More Moss Magic

September 23, 2009 056 (2)
An interesting feature offered by WordPress, the host of Fairegarden the blog, is a list of the search terms used to find our offerings. Another statistical list is the most visited stories on a given day, week, month, year and for all time. While the newest tales normally have the most hits, especially on the day they are put out there, and a big thanks to my regular customers for that, there are some posts that keep showing up on the list daily. One of them is a post from January called Moss Magic. Click here if you want to view that pictorial of moss images.

September 22, 2009 051 (2)
It is not known if the searches are looking for some kind of magical potion that includes moss as an ingredient. The popularity of Harry Potter books and movies might lead one to believe the search is along those lines.

September 22, 2009 052 (2)
Or it might be people looking for the lyrics to the Joni Mitchell song “Little Green” which are featured in part to narrate the macro moss photos.

September 22, 2009 055 (2)
But it was this comment from a young lady who was savvy enough to leave a message on that post which led me to the conclusion that many of the viewers were doing a school related project for some sort of science class on the topic of moss. She (Ashley) wrote:

I am working on a plant collection for school, do you know the name of the third one down? I have taken a picture in my yard of a very similar plant.

My answer was:

Sorry, Ashley, I do not know the names of any of the mosses. Thanks for stopping by though.
Frances

September 22, 2009 053 (2)
The efforts to narrate the post consisted of some how to grow moss facts and some fun lore about the velvet green stuff. But we remember doing papers for school, loved doing them in fact, for it entailed going to the library and using the resources of the times which were magazine and newspaper articles along with books written on the subject. There were no computers available yet, difficult as that might be to imagine for some readers. And yes I am old, ancient, a dinosaur actually, in these times of immediate access to a world wide web of information, not all of it accurate by the way. But with age comes wisdom, so it is smart to listen to your elders.

September 22, 2009 054 (2)
So for the students seeking more moss photos and information and the teachers who are tired of looking at the same shots in every submission, it was determined that a more informative and less whimsical tale be woven to accompany the shots of moss that grow with ease on nearly every surface in the Fairegarden.

September 22, 2009 056 (2)
One reason there is so much moss growing here is that our property is a steep slope that faces north. It is true that moss grows more readily on a hill so situated in the Northern Hemisphere.

September 22, 2009 057 (2)
Another lucky circumstance for the rampant growth of various mosses is the acidity and moisture of the soil and hardscape. Natural stone and weathered concrete surfaces with their nooks and crannies are perfect media for the spores of the moss to get a toehold.

September 22, 2009 058 (2)
Some property owners dislike the moss and try to remove it from surfaces and lawns with the application of chlorine bleach based products sprayed with pressure washers and crushed limestone spread on lawns. It is true that moss on a path can be very slippery, especially on brick or wood. We have found that the gravel used for the main thoroughfares is not hospitable to the the formation of moss and is therefore more safe for pedestrians.

September 22, 2009 059 (2)
The mossiest area of the Fairegarden is a four foot high forty foot long wall that holds back the power of the earth from crashing into the back of the main house. The wall faces true north and is composed of large concrete blocks that have raised ridges to fit each course on top of the preceding one without mortar holding them together. This allows the soil behind, which must be full of moss spores, to seep through the cracks along with the water when there is plentiful rainfall like we have been experiencing this year. Along those cracks is where the moss begins to establish itself.

September 22, 2009 061 (2)
Did we mention the plentiful rainfall, because it is a huge factor in the amount of moss growing even while the angle of the sun was providing more light than that which the moss is comfortable this summer. It has been pondered if it would be possible that the whole wall might one day be covered in moss. The wall was built in the year 2000, the year we moved back to Tennessee and began the renovation of the main house.

September 22, 2009 064 (2)
Fun facts about moss: (Let’s just say that google search engines are infatuated with Kate Moss)

~~~

When we leave the rarified world of super models and their fun exploits, trying to identify mosses becomes a world of microscopes. Here is something more basic, a world famous moss gardening company called Moss Acres, click here to see, that has been featured in magazines, newspapers and television shows that is a good site for very basic moss information and photos. This outfit is even represented in my garden ideas notebook comprised of pages torn from magazines that hold kernals of inspiration. (I am not affiliated with, have never ordered from them, or received anything for free for trial from this place, in case anyone is interested.)

To those students expecting to find here a report fully written that could be copied and pasted to turn in, sorry guys. The fun of doing reports is learning for yourself how to do research. It will help you in every endeavor you undertake, especially if you decide to enter the world of garden blogging. Good luck, and be careful out there!

Oh, you wanted to know the most viewed post of all time? Far and away, no contest, not even close, Lamb’s Ear Love has the most visits in total and shows up every day in the list of viewed posts. Added: Since this post was written, in 2009, a new most viewed post surged to the top: How To Make Hypertufa Concrete Balls.

Frances

This entry was posted in Musings, Plant Portrait. Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to More Moss Magic

  1. gittan says:

    Good morning Frances. You’ve got a lot of nice moss in your garden and those macros makes them look amazing. The only moss I have (I think) is the one, and there’s a lot, we have in our lawn / kram gittan

    Hi Gittan, thanks. Maybe your lawn needs to be a moss garden instead? (Meant is the nicest possible way. :-)
    Kram, Frances

  2. Urban Green says:

    Lovely! lucky you! I’m plain unlucky with growing moss here. Especially since I have a lot of bonsais-in-making, I need a lot of moss all the year round to keep the moist cover on. Any tips?

    Thanks Urban Green. I am no expert because the moss is naturally occuring here, but if you can give it what it wants, moisture, shade, acid conditions possible from soured milk or yogurt mixed with moss, you might be able to grow enough for your bonsai needs. Good luck! :-)
    Frances

  3. Interesting… moss has toes? I mean, how else could it get a “toehold”. By far the most read post on my blog is one I wrote about burning bush, way back in 2006, I think. You never know what people will find interesting…

    Hi Carol, of course moss has toes, and fingers, ears….. well in a world of metaphors it does. Burning bush, how interesting, not to me, but obviously to some. That lamb’s ear post has legs, but we feel the hypertufa how to will pass it one day. Or that is my guess, who knows, like you say, what people are looking for. I just hope it has nothing to do with lambs, er sheep reproduction.
    Frances

  4. lynnsgarden says:

    Awesome post, Frances! You have quite a few interesting ones! I actually saw a segment of “Gardener’s Diary” a few months ago and the subject was strictly moss. Who knew there were (hundreds!) so many varieties! Up close they are really interesting and even pretty but most eyes find them to be just slimy gunge that needs to be gotten rid off…And, of course, there are the moss lovers that create their growth with spoiled milk/yogurt. I LOVE them in the cracks of my paver patio…except the one time I tripped and sent a tray of h’orderves flying!!

    Hi Lynn, thanks so much. I have always admired moss, but know little about it. Trying to get some info for this post, most authoritative sites went into great detail that needed a microscope to identy the different types. Moss Acres seemed more appropriate for the lay person. Our first Tennessee house had a brick pathway from the driveway to the north facing front door that was treacherous when wet. We had to keep it scrubbed clean so people wouldn’t slip and sue us.
    Frances

  5. Good post Frances.

    There’s plenty of moss and lichen here as well. It softens everything as you have shown.

    I’m always taken with some of the ways Japanese gardens use moss to great effect.

    I’ve stuck Moss Acres in favourites as a reference tool.

    Thanks Rob. I love the look of age the moss gives, even to things that are relatively new. We have a corner that is suppose to be a moss garden with a few small trees and ephemerals growing in it. Keeping it pristinely weeded is a daunting task, but a leisurely pursuit on a hot sunny day since it is shaded and cooler there. Moss Acres has some nice photos. If only I lived in a forest…. :-)
    Frances

  6. Joy says:

    Good morning too Frances .. I am a moss and lichen LOVER .. when most people are dismayed over the fact that moss has grown between their patio brick, well we are HAPPY to see it here .. and lichen on my driftwood .. it brings both those objects ALIVE for us, and that is a GOOD thing for my garden.
    We had our first hard frost last night , so this morning it was amazing .. especially after the chase Ms. Emma gave me when she got out the deck door as I was taking pictures .. lets just say I WOKE UP FAST ? haha ..

    Hi Joy, frost? Being outside in that kind of cold will get the adrenaline pumping I’d say! The moss and lichen are very welcome here too, they bring magic to the space IMHO, and we need all the magic we can get in these uberelectronic times. :-)
    Frances

  7. ourfriendben says:

    Love your mosses, Frances! And thanks for the Moss Acres ref. I enjoy all our mosses here, but the most beautiful I’ve seen are the seagreen ones at Hawk Mountain. They’re breathtaking! You’re reminding me that I need to go check on my most-viewed posts. I love that WordPress feature!

    Hi OFB, thanks. Seagreen moss sounds wonderful. Most of ours are close to the same tone, with different textures, but there is one little patch in one of the troughs that is a greyish color, more like lichen. I should take a photo of it one of these days, maybe for Hallowe’en. The posts and search terms are interesting and fun, I check the stat page out every day. Always good for a laugh. :-)
    Frances

  8. Little Wing says:

    Good Morning Frances! I am not at all surprised that your moss post would be so popular. Not a run of the mill topic but a very intersting one. I think that most people- myself included- who haven’t had to deal with moss as a hazard really do find it to be magical:) It appears on its own and that’s what nature is all about.

    BTW. Thank you for adding me to your blogroll. I’m honored.

    Hi Little Wing, thanks for stopping by. One never knows what people are looking for when they come to visit us. We assume garden related, but sometimes the searches are not about gardens at all. It is my pleasure to add you to the blogroll. :-)
    Frances

  9. I like moss! The problem with people eliminating moss is that most of the time they can’t grow anything else in its place! Grass usually doesn’t get enough light in the locations that moss grows so often it’s waste of effort to try to remove it. I’d rather have moss in some places anyway, it’s like a natural carpet!

    Thanks for visiting, Dave. What a waste of time, effort and chemicals for those trying to get the moss out of their lawns and flowerbeds. I can understand it on a pathway, it is slippery and dangerous, but a nice mossy carpet is a joy. Your girls would love to help keep it weeded, I’ll bet. If not now, when they get a little older. It is full of magic. :-)
    Frances

  10. Your pictures are so clear, each moss looks like a ‘model’ with its own charm. I used to think that mosses are weeds and I’d pull them out or scrape them off whenever I see them on my flower pots. However, my perspective has changed and now I think they help to decorate the soil surfaces of my pots with no maintenance needed. They do look very green and innocent though.

    Thanks Autumn Belle. The mosses are very good at staying perfectly still, not blowing in the wind. Moss around potted plants help keep the soil from splashing up onto the leaves and keeps the moisture in, besides looking absolutely fabulous. I use it in all the hypertufa troughs too, it loves the conditions there. :-)
    Frances

  11. Gail says:

    Frances, I love moss and lichens and wish there were more here. The variety of greens is lovely… Even the big rains we’ve had hasn’t altered the soil. It remains more to the neutral side; except for the seep in the wayback! There has always been a nice bit of moss to enjoy on a hot, dry day. (Do you remember dry days?) One day your great Faire Wall will be covered with moss….and a beautiful sight it will be. See you and the Great Faire Wall soon! gail

    Hi Gail, thanks. So much rain, it is raining right now, again. I hope there are some non rainy moments when you come to visit, but bring an umbrella, raincoat and galoshes anyway. I think you need a nice, large hypertufa trough to grow your moss garden. :-)
    Frances

  12. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Good Morning you old dinosaur. tee hee… I love your posts about moss. I have always wanted to try a moss garden. I haven’t done that yet. You have so many interesting collections Frances.

    Hi Lisa, I am Dinosaur, here me roar!!! HA Thanks for the kind words. A moss collection in a trough would be a great small project, evergreen too. :-)
    Frances

  13. Lzyjo says:

    Frances, isn’t it amazing how some post just have legs?! My most popular post has no sigh of slowing down and has actually gained more hits with Halloween comping up! I loved looking at your moss photos, so many beautiful types! I love those round clumps and also the long fuzzy ones. (er, aren’t they all fuzzy?)

    Hi Lzyjo, thanks. It is certainly interesting which posts get so much traffic each and every day. Not necessarily the best ones, in my case, either. Right now about half the searches involve muhly grass, as it should be! HA :-)
    Frances

  14. Darla says:

    You sound like a teacher yourself..lol I love mosses too. It would be cool if your entire wall was covered in moss….we need a photo of that wall…I believe that your lambs ear post is a favorite…I’ve read it several times myslf…

    Hi Darla, thanks. I am not a trained teacher, but substituted some and had four kids that I felt responsible for teaching them all sorts of things. The wall is the mossiest it has ever been with all this rain, I will try to get a photo to do it justice. And is it you coming back over and over to the Lamb’s Ear post that is driving those numbers? Maybe I need to take another look at it and learn how to write more like it! :-)
    Frances

  15. joey says:

    Love the post, Frances … I too, like Rob & Jan, love the magical quality of moss and lichen (fun to photograph)!

    Hi Joey, thanks. There is something mystical about the green moss, especially in the dead of winter when everything else is brown or grey and there will be a patch of emerald green in the middle that is some sort of moss. That is when I became really interested in it, when we lived on a wooded acre and this green would just jump out at you.
    Frances

  16. rosey pollen says:

    Frances,
    I love these photos of the moss you shared. We usually don’t get much moss growing here except this summer we got so much rain, that we did get some growing on the North side of our house, near a picnic table. I am amazed where moss can flourish, especially here in our valley where we also get Pediocacti as well. Definitely a lot of microclimates here!
    Thanks for the great info on moss.
    Rosey

    Hi Rosey, thanks. You must live in a place with great diversity to have both moss and the Pedios. Cool! :-)
    Frances

  17. Joanne says:

    Lovely post Frances love the amusing remarks at the end to the students.
    With all the lovely flowers in your garden I am surprised to see you have such a wide selection of moss. Lovely though.

    Thanks Joanne. The moss was here before the flowers. I was quite excited to see the variety of it too. Facing north and with our normally high rainfall and acidic conditions, the pump was primed, so to speak. I would love to have a comment from a teacher or students to this post. :-)
    Frances

  18. Catherine says:

    I love all the moss pictures, they are all so different. I think they really are pretty and add a little magic to where they are. I’m just starting to see moss reappear in the garden now. Our summer was so dry they didn’t have a chance. My oldest likes to peel layers of it to use as roofs for her fairy homes.

    Thanks Catherine. I have always been a big fan of moss, curious as to why some people don’t like it. Must be the fairy lover in me. Sounds like you have one in your family as well. :-)
    Frances

  19. Frances,
    Love the moss photos, they are gorgeous. Moss growing on old clay pots is one of my favorites, but your photos have me rethinking that.

    Hi Jackie, thanks. The mossy clay pots are classics, even broken ones lying about covered in the stuff add a welcome sense of age to a youngish garden. Stones with moss are great, we bought the mossy ones for our Houston home landscape. :-)
    Frances

  20. tina says:

    I love moss! I am establishing some lawn areas with it-if I can ever fight off the wild strawberries. I did not realize your hill faced north-perfect conditions for sure. I am always most interested in orientations. P.S. Happy to trade you white for pink any time:)

    Great Tina. The moss grows so readily here, but it is hard to keep it weeded in the garden beds. On concrete surfaces there is no need to weed. Good luck with those strawberries, we have them by the truckloads, but the biggest problem is those dadburn violets, they are everywhere and the more I pull the more come back. Disheartening to say the least. We will work out the trade of the anemones, I have loads of the darker pink Prince but no whites. :-)
    Frances

  21. Noelle says:

    Hello Frances. You bring up an interesting point. I think everyone knows what moss is, but not how many different kinds there are. Your photos show so many different types. Thank you for sharing.

    Hi Noelle, thanks for visiting. There is lots to know about moss and how to identify it. Mostly one needs a microscrope to see the differences in structure that are the basis for the classifications. But we can see differences with the macro shots that are not always apparent to one wandering about their gardens. I do love them all. I also loved your presentation of the Sonoran Desert and look forward to learning more. :-)
    Frances

  22. Carol says:

    Hi Frances… I love the first two images especially but all are lovely. Moss does seem to have a magical quality somehow… we can imagine little creatures roaming about in its forest like carpet… so soft to touch and walk on. I suppose the kind that is slippery might not be so safe for stepping but I would take my chances with slipping over spilling chlorine anywhere near my garden or anywhere else for that matter. I just took a click over to your lambs ears post and what a sweet flock of lambs you made! I laughed out loud when I saw the larger ears glued to foam and such for I had done something similar back (speaking of dinosaurs!) twenty years ago… I made containers for orchids and such for a gig in NY… a round ball with a water pic inserted… they became part of table arrangements for a birthday party on Park Ave. I suppose mullein leaves could be used in a similar way. I used a glue gun… wonder if they are still around… how long ago did you make yours… they have aged beautifully… as I am sure you have!

    Hi Carol, thanks. I never used chlorine on the brick path, a good scrub brushing and elbow grease did the trick. It would have killed the plants for sure. The lamb’s ear lambs and hearts were made when we first moved to this house, 2001 would have been about right. I used to have a small business, landscaping during the warm months, crafts during the winter. I was pretty handy with a glue gun myself. Your containers sound wonderful. Those lamb’s ears hold up very well, but can’t take a lot of handling. I tried dipping a ball covered in them in hot wax that I was using to make candles to see if it would make them stronger. It did. And thanks for that last remark, it made my day. Your photo shows the same can be said of you. :-)
    Frances

    • Carol says:

      Frances … so sorry for the misunderstanding … I was only referring to what you said “some property owners” did… not you! BTW I meant to say… I can see why your lambs ears post is so popular! Those lambs are just fabulous… actually everything you did with the leaves are great ideas!

      Oh Carol, I didn’t mean to sound defensive at all, I was actually trying to cement your point about the bleach. I knew you didn’t think I used it, so sorry for leading you astray. And thanks for those kind words, the lamb’s ears are just so soft and the color so pretty, I have made attempts at using them for many projects. The lambs were the favorite of friends and family. :-)
      Frances

  23. Mary Delle says:

    I am so fond of moss. I love your photos as they take me back to the time when I live in upstate New York where there is lots of moss. I used to collect and make miniature gardens. Here with so little rain the moss just doesn’t show up. I could just curl up and take a nap in some of your photos.

    Hi Mary, thanks for those kind words, you are too sweet. I would imagein upstate New York to have plenty of moss opportunities. We are lucky to have enough rainfall this year that the moss is really green and lush, after two drought years. May you have more rain in your area too. :-)
    Frances

  24. elephant's eye says:

    Going to visit your lamb’s ears. One of my favourites, now I can grow it, and spread it!

    Just read it. Your readers come back because they love it. Info, beauty, emotion packed in a gorgeous garden!

    Thanks Diana. It is a wonderful easy to grow evergreen plant. Sometimes a batch will die out, but there is so much growing here it will spread to fill in the bare spot. You are too sweet about the post, I do appreciate you. :-)
    Frances

  25. Miss Daisy says:

    What beautiful pictures of moss! I LOVE the look and feel of moss. I have Scottish Moss growing in between my stepping stones. I love it!

    Thanks Jen, I agree, moss is the best softest greenest thing going. I love the gold Scottish moss between pavers too. It is quite tough and can take some foot traffic with aplomb. :-)
    Frances

  26. Patsi says:

    Wow, you do have various mosses !!
    Think I have one kind…now you’re gonna have me looking. There’s something ancient and interesting to moss.

    You are so funny, Patsi, thanks! With just my reading glasses, it sort of looks like we only have one or two kinds of mosses here as well. When the macro photos get loaded onto the computer, the details pop out, just like on the flowers and insects. That the moss is ancient never occurred to me, but you are so right, medieval. :-)
    Frances

  27. Sweet Bay says:

    That’s interesting that moss is such a popular pick. You have posted wonderful pictures. Moss has such a lovely softening effects on rocks.

    Hi Sweet Bay, thanks. We were quite surprised by the popularity of the moss post, it was kind of a throw away at the time. Mid winter with no flowers, the moss looks so healthy and alive with that intense green color, a good subject for a post. The school project made perfect sense after that comment was received. :-)
    Frances

  28. easygardener says:

    I like moss. Lovely colours and shapes – once you bend down to look. Unfortunately the moss in my garden tends to grow between our paving bricks which can lead to the occasional slippery incident. How I would love a damp wall like yours!

    Hi EG, thanks. Do be careful with that mossy brick path, don’t want any getting down to look at things up close that were not intentional! The wall is perfect for moss viewing however. Maybe you could build a little north facing one of some leftover bricks that might get taken up and replaced with safer gravel. :-)
    Frances

  29. Lola says:

    Those moss pics are fantastic. I love to walk on the moss. It feels so soft under foot. Walking in the woods one can do that with ease. Sadly my moss walking days are past.

    Thanks Lola. I am sorry your moss walking days are over, but it sounds like your memory is quite intact. Dreaming of a mossy woods brings a smile to my face too. :-)
    Frances

  30. Janet says:

    Not sure how I missed your posting this morning, but wow! Moss and mushrooms are so interesting and when you zoom in close they are so intricate. Love the spores shots.

    Thanks Janet, you are too sweet. The macro really lets us see the details of things, doesn’t it? :-)
    Frances

  31. dirtynailz says:

    What a lovely post. It’s about time mosses were given their due. In my opinion, the more the better!

    Cynthia

    Thanks Cynthia, I agree completely. Mossy surfaces on rocks, clay pots and old tree stumps are like nature’s art. But I have been the victim of slippery brick paths, more is not the best covering for them.
    Frances

  32. Great moss photos! You have such a great variety of mosses. I love moss too, and was thinking about taking photos of it the other day, but I got distracted. I wonder if it’s too late, if frost kills the moss?

    Thanks MMD. We are awash in moss with the rain we have had this year. Your moss should still be alive and well, ours is at its best in the winter months, with the weeds and other greenery down for a nap. :-)
    Frances

  33. Nell Jean says:

    How many of your visitors were looking for a way to get rid of moss, and who would ever want to do that?

    Some of my most-looked posts feature a common field weed, Rabbit Tobacco, I’m not sure why. My all time most hits were on a post not on my garden blog, about How to Hem Blue Jeans!

    Thanks Nell Jean, I never even thought of that reason for the moss looks, but you are quite right! As for your Rabbit Tobacco, I might have come there on a search as well, HA. There is little written about it and I was looking for an ID. How to hem blue jeans sounds like a huge hit too. I might need to check that one out as well. Since all blue jeans are now made for people six feet tall or taller. What are we shorties to do? :-)
    Frances

  34. Beckie says:

    Wonderful photos of enviable mosses. Yours are all beautiful and such a variety.

    I love the ‘teacher’ in you extolling the virtues of doing one’s own research. And you are so right. It is fun to learn for yourself. I, for another, loved doing research papers!

    Thanks Beckie. I never miss a chance for a good lecture to young people, just ask my kids! I am assuming that you did not have use of the internet when you were doing papers, same as me. Imagine how different it is now. Sometimes a blog post is like a research paper. :-)
    Frances

  35. lotusleaf says:

    Thank you Frances, for so much information presented in a beautiful way.

    Hi Lotusleaf, thanks. Glad you liked it. :-)
    Frances

  36. Frances,
    Of course it comes as no surprise that you won so many garden blog awards! Congratulations.

    Please contact me, I am doing a special “Garden Book and Blog Awards” show for my online garden TV talk show, “Garden World Report.”

    My co-host Billy Goodnick and I will be honoring the winners from GWA and Blotanical. I’d love a fun “video acceptance speech” from you,.

    Interested? It will be due on Thursday of this week.

    Please contact me,
    Shirley Bovshow “EdenMaker”

    Thanks so much Shirley. As I wrote to you, my technical skills are very poor. A video anything is beyond me, but thanks for the mention. And Hi to Billy. :-)
    Frances

  37. Layanee says:

    Love the mosses, Frances. They are so tactile in appearance and the green sheen draws the plant lover closer.

    Thanks Layanee, tactile is the perfect word for the mosses. Glad to hear you love them too. :-)
    Frances

  38. Rose says:

    Dear Frances, you may not have enjoyed your stints at substitute teaching, but you are a teacher at heart. I wonder how many students may have quoted you in their papers:) I especially appreciate your advice to them–the fun is in the research, definitely! And I have read too many “cut and paste” papers, not to mention those copied verbatim, to count:)

    But back to gardening, thank you for all the valuable information here–the world of mosses is something I am totally ignorant of. We don’t have as much of it here, but ever since you wrote that first post, I have been looking more carefully at the mosses I have seen. It’s no wonder you get so many hits on some of these posts–your titles are always creative and intriguing. I wonder if any of today’s readers might have come here looking for Kate, instead:)

    By the way, you may know already that I was within an hour or two of your home this weekend and wanted so badly to try to visit. But there wasn’t time…I’m trying to persuade Beckie to take a Tennessee blogging pilgrimage next summer:)

    Dear Rose, you are so sweet, thank you. I would love to have you and Beckie go on the road and come down our way. The door is always open! The things I learned from substitute teaching are: teachers are grossly underpaid, and every single parent should do at least a one week stint subbing in various classes, middle school ages. That would open some eyes in a hurry and earn teachers the respect they deserve. Such an important job, molding young minds. It is a wonder if anyone came in search of Kate! HA :-)
    Frances

  39. Erin says:

    I was fascinated by moss as a child, I tried scraping it off tree trunks and rocks to grow in a little terrarium, but it always died…
    I bought a little pot of moss at a local garden center this year, but I even though I put it in the shadiest spot, in a notoriously damp pot, it didn’t survive more than a couple months. I guess my balcony was just too sunny and hot!

    Your photos are so lovely and refreshingly lush! Makes me wish I could have some rocks + moss :)

    Hi Erin thanks and welcome. Your moss growing in the pot on the balcony might have been too wet. It still needs good drainage along with the moist shady conditions. Don’t give up, maybe this winter you can find a patch along a roadside facing north. The potting soil I use for the hypertufa troughs is cactus mix, found at the big box stores. The moss does well in it with rocks. :-)
    Frances

  40. Frances don’t you love WordPress! You do take such grand photos and are a superior writer. You’ve supported my recent rant about tags and keywords being the most effective way to market your blog. It hands down beats twitter or facebook. I get loads more traffic from specific searches than social media sites with one exception—blotanical.com.

    I appreciate you sharing this with us and your nudge to send students researching their subject. I too had to foot it to the library.

    One of my most visited post was—Luscious Citrus Blend Lantana by Proven Winners. People love to google luscious

    Hi Anna, yes, it is one of my favorite features among many. Thanks for those kind words too. If I would pay more attention with the tag words it would certainly drive up the numbers. Thank goodness it doesn’t really matter that much to me, but is gratifying when people visit anyway. Right now muhly grass and forms of that are the top searches and will surpass even the lamb’s ear at some point. I wonder if that lantana is the one in my bloom day post this month. I remember it had citrus in the name and is quite pretty, just not the best match for the muhly though. :-)
    Frances

Comments are closed.