Viola Beauty Pageant 2009

May 16, 2008 5 (2)The time has come for the third annual Viola Beauty Pageant, the second one covered by the blog. Last year’s winner, Gypsy, shown above had a flowertastic reign with ribbon cutting ceremonies for revamped paths, earth breaking ceremonies with gold painted shovels for new beds and a whirlwind tour up and down the slopes of the Fairegarden. She is now ready to hand her crown over to a new sprout and move into the compost bin retirement village for aging beauty queens. Click here to view last year’s excitement and see who voted for whom in the comment section.May 24, 2009 014 (2)Let us begin the 2009 judging with Marlene. This foxy lady is fond of wind surfing and kick boxing, a real athlete.May 24, 2009 015 (2)May we present Blanche? A real egghead, she just received her doctorate in Marine Biology from UC at La Jolla. But don’t be put off by her intelligence, she is the soccer goalie for her travel team, the Red Cards.May 24, 2009 021 (2)Given name Nadine, nicknamed Pythagora, this triangle petaled lovely is proud of her lower petal that sets her apart from the crowd, not opting for the popular use of plastic surgery used by some contestants in other pageants. That practice is strictly forbidden here and any flower suspected of artificial enhancement will be disqualified. All participants have been scrutinized by an expert in the field.May 24, 2009 022 (2)For your consideration comes Opal, hailing from the newly included shed bed pathways where self seeders have spread from the knot garden gravel. Opal was chosen for her clear complexion and perky cobalt blue *ears*. In her down time, she is a celebrated multi-media artist, specializing in hand made paper murals.May 24, 2009 011 (2)Calypso, she prefers Callie, is a dark petaled princess with a hint of reddish violet. The tests have been done and this is purely natural, no monthly dye jobs have been performed to maintain that hue and touch up roots. Callie is part of a large family, with fifteen siblings. She obviously got the beauty gene.May 19, 2009 009 (2)Monique has a painterly feature with her lower petals appearing as if dipped in blue tempera. She is fluent in eight languages, including botanical Latin. If you need help with pronunciation, she’s your girl.May 19, 2009 011 (2)The wild child of the group who loves to dance all night is Olivia. She gets into some scraps with her late night shenanigans, but has the sweetest disposition one could hope for. We do not take off points for tattered ears, it is a fact of life with the no spray policy here.May 19, 2009 012 (2)Delicious Delores sports new and exciting colorways. There is hope for even more diversity with the help of new store bought violas being planted in the knot garden each fall. But everyone knows we love them all. Delores is the youngest contestant, just barely making the age cutoff of one month since germination. The other girls refer to her affectionately as *Baby*.May 19, 2009 014 (2)The palest of the lot is Chrystyne. She has very fair skin and has to apply lots of sunscreen to avoid premature aging. She has a lovely singing voice and will break into a rousing rendition of Oklahoma! at the drop of a hat.May 19, 2009 028 (2)The last finalist for your judging is Loueez. The other girls have given her the nickname of Eezy, and it is not meant in a flattering way if you get the drift. Those sorts of behaviours should not shade your opinion however. This is about beauty, not morality. Loueezy has many fine qualities. She is generous with her time and expertise in hair and makeup techniques and is adored by the little seedlings that are the groupies of these glamorous gals.
~~~
There you have the contestants for the 2009 Fairegarden Viola Beauty Pageant. Consider the semi -finalists’ attributes which you most admire and cast your vote in a comment below. The votes will be tallied and the winner announced in one week.
~~~
May 8, 2009 130 (2)We present this year’s Miss Congeniality. The rules have been changed so she is not to be included in the voting. Voted as the most friendly by the girls themselves is Savannah, wearing the spider crown with honor and pizzazz.
Added: The votes have been tallied and the winner is the blue hued Loueez. This was a close race and the runner up Opal received nearly as many votes as the winner. As many have exclaimed, they are all winners in our hearts. Thanks to all who voted and thanks too to those who merely enjoyed the show. See you next year.
Frances

This entry was posted in Seasonal Chores. Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to Viola Beauty Pageant 2009

  1. Helen says:

    My first instinct was to go with Blanche. But I’d give them all a prize if I could.

  2. Gail says:

    This is harder then last years vote with the girls all having so many wonderful qualities. I especially appreciate their many talents, but this year I am voting for the palest of beauties with her water colored features…Miss Chrystyne. So often these gentle beauties are lost in a sea of flashy colors! I do want to assure the committee that I was not paid off by the C&L Okie resident, Mr I Don’t, when he heard she could belt out Oklahoma! It was her gentle manners, beautiful coloring and not over the top looks! gail

  3. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Loueez is the fairest of them all and should reign supreme at Fairegarden 2009.

  4. commonweeder says:

    I vote for Olivia. She’s a young thing and shenanigans are to be expected of a spirited creature. As to tears, my grandmother always told me it takes 10 scars to make a woman. Life isn’t always easy in, or out, of the garden

  5. Darla says:

    It has to be Nadine with her softly pointed chin that sets her apart from the others. She seems rather proud too.

  6. Catherine says:

    I think my vote goes to Blanche! She’s seems very well rounded; brains and athleticism.

  7. Zoe says:

    I love Violas, I plant then up in baskets with handles on them, and put then on benches, tables and other sunny places. The smell of honey they exude is intoxicating.

    I like Loueez best, such a good blue. There is a cultivar called ‘Zoë’ too, which had, and then lost, so am desperately seeking to replace it.

  8. Diane says:

    They’re all winners but I find something very appealing about Miss Opal. The demure yellow throat does not spill messily into the blues, the cobalt is a lovely change from the purples, and that blue dot on her chin just tugs at my heartstrings. What are heartstrings, anyway?

  9. Taking a break from packing to vote for Chrystyne.

  10. brokenbeat says:

    while i laugh out loud i vote blanche for reasons which are clear however are unable to be put into words.

  11. Hello Frances

    Well, for me the nicest blue is Louise, second is Chrystyne.

    Rob

  12. tina says:

    Do I have to chose only one? I want Olivia and Deloris, but if I must chose one, I guess wild child Olivia:)

  13. gittan says:

    Hrm… I’m supposed to pick only one! But since I rememberd how you managed counting your garden favorites I don’t think you’ll even notice if I pick more than one… Calypso, Opal and the others =) Lovely post / gittan

  14. Jean says:

    Okay, this is too hard. But if I had to pick just one, it would be the athletic Marlene. I do hope you plan to have a couple of runners-up though (like the artistic Opal!).

  15. Tough choices. I’ll pick Opal

  16. Les says:

    At this point I am going to give my unofficial support to Monique, but I hope to give her my final vote after the vetting process. I need to hear her views on same-sex marriage and to see if she has compromised herself in any adult publications.

  17. Racquel says:

    A loud round of applause for all the contestants, they are all winners in my book! :)

  18. easygardener says:

    They are all beautiful but I particularly like Opal and her blue ears!

  19. Janet says:

    Gorgeous photos Frances! Cute blog posting too. :-) I love all the sweet faces.

  20. Kim says:

    Oh, most definitely Loueez!

  21. Brenda Kula says:

    I don’t know how I’d pick just one! And I can’t believe you still have them. It’s too warm here for them now.
    Brenda

  22. Dawn says:

    I vote Callie, got to like a pagent player that doesn’t dye!

  23. Dawn says:

    Oh, I forgot to ask…are her nails real?

  24. Lythrum says:

    My vote goes to Loueez :)

  25. Lola says:

    OMW, It’s a hard decision as I like them all. I like Opal with her artistic ways but then there is Chrystyne in her demure looks of innocence. I would have to say Chrystyne has the upper hand.

  26. Kathy in Napa says:

    Though I had a knee-jerk reaction to Marlene, I think she might perform an over-wrought sappy ballad for the talent contest, and instead wish to cast my vote for the elegant Audrey Hepburn-ish Opal.

  27. Kathleen says:

    Aahh, you are a pageant Mom! I would never have guessed! ;-) I’m torn between ‘Monique’ and ‘Opal!” I guess I’m liking the blue & white combos. You have a great assortment of violas Frances. I add at least one new variety every year ~ this year was ‘Tiger Eyes.’ I hope it self sows as I am pretty fond of him already. They all look like winners to me.

  28. LOL, you’re such a card Frances! I think I like Opal best but must admit that the others are winners too. Georgous bunch of girls!

    OT That translating thingy is a scream, I use it when I need a laugh, but for real translating you need a person. Glad you liked the roses. Have you seen Miss Tara’s holiday snaps on Bliss? Such a spoiled little pooch. ;-)

  29. What a fun post. I vote for Nadine, but with Opal a close second and all the others a viola’s whisker away in third.

  30. Violas are one of my long-time favorite annuals. So many vibrant colors and patterns. They had even cooler ones in the 1800s (you find out a lot poring over old seed catalogs in archives!). SEE YOU FRIDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m on the earlier tour of ChiBot–you too?

  31. cherry says:

    Callie is my kinda gal all that natural beauty with that hint of reddish violet she is a true PRINCESS .. lol

    Miss France I loved last year’s pageant but you have out done yourself this year..

    Take a bow my friend for you are our winner !
    hugs, Cherry

  32. Lzyjo says:

    Awww, this is so charming! They are as individual as people. I love the Red Cards soccer team. LOL! My vote goes to the naturally beautiful Nadine. Loueez is a close second, but I’m too attracted to Nadine’s unique features and her desire to be herself, not some other flower.

  33. Rose says:

    Frances, by now you are probably on your way to Nashville, so you may not see this. I was just going to skim this and cast a vote based on beauty alone, but once again your narrative drew me in. Poor Gypsy! I hope not all beauty queens wind up in the compost heap:) So hard to choose, but I think I’ll disqualify Loueeze–a beauty queen must represent moral character, after all. So I’ll go with Blanche–it’s time brains win out over beauty in one of these contests! See you tomorrow!!

  34. Opal gets it, hands down…with Monique a close 2nd. Their lovely blues warm my soul:)

  35. skeeter says:

    Blanche looks like the most beautiful butterfly in the form of a bloom! So she gets my vote.

    Have fun at Spring Fling! :-)

  36. Daphne Gould says:

    I like Monique.

  37. greenwalks says:

    Hee hee, Frances, this one was a pretty good gut-buster. I missed previous incarnations of this contest but can see why Gypsy took the prize last go-around. I hope she will not miss her duties too much, maybe she’ll be relieved not to have to press the hoi polloi flesh anymore. So… I’m gonna go with Monique. I like her looks but her brains have to count for something too. A facility for languages in this ever-changing global economy cannot be a minus! May the best gal win!

  38. marmee says:

    they are all so pretty but i love callie. have these developed from cross pollinating>?

  39. ryan says:

    I vote for Opal.

  40. Sylvia (England) says:

    I love the blue Loueez, but all your violas are lovely. Best wishes Sylvia

  41. TC says:

    It was a tough choice, but in the end I had to go with Loueez. Her combination of blues just bowled me over!

  42. Dee says:

    I have to vote for Calypso…such a beautiful rich blue. Lovely !!

  43. Patsi says:

    I think my vote is for olivia and Blanche.
    Stunning.

  44. Connie says:

    They are all winners….such lovely variety!!
    But if I have to choose it would be Monique.

  45. Beverly says:

    Loueez gets my vote. Love the blues.

  46. ryublade says:

    Everyone’s a winner if I had my choice but Monique gets my vote. So lovely and fluent in 8 languages too!

  47. Joanne says:

    Nadine but then if I look again it will be another and then another. All little gems.

  48. Marlene and Nadine, but I’d be happy to have any of these lovelies in my garden. I remember this beauty parade from last year, and I enjoyed it just as much this year!

  49. lynn says:

    Calypso wins in my eye for her rich-colored gown and unique accents. Does the winner get to travel and spread her love?

  50. Monique has the mystique that makes me weak. My vote for her wasn’t made on the spur
    the moment I saw her I knew she was unique.

  51. Jan says:

    I have to say that it is hard to pick just one of these lovely violas. But, that being said, Loueez is my favorite. Such a gorgeous blue color.

    Jan
    Always Growing

  52. Terra says:

    The girls are all so pretty and talented too. I vote for Marlene, as she so resembles Skippy who lives at my house.
    Kind of a traditional wholesome viola.

  53. joey says:

    Even in my own garden, I could never choose … I love each face and admire the one I’m looking at. Your girls are lovely, Frances!

  54. Semi says:

    All are so beautiful! I could never be a judge. If I must chrystyne will get my vote with delores a close 2nd

    Thanks for weighing in, dear Semi. You were the very first judge in the very first viola beauty pageant, so I know you are up to the task. :-) I knew you had to go for Chrystyne. How do you like the spelling? HA
    Love, Frances

  55. Pingback: Needing Violas « Fairegarden

  56. Pingback: Viola Beauty Pageant-2011/2012 « Fairegarden

  57. Pingback: Viola Beauty Pageant 2010 « Fairegarden

  58. Pingback: Violas of 2012 « Fairegarden

Comments are closed.