Nothing But Good

november-6-2008-tellico-plains-003november-6-2008-tellico-plains-001Our weather is in for a change. We have been having the most glorious blue sky warm day chilly night sunny still wind conditions ever recollected. By me. Enough of this sitting in the lazyboy blogging away, we need to go to the mountains before the leaf extravaganza is over and the stark stems of winter replace the riot of color. Grab the camera and your boots, and the cell phone, and a jacket and let’s hop into the gas hog and go to Tellico Plains. The drive is less than thirty minutes from my house to the base of the Cherohala Skyway. As we climb the steep incline there are signs showing an image of a camera indicating a place to pull over and take a photo, how thoughtful of them! The first photo op we opt to stop at shows this signage explaining how the Civilian Conservation Corps worked and lived in these mountains to repair and reforest the land during the Great Depression after extensive logging had been done. The view over the top of the sign shows we are just in time to catch some color before the leaves release themselves and float down to the forest floor.november-6-2008-tellico-plains-011-21

The Cherohala Skyway was completed in the fall of 1996 after being under construction for some thirty-four years. It is North Carolina’s most expensive highway carrying a pricetag of $100,000,000. Winding up and over 5,400 foot mountains for 15 miles in North Carolina and descending another 21 miles into the deeply forested backcountry of Tennessee. The road crosses through the Cherokee and Nantahala National Forests thus the name “Chero…hala”.

  For complete information about this scenic byway including maps click here.  The hand drawn circle is my car.  Click on all photos to enlarge, then scroll around to see the details of each shot. You can read the text on the sign above by clicking and scrolling to read.november-6-2008-tellico-plains-031There is plant life galore. Growing right along the pavement is this native heuchera. But what’s that in the lower left corner in this picture?november-6-2008-tellico-plains-034Attention: Public service announcement!!! If you ever see something that looks like this on a tree, rocks or the ground, DO NOT TOUCH IT! Do not try and pet it or pry it loose. This is the leafless vine of poison ivy and it packs a wallop just as bad as the leaf if not worse.november-6-2008-tellico-plains-030Here is some with the leaves still attached and covered in innocent looking lichen. Don’t be fooled by the pretty color. Leave this one alone!november-6-2008-tellico-plains-047This road is not only scenic but is a great place for fly fishing. There are no fishermen here today, but the Financier and I have fished here on occasion and the Gardoctor has as well. They sell fishing licenses in town for a day, week, or the whole season and all the gear. Some new condos and cabins have been built at the entrance to the skyway along with a visitor center and museum. All the architecture is attractive and suitably rustic. There were already some eateries and small shops built long ago so the new structures are not a blot on the landscape. I rather like them in fact. There are no buildings once we start the ascent.november-6-2008-tellico-plains-063This is what we came to see.november-6-2008-tellico-plains-058This is a zoom in of the top of the falls. There is a bridge for people to stand on to take photos and just drink in the beauty with a small parking area just on the other side of the bridge. There is room for about four or five cars, today there were three including mine.november-6-2008-tellico-plains-057The falls from the left.november-6-2008-tellico-plains-064And from the right.
november-6-2008-tellico-plains-0701 We used to take lots of pleasure drives around these parts but since the price of fuel starting rising those have been few. But today we feel we can afford this little jaunt part ways up the mountain to the North Carolina border which even crosses the Appalachian Trail. Thanks once again for coming along with me. I really do get flashes of apprehension when I am alone and climbing around on steep slippery rocks in isolated areas, even with boots and a jacket this time. Key word being alone. My balance is not as good as it once was, and it was never very good at that. Thank goodness you were with me to keep a look out and just settle my nerves a little. Until next time.
Frances

This entry was posted in Road Trips. Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to Nothing But Good

  1. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Frances, thank you for taking us along with you on your day trip. What beauty you have so close. Now those falls are some inspiration for a waterfall on your slope. :) I love the mountains. I wonder if any of the CCC workers are alive to see that all their hard work paid off?

    Hi Lisa, thanks for going along with me again. You have been a steadfast companion on my travels! I used to go over this way a lot when we first moved here, in the spring it is the best as the new leaf color is a chartruese green contrast with the dark tree trunks and rocks. Visits later were always made to see offspring instead of nature as the price of gas went through the roof. We will make it a point to come back more often. Those workers would have been in their eighties when the road was completed, so possibly saw it. Hope so. Some may live in the area, the people around here have not moved much and their ancestors go way back!
    Frances

  2. Zoe says:

    Beautiful! As for fuel prices, just be glad you don’t live in the UK. It costs about 4 times that for unleaded here. Even though the prices have fallen, it is still around £1 a litre.Diesel is even higher.

    Hi Zoe, thanks. As for living in the UK, I get the idea from the blogs that you have public transportation to take visits like this or just to go anywhere. We have none of that for hundreds of miles from where I live. Maybe the US is just too spread out for it to be feasible. We are thankful that the price is low, but don’t feel it will last. We must find an alternative energy source, like yesterday!!!!
    Frances

  3. Cindy says:

    The Falls are beautiful. I can feel the chill coming off that mountain water though.

    Hi Cindy, thanks, they really were much prettier than my photos. It was way cooler up there too, glad for the jacket!
    Frances

    • Jimmy D says:

      Those falls look awesome! What is it about wild running water that stirs the soul so much?

      Hi Jimmy, thanks and welcome. The falls are always hypnotizing to me, but this time they transported us. The rainbow was jaw dropping.
      Frances

  4. tina says:

    What a wonderful trip! You live in such a pretty part of the state and country. Thanks for taking me along.

    Hi Tina, thanks for coming along! I have to remember to head East from my house towards the mountains. I will have to go down to Ocoee too, that is not any farther than Tellico Plains.
    Frances

  5. That’s a very quiet and beautiful area. Thanks for taking us along on your excursion.

    Our days have been so glorious, too. It will be 80 degrees here today! Many of my plants are still blooming…they don’t know WHAT’S UP!

    Cameron

    Hi Cameron, you are so right. It was VERY quiet. Just the sound of the water going over the rocks in some places and the loud waterfall. This is not at all close to a major highway, maybe that is why there are so few people there now. It summer there are lots of campers all over along the river, a different environment.
    Frances

  6. Gail says:

    Frances, What a beautiful setting for a hike! Your photographs are lovely and capture the waterfall and trails. Those waterfalls, distant views and native plants always take my breath away! We do live in a beautiful part of the country…I say we meaning even we Middle Tennessee residents have a few hours drive to be in such beauty! Thank you for the tour…I wish there was a way for you to let us smell the crisp air or feel the coolness of the breeze. Next time I visit let’s hike, too;-) Gail

    Hi Gail, it was so beautiful, wish you could go too. Next time you come we will take a ride over, it doesn’t take long at all. You would have loved all the natives but there was so much poison ivy everywhere. It wasn’t really a hiking trail but rather a driving trail! We will go, I promise.
    Frances

  7. Marnie says:

    Frances, that’s a beautiful area. I haven’t been there in years. Thanks for taking me back.
    Marnie

    HI Marnie, it is. I had not been there in a few years myself and will be going back more. Thanks for coming along!
    Frances

  8. Sylvia (England) says:

    Frances, your pictures are lovely. We are having a beautiful Autumn, the colours are lovely, less red and more yellow than yours.

    Public transport – I am sure it is good in more built up areas but in rural areas it is often just a token. Some villages don’t have a bus, other just once a week. A car is really a necessity, I could get to work by bus (2 different buses) but wouldn’t be able to do a 8 hour day and it would take me three to four times as long.

    I can enjoy the autumn colours during my 25 minute journey – I am lucky to drive through scenic countryside, between the two villages.

    Best wishes Sylvia (England)

    Hi Sylvia, so nice to see you. I appreciate learning more about life in the UK and different parts of it. Like you, life for us in the country is very different than in the cities. We both can enjoy the beauty of where we live, lucky us. Very lucky us.
    Frances

  9. nancybond says:

    What a breathtaking spot! I love waterfalls and could sit by their melodious pools for hours on end. Great places to do some serious thinking. ;) Looks like a wonderful way to spend the day!

    Hi Nancy, it really is a wonderful spot and the drive up is so scenic too. Very contemplative, but I am such a wanderer, it is hard for me to sit still! Too much to explore. LOL
    Frances

  10. Debi says:

    I adore that part of our world, Frances. The best times of my childhood were spent in the Smokey Mountains, and as a young adult would travel up to white water raft on the Nantahala, Ocoee and other waters. The scenery is breathtaking. I think it’s time for a drive up again. Thanks for dusting off some memories.

    Hi Debi, it is a wonderful spot. We are very lucky to live so close. Ocoee is not much farther either. Thanks for reminding me of it.
    Frances

  11. Randy says:

    Ooooooooooooooh, I am so over due a trip to the mountains. You made me itch for a ride up there. Wonderful pictures, I love the waterfalls.

    Hi Randy, thanks, we are drawn to the mountains also. I forget to go there, thinking instead about going to Knoxville all the time. Hope you get to go too. It has started raining here and will knock the leaves down. So glad I went yesterday, just in time!

    Frances

  12. gittan says:

    Wow! What a wonderful place! I enjoed the trip as well, specially the waterfall (hrm, I do have a spellingproblem, I hope it’s not too bad..) By the way. Now you are abel to read on my site as well, I’ve translated into english.

    Hi Gittan, thanks so much. And thanks for traslating your blog into English. You have beautiful maples! Your spelling is quite readable. I did try and leave a comment on your blog but could not figure out how to follow the directions, sorry. ;-<
    Frances

  13. Phillip says:

    Frances, you live in one of the most beautiful areas of the country. I’m still contemplating retirement in the Asheville area. I just love it there but it has been a while since I’ve visited. That $2.03 gas price photo looks like a relic from the past. :)

    Hi Phillip, I agree. Asheville is a perfect spot, if somewhat pricey. If you get a little away it is much more affordable. On the TN side, it is just as pretty but lacks the amenities Asheville offers so far. Maybe someday. Tellico Plains is amazing and hardly anthing is there now. No interstate close by but it is easy to get to. They have visions of grandeur for the future. It is pristine.
    Frances

  14. mothernaturesgarden says:

    The shots of the falls are fabulous, Frances. Wish I could have been with you.
    Donna

    Hi Donna, thanks. I wish you were there too, you take such beautiful pictures, yours would have been wonderful. There was beauty everywhere you looked, it was hard to know what to shoot. I did take a lot and it was hard to narrow them down to just these few.
    Frances

  15. Kathleen says:

    Perfect day trip Frances. Glad you didn’t slip & fall too. It looks just beautiful this time of year even if I do prefer the full on green of summer. I spent many weekends as a child hiking parts of the Appalachian Trail with my father, too bad we didn’t do this section. After living at the foothills of the Rocky Mtns tho, these mountains seem gentle and rolling in comparison. I never thought that before and especially not as a kid having to hike them!
    Beautiful scenic shots.

    Hi Kathleen, thanks for joining me. This same spot in spring as the leaves are just emerging is a fairyland of beauty. I like your comparison of the mountains to the rockies. Northern Shade has a series of photos of the rockies and remarks how sharp they are compared to the worn down ones like these. Still steep though! You were lucky to do that hiking, although referring to it as HAVING TO shows that it scarred you for life!
    Frances

  16. ourfriendben says:

    Looks so gorgeous! Glad you didn’t slip or fall. (I know the feeling.) And thanks for sharing the poison ivy photo. So many people don’t have a clue about the vines!

    Hi OFB, thanks. It was the best day ever, so glad I decided to go there. It is raining now and the leaves are falling fast and furious ahead of the cold front. I wondered if anyone didn’t know that was what poison ivy looks like in winter, it would be a bad lesson to learn. I wanted to look for wildflowers around there but when I saw those massive vines, they were everywhere!, I stayed on the road.
    Frances

  17. VP says:

    I love your garden Frances, but it was lovely to get out for a while and have a look around the fantastic countryside so close to your home. I read Bill Bryson’s book about the Appalachian trail a while ago and I’m determined to see it for myself one day!

    Hi VP, thanks for that. If you ever do come this way, please come stay with me, I have a very nice guest room! I am so glad that I got over there yesterday, for today it is raining and the leaves are falling like the rain. It is to turn colder too. That was a funny book, wasn’t it?
    Frances

  18. Commonweeder says:

    Frances,
    My husband always says that an artist is someone who makes you see things anew. You are an artist, because I am instantly going out to take some pix of my local area with a new appreciation. Things are looking wintery even though temps are up to 60 today so the effect will be different, but seen anew. Thank you.

    Hi Pat, what a wonderful compliment, thanks so much! There is always beauty to be seen, you just have to look a little closer in the colder months. It is everywhere.
    Frances

  19. skeeter says:

    You are a brave soul to trek it alone! My cell did not work in the mountains. Do be careful when you take us on such adventures with you. :-)

    We were driving along the northern part of this area a bit too early last month for the pretty reds and oranges, although, I did see some of them. I am always too early or too late to catch the colors elsewhere but saw some pretty colors yesterday. I will share soon….

    While in VA near the Shenandoah Mountains, we spotted a closed gas station. The sign was showing gas for $1.29. We laughed and wondered how long the station had been closed as we have not seen those prices in a long time! Filled up the truck for $2.11 yesterday so falling here as well….

    Hi Skeeter, thanks for that reminder. I didn’t even check to see if my cell still worked there. It didn’t the last time I was there but that was several years ago. We get service all the way from Knoxville to Asheville now when on the interstate, didn’t used to. Can’t wait to see you sharings. Gas for $1.29 can’t be a current price, or no wonder they went out of business! $2.11 is good. We are glad for that at least.
    Frances

  20. Rose says:

    Beautiful scenery, Frances. With such beauty so near you, it would be hard to sit in that Lazyboy, too. Thanks for taking us along on this walk; you can lean on me any time, although I must admit I get a little dizzy if we get too high up:)

    Since this project was started during the Great Depression, I wonder if, with the state of our economy today, the government might begin some new similar projects. That would be one benefit of this recession/depression!

    Hi Rose, thanks for propping me up. We are a great pair! ;-> I am so glad you mentioned that about the CCC. I think that is a good idea. Instead of just handing money out, and don’t get me started about giving to banks who are using it for dividends and acquisitions!!!!! rather than making loans to small businesses, start some of these much needed projects like they did back then. Make some jobs and accomplish something good for everyone. Sorry for that little bit of soapbox.
    Frances

  21. Kim says:

    Such pretty sights – I’d like to be able to come along. We explored a bit of Tennessee on our vacation summer before this past. I saw enough that I knew I wanted to come back to see more.

    Hi Kim, thanks for joining me in spirit anyway. Our part of TN, the southeast corner is quite different from say Memphis. Georgia, North Carolina and TN come together in that corner with the state lines along the Appalachian Mountains, with the Smokies being the closest to where I live. It is slightly rugged but so scenic.
    Frances

  22. marmee says:

    frances,
    wonderful scenic photos. we spent several christmases ago in the nantahala forrest at a cabin. four families went and it was great. i guess we might have driven on that millions of dollars highway.
    i know what you mean about being out there alone although i prefer sometimes. glad you stayed safe. thanks for sharing these great shots with us.

    Hi Marmee, thanks for coming along. You really know what it looks like up there having stayed in a cabin even. That sounds like so much fun too. It is not easy to get to, as you know, even on the new highway it is winding and steep, but oh so scenic. I never used to even give it a thought about scampering around on the large rocks by the river. This time it seemed slightly scary. Old age and because I was carrying my camera so only had one hand to grab hold? LOL
    Frances

  23. Nicole says:

    The fall foliage loos so beautiful,and the waterfalls are gorgeous, but the shots with them together are just ethereal. I can imagine the peaceful sight and sounds.

    Hi Nicole, thanks for coming along with me. Welcome to the new blog site at the alternative universe of wordpress. I couldn’t decide on which shot to use of the waterfall so used them both. I took so many photos it was hard to narrow it down to these. That area is another world with the tall trees, rushing water and steep slopes all around. A wonderland.
    Frances

  24. Racquel says:

    What a lovely place to visit with some great views & that waterfall was breathtaking. My grandfather was in the 3 C’s during the depression. Except for $20.00 the rest of his paycheck for the month was sent to his mother.

    Hi Racquel, thanks and thanks too for sharing that about your grandfather. People of that generation knew the importance of sacrifice for the good of others. Imagine living on that amount now, even figuring in for inflation. My grandparents knew how to pinch those pennies as well. I think the CCC was one of the best things our government ever did. Back then it was called conservation to consider the environment. I earned the conservation badge as a girl scout! Food for thought.
    Frances

  25. Barbarapc says:

    Frances,
    You just make me want to get in the car and explore. Your colours are about 3 weeks behind ours – fascinating to see the progress of leaf change across North America. Another wonderful place to see in the world – thank you so much for taking us on your rambles.

    Hi Barbara, great! So glad you enjoyed the trip and thanks for coming along. Our leaves are falling like the rain today in our garden. It has been fun to watch the posts move their way south, hasn’t it?

    Frances

  26. Geez, I would have gotten here a lot earlier if I’d known we were going on a scenic drive! Thanks for taking us all along!

    Hi Carol, never too late to get on board, the beauty of the blogdom! We did have a great trip and the fall leaf color was peak. So glad you could join me.
    Frances

  27. Anne says:

    Loved this post! Esp. the sight of native heuchera (a plant I like very much)… wondering what color the flowers are for the native?

    And that last photo of the falls was stunning…

    Hi Anne, thanks for coming along on the trip! I thought you would enjoy the falls, who doesn’t love a waterfall? ;-> I have the native heuchera growing in my garden, the flowers are a nondescript whitish. But the leaves change colors when the weather cools to a lovely reddish hue with silver veining. Leaving the flowers on gives us lots of baby plants too. This is one of the only heucheras that I have had reseed themselves.
    Frances

  28. linda says:

    How gorgeous Frances! What a great destination. Your photos are wonderful.

    Wow, your gas prices are very impressive! Here gas is 50 or 60 cents more per gallon.

    Hi Linda, thanks for coming with me. Gas has gone down even more since I filled up to $1. 89. I almost cannot believe it!!!
    Frances

  29. Brenda Kula says:

    Oh yes, the falls were so lovely! PLEASE, I cannot take any more POISON IVY! This one of nearly a month’s duration is about to send me around the bend! Thanks for giving out the info to people. I’ve never had it until now. And this is one of the most unpleasant itches you’ll ever encounter! Trust me! Be forewarned and DO NOT touch it.
    Brenda

    Hi Brenda, I thought about you as soon as I saw those roots. They were Everywhere! I was not about to leave the pavement to go try and get some closer shots or even check out the plant life. I even got out the hand sanitizer right away in case I had touched something. I should have put up a warning for you before showing the photo. I was even going to put in a link, probably should have, but didn’t want to cash in on your pain! My only defense is that it was to inform the public what this looks like with the leaves of three. I had to discard several good photos of the water to show it but thought it needed to be done. I hope you are starting to recover after all you have been through.
    Frances

  30. dpnguyen says:

    Yay for low gas, sadly I don’t think it’s here to stay, lol. Anyway, gorgeous photos! It seems like a wonderful place to visit! I love the rocks against the water–breathtaking!

    Hi DP, thanks. You are probably right about the gas, it went even lower after I filled up. Less than a dollar a gallon! Unbelievable! If you ever get a chance, take a ride on the Cherohala Skyway, and stop by my place on the way. ;->
    Frances

  31. Kathleen says:

    Definitely scarred me for life Frances!! You’re so perceptive. :-)

    Hi Kathleen, HA. My daughter Chickenpoet was scarred for life by me making her pick nastursiums as a child so they would keep blooming! She says even though she now is an avid gardener despite the nastursium torture, she cannot grow nastursiums! And she is serious!
    Frances

  32. Lola says:

    Thanks for taking us on a beautiful trip. The waterfalls are awesome. I’ve never been on that stretch of the mtns.

    Hi Lola, thanks for going along. If you ever get the chance to go on that piece of highway you will love it. Not many other cars either, but the motorcyclists love it. We have seen on the North Carolina side motels for motorcycles only even! But the part that I go on veers of the main road to follow the river and go to the falls, a little side trip and not many folks there and shorter for me to go there and return home easily. I was back home before noon and left the house after 9 am.
    Frances

  33. Ratty says:

    I came here from a link on Poor Richard’s Almanac, and had to comment. Your pictures are wonderful. I love waterfalls, rivers, and forest scenes! I’ve been on the lookout for poison ivy, but haven’t seen any that I know of. It’s more lack of knowledge than anything else. Picture’s like yours are a big help in identification for me.

    Hi Ratty, thanks for dropping by and welcome. With the leaves on the ground it will be that much harder to see that poison ivy too, even just the bare vines. People want to touch the trees but need to be aware of what to avoid. I did see lots of it along the Appy trail too. My own garden was loaded when we moved here with all types of poison plants but we have been working diligently to eradicate it. It still pops up from the birds though. I know it well. :-)
    Frances

  34. Jan says:

    Lovely photos, wish I could have been there.

    Jan
    Always Growing

    Hi Jan, thanks, it would have been splendid to have you along.
    Frances

  35. Zach says:

    WOW, Bald River Falls is really beautiful! I know what you mean when you say that you are experiencing some BEAUTIFUL weather. Here in Ohio we have been experiencing 70 degree weather! Very Nice. Enjoy those warm days while they last!

    Hi Zach, thanks for visiting and welcome. So glad to hear you are enjoying some of this late season warmth also. Your paintings are fabulous, keep up the good work! :-)
    Frances

  36. Patsi says:

    My husband kept asking why are you(me) saying “wow” while sitting in front of the computer so he had to see your post.
    He agrees that this is a breathtaking tour,lots of fun. We all love our gardens but each state or country has so much to offer and blogging is a great way of sharing. And we also got a history lesson.
    Thank you Frances.

    Hi Patsi, how nice that you said that, thanks so much. Glad too that your husband had a peek at the beauty here. You are so right, every state has parks and special places that are full of beauty. Sometimes we overlook such things with the rushing around of day to day life. Thanks for joining me on this little day trip.
    Frances

  37. Lythrum says:

    Absolutely beautiful pictures. I love the waterfall and the gas prices both. :)

    Hi Lythrum, thanks so much. The gas has even gone down since then too.
    Frances

  38. Siria says:

    Hi Frances! Thank you for taking me on this beautiful day trip! I have never been on the Cherohala but have always wanted to go over there. The waterfall was beautiful as was the foliage and the clear blue skies. I can’t believe your gas is below $2 a gallon now. I just filled up yesterday and thought I got a great deal at $2.35 a gallon. I have missed several of your posts this week as I have been out of my house for 3 days because we had to have it tented due to termites. It will be fun catching up over the next few days.

    Hi Sirian, thanks but bad luck with the termite tenting! In California all houses must be tented when they change hands and ours was in 1985. It was full of dead bugs when we re entered but found it full of sugar ant trails, they were unfazed! Ants will inherit the earth. LOL I do think these low gas prices won’t last, but am glad for them now. Glad to see you again!
    Frances

  39. Kathleen says:

    That’s funny about the nasturtiums Frances. There were many garden chores we “had” to do as kids (cleaning potatoes & black walnuts, pulling weeds, etc.) that I didn’t appreciate until I began to garden myself. Nothing stuck with me like that except the hiking! Now I’ll hike a bit but it doesn’t rank high on my list nor does camping. It all gives us something to complain to our parents about! ;-)

    Hi Kathleen, that is funny that hiking has such a bad memory for you. I just talked to my daughter yesterday and she was saying how she believed gardening to be the real niche for her enthusiasm and how she never would have believed that after the nastursium episode! Maybe you will come around to hiking! LOL
    Frances

  40. Monica Milla says:

    Gosh, Frances, what a beautiful part of the country you live in! I have a total soft spot for heuchera–they’re so cute. And (raised arm waving, ooh ooh! I know I know! Pick me!) I answered poison ivy before moving on to the answer. Do you have a gold sticker for me? And I love the Bald River Falls sign–it’s so retro!

    Hi Monica, yes dear, you with the arm waving? Yes that is correct, poison ivy. Good girl. You may have a gold star and a cookie too, or chocolate you say? Yes, I have a secret stash for especially good girls. ;-> That is so funny that you think the sign is retro, that is considered cutting edge in these parts. We are a little behind you see. Thanks for riding along, we may be backwoods, but it is beautiful here.
    Frances

  41. Violet says:

    I’m so glad you take us alongside to this wonderful tour. Loved the photos. And the nature is just breathtaking. Starting with that charming lil Heuchera all the way to those delightful falls.

    Hi Violet, thanks for joining me on the tour. So glad you liked the things we saw. It was a wonderful day.
    Frances

  42. What a wonderful field trip you took! Lovely pictures. Isn’t nature a wonder?

    Hi Kim, thanks so much for riding along. We were lucky that day that nature felt like showing off her finery.
    Frances

  43. Waterfalls in autumn – what could be more picturesque?

    Hi MMD, everywhere you looked was something spectacular. It was a delightful day trip. Must go back in spring too.
    Frances

  44. Amy says:

    Just stunning!

    Hi Amy, thanks, so nice to see you. Seems like we both got to see some waterfalls recently. I think yours were a little bigger than mine. ;->
    Frances

  45. kate says:

    That was an enjoyable tour through your countryside. The falls must be amazing to see and to hear … the leaves turning too, must have been spectacular. I’ve never seen the roots of poison ivy (it doesn’t grow here thankfully). It’s exactly the sort of thing that I’d probably touch because it looks interesting. Ouch!!
    Have a good week!

    Hi Kate, so nice to see you. You would have loved the falls, the white water spots in the river and the leaves turning. It was a secret spot, far off the beaten path of the cities in Tennessee. I love living here. The poison ivy roots covered in lichen almost had me touching them, thank goodness some of the leaves were still hanging on as a warning. Enjoy your knitting.
    Frances

  46. joey says:

    I have driven through this stunning part of the country many times but never stopped (shame on me). Thank you again, Frances, for the tour and HUGE poison ivy lesson. We have been working for years to eradicate the creeping pest from around our cottage (husband and daughter-in-law most allergic).

    Hi Joey, you should stop somewhere for a few photos at the least! We are still fighting the poison ivy here, there are unimproved lots in the neighborhood that are nice for the large trees and privacy but horrible for the poison ivy and invasives. Love the onion recipe!
    Frances

  47. Cinj says:

    I’m glad I wasn’t your only companion or we’d probably have both fell on our heads! I was nominated class clutz in high school and things only go downhill from there!

    What a wonderful road trip, I’m glad you took us with. I’ve been wanting to take a road trip up to the UP of Michigan to see some similar sights. I suppose I’ll have to wait until spring at this point!

    HI Cinj, thanks for coming along, even if we are both slightly clutzy. ;-> We do need to take more road trips while the gas prices are low and get away from these computers. It is colder here too now, but nothing like the UP of Michigan. We do need to be careful when the roads get slippery. I will be going back to these falls again and some other nearby places to us also.
    Frances

  48. chuck b. says:

    Gorgeous country. I love the old font-type on those National Parks signs.

    Hi Chuck, thanks for visiting. You are the second person to remark about the signs. We are not aware of new font types around here, a little backwoods as the first sign says. I think you will like the mountains here, very similar to what you will see at Christopher’s. When you come visit. :-)
    Frances

  49. Thanks for taking me with you, Frances. It’s been such a long time since we were in the woods of Tennessee and North Carolina! Forty years ago we shuttled a back and forth between South Carolina and Chicago for holidays. We took different routes and it was always a thrill when we could see water flowing over rocks next to the roadway.

    I also like that sign – the CCC worked hard in Texas parks, too. http://www.tpwd.state.tx.us/spdest/findadest/historic_sites/ccc/

    With the black screen, the public service warning about poison ivy, links to current maps and snippets about the history of the CCC, this blog post looks like an audition for a travel show on PBS ;-] You make us all want to come visit the TN/NC border.

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

    Hi Annie, thanks for coming along. This is definitely the long route to North Carolina is we were going to Asheville, slow going around those curves and I can get carsick. But this little trip was perfect. I did check out the Texas parks site. I think we could use another CCC about now. I clicked on Palo Duro Canyon, for I have a new daylily with that name and wondered where it came from. I hope you do get to visit some day to see my garden and that border.
    Frances

  50. Jenny says:

    This is a part of our great country we have sadly neglected. We always tend to head west. Some day we will tow our trailer your way and I think that September would be the perfect time. Thanks for the visit.

    Do come up this way, Jenny, and stop by Fairegarden if you have time! It is different from the west, much lusher growth with our high rainfall.
    Frances

  51. Pam/Digging says:

    Thanks for sharing your links again, Frances. Ah, that waterfall is beautiful. I’m a sucker for falls and always opt for a trail that leads to one. That poison ivy is like fire ants though—you just wonder why it has to exist.

    My pleasure Pam. You would love this waterfall, the bridge for photos is quite close. I hope to go again with the new camera and will link to your post, whenever that happens. At least the poison ivy feeds the birds with its berries. Those fire ants are something else, yuck! I don’t miss them at all.
    Frances

  52. Pingback: Digging » Bloggers’ Celebration of National Parks: A wrap-up

  53. Pingback: What Scares You? « Fairegarden

  54. Pingback: Wildflower Waterfall With a Friend | Fairegarden

Comments are closed.