Picture This-All Are Winners

July 30, 2009 086 (2)
The winner of the Gardening Gone Wild August Picture This contest has been announced. To read about the contest and photographer David Perry’s announcement of the gold winner, East Side Patch’s Cattail Sparklers. Typha latifolia”, along with several other images to which he was drawn, click here.
(Shown above are a couple of visitors to the wildling thistle, in honor of our late winter bee seen in our own entry.)

picture_this_silver11
Many thanks to Gardening Gone Wild for putting on yet another fine way to bring the garden blogging community together and to Judge David for taking so much time to analyze each entry. I am thrilled to have won the Silver Medal, shown above. The entry image with the bee flying into the hellebore was taken earlier this year, February 27, 2009.

February 27, 2009 007 (7)
David’s kind words bring a smile of humble pride to this point and shoot photographer who gets lucky sometimes:
” My selection for SILVER WINNER goes to Frances at Faire Garden for a stunning and surreal belly shot of a Hellebore flower and a honey bee heading straight for it in mid-flight. A few years ago I was privileged to shoot an entire annual report for an agricultural bank themed on honey bees and their intelligent teamwork approach to survival in the world, which meant that I got paid to hang out with several beekeepers (a delightful lot), and that I spent a great deal of time on my hands and knees photographing bees and bee-pollenated agricultural crops in bloom. I know first-hand how challenging a really stunning bee shot can be to capture, and this is a stunning shot. It tells a story, or rather, sets up any number of possible stories, with an almost three-dimensional, ‘Oh my goodness!’ feel. It has all the requisite, attention-grabbing elements of motion and drama. And would you look at those beautifully backlit wings on that bee! This is most definitely a vision that you could never see from standing height, and I don’t mind admitting that I’ve imagined and wandered through this image again and again in my mind since seeing it for the first time.”

Thanks to all, and all are winners in the book of Fairegarden!

Frances

This entry was posted in Musings, Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Picture This-All Are Winners

  1. Layanee says:

    That is a great shot Frances but then you have a way with the camera as well as the garden. Congrats!

    Thanks for the kind words, Layanee. The camera gets lucky sometimes and the garden is a wealth of photo ops. :-)
    Frances

  2. Joy says:

    Congratulations Frances ! Beautiful pictures !
    We do have some pretty darn spectacular moments that make all of those other fuzzy, out of focus, over exposed , frustrating shots , melt away in our memory and make us shine with the absolutely perfect ones .. a high I can live on for days ? LOL
    Joy ;-)

    Thanks Joy, you do seem to understand my photo philosophy, take millions of shots and hope for a good one! HA
    Frances

  3. VP says:

    Well done Frances. Your photos are always a great draw on your blog – as are your words – but it’s always good to get feedback from a professional, especially when it’s as complimentary as David’s :)

    Thanks VP. I was overwhelmed at David’s kind words. When I began blogging, it was a way to use the photos that I had been taking of the garden for years, ever since the first digital camera in 2002. I like to look at pretty pictures and wanted my blog to offer that. This is such an honor, for I am such a novice photographer.
    Frances

  4. tina says:

    Congrats Frances!

    Thanks, my friend. :-)
    Frances

  5. Daphne Gould says:

    Congratulations Frances. It is a stunning photo.

    Thanks, Daphne. :-)
    Frances

  6. Janet says:

    Congrats Frances, I like your photo a lot– just great shot.

    Thanks so much, Janet.
    Frances

  7. Jenny B says:

    A well deserved accolade! I have always been charmed by your photos but it is even better when you have the praise of a pro! I look forward to many more wonderful pictures and your generous sharing of information and technique.

    Thanks for those kind words, Jenny. It does mean a lot to have one such as David say such nice things.
    Frances

  8. Lynn says:

    Congratulations. Well deserved.

    Hey, Lynn! Nice to see you, and thanks. :-)
    Love, Frances

  9. With that Wow factor you were a shoo-in to be a winner Frances.

    Hi Christopher, thanks. I thought your shots were marvelous as well. :-)
    Frances

  10. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Well deserved Frances. I have loved this photo since you first posted it. Do you care if I try to paint it?? FUN FUN…

    Oh Lisa, thanks and I would be tickled for you to paint this! Do let me know if you would like a larger shot sent to you. :-)
    Frances

  11. Dave says:

    Congrats Frances. After I saw your shot I knew I didn’t stand a chance! ;) It was a great photo, with the bee in flight.

    Thanks Dave, there were so many wonderful and impressive shots, including yours! I am honored to be in such company. :-)
    Frances

  12. Jake says:

    Congratulations! You do have beautiful photo’s that you post here.

    Jake

    Thanks Jake, very nice of you to say so. :-)
    Frances

  13. Charlotte says:

    Well done Frances, but you really do deserve it – the pix are brilliant!!

    Thanks so much, Charlotte. :-)
    Frances

  14. Rose says:

    Congratulations, Frances! When I first saw this photo I thought it was a winner, too, but your photography is always marvelous.

    Thanks Rose, you are too sweet. :-)
    Frances

  15. Amy Emerick says:

    Wow! You have beautiful pictures. I can see why you have so many views. :)

    Thanks Amy, and welcome. :-)
    Frances

  16. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Congratulations!

    Thanks, Donna.
    Frances

  17. Gail says:

    Frances, Congrats my friend~~a well deserved win! and the thistle shot is mighty fine, too! gail

    Thanks Gail, it was for you, with the little greenish bee guy in the shot. :-)
    Frances

  18. ourfriendben says:

    I love your hellebore-and-bee photo, Frances! How wonderful to be there just at the right moment and to have the sense and sensitivity to realize what you were seeing!

    Thanks OFB, for knowing that it was the luck of the moment for the bee to fly into the shot. It had just rained and the sun was shining through the petals in a special way that I thought worth capturing, getting down on the cold wet ground. When I saw a bee flying around, I tried to get a photo of him, then just gave up and went back to the hellebore. He flew in just as I clicked. A very nice miracle. :-)
    Frances

  19. autumnbelle says:

    Frances, Congratulations! You deserve it. I have no doub’t about your photography skills. That bee is the most beautiful bee I have ever seen and it looks like a celebrity bee for Discovery Channel.

    Thanks Autumnbelle, and good one about the Discovery Channel! HA This bee was the slowest flyer I have ever seen, it must have been the cold weather. I was surprised to see him at all, but have even seen bees on crocus in January on relatively warmer days. I don’t know where they go when it turns frigid again. :-)
    Frances

  20. Catherine says:

    Congratulations, I love that picture.

    Thanks Catherine, glad you liked it. :-)
    Frances

  21. Lola says:

    Congratulations Frances. That is a magnificent pic. Love it. You sure know how to get the best.

    Thanks so much Lola, you are too sweet. :-)
    Frances

  22. Robin says:

    Congratulations! It is a great capture of the bee in flight!

    Thanks Robin. That means a lot coming from such a fabulous photographer as you. :-)
    Frances

  23. Kate says:

    That’s a wonderful photo, Frances. I’m still a bit nervous about getting close enough to photograph bees well, especially in flight. Now that I finally have a garden of my own, I’m getting used to them. They don’t even bother me anymore when they’re on the flowers, only when they’re flying around me and looking for the next place to nibble. Congratulations. :)

    Hi Kate, thanks and welcome. Being around the bees is a big part of gardening. They believe in the philosophy of don’t bother me and I won’t bother you. But I have been stung when wearing a skirt and one flew up and freaked because it was trapped, and when grabbing something that a bee or wasp was on and I didn’t see them. Or disturbing a nest, must be on the lookout for those. It might sound like danger at every turn, but really is not. Usually they are busy on the flower and don’t notice the camera so close to them. :-)
    Frances

  24. Darla says:

    How nice!! That photo is perfect!! Come see my almost monarchs!!

    Thanks Darla. Your monarchs to be a very exciting! :-)
    Frances

  25. Congratulations! It is a very striking image. Nifty little award badge you got there.

    Thanks MMD. I thought your photo was particularly winning. The badge is nice, not too much, just enough. :-)
    Frances

  26. Congratulations, Frances – your shot of the hellebore and the bee is stunning!

    Thanks Katarina, your photos always make me drool. :-) That sounds funny, doesn’t it? HA
    Frances

  27. Kim says:

    Congratulations, Frances. Your photo is truly worthy of praise, and I’m so glad you got the silver medal!

    Thanks so much Kim, I am most happy with the silver, quite an honor. :-)
    Frances

  28. Patsi says:

    Congrats kiddo !!

    Thanks Patsi! I am not often called kiddo now, but my mother used to call me that! :-)
    Frances

  29. hayefield says:

    Imagine my delight to see your name as the silver medal winner when I was putting up David’s post this morning! The contest sure has been a fun way to celebrate with “old” friends and meet lots of new ones too.
    -Nan

    That is so sweet, Nan, thank you! It is fun that so many entered, lots of new faces for me to get to know better. :-)
    Frances

  30. Jean says:

    Yes, I loved your shot. Congratulations!

    Thanks Jean, much appreciated. :-)
    Frances

  31. Sunita says:

    Congratulations, Frances! That was a real beauty of a shot. Everything seems to come together so well and I could swear that flower is breathing!

    Thanks Sunita, what a delightful thought, the flowers breathing! :-)
    Frances

  32. Pam/Digging says:

    It’s a great shot, and I’m not at all surprised to see you getting applauded for it. Way to go!

    Thanks for your support, Pam. You are my mentor, as you know. ;-)
    Frances

  33. Joanne says:

    Great photos Frances

    Thanks so much, Joanne. :-)
    Frances

  34. Congratulations Frances! I wanted to chime in that your photos are amazing & this one is spectacular!

    Thanks Linda. I appreciate your chimes! :-)
    Frances

  35. The pics are so beautiful i wish i had these bees and flowers in my garden. instant day dreaming lolz. great job!!!

    Thanks so much Muhammad, for those kind words. :-)
    Frances

  36. Sweet Bay says:

    Congratulations Frances, that is a beautiful shot!

    Thanks Sweet Bay. I appreciate that. :-)
    Frances

  37. Tatyana says:

    Hi Frances and congratulations! The flower of Helleborus is gorgeous by itself, and that bee looks so determined to get to its sweet nectar.

    Hi Tatyana, thanks so much. The bee was a lucky inclusion, I am thankful too. :-)
    Frances

  38. Pingback: Bee and Hellebore « Fairegarden

Comments are closed.