A Calendar


Crocus


Hammamelis x intermedia ‘Diane’


Daffodil ‘Audubon’


Tulipa ‘Little Beauty’ and T. ‘Little Princess’


Clematis ‘Josephine’


Great Spangled Fritillary on Asclepias tuberosa


Hemerocallis ‘Palo Duro Canyon’


Sunflower


Waterlily Nymphaea ‘Helvola’


Muhlenbergia capillaris


Ilex verticillata ‘Winter Gold’


Euonymous atropurpurea

For the first time ever, a calendar was prepared using images taken through the year from the Fairegarden as a gift for family and friends. It was well received and quite fun to put together. Choosing the picture to represent each month was especially challenging. One thing learned was that the name of the plant should have been inserted into the photo for identification for the gardeners who received the calendars. Next year.

Instead of our usual year in review post, we decided to post the photos used in the calendar. Feel free to print these to make a calendar of your own, if you wish, but the images have been resized to 760 by 570 as is always done to save space on the upload.

A very Happy New Year to one and all! May 2010 be the best year ever!

Frances

This entry was posted in holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to A Calendar

  1. gittan says:

    Happy new year to you to! I was going to make a calender like that but I always find it hard to chose pictures. Maybe next year. Then I can plan the pictures every month this year “lol” so maybe there will a home made calender for the family for 2011 =)

    Hi Gittan, thanks so much and the same good wishes back to you. Do make a calender for your family, they will love it! Picking which image to show was the fun part, some months there were several in the running. I file some photos that are not used in the blog but still are good by month as the year goes along, with titles of the files January garden, etc. That makes it easy to look for a photo for that month. I went with mostly macros and bright colors, the kids really liked that.
    Kram,
    Frances

  2. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Oh Frances, I can see why these were so well received. The photos are gorgeous. They would bring a smile to anyone flipping those pages.

    Hi Lisa, thanks. It was very enjoyable and I love seeing the looks on the faces of friends who received the calender that don’t read my blog. The calenders make wonderful gifts. A very happy New Year to you, my dear! :-)
    Frances

  3. Happy New Year, Frances. Those are wonderful pictures and I’m sure they made for a beautiful calendar.

    Hi Carol, thanks, and a very happy new beginning to you as well. The calender making was very fun and made many people smile. It will become a tradition. You could do this! ;-)
    Frances

  4. Daphne says:

    Those are wonderful photos. Have a Happy New Year!

    Thanks Daphne, the same back at ya! I loved your seed starting post! :-)
    Frances

  5. Gail says:

    They are gorgeous photos! It was a beautiful year in flowers~~let’s hope that 2010 surpasses it! I love the calendar and it has a place of honor in my house! Have a Happy New year~~This is as much typing as I shall do! xxxgail

    Dear Gail, so nice to see you!!! I have been thinking about you and hoping you are doing okay. Do take it easy, the blogging can wait. Thanks for the kind words. The calender was fun and will be an annual event. Glad you liked it and wishing the greatest of years for you and yours. :-)
    Frances

  6. Teresa O says:

    Happy New Year, Frances! Stunning photos and each one speaks to the month. Did you use lulu.com? I checked into creating calenders using lulu, but decided I lacked the time to complete the project. Thanks for sharing.

    Hi Teresa, thanks and the best of new years to you and yours as well. I used Shutterfly, which my photo program, Dell Image Expert 2000 connects to automatically. This old program was on our old computer from way back in the stone age, but I love it. It is easy and I am lazy. :-)
    Frances

  7. lynn says:

    Oh, Frances! I would totally buy this off the shelf! My favorites are April and November..STUNNING! I’m looking forward to meeting you in 2010, Frances…Spring Fling, here we come!

    Thanks Lynn, that is so sweet! I look forward to meeting you and many others as well. Happy New Year. :-)
    Frances

  8. lotusleaf says:

    Hi Frances! What utterly beautiful pictures! It makes the heart feel so happy.
    Happy New Year! Hope to have lots more pictures from your lovely garden and witty words from your pen!

    What a nice thing to say, Lotusleaf, thanks so much. May you and yours enjoy the best of the best this year and all to come. :-)
    Frances

  9. Darla says:

    I know this gift was received very well~~ what an excellent idea Frances. I hope your New Year will be a wonderful one, I look forward to learning more about and from Faire Gardens!!

    Thanks Darla and the same good wishes back to you and yours. I also look forward to seeing your many flowers grow and prosper, along with that gorgeous family! :-)
    Frances

  10. Les says:

    Fantastic gift idea. It may be one of those calenders that is hung onto, long after the year is over. Please have the happiest of New Year’s filled with new blooms, few weeds and lots of photo ops.

    Oh how sweet, Les, thanks so much! Photo ops, treasures for us bloggers! May you and yours be blessed with the best life has to offer. :-)
    Frances

  11. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I’d say your calendar is a resounding success. Congrats!

    Thanks Donna, most people seemed happy to get it. :-)
    Frances

  12. What a wonderful idea for a post! What color and angles and use of light! And, most importantly, the November photo *rocks.* (Which is not always the case for Nov. photos, I can assure you!) Of course, the idea of crocus in January tickles a Michigan gardener is very very optimistic (OK, an impossible dream), but we understand and envy your warmer climate! Happy new year!

    How sweet of you, Monica, thanks so much! It was so fun to select the photos, especially since I had put groups of unused shots into folders by month. This year there might be photos taken with the calender in mind too. It was so very enjoyable to relive each season through the images and remember the garden as it was. Those little early crocus, mostly chysanthas but we added some tommasinianus last fall. The squirrels think they are candy however. :-)
    Frances

  13. Cinj says:

    What a beautiful gift Frances. I’m sure it was well appreciated by all. What beautiful pictures. Maybe I’ll be able to put something like that together for MIL now that I have a new camera that I can see what I’m taking a picture of.

    Hi Cinj, so nice to see you and thanks. You will be able to take lovely photos of your garden to use for calenders. It’s easy and fun! :-)
    Frances

  14. Kat says:

    What a wonderful calendar these beautiful photos must have made. I really love seeing the Ilex verticillata ‘Winter Gold.’ It’s such a yummy orange color. Not one I had seen before.

    Hi Kat, thanks so much. The Winter Gold is so striking and really is photogenic. I like having both the red and gold together for the winter, always brings a smile whenever I look outside. :-)
    Frances

  15. Phillip says:

    Happy New Year Frances! You are so creative!

    Thanks Phillip and the same back to you. You take such fabulous photos, yours would make a mouth watering calender as well. :-)
    Frances

  16. leavesnbloom says:

    Frances

    What a beautiful gift to give – one I am sure your recipients will treasure for more than just 2010. Have a good new year.

    Rosie

    Hi Rosie, thanks so much. May you have a wonderful 2010! Thanks for leaving your name too, what a pretty name it is! :-)
    Frances

  17. Steve says:

    Wow, Frances, pretty impressive. I’m afraid, however, your Crocus exceeds the “Beauty Tolerance” level for bloggers in general, having caused an illness in my tummy from pure adoration! As my 19 year old would say: “If I barf, it’s on you!!” LOL, thank you. Those are truly uncommonly gorgeous pictures. That Muhley Grass, of course, sent me as well.You know…….the usual. Happy new year!

    HA Steve, you are too funny, thanks! The crocus shot was my favorite, if one had to be chosen. May you have the best of years in 2010, with very little barfing on you. :-x
    Frances

  18. Janet says:

    Your photos are certainly calender worthy! What a treat to have such a calender. Happy New Year!

    Thanks Janet and the same best wishes back to you and yours. It was fun to put the calender together, you should do one with your gorgeous photos. :-)
    Frances

  19. Jean says:

    Lovely photos Frances! I made one of those calendars year before last and it was a lot of fun. (Lots of work putting little photos of family members on their birthdays though!) I hope 2010 brings you everything you want. Happy New Year!

    Thanks Jean, and the same good wishes back to you and yours. I didn’t do the birthdays since some were going to non family members, although could have had two editions. Maybe next time. :-)
    Frances

  20. Pam/Digging says:

    Happy New Year, Frances! Here’s to many more beautiful images and happy times in the garden in 2010.

    Thanks Pam and the very same back to you and yours. May your own 2010 be full of good times. :-)
    Frances

  21. fairegarden says:

    GO PENN STATE! :-) We won!!!

  22. Absolutely beautiful photos, Frances. I’m sure friends and family were delighted to receive one of these.

    Hi Happy, thanks so much. The calenders were well received. There will be more. :-)
    Frances

  23. Susie says:

    Great idea! I may copy you next year….if I can even come close to having the beautiful photos that you took! I love that Daylily with the droplets of water, just gorgeous.

    Hi Susie, thanks for that, but your photos are fabulous! Your friends and family will love the calenders from your own shots. :-)
    Frances

  24. easygardener says:

    Happy New Year to you too. The pictures are lovely and have definitely brightened up my day!

    Hi EG, thanks. I am glad to have brought a little sunshine. Garden shots from times past are perused here often during the winter. :-)
    Frances

  25. Love the calendar girls (those flowers are girls, right?) :-)

    Happy New Year!
    Cameron

    Oh how clever, Cameron, thanks! :-)
    Frances

  26. Emily says:

    The pictures are gorgeous! What a wonderful idea! Just found your blog, and love it!

    Hi Emily, thanks and welcome. How interesting to be in Sicily! I look forward to learning more from your fine writing! :-)
    Frances

  27. Willow says:

    I love the pictures. I have saved them for my desktop. Thank you for sharing them. Happy New Years.

    Willow

    Hi Willow, thanks so much. I am glad you are using them and hope they bring an occasional smile. May your new year be the best ever. :-)
    Frances

  28. Jake says:

    What a great gift idea! I probably would have a nervous breakdown over picking which pictures to use. Have a Happy New Year!

    Jake

    Thanks Jake and the same good wishes back to you and yours. Choosing which photos to use was the fun part. It is best not to overthink these sorts of things, it’s not brain surgery. :-)
    Frances

  29. Happy New Year Frances! I keep meaning to make a calendar! Kudos to you! Beautiful images … lucky friends and family! Carol

    Hi Carol, thanks and the same back to you. Your photos would make wonderful calenders, do give it a go! :-)
    Frances

  30. Beautiful Frances! Happy New Year. H.

    Thanks so much, Helen. A very happy 2010 to you too. :-)
    Frances

  31. Jen says:

    Absolutely beauty!

    Love it, I made a few of my own for family also.

    Jen

    Thanks Jen. Glad to hear you made some as well. It was easy and fun and the recipients were quite grateful. :-)
    Frances

  32. Sweet Bay says:

    Beautiful pictures Frances! I especially love your December image. I made some calendars for DH’s rooms in his office — it took me forever to pick the pictures. Which company did you use to print yours?

    Thanks Sweet Bay. Picking the photos was very fun, I am extremely impulsive so just went with the first pick of each month. It helped that there were photos in files by month for the year. That has been the best way to find shots for me. Shutterfly is what I use, it is part of the photo program that came on our old computer.
    Frances

  33. Rosey says:

    Hi Frances,
    Delicious! Good choices for your calendar!
    Happy New year!
    Rosey

    Hi Rosey, so nice to see you again and thanks. I hope your holidays were fulfilling and fun. :-)
    Frances

  34. Oh my goodness, how creative and beautiful. You should seriously make a calendar using these photos. I hope you have a very Happy 2010.

    Hi Noelle, thanks. The calenders that were made from these photos were as serious as I want to get. They could not be sold for what I paid to have them made, but since they were for gifts anyway it’s all good. May you have the best year ever in 2010. :-)
    Frances

  35. TC Conner says:

    May is my favorite, and clematis is second to none as my favorite perennial (roses top my list of favorites). May is also the month of my birth and a harbinger of spring. I saw a new blue clematis in one of my 2010 catalogs, it’ll probably find a home here.

    Of course all the photos for the months of your calendar are stunningly beautiful, as is usually the case here. ;)

    Hi TC, thanks. That clemmie was the heaviest blooming of any we have ever grown anywhere. Your new blue will be wonderful, a happy way to celebrate your birthday too. :-)
    Frances

  36. Happy New Year Frances

    Beautiful calender, I like every month but that Muhly steals the show in October.

    Goodness knows I want to see the back of winter. At least by the end of Jan there’s a notable increase in daylength.

    Thanks Rob, and the same back to you. I do hope your travels went well and you are now home safe and sound. The muhly was the only non macro shot, but it had to be the pinup for October. You are right, if we can hang on until January is over, we’ll make it. :-)
    Frances

  37. Happy New Year Frances, love the calender, it’s such a very personal gift to give to friends and family. Every time they look at it they will be reminded of your Faire garden that you made with your Faire hands. ;-)

    Hi YE, and the same back to you and yours. You are so very sweet with those kind words. Everyone who received the calender has seen the garden in person, but maybe not that up close. :-)
    Frances

  38. Rose says:

    What a great idea, Frances! I always create a “family” calendar for my parents with pictures of the grandkids and greats, but a garden calendar for myself sounds perfect. Especially so, since Dec. 09 is still hanging on my wall right now:)

    Thanks Rose. We had made a family calender for my inlaws that was a favorite long after that year was over too. Since all the pictures are right there on your computer, why not use them? :-)
    Frances

  39. Frances,
    What beautiful images, and a wonderful gift! I must tell you that I look forward to your pictures of Hammamelis x intermedia ‘Diane’ every year. She is an absolute vision! I wish you the very best for the New Year, and I look forward to your posts in 2010! :)

    Hi Green Mountain, thanks and welcome. Do I know you by another name? Research shows yes. Hi Liisa! Diane is fabulous and worth following year to year. We are hoping for the best blooms ever this time around, if the number of buds on the branches are any indication. May you have the best year ever in 2010. :-)
    Frances

  40. marmee says:

    so beautiful…starting with those gorgeous crocuses in january…how could the year go anything but great.
    happy january.
    ps i must add witch hazel to my garden.

    Hi Marmee, thanks and may your year be the best ever. Crocus do make our hearts sing, like the witch hazels. They are so early and brave to peek out when there is a let up in the cold. Not so today, with temps not getting above freezing and teens tonight. Stay warm and safe! :-)
    Frances

  41. Happy New Year Frances to you and yours. Of course when I saw this make your own calender thing earlier, I thought wouldn’t that be a nice gift for the resident gardeners, a calender with pictures from their own garden. You did it. I just thought about it. Good work.

    Thanks Christopher and the same best wishes for you and the resident gardeners. It is not too late to make them a calender. :-)
    Frances

  42. Hi Frances, What a beautiful calendar! Even if I don’t copy it, it’s been a joy to visit each month with you, here. :-) Happy 2010! (Will you be making another calendar at the close of this year??)

    Hi Shady, thanks so much and the same good wishes to you and yours. Another calender will be made this year, oops, that spoils the surprise factor, doesn’t it? :-)
    Frances

  43. OOOOOH, Frances, how splendid this is! I wanted to climb through the monitor and take that gorgeous gold Ilex home with me right now. I too made a calendar but just for myself this year, as it was a last-minute experiment while I ordered a mousepad with Mungus’s face on it for hubby for Christmas. Maybe I’ll do a monthly header for my blog, now that I’ve learned a few new photo tricks.
    Belated but heartfelt Happy New Year, Frances. I’ve been trying to catch up with everyone’s back postings but it’s hard to do.

    Thanks Jodi. It was fun to put together and some things were noted to make it better, like captions of the plant names. May your new year bring happiness and joy. :-)
    Frances

  44. Town Mouse says:

    Happy New Year! What a great idea. Maybe I’ll try a native plants calender for next year. Time to start now…

    Thanks Town Mouse and the same back to you. A native plants calender is a fabulous idea. It is time to start looking through the photos, or plan a filing system that allows for easy monthly perusal. That is what we have set up here, the best of each month whether used for the blog or not. It makes selection much easier. :-)
    Frances

  45. What a gorgeous gift to friends and family… and to your readers :) That is really lovely. Your photographs are stunning!

    Happy New Year to you!

    Thanks M.E., and the happiest and best of years to you and yours. The calender was fun and will be repeated. :-)
    Frances

  46. Lovely images and lovely idea as well. We received a landscape photo calendar from a friend and it was so much fun to recognize some of the places we’d all visited together. Got me really excited about the possibilities of doing a calendar myself and you’ve added more inspiration.

    Hi Linda, thanks. Your own garden certainly has the makings of a fabulous calender and since there is an excellent photographer already on site…… :-)
    Frances

  47. andré says:

    Those are some stunning photos! I can imagine the calendar was well received. May you have a splendid new year!

    Thanks Andre, the recipients seemed to like the calenders. We will make some more next year, or make that this year too. The best to you and yours for 2010! :-)
    Frances

  48. Pingback: 2013 Fairegarden Calendar « Fairegarden

  49. Pingback: 2014 Calendar | Fairegarden

Comments are closed.