E-China-See-Ya~A Public Service Announcement

June 8, 2009 013 (2)
One of the first botanical names learned here at the Fairegarden was the purple coneflower, Echinacea purpurea. Having never heard it pronounced, it seemed a good idea to remember the spelling by saying it phonetically, E-china-see-ya with emphasis on the big E and the see. We were into herbs at the time and this plant was reputed to be useful for headaches among other ailments. Many tomes about herbs were purchased and checked out from the local libraries, learning the lore and cultivation requirements of the useful plants.
~
Shown above is Echincea ‘Sunrise’.

June 15, 2009 021 (2)
Fast forward to present day. There is an explosion of interest in this plant now, due in no small part to the breeder’s efforts to introduce new colorways to the species pinky purple and white. The correct pronunciation has been learned, (ek-in-AY-shee-a), but the spelling helper remains embedded in our consciousness.
~
Shown above is Echinacea ‘Sundown’.

June 28, 2009 010 (2)
Some of these new colors were not as hardy or vigorous as the old faithfuls, but the strong have survived to be offered widely at nurseries and home improvement stores.
~
Shown above is Echinacea ‘Harvest Moon’ accompanied by Veronica spicata ‘Sunny Border Blue’.

June 13, 2009 015 (2)
The Big Sky series developed by Richard Saul of ItSaul Plants in Atlanta, Georgia has been responsible for many of these color breakthroughs. The purple E. purpurea was breed with the yellow flowering E. paradoxa to produce these popular varieties.
~
Shown above is a group of Echinacea ‘Sundown’ in daughter Semi’s mushroom compost enriched bed.

July 1, 2009 new camera 006 (2)
Last year a new to us species was brought to our attention by good friend and lover of native plants, Gail of Clay And Limestone, Echincea tennesseensis. She even gifted us with one when we went to visit her in Nashville named E. ‘Rocky Top’. This plant has a long tap root unlike the other coneflowers and can grow in the rocky ledges of her area. We have smaller rocks on our slope and Rocky Top has made itself at home. Several more were purchased this spring and one seedling has appeared from plant number one. As with all plants, a mass planting looks best. We love the recurved petals.
~
Shown above is E. ‘Rocky Top’ at home in the shed bed amongst Lilium ‘Regale’, Nasella tenuissima and Belamcanda.

June 10, 2009 034 (2)
The most plentiful coneflowers here are the straight up purple pink of the species. Plants and seeds were brought here in 2000 when we moved from Texas to Tennessee. Various seeds have been saved and sown to provide many plants that are moved to desirable areas when large enough.

August 5, 2009 2 040 (2)
For landscape use, the white flowered form, most of which are E. ‘White Swan’ make a nice counterpoint to the pinks.
~
You might have noticed that no mention has been made of the odd double cone cultivars or those with green flowers. There is a good reason …(cue the scary music, Night On Bald Mountain by Modeste Moussourgsky*)

August 14, 2008 019 (2)
…The image above was taken in my garden last August. We have had similar malformed flowers in previous years. Research revealed the cause to be a viral like disease called Aster Yellows. A healthy Echinacea purpurea shows purple ray flowers on a cone-shaped head. Infected with the yellows organism, these flowers turn into distorted, green leaflike structures. Infected plants are usually stunted, often with yellow or reddish leaves. Yellows disease is caused by a microorganism called a phytoplasma.
Phytoplasmas live in the phloem (food conducting tissues) of their host plant. The disease is spread from plant to plant primarily by phloem feeding leafhoppers. The leafhopper acquires the phytoplasma while feeding by inserting its stylet (a long, slender hollow feeding structure) into the phloem of infected plants and withdrawing the phytoplasma with the plant sap. After an incubation period, the insect spreads the disease organism to healthy plants as it feeds. Aster yellows is a disease that affects over 300 species of plants, including ornamentals such as aster, coneflower, zinnia, marigold, chrysanthemum, petunia, and snapdragon. Edibles affected include lettuce, carrot, tomato, and celery. Grasses and grains also are hosts. Weeds that may harbor the disease include plantain, dandelion, and other broad-leafed weeds. The spread of aster yellows is worse in cool, wet summers. Hot dry weather is not favorable for either the phytoplasma or the leafhopper. As with many disease and pest problems, diagnosis is perhaps the most important factor in controlling aster yellows. Infected plants cannot be cured and should be removed. We have removed all plants displaying these symptoms, but it was a couple of years before we realized what was happening and even thought them slightly cool. Now when I see the flowers stacked on flowers types of Echinaceas, or those with green petals, a shudder runs down my spine for it is way too similar to the Yellows abnormalities.
~
For more information check out this link to the Missouri Botanical Garden’s Integrated Pest Management site.

August 5, 2009 2 037 (2)
Does this mean that we should rip out all susceptible plants? Not in my opinion. What it means here in the Fairegarden is that the host weeds of plantain and dandelion will be swiftly shown the door to the trash can, wrapped in hazmat plastic bags, not thrown in the compost. Any odd looking flower heads will spell the death sentence to the offending plant. It has only been seen on Echinaceas though we grow many of the others that can be affected.

August 5, 2009 2 038 (2)
Healthy Echinaceas are too important a plant to pollinators and wildlife to be dismissed. The seed heads are a source of food for the birds and the bees visit the flowering cones. The human pursuit of happiness is also greatly enhanced by the existence of these garden treasures.

July 7, 2009 023 (2)
In closing, the point of this warning, with the stomach turning descriptions is to recommend extreme vigilance in your own gardens. Look closely at any flowers that seem oddly shaped or the yellowing of foliage. Echinaceas are among the top must grow perennials in most areas. The pros outweigh the cons but be aware of the dangers that lurk.
~
But what about the plant shown above? This purchase was made last year while on a trip to a wedding in Pennsylvania. The tag read Echinacea ‘Double Decker’ and it is definitely an Echinacea. It looks like a variation of E. ‘Coconut Lime’ gone awry. I knew it was not what the tag stated and bought it anyway because of the unique petal arrangement. Is it somehow related to the diseased mutants? It has not produced seeds, possibly because the insects cannot manuever on the coneless flower head. Right now it is on the *watch* list. Should it stay or should it go?

Frances
*To see the scene from Disney’s Fantasia featuring this piece of music, click here.

This entry was posted in info, Plant Portrait. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to E-China-See-Ya~A Public Service Announcement

  1. Benjamin says:

    I love this species, and you have some of my favorite cultivars–and ones that are proving that they have staying power. So many of those hybrid give up by the first summer and I never see them again. I adore coneflowers (and liatris now, too). That info on the diseas was most helpful! Thank you! And I agee, get rid of those host weds first with a vigilant eye!

    Hi Benjamin, so nice to see you. The Echinaceas, I can’t type it without saying it the way shown in the title, are so full of good things for wildlife and humans alike. I have spent way too much money on new cultivars that perished immediately too. The ones shown have proven themselves to be hardy. And watch out for those weeds! It sort of goes against my no maintance policy, but there are always exceptions to rules, aren’t there? :-)
    Frances

  2. Janet says:

    I love your E-china-see-yas!!! hahaha. Great photos. I had Asters Yellows on some of my Echinaceas last summer. Had to pull them all out. My buddy extension agent said to remove the infected plants. Turned out to be only one or two plants, though many blooms. So far none has reappeared this summer. (though in my mind it was later in the year last year)

    Thanks, Janet. I am sorry to hear that your plants have been infected as well. Job one is getting those plants outta here! :-)
    Frances

  3. This summer, I’ve had to remove 4 Coneflowers that I suspect were infected with Aster yellows. There are a couple more I’m keeping my eye on. If the foliage of your last Coneflower looks healthy, I suggest letting it stay. If the foliage starts to droop, yank it out immediately.

    Bad news, MMD, so sorry for that. At least you were on it! When this first showed up, right after we moved back to TN, I had no idea what was happening and left them there for a few years. Finally, on the New York Times gardening forums someone answered my question about the green flowers and said it was viral and to remove all the affected plants. By that time the whole batch had it and they all had to go. Heartbreaking but at least we got rid of them. I began to plant some more in another area and that is where they showed up again last year. They were quickly disposed of however and we have seen nothing out of the ordinary so far this year. We will always need to be on the lookout.
    Frances

  4. Nicole says:

    E-china-see-ya LOL, Actually I knew it as the supplement before I got into gardening. I am yet to try growing these. Those new colors look splendid.

    Hi Nicole, thanks. There were advertisements for capsules of the root of echincea long ago. Very popular. Now the plant is getting its due popularity as an ornamental in the garden. Try it you’ll like it! :-)
    Frances

  5. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Every fance Cone flower I have ever bought has died. Hmmmmmmm I have in the past noticed this virus in our garden. I didn’t know exactly what it was or how it spread. Now i do thanks for the info Frances.

    Hi Lisa, that is sad. I had lost many a new coneflowr as well. They need a whole lot of water when first planted I have found, though they are more drought tolerant once established. Like so many things.
    Frances

  6. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I just cut my coneflowers back and spred the cones to other areas where I want more plants. I am always amazed of the millions of seed only a few become flowering plants. Somehow a seed falls on just the right ground and the miracle happens. Nature! I love it. I enjoyed seeing all the different colors of Echinacea.
    Donna

    Hi Donna, thanks. I have had some seeding but not like yours. There is no bare ground here, and the seeds need light to germinate. I think the birds eat them. HA
    Frances

  7. Les says:

    I am with Lisa, all the fancy ones are dead, but not because of asters yellow. I think they have weak DNA. I grow lots of E. purpurea and it reseeds happily. This morning I saw a goldfinch on one of my seed heads. I know these birds are common for many, but it was a very uncommon event in my urban garden.

    Hi Les, I agree with you, many of the new colors just lack vigor genes. The old fashioned species are the toughest by far. Good deal on the goldfinch too. Such lovely visitors. :-)
    Frances

  8. VW says:

    I like night on bald mountain :-) And Moussorgsky (who needs a pronounciation helper) has a nice piece called promenade or something that used to give my fingers a great workout on the piano (not that my kids will ever let me play solo anymore, they want to help). Anyway, have you seen the new pink poodle echinacea at terra nova’s website? No ray petals – looks like a zinnia but perennial. I might pick a few of those up in a couple of years if they show up at Lowe’s.

    How cool, VW! Funny about your piano helpers too. Maybe they too will learn to love the Mous! HA I haven’t seen the poodle one, sounds interesting. Our Lowe’s is not having their usual good offerings this year for some reason. I have been buying all my plants at our locally owned nursery, Mouse Creek. I don’t want her to go out of business. :-)
    Frances

  9. I have good, reliable echinacea ‘Prairie Splendor’ and a few ‘White Swan’ and ‘Ruby Star’. Seeds from my PS that I sowed last fall are getting ready to bloom. I have sown seeds of white swan, too. I think it will take a few more years for the designer colors to sort out the survival of the fittest and most consistent.

    Cameron

    Hi Cameron, thanks for that info. I agree about the designer colors. Sunrise seed goes back to White Swan, but that is fine by me anyway. As a matter of fact, Sunrise is by far the hardiest of the new group. I have told myself not to buy anymore of the fancy ones, but they do take a nice close up shot. :-)
    Frances

  10. Lythrum says:

    Echinacea is one of the plants that I have had the least problem with *knock on wood*. You’ve got some really pretty varieties. :)

    Hi Lythrum, thanks. I am glad you have had no trouble, but still be on the lookout! :-)
    Frances

  11. tina says:

    My plants in one garden had this virus last summer and a very few (in a total other garden) showed it this summer. Out it went into the trash can. What a pain it is but doesn’t seem to stay around the next season instead manifesting itself each year. I am happy about that too. I say leave the double decker and watch it. It’s pretty and looks normal to me.

    Hi Tina, I am so sorry your plants have been infected too. If you keep getting rid of them, maybe it will be less of a problem in the future. Knowledge is power! :-)
    Frances

  12. Dave says:

    I definitely want to add some more coneflowers in the future. You have a good variety! I like the big sky ones but they just don’t last long enough. We’re down to one from the two we had. I’ll be scoping out the discount racks pretty soon!

    Hi Dave, thanks. I would add the old standbys of pinks and whites, if I were you. They seed well, attract wildlife and are more stable. The new ones are pretty but not as reliable, IMHO. :-)
    Frances

  13. Beautiful variety of coneflower. I was taught e ki NAY see uh

    But, that’s okay. We’re still talking the same language! :-)

    Hi Shady, thanks. Your way is right, of course. That was just a way to help me spell it. :-)
    Frances

  14. Kathleen says:

    Thanks for the educational heads up Frances. I will take heed. Love ‘harvest moon’ ~ that color is a knock out. I am not a fan of the doubles at all. Not sure why? but I like all the new color variations of the good old standby. I have found them to be one of the most carefree & reliable of perennials ~ can’t imagine gardening without them…

    Hi Kathleen, thanks. So nice to see you. Harvest Moon is a little guy, I have to move him to the new muhly bed, he was getting lost in the mix. None of the new ones seem as vigorous as the older types here. We always want to have them in our garden too. :-)
    Frances

  15. Sunita says:

    That hummingbird was definitely a great ‘happy accident’! I bet you were beaming with joy after that shot :)
    ‘E.Sundown’ is such a perfect name for that flower.

    Hi Sunita, thanks, it really was a surprise. I squealed when it showed up on the computer as the shots of the day were being loaded. Sundown is quite the color, I agree. :-)
    Frances

  16. marmee says:

    hey frances, thanks for the heads up on the aster yellow…i will be on the look out. so many of my warm weather plants are having a hard time with the cool/wet summer we are having.

    Hi Marmee, I do so hope you will not have this disease and so sorry to hear of your plants struggling. Right now it is anything but cool here, but we have had more rain than the last couple of years. The plants are quite happy about that too. We have such sharp drainage, things dry out quickly.
    Frances

  17. gittan says:

    Grown from seeds I have ‘White Swan’. She’s so god looking in front of that read leafed Smokebush. This year I bought the ‘Green Wisard’ and I hope he’ll bloom soon. Our first E-China-See-Ya’s were horrible! Named ‘Magnus’ and the most ugly flower we’ve ever planted in our garden. Why? Since the colour of ‘Magnus’ didn’t fit in, standing in front of the house (which doesn’t look god with pink tones at all) I was a dreadful view. I even tried to giv him away to a neighbour who refused to take him, since the colour where so ugly. Magnus doesn’t look that bad placed in a better space but that made us a bit sceptical agains those E-China-See-Ya’s. You have a lot of them that looks just great! Sad to hear about that diseas. Now we’ll go to the sea just for the day. The first time this year (wonder why) and I can hardly wait to get my feet into that sand on the beach =) Have a great day / kram gittan

    Hi Gittan, thanks. Funny, we have Magnus and it is one of the most vigorous varieties. The color is the normal pinky purple, nothing special like the Big Sky series, but a much better grower. Be wary of Green Wizard though I am sure it is fine. The green ones are lovely, but remind me too much of the diseased ones. I even took note of one in Chicago called Green Envy that was very beautiful. Hope you beach trip was great and you got lots of sand between your toes! :-)
    Kram,
    Frances

  18. Darla says:

    I must expand further than just the purple coneflowers for sure. You know one of my Susans did that ‘I’m on steroids” thingy. The diseased plants have been removed from here as well. Thanks for the info, I like you thought it was cool, at first!

    Hi Darla, thanks. A photo of a susan with this disease was on one of the websites I used to write this post. The same double decker type flower was shown.. Glad you got rid of it, pronto!
    Frances

  19. lotusleaf says:

    I have never seen a cone flower, even in flower shows.We have most of the English flowers, though.E.purpurea is very pretty. Does the coneflower come in blue too?

    Hi Lotusleaf, I am not sure they are good as cut flowers. So far there is no blue, mostly reds and yellows called Tomato Soup and Mac and Cheese are the latest new ones.
    Frances

  20. Firstly, I love Echinacea no matter how you slice up its pronunciation (HA!). But, seriously, the problem with Latin is, no one speaks it any more and the problem with botanical Latin is that even Garden Authorities ™ pronounce Latin names differently. Heck, I haven’t even heard a consistent pronunciation of coir (core vs. choir). If anyone is interested, the Fine Gardening Pronunciation Guide offers sound files for many plants.

    Hi Monica, thanks for that link. I knew that wasn’t the way to say Echinacea, but it sure makes it easier for me to spell it. Now let’s talk about Cuphea! HA:-)
    Frances

  21. Randy says:

    What a wonderful collection you have! We have a lot of the same ones you do. I hope to build on our collection to add them to the new bed. We’ve got a good start on it!

    Thanks Randy. They would look great in your new bed. I do believe they need to be planted more as specimens, the fancy ones that is, to be noticed rather than the mass plantings. Ours are along the main wall where they can be noticed better.
    Frances

  22. Randy says:

    Frances,
    I was looking for a link to your new email and I couldn’t find one. The package came yesterday! Thank you very much for the seeds. :-)

    Glad you got them, Randy. I had such a time with my email, even though it was not shown on the blog anywhere. Hope you get lots of variations. :-)
    Frances

  23. Rose says:

    I’m still chuckling over your pronunciation of echinacea; makes sense to me:) I have often asked for a particular plant at a nursery, only to be very tactfully corrected in my pronunciation, kind of like the time I ordered salad NEE-KOIS in a restaurant and was kindly given salad NEE-SWAH:)
    Thanks for all the valuable information about the dangers to coneflowers; I can’t imagine what I would do if a disease suddenly spread through all of mine! I only have the ordinary cultivars, but want to add some of the Big Sky series if I can ever find them on sale. This has been a feast for my eyes this morning, Frances!

    Hi Rose, thanks for the backup. I love that salad too, and never knew how to pronouce it either, rather just pointing my finger to it on the menu. HA Glad to hear your coneflowers have not been affected, I know how much you love them. If you do see a weird green flower like those shown, bag it for the trash pick up. The Big Sky ones are quite expensive and often don’t make it through the winter either, sadly.
    Frances

  24. Hi Francs, good information. I would just watch the last one. You’ll know soon enough if it has the yellows. So far, I don’t have any which do, but you never know when they will hit. I saw your comment about ‘Tiki Torch’ and will let you know if it overwinters in the garden. I hope it does.~~Dee

    Thanks, Dee. Good luck with Tiki Torch, it is such a pretty one. :-)
    Frances

  25. gail says:

    Hello Frances~~ You know how much I love these beauties in my garden, but they look especially beautiful in yours! The first photo is a perfect example of why i’ve decided to invite other echinacea flavors into the mix! What a stunning photo….and Rocky Top is looking very uplifting! Thank you for all the link loves…they made me smile! I do hope we get a date worked out for my annual fall visit! Have a delicious weekend. gail

    Hi Gail, thanks so much. The fancy ones are hard to resist, but I have lost so many that for now I am only adding the old fashioned ones. Cheaper too. Can’t wait for you to see the garden. You will be proud of Rocky Top and the other plants you have given me. Ignore Nora Leigh though, she will be better next year since I divided her at the exact wrong time of year, during her bloom time! HA :-)
    Frances

  26. Jen says:

    I have such trouble spelling it and have to doublecheck the spelling everytime I write it. You have some gorgeous varieties there – I especially like the “White Swan”. Deer ate my purpurea this year, but I may get a bloom or two yet…I’ll be on the lookout for the phytoplasmas!

    Hi Jen, thanks. The title shows how I solved the spellling problem, but do remember that is not the correct way to say it. White Swan is so elegant, hope your deer give you a break! :-)
    Frances

  27. Hi Frances, I owe you a real-email…loved your post on echinaceas and the PSA on aster yellows. We’ve never seen it up here, whether because we’re just lucky or because the phytoplasma doesn’t survive here we don’t know.
    My biggest coneflower challenge has been with the Meadowbrite series, and I’ve stopped trying to grow them. No disrespect to the Chicago Botanical Gardens where they were bred, but I think the Chicago climate (where in winter things generally get cold and stay that way) probably suit them better than our erratic freeze-thaw cycles up here.
    I have several of the doubles as well as the greens and they’ve been very good (Green Envy is my fave, sorry Frances).
    This year I added some more of the new colours and we’ll see how they fare. My observations in the past couple of years is that they’re rushed to market and not necessarily well-grown enough to survive. Plants that I’ve gotten from nurseries who have grown them on for at least a few months have been much better.

    Thanks Jodi, so nice to see you and I don’t believe you owe me anything although I would love to hear from you. :-) As for the Echinaceas, I cannot grow the Meadowbrites either. The first one I bought, Mango Meadowbrite didn’t last a month. Green Envy is gorgeous and was used heavily in Chicago, but I fear the green here. Rushed to market is spot on I believe, for many others have complained of lack of hardiness or vigor. Hard to beat the species.
    Frances

  28. Sue says:

    I learned a little about that kind of flower having a disease last year, but your post filled in the details. Thanks for the information. You have a nice assortment of coneflowers. Have you noticed whether the bees and butterflies go to all of them pretty much equally, or do they prefer certain ones over others?

    Hi Sue, thanks, glad to be of help. I think the butterflies like plain old E. purpurea the best here, but it is also the most plentiful, so that may not be a fair trail.
    Frances

  29. Hi Frances

    Aster Yellows is bad news indeed and you are right to alert folk.

    Over here I grow the purpurea and white swan. I love them. I don’t think any other perennial has had such meteoric ascent in popularity over recent years. They have it all.

    Hi Rob, thanks. I think White Swan to be underused. It deserves to be headlined more than the fancy colors that are not as vigorous. The new colors are drawing attention to the genus though, a good thing. :-)
    Frances

  30. Patsi says:

    Wow…looks like you have a nursery…lots of different kinds of coneflowers.
    Have to admit Sundown is my favorite.
    Mine are just purple.

    I knew those leaf hoppers were no good.
    I sometimes use neem oil to help but not in these temps.

    You gave us a great deal of information BUT
    what about pruning ? Can you tell I know little about them ? :)

    Hi Patsi, thanks, I could have a nursery with the wide variety of stuff growing here. HA My favorite it White Swan, it comes true from seed and is just refreshing. I was thinking of getting out the neem oil for the caggage bugs on my kale, they are wreaking havoc. As for pruning, I mostly stick to trees and shrubs for that if at all. I don’t do anything to the Echinaceas, leaving the dead seed heads for the goldfinches who love them so.
    Frances

  31. Thank you for this public service announcement. Out by the pond I have some goldenrod exhibiting this sort of problem, I was wondering what was going on but now, thanks to you, I know. I will be addressing the issue immediately.

    This is just one of the reason I love the internet and the blogosphere.

    Hi Hands, my pleasure. So sorry about your goldenrod too. Hope you can eradicate the problem plants. The bloggers and the internet have changed our lives for the better, IMHO. :-)
    Frances

  32. Sweet Bay says:

    Love the Sunrise yellow. White Swan is one of my favorites too — makes such a wonderful combination with the regular Purple Coneflowers.

    Hi Sweet Bay, thanks. You have good taste in plants. :-)
    Frances

  33. Jenny B says:

    I am very impressed with your description of Echinacea tennesseensis. Here on my own rocky top of Round Rock, I cannot grow anything but poor puny E-china-SEE-ya, except in pots. Loved your Echinacea Sundown–bee-u-tee-full!

    Thanks, Jenny. Sorry to hear about your E’s in pots. Maybe the Tennessee coneflower would work for you too. It is really growing on me! :-)
    Frances

  34. TC says:

    So much info on the plants themselves and the disease; you seemed to skip over the medicinal use. During winters here, when we feel the oncoming of a cold, we’ll take one Echinacea tablet to help ward off the onslaught.

    Hi TC, thanks. I don’t feel qualified to speak on the medicinal uses, and have never used any of the herbs for that purpose. I have made tea bags and other cloth bags filled with the proper mixes for baths, headaches, moth repellents, etc. I don’t have enough confidence to ingest anything other than culinary. Glad you are able to get relief with the tablets. :-)
    Frances

  35. Frances, Can you help me locate your posts on making hypertufa containers?? My gardening buddies and I are going to try this Friday! :-)

    Sure, Shady, here is the link:

    http://fairegarden.wordpress.com/2008/11/27/troughs-recycled/

    I would look at some other info online besides mine though, I am no expert. Do remember to not unmold for several days. Patsi at Garden Endeavors is doing a series of posts about her making a hypertufa too.

    http://www.pseewald.com/2009/08/update-hypertufa-planter.html

    Good luck with them and don’t forget to have fun!

    Frances

  36. sequoiagardens says:

    A beautiful blog! Lovely pics, great theme, interesting info. Thank you!

    Hi Jack, thanks and welcome. Glad you liked the mishy mashy post today. :-)
    Frances

  37. Randy says:

    Yep I’m the one and only coneflower killer, all the fancy ones I have planted barely made one season let alone two. They should take these off the market. Guess what Meg just brought some home on Saturday, DUH…

    Hi Randy, please know that you are not the only killer of the fancy ones. We have lost more than have survived. We just keep buying them, don’t learn from our mistakes apparently. One thing, make that two things, is they need lots of water to get established, and sometimes a large specimen needs the soil removed from its roots to adjust to ground soil instead of the peat/sand mix they are grown in for the trade. I really really am not going to buy anymore of them, including the luscious Tomato Soup! HA
    Frances

  38. Cindy, MCOK says:

    Frances, I think Aster Yellows may also affect Coreopsis. Several years ago I had Coreopsis lanceolata growing in the corner bed that kept producing this kind of abnormal blooms. I yanked them all out and haven’t seen it on anything else recently. Thanks for the info!

    Hi Cindy, thanks for visiting and offering your insights. There was a long list of plants affected by this disease, sad to say. Abnormal flowers are a bad sign in general and should be pulled and disposed of properly.
    Frances

Comments are closed.