Patience

Patience
Song writer/composer(s): Steven Adler, Saul Hudson, Duff Rose Mckagan, Axl
Rose, Izzy Stradlin

1,2,1,2,3,4
[whistle]
Shed a tear ’cause I’m missin’ you
I’m still alright to smile
Girl, I think about you every day now
Was a time when I wasn’t sure
But you set my mind at ease
There is no doubt
You’re in my heart now

Said, woman, take it slow
It’ll work itself out fine
All we need is just a little patience
Said, sugar, make it slow
And we come together fine
All we need is just a little patience
(patience)
Mm, yeah

I sit here on the stairs
‘Cause I’d rather be alone
If I can’t have you right now
I’ll wait, dear
Sometimes I get so tense
But I can’t speed up the time
But you know, love
There’s one more thing to consider

Said, woman, take it slow
And things will be just fine
You and I’ll just use a little patience
Said, sugar, take the time
‘Cause the lights are shining bright
You and I’ve got what it takes
To make it, We won’t fake it,
I’ll never break it
’cause I can’t take it

[whistle]
…little patience, mm yeah, mm yeah
need a little patience, yeah
just a little patience, yeah
some more patience, yeah
need some patience, yeah
could use some patience, yeah
gotta have some patience, yeah
all it takes is patience,
just a little patience
is all you need

I BEEN WALKIN’ THE STREETS AT NIGHT
JUST TRYIN’ TO GET IT RIGHT
It’s HARD TO SEE WITH SO MANY AROUND
YOU KNOW I DON’T LIKE
BEING STUCK IN THE CROWD
AND THE STREETS DON’T CHANGE
BUT maybe THE NAME
I AIN’T GOT TIME FOR THE GAME
‘CAUSE I NEED YOU
YEAH, YEAH, BUT I NEED YOU
OO, I NEED YOU
WHOA, I NEED YOU
OO, ALL THIS TIME
(ah)


Click here to see the best quality video of this song that was found on Youtube. None were perfect, but one thing needs to be said, Axl Rose, at that time, was scorchin’! Except in the live concert version where he was wearing red lycra hot pants. Not good. Not good at all. Who was his stylist? What were they thinking? Click here to see it, but remember, I warned you. BTW, Sweet Child O’ Mine is my ringtone. There is nothing like backlit hair on a shaking head.

For any of you, dear readers, who might have missed the point of this exercise in the way of a walk down memory lane to those fabulous eighties, you know, the time of big hair, big shoulder pads and big leather, sex, drugs and rock ‘n roll, figuratively speaking of course, it is about waiting. Waiting for the sun to rise an hour later, if at all. Waiting for bulb buds to burst open into bloom. Waiting for the garden to awaken as it should, for it is nearly spring, the calender says so. Ah.

The photos, in order:
Muscari ambrosiacum Syn: M. muscarimi
Tulipa ‘Oratorio’
Narcissus ‘Van Sion’
Narcissus pseudonarcissus
Paeonia suffruticosa ‘Hatsugarasu’
The very shy sun
Sweet pea seedlings in the greenhouse patiently waiting to be planted outside in the ground

Where do we go now?

Frances

This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Patience

  1. Edith Hope says:

    Dear Frances, What a very unusual take on the coming of spring. Definitely different! I do agree, the red lycra shorts are somewhat dreadful but each to his own.

    I very much enjoyed the pictures, lingering over them with the sound track.

    Thanks Edith, glad you enjoyed the music as well as the photos. Those red shorts were shocking when I came upon them while looking for the best video to link to for this post, seared, sadly, into my brain. HA :-)
    Frances

  2. Darla says:

    What a delightful post this morning.

    Thanks Darla, glad you enjoyed it. :-)
    Frances

  3. Anna says:

    Oh what a most exciting time it is too Frances – so much hope :) Must confess that musically the 80s passed me by in a blur – give me the music of the 70s any day – showing my age here :)

    Thanks Anna. HA to the music bit, I was well into adulthood during the 80s, but my teenage daughters during that era kept me in the swing of things. As to the garden, things are finally starting to rock and roll here, finally! :-)
    Frances

  4. Liisa says:

    Frances,
    You provided a good belly laugh for your comment about the red lycra hot pants. Perhaps the stylist was the same for David Lee Roth? He had some of the worst get-ups that I can recall. :) Your garden certainly looks like it is getting to rock and roll. But, I must agree that it is a very difficult time to exercise patience. This initial transition into spring is beautiful, but painfully slow at times. It looks as though you will enjoy a beautiful day today. Enjoy!!

    Hi Liisa, thanks. Yes, David Lee was a fashion victim, wasn’t he? HA Today is forecast to be in the 70s, I will be outside every single minute, just soaking it all in. Maybe there will even be bees? I hope so. May your days be wonderful as well. :-)
    Frances

  5. Randy says:

    Frances,
    I’ve been told many times I have a lot of patience with my butterfly photography. What a wonderful post and I get exactly what you mean.

    Like gardening, photography does take a lot of patience, Randy, and your superb shots show it well. But waiting for spring is soooo hard. :-)
    Frances

  6. A garden certainly teaches us patience, we are always waiting, for buds to open, trees to grow, for next year to be even better!

    You have hit upon it, Deborah, next year will always be better! HA We think in terms of years, many of them sometimes, as gardeners. Thanks for visiting. :-)
    Frances

  7. It’s all in the local G ‘n’R.

    I’ve a copy of ‘Lies’.

    I get it, Rob. Thanks for joining in the music/gardening theme. Some go for one or the other, some go for both. They were really something in their prime, so exciting to listen to and watch. Then self destruct, but they did have an appetite for that. :-)
    Frances

  8. Joy says:

    Frances girl how true is that : )
    I am in flux with two categories for my patience to rein in .. one for the garden and all of my babies .. and one for the sun to finally reach it’s rising point unhindered by ugly utility poles and wires .. this will be illustrated by today’s posting ;-) I was so disappointed by those poles and wires when I saw my fireball calling to me.
    Yesterday was an in the garden cleaning up day and the earth smelled WONDERFUL : )
    PS .. I think gardeners are one of the most patient groups on earth when it comes down to it all .. and the most optimistic : )

    Thanks Joy, so glad to hear you were able to get out there! It does smell wonderful, and yesterday we even heard the chorus of spring peepers in the distance. That is a sure sign that spring is here. We have poles and wires too, I ignore them and think most people do too, even in the sunrise shots. Sometimes it is what it is. :-)
    Frances

  9. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    We are going into the garden to have a cuppa tea and wait for the muscari to get some color. I thought the muscari was a mushroom already. Ha.. I hope you are able to get out there and enjoy that garden seat. Soak up some of the gentle spring sunshine while being embraced by the warm breeze…ahhhhhhh

    That sounds delightful, Lisa. Hope you don’t have to wait too long, though. I do plan to get out there soon. The sun is just hitting the deck and will be warming the garden in a short time. Ahhh is right. :-)
    Frances

  10. Gail says:

    Frances, The muscari buds look very different from the usual Grape Hyacinth~can’t wait to see the flower. The sun did come out yesterday and there is a promise of more today~~It helps. I swear that the pink hyacinth grew two inches yesterday! The plants are trying to catch up! Regarding the 80′s! Do you remember the scene in ‘Big Chill’ when Jeff Goldblum reminds the divine Kevin Kline that there is other music besides the sixties? I don’t think I ever left the sixties and seventies musically~~gail have fun out there!

    Thanks Gail, the promise of the catalog is that the flowers are super fragrant and a mix of tan and blue. Should be interesting, the buds are already quite unusual. There is growth and opening here as well, the Rijnveld’s are open and some Jet Fire. It is so nice to see them. I do remember that scene from that great movie. HA We still love the old stuff from our youth too. :-)
    Frances

  11. Frances – I love what you’re saying and the photos are lovely. But, I just can’t look at/listen to Axl this early in the morning! :-) :-) :-)

    HA Cameron, thanks. I know what you mean! Maybe later. Especially those red lycra hot pants, before coffee would probably blind your eyes and scar your psyche for life! :-)
    Frances

  12. stanhorst says:

    What can we say….back in the day that was styling…well, maybe not!! I should have just heeded your warning and not clicked…guess I was just too curious!! All that aside I love your budding photos…spring is truely in the air!!

    Stan Horst
    Publisher: BetterBenches.com

    Hi Stan, thanks and welcome. I do think they had help, at least with the hair! Spring has come around here today, not a moment too soon. :-)
    Frances

  13. Jenny B says:

    Oh, my eyes! You should never have warned me about looking at that red lycra-ed Axl Rose! I always have to look! ;-) I don’t think he had a stylist. Seriously though, isn’t patience what being a gardener is all about? I know it’s something I work on all the time, and I have felt that gardening has helped me in that endeavor. I think the hardest for me, is watching those big fat buds–waiting for them to open. Looks like your daffs are about the same stage as mine. We have another cold front swooping down on us today with more cold rains…another lesson in patience…I had big gardening plans for the weekend.

    So sorry Jenny! HA Some of us will always look, I would have as well, and was sorry for it. Then went back to look again to get the url, and watched a little more, glutton for punishment. The garden has moved forward with a couple of nice sunny warm days, but cold and possibly even snow flurries are in the forecast. That is our normal spring, up and down. Hope yours come soon, and stays. :-)
    Frances

  14. commonweeder says:

    I love musical posts. What fun this is – and good advice all in one.

    Thanks Pat, glad you liked it. It was meant to be light hearted, we have done enough whining about the weather. :-)
    Frances

  15. Patience is so hard for me as a gardener. It does not come naturally. As for the 80′s…I am trying to forget that I lived through them ;^)

    Thanks Noelle. It is hard for us too, especially when the seasons do not act as expected, like this year. I bet you had that big hair too, with high upswept bangs, that was the thing, wasn’t it? So fun to look back to the hair and dress then. :-)
    Frances

  16. Catherine says:

    Oh Guns and Roses, an absolute favorite of mine in the 80′s, I wore this album out! :)
    Patience in the garden can be hard, but it is so rewarding. Now as I’m looking at a recently redone area and everything looks painfully small I have to remind myself to be patient, it will grow soon enough and be worth the wait.

    Thanks Catherine, glad to hear it! Our whole family would listen to the cd’s and rock out. HA Gardening and patience are synonomous unless you get a huge installation of instant gratification. But that is not gardening, that is landscaping. :-)
    Frances

  17. LOL, using my computer requires patience but it doesn’t have the power to display the photos that I’m positive accompnay this post. HA! That’s an exercise in patience for me!

    So sorry, Monica. Sometimes the photos don’t load if I haven’t given them enough time before clicking, very frustrating when I am proofreading the posts, going back and forth between preview and edit. Patience required, as you say. :-)
    Frances

  18. Kimberly says:

    Frances, I must chuckle as I am a product of the 80′s. HUGE hair, ridiculous spandex and parachute pants, major eye makeup…what can I say?! It was a fun time! Your photos are gorgeous!

    You must have been a knock out, Kimberly, and probably still are! It was a fun time, life was for livin’! Thanks for the kind words. :-)
    Frances

  19. RainGardener says:

    I have to agree with Edith and Anna – an unusual take on the coming of spring and music of the 80s passed me by in a blur. ;-) Except what I would listen to that my growing daughter liked. OK age dropping here I’m a lover of the 50s early early 60s music. But in general a lover of a lot of different music so the post was most different and enjoyable. Especially the wonderful flower pictures. I had to snicker when seeing the picture of the birdhouse and chairs as the angle looks like it is positioned right above the chairs and we know it can’t be or someone would be covered in bird poo! Guess I got silly after seeing those red pants! Yes, I looked! Too funny!!!

    Thanks RG. It was my offspring that kept me in the latest music loop. Many car trips of great distances with home made tapes of their favorites. We all could agree on G ‘n’ R though. The birdhouse is a few feet away from the blue chairs, it is my new camera, the Canon sx1 on zoom that gives that type of perspective. I never know how the shots will turn out with it, always interesting. You saw the red pants! LOL They are mind numbing, I agree. :-)
    Frances

  20. Lola says:

    Don’t know the music, I’m stuck in the 60′s country & western. Some classical. Now it’s easy listening.

    Whatever floats your boat, Lola, I am for it! We enjoy all types of music, including that country and western, especially Hank Sr. :-)
    Frances

  21. Hey, I can see the photos now! It’s funny because as much as I like botanical names, tiger lilies are so common here (like dandelions) it never even occurred to me they would need an additional identifier, but of course what’s common as mud here may not be elsewhere. They ar3 in fact day lilies, Hemerocallis fulva. I don’t recall putting any pasque flower (Anemone patens) seeds in the swap, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t, LOL. In any case, they require cold to germinate–I don’t know what temps or how long. I sowed mine outside Jan. 26 and they came up March 16. They are tiny yet, but up. Perhaps the cold cold weather that has MI lagging behind almost every blog I read has actually worked to my advantage for once, LOL!

    Good deal, glad you can see the photos now, Monica. Those daylilies are referred to here as ditch lilies, to differentiate from the expensive named varieties that can be quite dear. I did put those Anemone seeds outside, then inside, then outside, where they are now. I so want that plant! LOL :-)
    Frances

  22. joey says:

    Oh happy day, dear Frances … Spring is here! Your lovely photos, a sure sign.

    Thanks dear Joey, almost, it is almost here. :-)
    Frances

  23. Thanks for the walk down memory lane–I saw Axl in LA in the 80s, one of the opening acts for the Stones. I’m not sure of the whole story, but he arrived 45 minutes late, holding up the concert, and during one of the first songs fell off the stage. He recovered quickly enough for an amazing take on Sweet Child of Mine a few songs later.

    Wow oh wow oh wow, James! I am so envious of you getting to see them live, early on too. As I looked through all the youtube videos of different concerts, I did see Axl and Mick do a duo of Nightrain, in LA. I wonder if it was the same concert? Sweet Child never ever gets old, I could listen to it forever. Thanks for visiting and giving me food for thought, imagining being there. :-)
    Frances

  24. Lythrum says:

    Who would have thought that you were a headbanger Frances? :) I love the pictures, thank goodness spring is finally here!

    HA Lythrum, thanks. There are many little secrets in my past. :-)
    Frances

  25. The speed that the plants are growing at now, we don’t need a lot of patience.

    Glad to hear it, Happy. Things are moving a little more slowly than usual here. But soon that will be forgotten as spring shows its face and we are again outside. :-)
    Frances

  26. Saif says:

    Frances hi, very very nice post, thanks for sharing…..please visit my new horticultural website http://www.hortist.com, hope you will find it completely of your interest……nice day :)

    Hi Saif, thanks. Your site is listed on my sidebar blogroll. :-)
    Frances

  27. catmint says:

    Hi Frances, love this post, love seeing the incredible beauty of the young’uns. I think the best cure for impatience is to be here now. (Not that it will ever be cured, part of the human condition?) cheers, catmint

    Thanks, Catmint. You are right of course, about being patient and the human condition. We normally are more stoic about winter than this. Must try to do better. :-)
    Frances

  28. Kiki says:

    What gorgeous macros Frances! woaooh!!..magnificent beauty and so radiant..wonderful work!! They would make fabulous wall art!
    Blessings
    Kiki~

    Thanks Kiki, and a woaooh back at ya! lol I appreciate your kind words. A little bit of macro is always fun. :-)
    Frances

Comments are closed.