Blooms? In January?


Blooms? Did somebody say blooms? Are you daft? What could possibly be blooming after weeks of sub freezing temperatures, even if it has warmed up just a little? Even in the Fairegarden, the conditions have been brutal. But it’s the special day, you say, the one where garden bloggers all over the entire planet show their flowers, thanks to the canny Carol of May Dreams. Okay. But I’m warning you, the pickin’s are slim in 2010.


Let’s go to the stalwarts under the pine trees, three little Camellia sasanqua ‘Chansonette’ that have been blooming nonstop for a few months. Well, it looks like this one was stopped in its tracks, flash frozen turning it from dark daring rosy pink to hot cocoa brown.


Also living under the tall Loblolly pines are two Edgeworthia chrysanthas in bud. The furry,  fuzzy buds seem almost beyond botanical, into zoological territory, worthy of inclusion in the flora of the film Avatar, don’t you agree?


The two small trees are holding several clusters of promising buds, with visions and fragrance nearly within reach. Soon, we hope, soon.


Elsewhere, the remains of blooms in the form of seed pods that have opened and spilled their precious contents to the earth still offer beauty to the January garden.The form and color of the large Lilium ‘Black Beauty’ seed cases are appreciated long after their flowering has ceased. Will there be baby Beauties perhaps?


We have seen flowers frozen mid bloom, blooms yet to come and blooms from times long ago, like these Peegee Hydrangeas that hold their petals proudly. Are there no REAL flowers in all their glory on this special day?


Well yes, there is a real flower, unfazed by the cold, the leatherleaf Mahonia, Mahonia bealei. Under those same tall pines, a microclimate of protected dry shade, there are several shrubby plants that escaped from plantings elsewhere in the neighborhood. The time of bloom and gorgeous blue berries that will appear later make the case to allow this invasive on some lists to stay, under a watchful eye.


Blooms are not necessary for an attractive winterscape. Structure, movement, light and shadows all add to the scene and please the eye. But flowers feed the soul, so let’s go inside the greenhouse/sunroom for a snack.


Paphiopedilum ‘Oriental Mystique’ is nearly fully open, joining P. ‘Quasky’


…and P. holdenii x P. almenii.


Joining the fun in the safety of the indoor space, primroses are added when they show up for sale at the grocers. They provide eye candy, photo ops and best of all can be planted outside when the weather permits, to be enjoyed for years to come.


Is it acceptable to buy plants and flowers just for bloom day use? Yes. Is it acceptable to buy plants and flowers that will give you happiness in having them in your environment AND be photographed for bloom day? Indubitably.

Frances

This entry was posted in Garden Bloggers Bloom Days. Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to Blooms? In January?

  1. Darla says:

    Love the fuzzy buds, reminds me of an animal paw. Fully opened seed pods…the promise of spring germination. I’ll try orchids, one day! I want your sunroom!

    Thanks Darla. When you get my sunroom, do not line the walls with drywall! Treat it as an outdoor space, with exterior finishes. Just a tip. :-)
    Frances

  2. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    I knew you would have an orchid or two to show us. I like those primroses too. Their colors seem so shocking this time of year. It is good to be shocked with color now. Happy GBBD.

    Hi Lisa, thanks for being your usual astute self! This is why we have the orchids, and ones that bloom in these months. There is one more with a bud, so I am hoping there will be four open at once soon. We can usually count on the grocery to have primroses at this time too, for Valentine’s Day I think. They had some yellow ones last time I went, the pinks were sold out. Should have gotten more. Next time. Happy GBBD to you! :-)
    Frances

  3. You may only have a few blooms Frances, but your January images are beautiful :)
    K

    Thanks Karen. It has been a cold January so far, I can’t take many photos when I am shaking and shivering. :-)
    Frances

  4. Liisa says:

    Frances,
    Your Camellia is beautiful, despite its unhappiness with the cold temperatures. And, those fuzzy buds are definitely worthy of a part in Avatar. (Such an amazing movie!) Your collection of orchids are always a visual treat, making your sunroom most inviting!

    Hi Liisa, thanks. I still love the camellia too, the petals are still in the same form and stiffness, no wilting, just brown. Glad you enjoyed the orchids, they belong in Pandora as well. :-)
    Frances

  5. Love your Paphs, they are gorgeous. I think that I should try one, if they are as easy as you say.
    The primula are lovely as well, do you plant them in your garden after?
    Deborah

    Hi Deborah, thanks. The paphs are easy, once you figure out the right watering schedule, not too much but enough. HA The primroses do get planted outside here, that justifies the expenditure. :-)
    Frances

  6. Ah, the promise of spring flowers outside, and the warm of blooms indoors..we know we’ll make it. Frances, when we see displays like this. I’m still going back to bed though. ;-)

    Hi Jodi, thanks, pleasant dreams. There is great promise all around. We finally were able to walk around and get some looks at it yesterday without freezing our ears off. The sunroom is the place to be on those cold days. :-)
    Frances

  7. Layanee says:

    I love, love, love that Edgeworthia bud and, yes, worthy of otherworldy pursuits.

    Hi Layanee, thanks. I almost think the Edgeworthia buds might be as exciting as the flowers. We have never seen the flowers, but will know soon. So far the cold does not seem to have damaged them, with their fur coats keeping them safe and warm. :-)
    Frances

  8. Gela says:

    Lovely pictures like allways. Have nice day/Gela

    Hi Gela, thanks so much. You too have a wonderful day, and stay warm! :-)
    Frances

  9. Oh, yes, I am quite daft when it comes to flowers and plants and expecting great things from them, even in the winter time. Thanks for joining in for bloom day, Frances!

    Hi Carol, thanks. Sorry for the impertinance of that cardinal, he is the alpha male and quite lippy! :-)
    Frances

  10. Those orchids are really beautiful, I need a sunroom!

    Ah primulas. It won’t be long. We are in a thaw here today. Hopefully the worst of the weather is through. Not really a fan of snow here in zone 8

    Thanks Les. Everyone needs a sunroom that has cold winters. It really keeps me going when it is so very cold outside. Thawing here too, but the birdbaths are still solid ice, it seems to take a very long time for them to thaw. You guys have had it rough, hope all your plants survive. :-)
    Frances

  11. Les says:

    When I saw photo #2, I said “what is she doing with a ‘Hot Cocoa’ rose bloom?” I should have kept reading. And yes it is acceptable that you show things purchased just for bloom day (said by someone who really stretched the rules this month).

    Hi Les, it does look like that rose. You did stretch the rules this month, well done! And well done too for offering the Red Cross donation badge. I knew someone would have an easy way to help, thanks. :-)
    Frances

  12. Patsi says:

    That Cardinal sure got my attention.
    Hey look at me !
    Love the chrysanthas in bud…looks like some kind of shinny metal…just wild.
    Did you put lights behind those primroses? They’re glowing.

    Super shots…you’re one of the best photographers out there! Maybe the best !

    Hi Patsi, thanks, you are way too generous with those kind words! The lights behind the primroses were the sunlight coming through the windows in the greenhouse, that kind of light is hard to top! :-)
    Frances

  13. Gail says:

    Looking good Frances, even tho we have had horrid weather! Can’t wait to see the Edgeworthia chrysanthas in bloom! xxgail

    Thanks Gail. Things have really turned around, weatherwise, haven’t they? It felt so good to be working outside again. I am also excited about the Edgeworthia. There may be some photographs taken when it blooms. :-)
    Frances

  14. It looks like you managed to put together a few blooms! Nothing here, even the heaths aren’t so hot. I’ll join in bloom day in February, maybe there will be more to show!

    Hi Dave, just a few outside. You need some of those primroses. They are cheap and do well in the ground in a little shade. :-)
    Frances

  15. Well, you do have blooms! :-)

    Cameron

    Hi Cameron, thanks for stopping by. Only a couple outside, but many more with great promise for next month. :-)
    Frances

  16. easygardener says:

    The excuses we can find for buying plants – it never ends.
    I like your first red bloom – even more fuzzy than the Edgeworthia and it looks almost alive :-)

    Hi EG, thanks. Buying more plants is never ending, thank goodness. Finding places for them all is the tough part, the buying is easy. The sassy cardinal is a cutie! :-)
    Frances

  17. ourfriendben says:

    Love the cardinal pic, Frances. What a classic!!! And those Edgeworthia bud clusters are simply amazing. I just saw “Avatar” the other night, speaking of amazing; now I hear that James Cameron’s planning a trilogy. I’m jealous of your paphs; mine aren’t in bloom yet. But mercifully we do have some orchids in bloom, and our Christmas cacti! Thanks as always for a wonderful tour.

    Hi OFB, thanks. Good thing we have so many cardinals, they make it easy to start a post. We figured there would be more Avatars, the way they left to story hanging, and all those effects need to used some more. Glad you have some paphs, they are are my absolute favorite orchid. :-)
    Frances

  18. Orchids – yes! It’s always a treat when you post glamour shots of them. I had to resort to buying a Primrose last year for January Bloom Day, but it didn’t make it into the garden, so I thought it wasn’t fair to the plants to get one this year.

    Thanks MMD, glad you like the orchid shots. They do like to pose for the camera. You should plant those primrose, they like cold weather. We had amazing ones in our PA garden, one of the first thing I ever grew, a novice even. :-)
    Frances

  19. Willow says:

    Your pics are beautiful. It is still cold here and we still have snow all over the ground, but things are melting and this time tomorrow the snow will all be gone.

    Hi Willow, thanks so much. I hope you can find some good things outside when the snow melts. :-)
    Frances

  20. Nell Jean says:

    I’m always eager to see just how you’ll treat Bloom Day, Frances. Thanks for leading us right on down the Path to the Primroses!

    Hi Nell Jean, thanks. Good one! We actually have a couple of paths lined with primroses, these will join the group when the weather warms a bit, and stays warm. :-)
    Frances

  21. Nicole says:

    I really like the Edgeworthia chrysanthas buds-how fantastic.

    Hi Nicole, thanks so much. These are new to me, I have never seen them bloom, but I am in love with the buds even if they never open. But I hope they will, the fragrance is supposed to be amazing. :-)
    Frances

  22. Kate says:

    The pickins don’t look too slim to me! I’m quite ga-ga over orchids this year tho I must say… your perky primrose is just a doll! I murdered them for years (indoors) and finally figured out that they love my nice cold garden. :-)

    Hi Kate, thanks. We normally have a few more odd blooms here and there, not so this year. Orchids are worthy of ga ga ness! The primroses are meant to be outdoors. Our greenhouse is cool, for the orchids so they can last in there until we can get them in the ground. There are always some for sale several places, for cheap. Then they mark them down even cheaper when they go out of bloom. They do need to be planted before the weather heats up too much. :-)
    Frances

  23. commonweeder says:

    The edgeworthia is fantastic. Literally. It is warm here, i.e. 38 degrees, but so gray! It is a joy to visit – and give me ‘permission’ to have a couple of cyclamen in place for February.

    Hi Pat, thanks. We are excited about that Edgeworthia too. Glad you have some warmer temps, even without the sun. The cyclamen photograph so beautifully, but cannot be put into the ground so I passed them by this time. I would love to get some of the hardy ones though. :-)
    Frances

  24. Rosey says:

    I have got to be the only person who hasn’t seen Avatar. It is on my to-do list.
    Love that little questioning Cardinal.
    I will take your advice and go buy flowers next time for bloom day. :)

    Hi Rosey, thanks. Do get something for next bloom day, it should be easy since it will be so close to Valentine’s Day. Typo, what typo? :-)
    Frances

  25. I love the Edgeworthia…definitely unusual, but I really like it. I also love seedpods of all kinds. Happy GBBD!

    Hi Noelle, thanks. Me too. I think an unopened bud is more exciting than the flower, anticipation! :-)
    Frances

  26. Jean says:

    Mmm, that was a yummy snack in your sunroom. Frances, your photos of the Edgeworthia and Camellia are great! Well actually, now that I look back on it they’re all great. I like the new color the camellia has. I’m thankful that my camellias haven’t opened yet and my fingers are crossed that they will. It may be a while til I know the extent of the freeze damage.

    Thanks Jean, you are the only one who made a comment about my extremely clever wordplay! HA The Camellia was still pretty, though toasted. It seemed to have kept the form and not get wilty looking. I hope none of yours got hurt, that would be such a shame. Chansonette starts blooming in the fall, I never realized that until this year. I always thought the blooms all got ruined in January because that is when I would look for them. :-)
    Frances

  27. Sweet Bay says:

    Chansonette is a very unique color, I like it. Gorgeous shots of the Edgeworthia buds. The orchids are simply mouthwatering.

    Hi Sweet Bay, thanks. Chansonette is not normally that color, except when it gets frost burned. But you knew that. Those Edgeworthia buds are so fun. There are lot of them for such a young tree too. :-)
    Frances

  28. VP says:

    Your sunroom looks just the place to be on a day like today. I enjoyed the walk around your garden today – it still looks lovely at this time of the year. That takes real skill :)

    Thanks VP, I do appreciate that. The sunroom has been getting some quality time lately. Fooling around with the seedlings and orchids and cuttings, too much fun for one person to withstand! :-)
    Frances

  29. teresa says:

    What a treat to have that green house. Even your outdoor plants have a lot going on. Sure beats the blanket of old snow and a half melted snowman that is in my yard. I have to be happy with my blooming amaryllis. She will have to do. Thanks for the flower fix on this cold january day.

    Hi Teresa, thanks so much. That room is well worth the space it takes up in our small house, it is only 8, x 12. Your amaryllis is a beauty! :-)
    Frances

  30. Daphne says:

    I love those furry buds. They don’t quite seem real. I don’t even have my traditional dried flower buds right now. My neighbor’s landscaper mowed them all down at the end of fall. I was so sad. I usually clean the area up, but leave a few nice seed heads.

    Hi Daphne, thanks, those buds are fun, and full of promise. How sad about the mowing of your stuff. At least the job is already done though. I have been cutting down a few places in preparation for the bulbs.
    Frances

  31. Rose says:

    Your indoor primroses and orchids are lovely and certainly were worth purchasing, Frances. But I think your winter landscape is appealing, too. Love those fuzzy buds of the Edgeworthia, and of course, I enjoy the hydrangea blooms–they look good whatever the season, don’t they? It’s warming up here, and the snow is melting–could spring be on its way??

    Hi Rose, thanks. The Edgeworthia continues to surprise me. Last year I thought they were dead. Then this year there are those fabulous buds. The trees are very small and young, mail order size. Spring is definitely on its way, but it might get waylaid a couple of places before it really makes it. I was looking at the journal and see we had 70 degree temps in February. I won’t be fooled by that this year, knowing there is still plenty of cold to come. :-)
    Frances

  32. catmint says:

    just shows plants can be tough and adaptable to heat and cold. But the ones in the greenhouse … amazing! And I’m smitten by the cardinal.

    Hi Catmint, thanks. That cardinal needs to learn some manners, but he is cute. :-)
    Frances

  33. gardeningasylum says:

    Thanks for all the beautiful pictures, especially the Paphs – I’m feeling the urge to go shopping :))

    Thanks for visiting, Garden Asylum. Glad you liked the show. Hope you find some good stuff! :-)
    Frances

  34. That was so funny. The cardinal does look incredulous. You have a lot of blooms my dear. I do not, but spring is on its way. I can feel it in my bones.~~Dee

    Hi Dee, thanks. Sometimes it does look like they are talking in the photos. Spring is in the air, you can feel it in the rays of the sun. More cold to come and our ground is still frozen even with nearly 60 degrees today. But it was great to be outside without a heavy coat. And do a little gardening. :-)
    Frances

  35. Anna says:

    Oh Frances of course it is legitimate to purchase the odd flower for featuring in Bloom Day :) Great close up of the edgeworthia buds – I wanted to stroke them.

    Hi Anna, thanks for the back up! Those Edgeworthias are the stars of this bloom day. Maybe next month they will really be blooming, but the bud stage will be a tough act to follow! :-)
    Frances

  36. Just lovely! I don’t have those big luscious blooms and love to see those gorgeous closeups of them.

    Thanks, Mouse. The orchids are so photogenic, as long as it is a sunny day in the greenhouse. Glad you liked the show. :-)
    Frances

  37. Mary Delle says:

    Great shots of the garden beauty outside in the winter. Of course, the blooms indoors can’t be beat on a cloudy winter day.

    Hi Mary, thanks so much. The greenhouse offers cheering blooms and healthy seedlings to make a gardener happy. :-)
    Frances

  38. Janet says:

    I am waiting with baited breath for the Edgeworthia to bloom…oh the fragrance!!!
    That shot of the Primrose is almost electric..pretty cool.

    Hi Janet, thanks. I have heard tales of the fragrance, and seen photos of the blooms of this little tree. So far, so good. The buds look wonderful and seem unfazed by the frigid cold we have experienced. The literature says they are hardy to zone 7, and we are firmly that. There should be flowers soon. The primroses, or anything in the greenhouse when the sun is shining will be photogenic, all that light. It is pretty good for humans too to be immersed in that humidity and light. :-)
    Frances

  39. All’s fair in love and blooms day! (Or, should I say: All’s Faire?) Your perky cardinal has a “Who? Me?” expression, as if he’s trying to masquerade as a flower. But, drat, you’ve smitten me with another plant I can’t grow. The Edgeworthia might just be borderline hardy here, with some winter protection. However, my garden is devoid of “moist.” It’s very cool. And the orchid shots are calendar material. Happy blooming. Soon be spring!

    Hi Helen, thanks. We don’t have moist either, not with this steep slope, but we plant many things anyway, just in case they might be more adaptable than the books say. We did have a wetter year in 2009, that explains many of the successes. Thanks for the orchid calender shot idea, I might have to get in the greenhouse and get serious with the camera. :-)
    Frances

  40. Pam/Digging says:

    Your pickings are a lot less slim than mine, Frances. You scared up quite a good show this January!

    Hi Pam, thanks. We had to use our thinking caps this time around. Easier with the foliage, probably. :-)
    Frances

  41. linda says:

    Bloom Day in January can be quite a challenge Frances, and you’ve shown you’re quite equal to it. There’s plenty of leeway for creativity in Bloom Day ‘rules,’ and you’ve got that in large measure. Your winterscapes are beautiful, and even the orchids by themselves make a wonderful Bloom Day post.

    Hi Linda, thanks. We have never been much good with rules, they are seen more as a challenge how to get around them. Some people are just like that. :-) The orchids have performed well this year.
    Frances

  42. Lola says:

    Ahhh, Primroses. Love them. Tried to grow them when in N.C. but to no avail. Didn’t know too much about them then. Will have to see if they would grow here.
    You have lots of blooms for Jan. Wish I had room for a specialty home for plants.

    Hi Lola, thanks. That little room, 8 x 12 saves my sanity in the winter. In summer it is empty, after a good clean up. The primroses like moisture and shade. They kind of sulk during hot summers then perk up to show off in early spring. Good luck with them! :-)
    Frances

  43. marmee says:

    having blooms in the house for any reason in winter is perfectly acceptable…it makes those grey days so much brighter.
    happy january.

    Hi Marmee, thanks and the same to you. We are much happier with January now that it was warmed up some. But the ground is still frozen solid.
    Frances

  44. greenwalks says:

    Oh, that camellia color is splendid, if only you could breed it to look that way all the time, you would make a fortune! Sorry you got hit by a big freeze, we did too last month and much has suffered. I’m glad you bought primroses, I can never resist those either although haven’t seen them here quite yet. I’m sure I’ll succumb, when I do! Happy Bloom Day, Frances.

    Hi Greenwalks, thanks. You are right about that color for the Camellia, it is quite appealing. When the primroses show up on the shelves, we know spring is coming soon! Hope your walks spring back to life! :-)
    Frances

  45. Kathleen says:

    Hi Frances! Happy Bloom Day to you! For slim pickins’ you sure had a nice post. :-)
    Of course the thing that “does it” for me are the Paphs! Wowee. Guess what? My unknown (clearance one) is about to open!!!!!! I am so excited ~ I hope that stalk is sturdy as I keep turning the pot around and around, waiting and watching for the petals to unfurl. I really appreciate all your kind advice on growing them. I think it helped me get this far with it. The fact that I got it to form a bud at all is amazing and wonderful.

    Hi Kathleen, thanks. That is great news about your clearance Paph! I can’t wait to see what it looks like. Even mine, I forget sometimes the details and colors and am always excited to see them again. You need to have a stake, or I always do, just in case, for those large blooms, or even small blooms. I need to repot one of mine, and dread it. That always seems to set the blooming back a year, but it needs to be done.
    Frances

  46. leavesnbloom says:

    Hi Frances

    I’ve never seen an Edgeworthia before so I am really looking forward to seeing what unfurls from those wonderful fluffy petals

    Hi Leaves, thanks. I have never seen one in bloom, or ever seen seen one before ordering these, just read about them somewhere. They have already met expectations. The blooms are said to be incredibly fragrant in late winter. That will be here soon! :-)
    Frances

  47. Joanne says:

    A good cheery post and yes quite acceptable to buy plants in flower bloom day or not. I still haven’t taken courage to go out and see what my Mahonia is doing yet but I look forward to that heady perfume that wafts around the garden soon.

    Hi Joanne, thanks. The Mahonia was a surprise when we first began blogging and looking for winter blooms. I had no idea if flowered now, and didn’t even care about it, since it blew in as a weed. I almost dug it out, in fact, but didn’t get it all and it grew back. They are tough.
    Frances

  48. Oh Frances I so enjoyed this fabulous post! You are right about Avatar and your buds. I love your fluffy Cardinal and those Avatar buds photos are amazing as are all the photos on this post! Wonderful contrasts! Delightful! ;-) Carol

    Hi Carol, thanks so much. I have enjoyed your bird shots so much, do keep showing them! :-)
    Frances

  49. lotusleaf says:

    I love your comments as much as your pictures. The new avatar of Edgeworthia from botanical into something zoological!! I loved the brave flowers of the mahonia. A wonderful post that uplifts the spirit!

    Hi Lotus, thanks so much. Glad your spirits were lifted, that is always good and makes me very happy. :-)
    Frances

  50. What a tease you were in this post, Frances! You really did have some beautiful blooms to show, even if some of them were recently purchased. You’re right that there is still beauty in the different stages blooms go through. Lovely photos!

    I’ve never had the confidence to grow orchids. Today, when my grandson and I went to see “Aunt Ashley” at the grocery store, where she is a flower designer, there was a woman who was very excited about a reddish colored orchid she bought that was growing in a pot with a similar colored blooming bromeliad. She seemed to have been looking for this particular kind, and was overflowing with joy to have found it. Of course that caused me to go over to see if I could find one. Well, it was the only one of that color. I looked at the others, and almost got one, but decided I didn’t want to spend $24 for a plant I may not be able to keep alive. I did get a small African violet and a yellow blooming kalanchoe, each for $2.50, though! They will need to be transplanted soon, as their pots are very small. I’ll wait until they finish blooming.

    Hi Sue, thanks. $2.50 for anything is a good price, way to go! I love the yellow kalanchloes too. The orchids can be pricey or I would have more of them! Think birthdays and anniversaries. HA :-)
    Frances

  51. Grace says:

    Hi Francis~~ I like your strategy. Primroses are making their debut now and after your encouragement, I may have to get me a few. They never winter over for me, falling victim to slugs or drought. Beautiful flowers, indubitably.

    Hi Grace, thanks. Slugs are the main villain in the planting of primroses here too. I have yet to find the solution, have tried all ways to stop them, including beer. It didn’t work, my slugs are teetotalers, we are a dry county after all. Egg shells, diotomaceous earth, poison (killed birds, won’t ever use that again, it was many years ago), copper collars, all to no avail. Moving the primroses to drier sunnier ground is what worked the best. I thought the plants needed more moisture, but that is where the slugs live. We are saving coffee grounds now, not putting them in the compost for a mulch, read that would work. We’ll see.
    Frances

  52. TC Conner says:

    I’d give you a Yankee dime if you came here and found anything flowerin in my yardens!

    (I think things that’re bloomin inside shouldn’t count for Garden Bloggers Bloom Day.)

    Hi TC, you old curmudgeon you! HA Your first sentence is the reason indoor gardening always counts! That is why we have the orchids. You are only limiting yourself, my friend. :-)
    Frances

  53. I love your orchids, Frances! When May Dreams Carol thought Bloom Day up she made the rules, saying buds counted and so did indoor plants… not sure if the Bloom Day Boss made a ruling on cut flowers, but it would be a good excuse to buy some.

    That Edgeworthia/Golden Daphne has everyone intrigued -can’t imagine it would like Central Texas, but it would be very tempting to try it. Happy Blooming Weekend!

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

    Thanks Annie. I remember Carol saying that indoor plants, even newly purchased one could be used. Who’s to know if those flowers are in dirt or not! I don’t know much about the Edgeworthia, other than the northern zone limit is 7 and it is supposed to bloom in winter and be fragrant. So we gave it a try. The buds are covered in rabbit fur. Hope your weekend is wonderful, and you’re not a Cowboys fan. :-)
    Frances

  54. OOh! Your orchid photos stopped me cold!!! Just beautiful, Frances! :-)

  55. The beauty of bloom day is finding beauty when and where least expected. As usual, you rose to the occasion beautifully!

  56. “Hope your weekend is wonderful, and you’re not a Cowboys fan.” Been cleaning up dead plants, Frances which at least has a payoff in a tidier landscape.
    As to Cowboys, I quote Ralphie & say, “Football? What’s a Footbell?”

    Annie

    HA Annie, way to come back! Hope you didn’t have too many dead ones to remove. Maybe they will surprise you and return. :-)
    Frances

  57. Hi Frances,
    I admire your gusto finding so many wonderful plants to share with us in the middle of a particularly bleak winter. Especially appreciate the Edgeworthia chrysanthas in bud. The furry, fuzzy buds look soft enough to stroke.

    I’m happy for you that it is warming up a bit… I hope enough to get outdoors and enjoy a bit of the garden.
    Meems

    Hi Meems, thanks. I have been on the lookout for winter bloomers for years and finally added the Edgeworthias a couple of years ago. Looks like that search is going to pay off. Being able to get out was wonderful, then rain, but that will thaw the earth so it is a good thing. Looking forward to meeting you in Buffa10! ;-)
    Frances

Comments are closed.