How To Take Salvia Cuttings


The gold leaf Pineapple sage, Salvia elegans ‘Golden Delicious’ which can be seen growing in the garden of offspring Brokenbeat’s Asheville garden in the fall of 2008, see the post here-Beauty At Casa Brokenbeat, was greatly admired. He generously struck and potted a cutting for the Fairegarden, giving it to us last summer. It was planted in a large container, to be taken inside the greenhouse/sunroom in the fall for it is not hardy here. The plan was to take cuttings and have a nice swath of this deliciously scented plant growing mightily in 2010. We have not seen this plant for sale anywhere, so it is a rare treasure with sentimental value as well. Here is what we did:




Inside the greenhouse, the recycled nine packs were prepared by dumping out anything inside. We do not sterilize, never have and never will, but perhaps should. Gardening is dirty. Well moistened seed starting mix was firmly tamped into the container. Cuttings were taken from the mother plant using scissors, again not sterilized, cutting just below the leaf nodes, about four inches tall. The lower leaves were pinched off using the ever handy thumbnail. Large leaves were cut in half, so as not to overhang from the cell and cause rotting. A hole was made in the center of the section of the potting mix of each cell of the nine celled container (just for you, Pomona) with a screw driver. The trimmed cutting was stuck into the bottle of powdered rooting hormone with the excess shaken off back inside. The cutting was placed into the prepared hole with the soil pushed firmly around the stem.


The packs were placed into a larger flat with a clear plastic domed lid to keep the moisture level high while the new roots grow from the leaf nodes. Cuttings were also taken of Coleus ‘Inky Fingers’.


Inky was planted into this purple container from the get go rather than in the ground last spring when purchased. We knew cuttings could be stuck right into the ground during the spring, with a large leaf to shade it until roots formed, then the pot would be brought into the greenhouse to winter over, and more cuttings taken. That is one of the reasons that many of the orchids were left outside over the winter. We wanted more room for cuttings. Priorities, you know.


Cuttings were taken at the time the sage was brought inside as well since the plant was quite large. They were just stripped of the lower leaves and stuck into the same pot as the mother plant. They all seem to have rooted. The little clay balls that we had purchased many years ago at a Smith and Hawken store in Texas make a perfect topping for herbaceous plants wintering over in the greenhouse. They prevent soil born disease and dirt splashing up on the leaves during watering. They will be removed when the plants go outside in the spring, saved to be reused. Chicken grit or small gravel could also be used. Other tender salvias were also potted and brought in, Salvia ‘Indigo Spires’ and S. leucantha. Both of these had cuttings taken immediately and placed in the same pot with the mother plants. Not all plants are worth the bother to overwinter and take cuttings, but these salvias are only available in larger pots at the nurseries, at larger prices. The butterflies and hummers adore the flowers and the plants add much to the landscape as a whole. Having the mass planting is still the vision, and free plants means it might come to fruition.


There was another plant brought into the greenhouse that was intended to be used as a mother plant. This variegated pepper was purchased at Mouse Creek in the fall. Seeds were to be collected and sown from the dried fruits we noticed on the plants. But before that could be done, baby peppers began popping up below the mother. Photo taken November 11, 2009.


This current shot shows the babies are now blooming size, and beginning to show variegation with the stronger sunlight coming through the south facing window as spring approaches ever nearer. Another mass planting, with zero effort on our part to make the babies. It pays to pot up.

For other How To posts written by Fairegarden, look for How To on the sidebar page listing or click here.

Frances

This entry was posted in How To. Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to How To Take Salvia Cuttings

  1. Darla says:

    The pineapple sage is a great plant! Returns every year here and cuttings root very easily for me. I have had ornamental peppers, habanero, and rooster spurs return in the same container outside, if they do again this year it will be the 4th year.

    Hi Darla, that’s wonderful. We sometimes have the green pineapple sage return, although it is so late to do so that buying new plants makes more sense. Quite a few things are like that here. This cutting thing will save us some dinero for sure. The gold leaf one is not as hardy, and cannot be found to buy anyway. Don’t you love those pretty peppers? :-)
    Frances

  2. gardeningasylum says:

    Oh what lovely babies you have! I’ve got lime coleus and dragon wing begonia babies under lights, but clearly I need to branch out!

    Thanks so much. Looking at these photos, I believe a light colored coleus is needed to contrast with Inky. Lime would be perfect. Branch out, good one! :-)
    Frances

  3. Joy says:

    Hello there Frances !
    I have to admit I absolutely love Pineapple sage : ) it truly smells like pineapple and how can you top that ? I buy it as a small plant every year and wow ! it grows into a monster in very short time .. a thumbs up for sure with me .. now those ornamental peppers are looking very nice as well .. I might have to think about them too !
    Joy : )

    Hi Joy, thanks. It is the most wonderful fragrance, I agree. The gold leaves are what can top it though, they brighten the garden and look amazing with the red flowers. Blue is a good counterbalance too. The peppers are so easy to start from seed, fun fun fun! :-)
    Frances

  4. bloominrs says:

    Wow! I never thought of taking cuttings right away and putting them at the base of the mother plant like that. I was just purchasing a pineapple sage each year. I will have to get a salvia leucantha again and try it on my salvia pachyphylla too. Thanks so much for the informative post.

    Hi Bloomin, thanks for visiting. The regular pineapple sage is pretty easy to come by here, I probably wouldn’t bother with cuttings of it. This gold leaf one is much prettier, but not as hardy and hard to find. The leucantha cuttings are so little, I might end up buying some too, we’ll see. I was perusing the garden this morning before the big ice storm that is predicted comes, if it does, and the woody salvias are showing no signs of life. Maybe it is too early.
    Frances

  5. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    I have sunroom envy. What colorful delights you have here Frances. All of those starts just itching to get outside. It won’t be long now.

    Thanks Lisa. The sunroom lifts my spirits upon entering. Those primroses might be considered cheating, but man they really help with the mood. Big ice storm coming, hope you guys are ready for it.
    Frances

  6. Great tips on cuttings. You are so fortunate to have a greenhouse.

    My pineapple sage has returned for three years. I hope it comes back again. I have it literally planted under the umbels of a clumping bamboo to shelter it in winter. I don’t cut it back. Those are easy to find here if I go to the garden centers in earliest April.

    Cameron

    Thanks Cameron. The green leaf sage sometimes comes back, better for Semi than for me. It is usually available in small pots. This gold one is markedly different, very bright colored foliage to give interest before the flowers in fall. Plus my son gave it to me. :-)
    Frances

  7. linda says:

    Your babies look very healthy Frances! I don’t sterilize either.

    Rooting hormone sure does help with the speed and success rate for cuttings.

    Hi Linda, thanks for the back up! I have to remind myself to use the hormone, it really does help. It used to be stored up in the shed for some unknown reason. It is now in the greenhouse where I can see it. :-)
    Frances

  8. Good Morning Frances!
    You certainly have hundreds of babies to care for … well except for the ones growing beneath their mothers! ;>) Your garden will look gorgeous with mass plantings of that beautiful salvia. Terrific demonstration! Your first photo warms and delights me! Carol

    Hi Carol, thanks. The babies really need little care, and I like fooling with them in winter, pretending it is real gardening. Now I have to force myself to plant them all together, not one here one there higgledy piggledy. :-)
    Frances

  9. Willow says:

    I love salvia, but have not had a chance to add it to my garden. I think they are lovely. Thanks for showing us the plantings.

    Hi Willow, thanks. The salvias are a good group of plants, the hummingbirds and pollinators love them.
    Frances

  10. Les says:

    I like Pineapple Sage, but love ‘Golden Delicious’ with that foliage. Unfortunately my co-worker who is in charge of herbs and perennials has had a hard time getting that cultivar in. However, she gets Salvia leucantha shipped with her herbs every year in little pots that are only $2.49. Mine will usually winter over if the drainage is good and the weather not too wet, but at that price I always buy more anyway.

    Hi Les, thanks for that. We have never seen the gold leaf pineapple sage for sale anywhere, only seeing it in my son’s garden. The leucantha for that prize is great, I would definitely buy those. They never winter over here but are so garden worthy. We can get the green leaf pineapple for a good price though. I am going to use these gold ones instead and be sure to keep a mother plant in a pot to bring inside. The cuttings rooted easily.
    Frances

  11. Randy says:

    Oh Frances, I’m just horrible with cuttings. I wish I had your patience!

    Hi Randy, no nice to see you. My luck is not that good with most cuttings, but these salvias are easy, being members of the mint family. They are probably hardy for you anyway. Don’t give up! :-)
    Frances

  12. It’s definitely a good way to save a few dollars! I’m looking forward to taking perennial cuttings again this spring. If the weather lets up next week I hope to take come hardwood cuttings of caryopteris and Russian sage. I was very impressed with the ease of the Russian sage hardwood cuttings last year. I’ll need to find some pineapple sage this spring!

    Hi Dave, well you are the expert on cuttings I know! We have had good luck with Carypoteris pieces being pulled from the edge that have a bit of root and replanting about this time of year with excellent results. They don’t even need to be brought inside. The Perovskia hates me and my garden. I have given up on it. Don’t know what the problem is, but I can’t even keep large plants alive. I have seen it as tall as I am in PA, it is ubiquitous there. There is a message there about it’s needs, but I am too dense to get it. We should be able to grow it, in theory, but sadly cannot.
    Frances

  13. Kathy Green says:

    Frances, I really like the Pineapple Sage. Each year I plant them here, but they bite the dust over the winter. The hummingbirds love them. Your cuttings tutorial is awesome, and I will try it this coming year so I have lots of babies to plant for my favorite birds.

    Hi Kathy, thanks. We don’t have very good luck with the wintering over either so the cuttings will save us money and give us something to do over the winter. The hummers do love these flowers. If you can find the gold leaf variety, give it a try. It is striking in the garden. :-)
    Frances

  14. Nell Jean says:

    Last year, my pineapple sage had died off to one tiny stem. With care, it came back, amazing me with its will to recover and grow into a huge plant that could provide more plants.

    This fall, I took more cuttings and expect to have enough to exchange some with Susie for some other sage that she has that is a butterfly magnet. My methods are very similar to yours.

    Hi Nell Jean, good news that yours regrew. It gives us hope for those left outside. This is the first year that I have been serious about cuttings. It seems a good way to get free plants. Getting rid of some of the orchids was necessary though, painful as that was to leave them outside.
    Frances

  15. TC Conner says:

    “We do not sterilize, never have and never will”

    I wonder why it’s often said that this is an important thing to do? I’ve even recommended doing it. But guess what? I don’t. Go figure.

    Hi TC, I don’t know why that is, but we just can’t be bothered. There is too much bleach use as it is, why do it if it isn’t necessary?
    Frances

  16. You know what I love best about this post? Those terra cotta balls! I want some!

    Oh, and the never sterilizing thing. I’m with you on this one! Too much bother for me!

    Hi Kylee, thanks. Those balls were originally purchased for the orchids but they are great for the greenhouse plants. I use the long fibre spaghnum moss for the Paph orchids with good results. The Catts are in wine corks. :-)
    Frances

  17. Gloria Bonde says:

    I love bringing in “mother plants”. I also have those terra cotta balls. I also have a big bag of cocoa mulch. I cherish putting it on the pots as mulch. The scent is so, so yummy. I had forgotten about it until I read your post. Funny how our memories are triggered. Thanks! Gloria

    Hi Gloria, thanks to you. We used to have the cocoa mulch when we lived in PA. It did smell yummy. As for mother plants, having this success means we will need to think about which plants might make good mothers in the future. It will affect our purchases this year for sure. :-)
    Frances

  18. I love pineapple sage, but didn’t know I could take leaf cuttings from coleus! I usually buy a flat every spring, but that will change now!! Love those terra cotta balls!

    Hi Linda, thanks. The terra cotta balls really make for a neater appearance on these plants in the greenhouse, where splashing water can be a big problem. The coleus are stem cuttings, but they might also root from the leaves, they will root in water too. If there is a special coleus that you really like, it is good to have a mother plant. We used to have one called Sedona, I think, that we tried to overwinter inside but it didn’t make it. This has been a better year. :-)
    Frances

  19. I too have sun room envy. Someday.

    I am a big fan of sage and have good luck with just letting them go to seed in the garden and then thinning out the volunteers that show up the following spring. But it would be very cool to have larger plants to put out. I guess I should have known that you could root cuttings, it never occurred to me.

    We don’t sterilize stuff around here either. Not much anyway. When I was cutting up the infected roses to burn I sterilized my shears afterwards, but in general I don’t sterilize stuff. I figure gardening is pretty dirty work anyway, and the soil I am using isn’t sterile, why should I worry about the pots?

    Hi Hands, thanks. The sunroom is such a treat, having the grow lights and heat mats in there helps too with all this propagating. My daughter Semi had the pineapple sage seed for her one year, then after that they all died in an especially cold winter. We just are not warm enough. The cuttings will be nice to have. The ones in the pot with the mother are nice sized too. Note to self… As for sterilizing, anything diseased, like roses is scary stuff. So is poison ivy and we have to be careful with gloves and tools that have touched that. But the potting of cuttings and seedlings just doesn’t seem to require that extra step.
    Frances

  20. Catherine says:

    What a great post. That Pineapple Sage is so pretty, I bet you’ll be swarming with hummingbirds there this summer. I’ve never sterilized anything either and have read more and more of people not sterilizing their containers.

    Hi Catherine, thanks. That is such a lovely thought, swarming with hummers! Now if ours weren’t so territorial, they spend more time chasing each other than eating and enjoying life it seems. The sterilizing seems overrated. Every comment says they don’t do it, so who is doing it? People like TC who say you should do it, but don’t themselves? :-)
    Frances

  21. Rusty Silverio says:

    Thanks for tips, I lost all my coleuses during the cold weather we had two weeks ago. I could kick myself for not taking cuttings, propagating from cuttings is the way to go in these difficult economic times; I wish I had more luck with it.

    Hi Rusty, thanks. I am so sorry you had those losses. Coleus are so sensitive to cold, they are always the first thing to go here when the cold weather comes in fall. But they are easy to root. If you just buy one plant, you can take cuttings from it to save some cash. :-)
    Frances

  22. goodtogrow says:

    I love your site!

    Thanks so much and welcome. I hope you will visit us again! :-)
    Frances

  23. For me, it’s the sheer excitement of giving a little ‘tug’ to a cutting and realising there’s resistance as it rooted.

    On your marks, get set, go gardening. It’s nearly spring.

    Love the pineapple sage. That foliage sets everything off.

    Hi Rob, you are so right. I am always afraid with that little tug though. It is getting close, but today we are having a blizzard! The gold foliage is what makes this cultivar special.
    Frances

  24. Edith Hope says:

    Dear Frances, What a very, very useful and informative posting which will, I am sure, be of great help to anyone interested in taking cuttings. I have taken notes myself which I shall now pass on to J, my gardener/handyman, first thing on Monday morning.

    Thanks Edith. This is a good way to have more of those extra special plants. The salvias seem to root easily too. This one with the bright gold foliage is a must have, and has sentiment attached.
    Frances

  25. Beckie says:

    Frances, a very informative and enjoyable post. Those salvia are beautiful and knowing you, I am sure you will have wide swaths of them this year. I have taken coleus cuttings for years and always just stuck them in water. In a matter of days they are growing roots with great abandon. I am so loving the newer varieties they are coming out with, but not the price. It ceratinly pays to take cuttings and save seed.

    Hi Beckie, thanks. I do hope to force myself to plant them all together for a big impact. You are smart with those coleus, it seems the nicer ones are quite expensive. They root just as easily as the cheapo ones too. I don’t like paying high prices for annuals, or anything else really. :-)
    Frances

  26. leavesnbloom says:

    Hi Frances – what orchids do you grow outside?

    I don’t grow any orchids in the ground outside. The ones that were left out last fall all died. I knew they would too. We do summer all the orchids in a shady spot at the side of the house on some shelving. The orchids that were brought inside are all Paphs and three Catts. We used to have many more when that particular addiction was strong. We have moved on, to Salvias. :-)
    Frances

  27. Rose says:

    Darn, I wish you had posted this last October! I did take one cutting from my pineapple sage, but didn’t take much care in potting it up and then neglected it. But it was just one of many plants I had intended to take cuttings from and never got around to. Last year was the first year for pineapple sage here, and I just loved it. I purchased it in the spring at the local Herb Society’s plant sale, so I do hope they have some again this year. If I plant another one, I’ll be sure to follow your instructions next fall. I also took cuttings from coleus, which are so easy to propagate, but wouldn’t you know, I left the pots out overnight when we had a freeze. Looks like I’ll be spending more money than I should have this spring:)

    Sorry Rose, I should have posted it then, because that is when we brought in the mother plant and took those first cuttings. I have already decided that it is easier to root things, and start some seeds when the sunroom is much warmer in the fall. Then they have a chance to grow to a good size by planting out time next spring. I would imagine the Herb Society will have the sage again, it is easy to grow and probably a good seller. We learn from our mistakes. :-)
    Frances

  28. Robin says:

    Your seedlings are looking so healthy. I usually grow the pineapple sage from seed. Last year it never got hot enough for it to really bloom though. I did have a few to flower and I collected as many seeds as possible. Hopefully it will be a better summer for them. The humminbirds do love them!

    Thanks Robin. We are doing better this year than usual. I hope to be able to get this stuff into the ground at the right time this year, not rush it and lose everything to the cold like last year. Even with our hot summers, the pineapple sage doesn’t bloom until fall, but it is worth the wait. Maybe you could take cuttings from your plants this summer for larger plants to set out next spring than from seed? Just an idea. :-)
    Frances

  29. Sweet Bay says:

    I am in love with those Primroses!

    PS The Brokenbeat’s Garden is lovely! The MBS and dahlias are gorgeous.

    Thanks Sweet Bay. Those grocer’s primroses really dress up that room! I always buy some when they become available and then plant them out in March. As for the garden at Casa Brokenbeat, youth, strength and obsession can get your garden looking good in a short time. :-)
    Frances

  30. Autumn Belle says:

    These are good tips for planting. I just germinated some delicate seedlings but there was rain and thunderstorm almost everyday. Now my poor seedling survivors look like fighting for their lives in ICU. Actually, I have no greenhouse, no place for my babies, except under the sun and moon and rain. Can I grab some of your cuties???

    Thanks Autumn Belle. Oh your poor babies! Maybe a little home made tent would help? I did an experiment and put some baby Salvia sclarea by the shed and brought the rest into the greenhouse. The ones outside got washed away by torrential rains. Glad I brought some inside for safe keeping. The ones outside needed some kind of covering that would allow water through, and light. I am working on a fix for it is easier to let the seedlings live outdoors than take up precious room in the small sunroom. :-)
    Frances

  31. Great idea, Frances. :-) I was going to try to Winter-over a coleus that I really liked. It didn’t make it. Should have taken cuttings! (A Mental note for next Fall!)

    Hi Shady, thanks. I have tried to winter over coleus before with failure every time too. This one was put directly into the purple pot and kept there all summer, with cuttings taken and stuck into the ground whenever we thought to do it. I have dug them up and taken cuttings before, always ending in death. I am not sure why it worked this time, to be honest. :-)
    Frances

  32. Kyna Adams says:

    I love coleus. I could probably set aside an entire garden just for coleus varieties. I’ve been trying to get my hands on some ‘Inky Fingers’, because I would love them for my hanging baskets or windowboxes :)

    Hi Kyna, thanks for visiting and welcome. The coleus are stout hearted plants, for sure. They root so easily from cuttings too, such a nice bonus. I think a great part of the appeal of Inky is the name. :-)
    Frances

  33. Hello Frances,

    I just love Salvias and there are 3 types that I may need to try starting from cuttings. Thank you very much for the idea.

    Hi Noelle, thanks for stopping by. These are three good ones. I would think leucantha and Indigo Spires would be hardy there?
    Frances

  34. Janet says:

    Taking tip cuttings and rooting them over the winter is a sign of a dedicated gardener!! I don’t do that as there really isn’t a place to set up all the babies. I should do that with the sun coleus that I like so much…love those colors and leaf shape variations.

    Hi Janet, thanks. We had to sacrifice some orchids to make room for this endeavor. I think it is worth it, though. Coleus are about the easiest thing there is to root. It will root in a glass of water. Some of them are sort of expensive too, so it is a thrifty idea. :-)
    Frances

  35. I’m another “don’t sterilize even though I probably should” gardener, nice to be able to reveal my secret among friends. I need help with cuttings, so I appreciated this (and I love pineapple sage, though I’ve only grown the green-leaved kind. I envy you your “Inky Fingers”.

    I thought the tip on cutting big leaves in half to avoid rot is a good one. I didn’t understand this part, though: “A hole was made in the center of the section with a screw driver.” A section of the plant? of the soil in the pot? I’m not sure if I just don’t understand this or it’s a technique I don’t know.

    Well Pomona, thanks. It is glaringly obvious that my writing is in dire need of an editor. I usually just do some tweaking then post it anyway, people are more likely to just look at the photos, before moving on to the next post. I will make a clarification on that sentence just for you. I wouldn’t want you making a hole in something that was not meant to have a hole in it. :-)
    Frances

  36. joey says:

    Thanks, Frances! You’re Mrs. Greenthumb both inside and out :)

    Hi Joey, thanks. You are just too sweet! I am hopelessly addicted to gardening. Any garden related task is welcome during the cold months, it helps my sanity and mood greatly to get something to grow then. :-)
    Frances

  37. Jean says:

    Now that we’ve had such a hard winter here, I’m regretting I didn’t take any salvia cuttings (especially since I couldn’t find some of them here and ended up getting them in TX). I’m glad to see you also don’t sterilize. How true – gardening’s a dirty business! Now what’s this about you leaving your orchids outside in the winter? Did I read that right??

    Hi Jean, thanks for the back up on sterilizing. It has been a harsh, or more normal as some say, winter here too. No more zone pushing. It is true that some of the less desirable, non producing, not worth the space indoors, orchids were just left outside to freeze. One way to eliminate them is to turn my back on them. Recently they were dumped into the compost for the pots to be reused someday. No Paphs were discarded however. We could even use a couple more of those. :-)
    Frances

  38. Layanee says:

    Alas, this year I didn’t take any cuttings as something got in the way…can’t think of what right now. I usually take cuttings of the scented geraniums and, like the sage, they emit great fragrance when planted in close proximity to a walkway. You have some beauties there.

    Thanks Layanee. I am sorry you were so busy with your travels that you didn’t take cuttings. There will be time for that later, yours was a once in a lifetime trip! Thanks for the idea of placing these fragrant plants near a path, we do have other senses besides sight, sometimes we forget. :-)
    Frances

  39. Anna says:

    Reading this post Frances has made me wish that I had taken cuttings of a honeydew melon sage that I planted at the allotment last year. It was looking good late on in the year but I fear that it will not have come through this cold winter. Cuttings are such a great insurance policy. Could kick myself :(

    Hi Anna, oh that sounds like a good one too, sorry there were not cuttings taken. We have one called fruit sage, also from Brokenbeat, with large furry leaves and a heavy scent. A couple of cuttings were taken even though I had decided not to grow it next year. Sentiment won out. :-)
    Frances

  40. Great post Frances. This info will come in handy on a snowy cold day in Feb (and we will have them, I’m sure of it). Thanks for the tips on the roses…will definitely check out that site! Kelly

    Hi Kelly, thanks. The Antique Rose Emporium is a great resource. When we lived in Texas, it was about an hour from us and we visited often. And bought a few roses. We have many growing here in TN that were brought with us in the move, or mail ordered from them. A good place to do business. :-)
    Frances

  41. Janie says:

    Frances, if I am not mistaken, the pineapple sage is a member of the salvia family, and salvia’s have square stems. Anything with a square stem can be rooted very easily in water, so for everyone who has little time, thinks they can’t do it, or lets the time for cuttings slip by them, this is a very easy way to have pineapple sage rooted for spring.

    Salvia’s are among my favorite plants. There are so many, and most of them are natives for us here in Texas. S. leucantha is my absolutely most favorite, but pineapple sage is right in there with it.

    Hi Janie, thanks for that. You are right, they are mints and most are easily rooted. We have not been able to get the greggiis to root though, sadly, too woody and I didn’t give it my best effort either. :-)
    Frances

  42. I agree with some of your other commenters that the clay balls look like a great thing. In our rains a week ago anything that wasn’t mulched splattered soil everywhere. And the fact that the clay balls don’t break down and are reusable is great.

    Thanks Lost, and welcome. You are right about mulch helping so much, both indoors and out and especially in containers. We have a serious problem with squirrels digging in the pots burying and looking for walnuts from the nearby trees. The devils don’t seem to like those clay balls, or gravel so those make good toppers to keep the plantings clean and safe. :-)
    Frances

  43. I couldn’t find an e-mail address for you, so excuse the public begging, but — any chance I could use the top, Casa Brokenbeat, photo of ‘Golden Delicious’ at PATSP? I’m writing a profile about them as houseplants, and your picture would be, y’know, really helpful as an illustration of mature plant size, mass flowering, and the ‘GD’ cultivar. I’d credit and link back to FG. Let me know at PATSP or by e-mail?

    Hi Mr. Sub, I do appreciate you asking permission and have contacted you via email with the answer.
    Frances

  44. Buy Salvia says:

    I agree with some of your other commenters that the clay balls look like a great thing. In our rains a week ago anything that wasn’t mulched splattered soil everywhere.

  45. Pingback: January 2011 Bloom Day-In My Room « Fairegarden

  46. Cindy Bellwood says:

    Thank God! I’m not the only plant nut that fills their house in the winter with plants. I think that we both deserve a nice sun room or greenhouse. Love the salvia and sage! I’m with you on sterilizing pots. I wash them out with dish soap sometimes. If it’s a pot something did not die in I pretty much just rinse and use. I never had any problems. “Yet.” Thanks for all the beautiful plant pictures. I have the same thing going on with succulents, orchid, hoyas, tropical and starting tender plants indoors.

    Hi Cindy, thanks for visiting and taking the time to comment. Good luck with your indoor endeavors, it sounds like you have some very nice selections there! :-)
    Frances

  47. Pingback: Jump Starting Spring « Fairegarden

Comments are closed.