to fill. The flowers are admittedly lovely, but too many seeds!
Another plant that came with the property is this prunella vulgaris, self heal is one of the common names. According to some laboratory studies, prunella has many potential benefits, including anti-microbial, anti-viral, and anti-oxidant properties. It is an evergreen rosette in the winter and flowers mid summer with these charming little blue trumpets. At twelve inches tall it fits in nicely with the penstemons in the old gravel driveway of the house next door that was torn down to build our garage. A volunteer purple perilla lends dark mystery to the vignette.
The first zinnia of the year, one of the self sown. The butterflies and hummers are mad for these flowers. We sowed many packages of seeds this spring, too soon, and they all rotted in the too cool soil. We bought more and those are up but not flowering yet.
On the new arbor minus the climbing rose Killer, the crossvine, Bignonia ‘Tangerine Beauty’ is happily winding its way across the top.
Tiny purple flowers of moss verbena stand out against the dark leaves of groundcover ajuga reptans. Growing in the concrete swan planters is a tough task, the pot portion is small, letting the moisture dry out very quickly. The verbena is well suited to the dryness, a native of the south, we grew it in our Houston garden. It shall be seen if it can overwinter here.
The southern standby crepe myrtle is opening. We have several cultivars here and there, this one is Zuni, two stand sentinel at each end of the center curb planting.
A pink oriental lily, name unknown, as it was a free gift from Wayside last year with the purchase of some viburnums. A package of three, two are this light pink and one was Stargazer. That was a pretty good freebie.
Liatris spicata in the yellow/white bed. It was supposed to be white.
Seeds from Semi of the annual scabiosa atropurpurea produce red, purple and near black flowering plants. They are in the black garden and give candy colored accent to the dark foliage.
Blackberry lily, belamcanda chinensis, with hornet attached was given as seed by friend Laurie years ago. We have faithfully saved the seeds and planted them in this bed by the shed where the eryngium, helenium and stipa call home, trying for a mass planting some day.
Nastursium ‘Alaska’ seeds were sown in the blue strawberry jar in the driveway.
The leaves are the thing here, the flowers are a bonus.
Also from seed, new to us this year is cerinthe purpurescens. While not as purple as the photo on the seed packet, we are liking them so far. In the background the Japanese blood grass is showing good color. This grass is planted along the forty foot wall behind the main house as a common thread, along with scores of other plants. I love the look of the sun backlighting the red blades.
The wall is just at chest height for me to walk along and pull weeds and tend the flowers growing along it. The containers are all here also to soften the look of the block and are within easy reach of the hose spigot to keep their thirsts quenched. This is micro gardening at its best. I can pull a stray weed, pinch a spent bloom and admire the growth without getting dirty or working up a sweat. Lining the path is a sea of purple perilla. They are very close to being pulled for they have grown too tall and will get much taller, about four feet. I don’t like to wade through that much foliage to get to the wall and the deck. A few will be left but they should not be allowed to flower. I say that every year, that is why we have what you see above now. This year I mean it. No flowering.
This is the segment of flowers coming to the end of their season. The larkspur was the best ever this year, planted in the veggie garden at the same time as the sugar snap peas. We are allowing the seed heads to form for next year’s sowing. We cannot grow delphiniums here, but these relatives offer that same true blue color.
The last two flowers of crocosmia ‘Lucifer’ look striking against the foliage of ninebark ‘Summer Wine’, Physocarpus opulifolious ‘Summer Wine’, in the black garden. There are seed heads forming, what should be done with them? Does anyone know when to sow them? Just let them drop to the ground, or harvest and save them for special treatment?
Another last bloom, this one of nigella. Most of these have been pulled to keep from having them engulf the entire yard. We still love that blue though.
Dianthus ‘Firewitch’ sends out sporadic lone flowers long after the big spring show. They too are welcome now.
But the strangest of all is the new flowers blooming on the hellebore. It must be the extra watering that this area has been given, where the hydrangeas now live, around ferngully. It is disconcerting to see these February flowers blooming now.
Even more jarring is seeing these pansies blooming. The plant as a whole looks terrible, but these individual flowers are welcome.
A little tattered but still our Maureen.
Miss Charlotte is still a looker.
Proof of the true season, the Autumn Joy sedum is going from broccoli to pink powderpuff stage. Backed by Blue Star junipers with some wayward Japanese painted fern peeking up, these flowers mean fall is coming. They even have Autumn in the name.

There has been rain here over the last few days. It comes in brief cloud bursts accompanied by thunder and lightning. These storms have added over three inches of water to the gardens and it is much welcomed by the plants and gardener alike. Keep it comin’.

Frances

This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to July Bloom Day 2008-A Wide Variety

  1. patientgardener says:

    What a gorgeous collection of flowers

  2. Katarina i Kullavik says:

    Frances, I’m in love with the pansy miss Charlotte! So very pretty! Is it the weather that makes hellebores and pansies flower again, do you think? The weather here keeps getting more and more unusual – I wonder how it will affect the plants in the long run…
    You’ve got a wonderful collection of flowers – thanks for sharing!
    /Katarina

  3. tina says:

    Yeah for the rain! It all looks super great Frances!

  4. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Frances, it is good to hear that you are finally getting some good water amounts.

    Your blooms are spectacular. I also like the bonus of seeing the Pearl Crescent and the bee.

    Every time I see a picture of Eryngiums I think I must try some here.

    The wall is such a good way to get things up close and easy to weed. The trough gardens in front of the wall are great.

    I can’t believe you have pansies still blooming. Ours are long burned out.

  5. Gail says:

    I meant to get here early and not have to wait in line! The tour is delightful…There were many plants to admire and so many good ideas. Frances, you are good for my spirit and bad for my budget!

    Your pink phlox is lovely and I see how well it does in full sun! Mine is in partial sun…that’s what we have here;) and David is always a delight…you know I pulled him out when I was dealing with the phlox bug (sigh) must get more!

    The steel blue eryngiums is so perfect and I wish I had the sun for it, so I shall have to admire it from afar and not get any ideas about trying to stick it in the the already stuffed sunny garden!

    Frances as always I have a great time visiting here! See you soon I hope!

    gail

  6. Rose says:

    So much to see–where to begin?? I’ll have to remember that larkspur; I planted one delphinium this year which doesn’t seem to have grown an inch.
    I have the same problem with morning glories, but each year there seem to be fewer of them coming up. I like your retaining wall–being able to weed and deadhead without bending over sounds great to me!

    Glad you have had some much-needed rain. Everything is looking beautiful at Faire Garden!

  7. Frances, says:

    Hi Helen, thanks for stopping by. Glad you enjoyed the presentation. ;->

    Hi Katarina,thanks. The pansies are under some other leafy plants on the north side of the house, so more protected than most of the garden. The rain is key, I think. I don’t know what to make of the hellebores however. Maybe they always do that and I never noticed until I started blogging and taking more photos of the garden.

    Hi Tina, yes to that thought and keep it coming. Dry all week they say, we may be watering again too soon. Thanks.

    Hi Lisa, thanks. Someday when I am too decrepit to do much gardening, I will have a wall at the right height to mosey along and fiddle with. The pansies are quite a surprise to me too. They are all in the same bed, under some leaves on the north side of the house, but it has not been watered by me so the shade and protection seem to be important. The whole plant looks awful, it is hard to believe they can manage a bloom. All the other kajillion pansies are fried elsewhere.

    Hi Gail, hope you didn’t have to wait too long in line ;-> The eryngiums really do have to have sun, but they still have to be supported even with the all day full sun they get here. The phlox grows well in sun or dappled shade. The largest bloom heads are usually on the daylily hill, which only gets morning sun. This year I cut all the tall ones down by half to delay the bloom and shorten the height so they are way behind. David is my favorite by far, he gets better every year. I look at the other varieties at the nurseries, they are tempting but do we really need more colors?

    Hi Rose, thanks for stopping by. Bloom day is so fun, so many places to visit, this time of year is hard with lots of work outside harvesting the ever growing squash, tomatoes and beans let alone trying to deadhead flowers and general weeding and maintenance. So much easier in the winter!

  8. Roses and Lilacs says:

    Frances, your garden is lovely. I wish I could get coneflowers like your Sundown to overwinter here. They just never make it thru the winter. The old fashioned ones do well but not the pretty new hybrids.

    Seeing your crepe myrtle I remember how much I loved them when I lived in Alabama. Another thing we can’t grow in northern IL.
    Marnie

  9. Skeeter says:

    Your pictures are always a delight to view! I must get some pointers some time…
    I love the blue Eryngiums!

    I try to stick with drought tolerant and longevity in the bloom department for my garden. After seeing everyone’s beautiful blooms today, I am rethinking things. I am glad you had some rain. I know how you feel as we finally had a few pop up showers to help things a bit. But we need so much more! Now to I must once again rethink that drought tolerant plant thing. Drought, watering, hose, beauty, heat, humidity, color… Ho Hum… Oh, what is a gal to do???

  10. VP says:

    What a lovely show you have in your garden this month Frances :)

  11. Cindy says:

    Such lovely flowers. I really like the Blackberry lily – it just pops!
    The turning of the Autumn Joy is such a reminder that summer is marching on and fall is just around the corner.

  12. Carol says:

    What a tremendous amount of bloom. Outstanding orchids, and so much variety outside, like you noted. It seems it would take days to see your whole garden right now, and admire all the beautiful blooms.

    Thanks for joining in for bloom day.

    Carol, May Dreams Gardens

  13. Phillip says:

    That was a great tour. I’d love to try the eryngium. I’ve never seen it in nurseries around it but I always admire it when I see it on tv or in books. Have you ever grown the dahlia ‘Bishop of Llandalf’? I’m wanting to try that next year.

  14. chey says:

    Beautiful blooms Frances! I especially love your different selections of coneflowers, in particular the Coconut Lime. It looks totally edible:)!. And I absolutely love your rock wall with all of your plantings underneath!

  15. Frances, says:

    Hi Marnie, welcome and thanks for stopping by. When we lived in PA I missed the crepes too, but they are working on some more cold hardy varieties, there may be something you can grow there. The fancy echinceas are not nearly as fool proof as the old stand bys for sure. I have replaced several and keep trying to find that perfect spot where they are happy and will thrive, it is not everywhere in my garden though. It seems to be a drainage issue.

    Hi Skeeter, thanks. It’s like the butterfly photos, many get taken for just a few good ones. I wish I knew more about how to manually adjust my camera. I am also on the drought tolerant train, but give everything a try a couple of times. Sometimes it’s just a matter of finding the right spot.

    Hi VP, thanks and welcome. Good job on the agapanthus!

    Hi Cindy, thanks. The blackberry lilies are such a great color and very easy to grow in full sun here. Autumn Joy seems to start turning sooner every year, or is that just my age making time go faster? ;->

    Hi Carol, another spectacular turnout for your bloom day. It is a real blogging event. There is a lot going on here right now, and lots that needs doing too with the veggies getting ahead of me. Need any squash?

  16. Mr. McGregor's Daughter says:

    I didn’t realize that Eryingium stems were blue also. That is too cool. You’re not the only one with weirdly behaving Hellebores. Iowa Victory Gardener at Urban Garden had one bloom a couple of weeks ago. I’m glad mine are behaving. As always, your range of flowers is staggering & wonderful. Hooray for Tennessee rains!

  17. Frances, says:

    Hi Phillip, thanks for stopping by. I had to mail order the eryngium, I got different ones from several sources for a good mix, but e. alpinum has been the winner. Finally they have self sown, the best bet for more plants. It takes over a year for the seed to germinate, like the hellebores, with a cold period. Bishop of L. was the first dahlia I grew, mail ordered again and was tickled to find it overwintered. I moved it several times until I finally killed it. Good drainage and plenty of sun were best. Good luck with it. The bishop’s children seed strain from Thompson and Morgan has done well also.

    Hi Chey, thanks. I do love the coconut lime even though I rail against the double flowered types, when I saw it in person it called my name out loud. The wall is concrete block that has a rough finish like stone and the moss growing on it helps soften it too.

    Hi MMD, thanks, we still need more rain but that really helped us. Those eryngiums are so cool, but they must be hard to grow in pots for nurseries to sell. I have never gotten collected seed to germinate inside or out, but the plants have self sown a few that will give me the mass that is desired. They can be moved when very small, there is a taproot. I don’t know what to make of the hellebores, is the end near???

  18. DP Nguyen says:

    Frances-What a lovely assortment of colors and varieties of flowers you have in your garden! I love the bright colors you have-it really gives me the feel of summer time. Congrats on the rain too! It rained here last week, so my plants are also flourishing!

  19. Blackswamp_Girl says:

    I LOVE the wall with the containers in front! I don’t think you’ve shown that before… or if you have, I must have missed it. Very lovely and zen-like.

    On the hotter end of the scale, the crocosmia and purple ninebark really sizzle. I bought crocosmia seeds from Swallowtail Gardens (I think) this winter but never got around to planting them. Their seed packet instructions say to plant outside, directly where you want them to come up, after all danger of frost has passed. If you have enough seeds, I would try saving a few to do that, and leaving a few to reseed, too.

    You asked about my ‘Copper King’ lilies… I bought them at a local garden center in a bulb packet a few years back after they went on late spring clearance. They were labeled as trumpets, and with that name, but the picture showed them as being more orange than apricot. If you tell me how to collect the seed (my email address is listed in my blog profile) I would gladly do so and send some your way–I don’t have room for any more of these, myself! :)

  20. Yolanda Elizabet says:

    You have a very Faire collection of flowers to show on GBBD, Frances. How odd that your hellebore is in flower at the mo. Your autumn joy sedum is a bit further along than mine. Mine is still in its broccoli stage.

    Love the scabiosa, it’s flowering in my garden too in a lovely deep reddish black.

    Happy GBBD!

  21. ICQB says:

    What beautiful pictures! Your flowers are gorgeous. And now I know that my moonflower is actually a balloon flower – thanks! Mine was a hand-me-down too, and I love it.

  22. Frances, says:

    Hi DP, thank, glad to see you back and hope all went great. The rain really made a difference in the plants here, good deal on your getting some rain also. Thanks for stopping by.

    Oh wow, Kim, thanks. I will contact you. Thanks too for the info on the crocosmia seeds. I am keeping an eye on them to see when they turn brown, then will sow some and save some for next spring. So far I have grown only the asiatics from seeds, and the silly tiger lily bulbils, they don’t need my help to sow around. The wall is a fave of mine in the back garden, parts of it are shady at various times during the day so I can stand in the shade and do a little whatever for a couple of minutes. It is the most weed free bed in the garden!

    Hi YE, thanks for stopping by, glad to see you. Those scabiosas are great. Offspring Semi sowed a packet of seeds years ago in her street side bed and they have self sown all over in many colors. I keep trying to select for the black ones, but always get others too, they all are lovely. Not all of the sedums are turning, but that one in front is ahead of the game, ready for fall!

    Hi ICQB, first of all, I don’t think you are inconsequential but won’t tell anybody since that is your chosen moniker. ;-> Welcome and thanks for visiting. That is balloon flower in your pot, and a very lovely one.

  23. Connie says:

    This is the first time I’ve seen your blog. What a beautiful collection of flowers!! You’ve really taken alot of time to tell us about the plants, too. Wow…gonna add you to my list of blogs to visit! Thanks!

  24. Cindy says:

    Frances, I’m so glad you asked about the Crocosmia seeds. I wasn’t sure what to do with them either. This was the first year I grew them and I would love to have more in various spots around the gardens. This time next year, here’s hoping we both will!

  25. Randy and Jamie says:

    Wow! What beautiful flowers!Okay… I have never in my life seen a plant with blue stems and I am completely astonished. Eryngiums? I will certainly be researching that one!
    -Randy

  26. Catherine says:

    Hello Frances!
    A beautiful showcase of flowers you share with us!
    I love all of your sea hollys!:)
    Beautiful tour!
    Cat

  27. Nan Ondra says:

    Wow-ee, Frances, you really do have a lot going on in your garden right now. I expected to see coneflowers and verbenas, but seriously, hellebores and pansies in mid-July? That *is* a little freaky. The group photo of your troughs is really lovely (er…good luck with that perilla!). And your crocosmia shot is simply stunning. Thanks for sharing!

  28. Frances, says:

    Hi Connie, welcome and thanks. Glad you enjoyed the tour this month.

    Hi Cindy, thanks for stopping by. I left a comment with some info I got from gardenweb about how to grow the seeds. Seems easy enough, same time next year then?

    Hi Cat, thanks. Aren’t those sea hollies the best? I have struggled to get a good group of them going but feel progress has been made.

    Hi Nan, thanks. The perilla pulls up easily from the gravel, as do most of the things I don’t want growing there. If only the seeds would germinate like that in the actual flower beds. I am loving that crocosmia, this is the first year for it and highly recommend it to all. The pansies are very well protected from the blazing sun, they were found under some astible foliage in the rock wall bed in the front. The photos look way better than they do in real life. LOL.

  29. Karen Hall says:

    Lovely blooms Francis – I particularly like the echinacea,and the eryngiums, is a wonderful shade of blue – mine are still at seedling stage:(
    The Monardas are also looking vibrant.
    Regards
    Karen
    An Artists Garden

  30. Amy says:

    You’ve got an amazing array of blossoming plants, and the photos are wonderful. Thanks for sharing – I know how long it takes to upload allthose photos!

  31. Frances, says:

    Hi Randy and Jamie, welcome and so nice to see you here. Thanks for stopping in. The eryngium flowers and stems become more blue as they age, until they finally turn brown. They are a little hard to find and need excellent drainage and full sun.

    Hi karen, thanks. There are baby eryngiums scattered about the area now, they are so small one would miss them or mistake them for weeds easily. The very round leaves are the identifying factor, I have now learned, and did I mention they are really small, just one little leaf. But in a couple of years they will put forth a bloom, and they grow bigger and better after that. Hang in there, yours will give you those steely blooms too. I love them.

    Hi Amy, thanks so much. This was a larger than normal post, even for bloom day. You should have seen how many photos that were rejected to try and get the number down. Luckily the close up macro shots load quickly. It is the full garden shots that take a long time.

  32. Cinj says:

    Frances! What a lovely variety of blooms you have. I especially love the free lily, I’d take a free plant like that any day.

  33. chuck b. says:

    Those look like new flowers on your Cerinthe major. It will get muuuch more purple, just wait.

  34. cindee says:

    Wow everything looks so beautiful!!!! I really enjoyed the visit!! Thanks for sharing!!!

  35. chuck b. says:

    Did my comment vanish? If not, you can delete this. I just wanted to say it looks like your Cerinthe flowers are very new. The true purpleness comes later. Just you wait!

  36. Christopher C. NC says:

    There sure is lots going on at the Faire Garden. I’ll catch up with you some day. I’m getting lots of help and things keep following me home like a new Blackberry Lily. Be sure to save seeds of the Eryngium.

  37. Frances, says:

    Hi Cinj, thanks. I wish I knew the name of the light pink one, it is a sturdy fragrant beauty.

    Hi Chuck, thanks for stopping by. I keep waiting for the cerinthe to get darker and the flower has gotten darker, the photo is the darkest one, but the leaves are supposed to be more purple, aren’t they?

    Hi Cindee, glad you enjoyed it.

    Hi Christopher, you are already ahead with all those wildflowers and so much space. Bulbarella had a head start on me. ;-> I will save you some seeds but have to warn you that I have a zero success rate with the sowing myself, and I have tried everything. The babies just appear in the area, not where I plant seeds either. It is a mystery how it is working. But you will probably get them going. I will wait until they are good and brown then send them to you.

  38. Jan says:

    It was great to see all of the flowers blooming in your garden. With all the heat we have been having down here, few plants are blooming right now. We will have to wait for the fall to have as many as you do.

    Jan
    Always Growing

  39. Dee/reddirtramblings says:

    Just beautiful, Frances. I can sometimes get the dahlias to overwinter in the ground with mulch. You have a beautiful garden. If I ever get to Tennessee again, can I come by?~~Dee

  40. Frances, says:

    Hi Jan, thanks for stopping by. High temps take a toll on things, don’t they. Hope your fall comes soon. ;->

    Hi Dee, thanks. I need to pay more attention to mulching the dahlias, put that on the task list, thanks for reminding me. You are absolutely welcome to come anytime. Let me know when and I can have the garden weeded. ;->

  41. gintoino says:

    So many blooms Frances, each one nicer that the other. My Autumn joy sedum in nowhere near blooming. Lovelly coneflowers

  42. Frances, says:

    Hi Gintoino, thanks so much. That one autumn joy is ahead of the others, they are still in the broccoli stage. I love those green buds.

  43. susan harris says:

    Your photographs – WOW!

  44. mss @ Zanthan Gardens says:

    Strange to see winter flowers like violas and nasturtiums blooming at the same time as southern flowers like crape myrtle. Mostly, though, you have a lot of flowers I don’t grow in any season.

    I love your trough containers in front of the stone wall. That seems like such a pleasant spot.

  45. Frances, says:

    Thanks, Susan.

    Hi MSS, thanks. The nastursiums are summer only here, but the pansies and violas are not normally blooming now. The plants are dried and frizzled, but those few flowers were good enough to photograph, just for interest. That corner of the wall is just a few feet from the lower deck, a place that is shaded in the afternoon and has the table and chairs for eating al fresco. The shade makes it one of the coolest spots here.

  46. Bobbi says:

    Nice photos! There is always so much to see on your site – I love it!

  47. Stuart says:

    My goodness Frances. These are truly beautiful. I’m a big fan of Echinaceas so I drooled all over the screen when I saw yours. Cheers for sharing them all.

  48. Frances, says:

    Hi Bobbie, thanks so much for those kind words, it means a lot.

    Hi Stuart, nice to see you here, thanks for stopping in. Glad you liked the echinaceas, they are carrying the garden through our hot and dry times right now.

  49. chuck b. says:

    The whole end of the stem will turn purple, leaves, bracts, and all.

    That little sliver of orange really sets off your dahlias, btw. :)

  50. Robin's Nesting Place says:

    Frances, I’ve enjoyed your GBBD post. You have so many beautiful flowers in bloom right now. I’m so glad your garden is being refreshed with rain.

  51. Frances, says:

    Hi Chuck, thanks for that info. I will wait patiently for that purple. I thought of you with the yellow and red dahlia, and the orange was just the touch to perfect it.

    Hi Robin, thanks so much. The rain has ceased and we are back to hose watering again, sigh.

  52. Bonnie says:

    Amazing variety in your garden. And the colors really stand out. I’m jealous of your rain possibilities.

  53. Frances, says:

    Hi Bonnie, thanks. We did get a little rain, but are back to dry now for the next couple of weeks. The hose is back to work.

  54. Kerri says:

    You have plenty of wonderful blooms in your July garden, Frances! I love the thought of not having to bend over to weed at the wall. That’s a beautiful scene with the lovely planters. How amazing to have a hellebore blooming. Pansies I have, but no hellebore!
    I can’t seem to keep delphiniums for more than a couple of years. Larkspurs are so much more reliable with their self-seeding habit, and I love the color!
    Glad you got some rain and hope you get more. Hand watering is a pain, taking away time we could be working in the garden!

  55. Daisy K says:

    oh my!! i am so very jealous!! maybe one day…. when we have enough land.
    thank you so much for sharing your beauties. i am truly captivated!!

    D

  56. Frances, says:

    Hi Kerri, thanks so much. The hellebores are weird, especially with this heat. I love the blue of the larkspur too, and they are so much easier to grow. We sow seed in late winter and they still have a few flowers. We are saving seed for next year’s blooms now.

    Hi Daisy, thanks for dropping by. We do have a large garden area, too much really. Funny, I used to dream of lots of land, now I dream of less land that is flatter.

  57. Kim says:

    Frances, your flowers are spectacular! I want my garden to be just like yours when it grows up. Thanks for sharing.

  58. Frances, says:

    Hi Kim, thanks so much. My garden is not an adult yet either. Really more about editing at this point. Always work to do, but we wouldn’t have it any other way.

  59. lisa says:

    Great selection of blooms! I feel somewhat relieved to see your hellebore blooming in summer-mine did too. It even looks like the same cultivar, though I don’t know the name of mine. (It was “hellebore mix” from Michigan Bulb). I’m new to orchids this year, I hope my Cattleya winds up as happy as your paphs! And I’m in LOVE with “Thorny”! I’m so glad you listed the cultivar, because it’s hardy to my zone and I want one! :)

  60. Frances, says:

    Hi Lisa, thanks. My hellebore is a seedling from the big momma plant. There are variations in the babies, this one is solid greenish white. Now Thorny is a great no maintenance rose too, good luck with it.

  61. bestdank says:

    Frances your Vanda is stunning, and 3x a year is an added bonus. I am glad to see this Paph made it past the chopping block, sorry couldn’t resist. Great Growing as always. You always have some of the prettiest blooms on the internet!

  62. Frances, says:

    Hi Aaron, oh I get it about the chopping block, it took a minute. No, I am very careful around the orchids now. No snips allowed! Thanks so much for that high compliment, especially with so many great bloggers out there now.

Comments are closed.