Snow Village At Fairegarden


Long ago, a little ceramic lighted house was received as a Christmas gift from The Financier. Each year another house was added. Sometimes others added to the collection. Various accessories joined the houses. Finally it was decided that there were enough and no more joined the happy village. These houses have been boxed up for nine years, the seal of moving tape still intact. When the garage was built, a cupboard over twenty feet long was constructed for storage. The pitch of the wall is steep and this was unusable living space, but the top makes a perfect showcase for the houses. Plenty of electrical receptacles and a couple of harnesses of lights on one cord allow for the houses to shine brightly in the darkness. After over ten years of traveling to the homes of family for Christmas, this year, they are traveling here. It seems time for the houses to greet them.

Smokey Mountain Retreat

Secret Garden Greenhouse

Carmel Cottage

Craftsman Cottage

Gothic Farmhouse

Paramount Theater and St. Anthony Hotel

Springfield House

Plantation House

Lincoln Park

Queen Anne Victorian

Italianate Villa

Carriage House, the very first and still favorite

Village Greenhouse

Maple Ridge Inn

Church from Chickenpoet

We hope this collection brings a smile to your face and warmth to your heart, like it does to us.

Merry Christmas to all, peace on earth and goodwill towards men and women.

Frances

The names were added to the photos, but they seem unreadable, so the names have been added below each image.

This entry was posted in holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Snow Village At Fairegarden

  1. kanak7 says:

    Oh it did, Frances! The smile and the warmth in my heart! What a beautiful collection…loved them all, down to the last detail.

    Wishing you and your loved ones A MERRY CHRISTMAS and JOY and HAPPINESS for the coming year!

  2. gittan says:

    Good morning Frances and Merry Christmas to you and your family! Adorable houses you’ve got there / Kram gittan

  3. Tuija R. says:

    Merry Christmas Frances!

  4. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Love the greenhouse ones. Merry Christmas, Frances.
    Donna

  5. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    I am sure this village will be a big hit with those sweet Grands as they come over the mountain and through the woods to Grandmothers house. Merry Christmas to you and yours. ((hugs))

  6. Merry Christmas to you and your family, Frances. Not one, but two greenhouses! Impressive holiday display.

  7. Lzyjo says:

    WOW! Awesome Christmas village! I love those type of displays, so tranquil!

  8. Gail says:

    Merry Christmas Frances, The Village is splendid and festive and does bring a smile to my face~I love the Carriage House and Woody (Now I am singing a Beach Boys song about loading up their woodies with their surf boards!) Have a wonderful day with the gang! gail

  9. Enchanting little village Frances! Its great you get to display it for your family and all of us! Merry Christmas!! Hope you are having a lovely day! Peace! Carol

  10. Randy says:

    Frances,
    My mother used to do ceramics and she had all kinds of ceramic Christmas trees and maybe a small house. Enjoyed these a great deal! Have a wonderful Christmas!

  11. These are just lovely, Frances. And the story touched my heart, too…Naturally, the greenhouse is my favourite, but they’re all charming. My mother used to have something similar, though less elaborate (this was 40 years ago). Brings a smile to my face.
    Happy Christmas to you and the whole family, my friend! Much love to you across the miles.

  12. I love how you have them places just under the eaves. It looks like a mountain side village. I have a village too – more of a city village. It warms my heart to see these collections. Merry Christmas to you and your family, Frances. Have a great time with your full house.

  13. Love the greenhouse of course. Merry Christmas.~~Dee

  14. Debbie @ gardenofpossibilities says:

    Merry Christmas! What a treat to see your village upclose, thank you for sharing it. I especially loved the church.

  15. Kat says:

    Merry Christmas Frances. How adorable your houses are and how appropriate that there is a greenhouse included.

  16. Tatyana says:

    Ahhh, this is what I was supposed to have -Secret Garden Greenhouse… Beautiful… The Carriage House IS charming. Merry Christmas to all of you!

  17. Oh it did Frances, but then I love miniatures. That little greenhouse is simply adorable.

    Merry Christmas to you and yours!

  18. Autumn Belle says:

    These miniatures are so sweet and lovely, a priceless collection that carries with it many happy memories. Have a blessed and Happy Christmas, Frances!

  19. Robin says:

    Very pretty! I hope you have had a wonderful Christmas day with your family!

  20. Sweet Bay says:

    Enchanting village Frances! I love the greenhouses. Merry Christmas!

  21. I like the greenhouses the best! My mom bought the Dickens Village buildings for my girls when they were much younger and now that they’re grown, they appreciate what she did so much more.

    I wanted to wish you a very merry Christmas and all the best for the new year! I’m glad we got to meet this year and hope we’ll see each other again in 2010! *hugs*

  22. That’s quite a collection and I enjoyed it very much. Merry Christmas to you dear neighbor in Tennessee.

  23. Blossom says:

    Lovely miniatures. Merry Christmas, Frances. Here’s wishing you a great year ahead

  24. Chookie says:

    Very sweet! I especially love the greenhouse. And I think you need a gothic farmer and wife outside the gothic farmhouse! (Now that’s a dreadful quest to give someone!) Best wishes to you and yours at Christmastime.

  25. Merry Christmas! Hope you are having a wonderful holiday xxx

  26. Darla says:

    What a great collection!

  27. Sweet snow village! Hope your Christmas was wonderful! Loved the cardinal photos also, wish we had those beautiful red birds in the NW!!

  28. That’s a big town, and they look so charming. I love the greenhouses and the Italianate house. My mom was getting rid of her 3 Dickens Village houses just before Christmas, so the girl grabbed them. We put them on our piano with fake snow. I don’t like them anywhere near as much as yours, but she enjoys them.

  29. Jen says:

    Adorable! And you’ve found a perfect place to display them! What is the snow made of?

    Thanks Jen. I had to find the bag of snow, it just said synthetic snow. It seems to be plastic flakes, purchased at a craft store.
    Frances

  30. Grace says:

    Hi Frances, At first glance, and several seconds hence, the first photo of the entire village looks real. I’m sure all your visitors loved this, especially the children. Thanks for sharing. Merry Christmas to you.

  31. Lola says:

    Loved your village. I’m glad you have a perfect place for it.

  32. Bob Pool says:

    Wonderful. My Grandmother in Athens, Tenn. had a few of them. One was almost a duplicate of her house. Of course it was her favorite.

  33. chuck b. says:

    Those are adorable, and you did the right thing by limiting the collection. Go too far with stuff like that and people will think you’re a crazy old lady much too soon. Aside from that, things like this excite the imagination of children and I’ll bet your grandchildren got a kick out of them.

  34. Frances,
    Hope you had a Merry Christmas!

    Love the village (especially the Carmel House as our house has the catslide roof and gable gate… but we had to add a front porch since we’re in the South).

    Hope you all have a Happy New Year, too!
    Cameron

  35. marmee says:

    what a wonderful collection…it was smart of you to plan a place to display it. thanks for showing each piece up close. they are all wonderful… of course i am partial to the gothic farmhouse and the green houses.
    merry season of christmas to you and your family.

  36. Phillip says:

    I love these little villages. My favorite is the Secret Garden greenhouse (of course!)

  37. Anna says:

    Oh what a glorious and unique collection Frances especially that little greenhouse. It certainly bought a smile to my face. I hope that you enjoyed Christmas.

  38. Rose says:

    I love these village collections; looks like you have found the perfect spot to showcase yours. I hope you and your family had a wonderful holiday at Fairegarden.

  39. Kate says:

    Indeed it did bring a smile to my face. Hard to pick a favorite but it might be the Queen Anne Victorian. What a treat, if it were real, to enjoy morning coffee out on the veranda. A lovely collection, Frances. Here’s to a happy and peaceful New Year.

  40. TC Conner says:

    What a lovely collection Ms. Frances! I’m especially drawn to the greenhouses; I wonder why? ;~)

  41. LindaLunda says:

    Sh*t! I want them badly!
    Linda

    Thanks, Linda. I am not sure you meant to write an expletive in your comment, but I cleaned it up. The idea behind it is much appreciated and brought quite a smile here. :-)
    Frances

  42. You have an impressive display Frances! H.

Comments are closed.