An English Country Garden-Stockton Bury


Would you like to see a real English country garden? What comes to mind at the sound of such a thing? English Bluebells, Hyacinthoides non-scripta?


Aged hardscape leading to a secret garden?


Creeks?


Ponds?


Rock pools?


Superb walled plantings?…


…Containing hidden treasures?


Kitchen gardens with mixed hedging? Pruned vines? Crowns?


Wisteria blooming on stone structures?


Dark yew hedges enclosing choice specimen plantings?


Clun Forest Sheep?


Inspirational combinations? (Iris robusta ‘Dark Aura’ and Dactylorhiza fuchsii. )


If these images appeal to you, then a visit is recommended to the Gardens in the Orchard at Stockton Bury, England, “A place of timeless beauty”, click here to visit their site. Helen the Patient Gardener, who is tall and slim as well as sweet as apple pie ala mode brought us to this garden on a rainy day in May. She wrote a post about visiting these same gardens here-English Country Garden-Stockton Bury. We intrepid travelers, including Gail of Clay And Limestone, Ewa of Ewa In The Garden and Yolanda Elizabet of Bliss were ever so grateful for the opportunity to witness such a garden. Did I say it was rainy? We were too entranced to notice.

This is the third post about our recent trip to England for the Malvern Garden Bloggers Meet. The other stories can be retrieved as follows: (There is a permanent page on the sidebar containing the links to the England posts as well. Click England Trip-Two Innocents Abroad to view it.)

Living A Dream-Meeting In Malvern

Touring With Friends-Ledbury And Hampton Court Castle, Herefordshire

Batsford Arboretum With Victoria

Victoria’s Leap Of Faith

Sissinghurst Part One

Sissinghurst Part Two

Great Dixter-Finale

Frances

This entry was posted in Road Trips. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to An English Country Garden-Stockton Bury

  1. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Oh my Frances.This garden is so gorgeous. Those old walls are just unbelieveable. It appears that you would be stepping into another world. Of course it is another world to me. That iris combination is a wowzer. I didn’t notice the rain either.

    Hi Lisa, thanks. If I had known what the gardens and scenery were really like in England, this trip would have been made sooner. It is otherworldly in so many ways. Go if you ever get the chance, or make the chance, it is worth it! :-)
    Frances

  2. What a great garden and boy what good images. Thanks.

    Hi Phillip, so nice to see you. Thanks for the kind words about the photos. We all worried about our cameras in the rain, but couldn’t restrain ourselves from capturing this magical spot. It was transporting, the atmosphere took us back in time, or as the brochure said “A place of timeless beauty.” :-)
    Frances

  3. MNGarden says:

    You girls were living the dream. I would still be on a garden high from a such a trip. Your post makes me feel I’m there. The rain-washed views are fabulous.

    We were, Donna, we had to pinch ourselves often since it was so wonderful. I am so happy to hear that you like the posts, sometimes people’s travel shots are not too interesting. But anyone who loves gardens should go to see them in person!!! :-)
    Frances

  4. Darla says:

    Jaw dropping breath taking beautiful gardens!

  5. Darla says:

    For a few days your blog wouldn’t load, now today my comment didn’t appear…hmm
    Jaw dropping breathtaking beautiful gardens!

    I am so sorry you had trouble, Darla. I was working with WordPress on some issues I was having recently. Also, I accidently hit publish instead of save on a post that will show Monday. It had a message that began “Dear Sir or Madame….” That was my fault. Glad to hear it seems to be working okay now.
    ps, I found your other comment, wordpress spammed it for some reason. Weird. :-)
    Frances

  6. Bernieh says:

    Such gorgeous photos … it would be hard to leave such a garden. Particularly loved your pond shots and those lovely bluebells. How lucky were you … to get to visit such a beautiful garden.

    Thanks for visiting. We were so very lucky, it was the trip of a lifetime, but we do hope to return! :-)
    Frances

  7. sounds like you are having a “jolly old time” – this garden is particularly lovely.

    Oh yes, Heather, we did, and tried to speak the lingo as well. Good one! :-)
    Frances

  8. Lola says:

    The continuing pleasure of seeing all/some of the most beautiful gardens. Seeing it through your eyes have softened the thirst of seeing such beauty.

    Oh what a sweet thing to say, Lola. Thank you. There is still lots more to come. :-)
    Frances

  9. Linderhof says:

    A lovely garden — there is nothing like a real English garden! Love the wisteria and the old stone!

    Thanks for visiting. I agree, there is nothing like what we saw there, and this garden was favorite. :-)
    Frances

  10. Gloria Bonde says:

    How beautiful…it shows how love and time can make a garden.

    Hi Gloria, thanks for stopping by. This was a well loved garden, it was obvious. The plantings, features and hardscape were superb. :-)
    Frances

  11. Lisa Blair says:

    Frances, these photos (and all of your photos of Malvern) really take us there! What a beautiful garden. I could get lost in a garden such as this.

    Thanks Lisa. Even in the rain, this was a spot that was hard to leave. It was not large but the passageways and paths wound around in such a way that one could get lost, and be happy about it! :-)
    Frances

  12. Rose says:

    All of these come to mind when thinking of an English garden, but you’ve shown so much more than I ever could have imagined. Simply beautiful! Surprisingly, the photo I find most interesting is the sheep–they don’t look anything like the sheep we have here. I’m glad the rain didn’t keep you away!

    It is beyond our wildest expectations, Rose. Your need to go! Those are special sheep it seems, according to the brochure. There were sheep everywhere we went, such a different view than the cows we see around here due to the large dairy in our town. Some had recently been shorn, they looked naked, but still cute. :-)
    Frances

  13. Very cool stuff! I especially like the stonework they have there. The rock bridge, the brick walls with doors, and the ponds are all very nice. Sadly not enough rock easily (and more importantly – cheaply) available in our yard.

    Thanks Dave. You are so right about the rock, we had to buy ours, although one thing about it, stone can be reused over and over, it never rots or wears out! A good investment actually, if you deal directly with the rock guy like we did, Virgil Reed in Grand View, TN. Except he dumped it from the giant truck in the middle of the street and we had to work like crazy just to move it. Don’t get me started, obviously! HA :-)
    Frances

  14. It looks just like North Carolina. With a lot more structure and regular help. Like a staff of gardeners there several days a week. I noticed the Darmera flower pompoms in the third picture. Last year we had a dozen blooms. This year one. It is spreading nicely though and some new big leafed thing has showed up along the stream.

    There were similarities, Christopher, the lushness and green, but much much much more flat! Good eye on the Darmera, I had to go back and search for it. We also grow that, I remember your showing it a couple of years ago. We only have leaves this year, obviously it likes it wet. A staff of gardeners could do wonders for us all! :-)
    Frances

  15. Turling says:

    It is absolutely beautiful. I wish it rained more here in Southern California. I love the lushness of it.

    Thanks Turling. Having lived three years in Fullerton, I know exactly what you mean about more rain. But natives is the way to go there, as most places. England has the perfect climate to grow these plants, even in Tennessee we do not. But some things can be substituted to get the look, but those ancient structures cannot be duplicated. All we have are log cabins! :-)
    Frances

  16. patientgardener says:

    Glad you enjoyed Stockton Bury, its one of my favourite gardens.

    We thank you so much, dear Helen, for taking us to this spot of heaven on earth. It is one of our favourites as well. We are forever in your debt. :-)
    xxxooo
    Frances

  17. Sandra Jonas says:

    Wonderful posts about your trip!! I travel with you by proxy!!!!

    Thanks so much, Sandra. I am glad you are traveling along. There is much more to come! :-)
    Frances

  18. Barbarapc says:

    Beyond stunning. Think of those little mixed seed packages that they sell called “The English Garden”. Very interested to try one now – think Bart would enjoy the sheep.

    Thanks Barbara. I wonder what all is included in The English Garden packet? The sheep were too sweet, all over the countryside, like the yellow canola plants.
    Frances

  19. Gail says:

    Absolutely beautiful garden~I am so glad to see it again~I had the best time there~ The August photos that Helen showed hardly look like the garden we visited….How much fun to live nearby and see all the seasons. xxgail

    Thanks Gail. It was a delightful spot, camera batteries or no. Each long shot contains so many planting ideas, no all we need is a stream. Helen is a lucky gal! :-)
    xo
    Frances

  20. Cameron says:

    Lovely, lovely and I think the we all need sheep for the true English garden ambiance!

    Thanks Cameron. The sheep do lend a certain atmosphere to the scene, especially this one. The trees were an orchard, planted in straight lines, wire cages around the trunks to protect them from nibbling. We found it delightfully English. :-)
    Frances

  21. Sweet Bay says:

    Very beautiful. I love the mushroom fountain.

    It is, Sweet Bay. I just saw that same fountain in the Gardener’s Supply catalog!!! :-)
    Frances

  22. I’m stunned by the beauty of the Stockton Bury garden and wondering why on earth, when I live in the same country, have I never visited it but you wander across the pond and inspire me?!!!

    I’ve got the old wisteria,the bluebells and the pond – I just need all the other bits and the skill to put it all together so magnificently! :)

    I’m stunned that you already have the fixin’s, Liz! The old wisteria is something that money cannot buy. It sounds like you need to take a little road trip yourself, pack lots of camera batteries and say Hi to Helen for me! :-)
    Frances

  23. Tatyana says:

    Frances, these images DO appeal to me!, Oh, how much they do! Fantastic place and excellent pictures! Thank you so much!

    Thanks Tatyana, I am so glad you enjoyed the travelogue. You would have loved the gardens we saw, and meeting the bloggers was the best. :-)
    Frances

  24. lotusleaf says:

    Lovely, lovely! I recently saw an English garden at the Viceregal Lodge in Shimla.I’m glad you are having a fun time. I haven’t been able to catch up with your travelogue as I was travelling myself.

    Hi Lotuslea, thanks for stopping by. The garden you saw sounds perfect, any English garden is a good garden! Welcome back! :-)
    Frances

  25. Wow! Frances your photography is fabulous… the colors are amazing… beautiful compositions of stunning gardens. What a treat for you and for us to see now. Love all the details… the sheep are so sweet and what a setting.

    Thanks so much, Carol. With scenes like these to shoot, it is a pleasure to point and shoot them, even in the rain. This was a well planted garden. The sheep ran from us, but I surprised this group, jumping out from behind a wall! lol :-)
    Frances

  26. Dearest Frances, for a gardener or garden-fan like we are, touring gardens in England is like living a dream. I have a feeling, spiritually we pass to different zone while being in the garden that ‘makes us high’ – connection with Gaia is so much stronger.
    ..
    I am emotionally, slowly ‘coming back’ from that trip. This was so much changing experience :)
    ..
    Miss you
    xo xo xo

    Dear Ewa, it was a transforming experience in so many ways, including meeting you and the others. We are on a different plane of enlightenment after this trip. The gardens were so wonderful, wish you could have remained with us to see the others with Victoria. It was so sad to say goodby to you at the lovely train station. Biggest hugs and three kisses. :-)
    Frances

  27. linda says:

    Thank you for sharing your trip Frances – looks like a wonderful time with wonderful friends, and oh my goodness, what gorgeous gardens!

    Hi Linda, thanks for visiting. We did have a tremendously fun trip and the gardens were just like the books and magazines, only better! Meeting the European bloggers was fabulous! :-)
    Frances

  28. Katarina says:

    Thank you ever so much for sharing your trip! Those posts and photo are such an inspiration – so much beauty. I bet you had a wonderful time!

    Thanks Katarina, we did have the best time ever. The people and the gardens and everything were just fabulous. :-)
    Frances

  29. Thank you for going to England and visiting these wonderful places and sharing with us. I am breathless with wonder at the wonderful stone walls, and hardscapes. I wish I had a creek and more water on my place. . . I wish I could have been there . . .

    Wow. And again wow.

    Thanks for those sweet thoughts, Hands. Do go to England if you ever get the chance, it is amazing. The gardens are so magnificent, well tended and planted with ancient hardscape, things we could never duplicate here. But it is a lofty goal to work towards. :-)
    Frances

  30. OH, Frances! What a time you and Gail have had. And it is so wonderful to be able to share it all with you, albeit at a distance. These gardens are certainly meticulously well-maintained. It really sets everything off so beautifully.

    Thanks Linda, it was the trip of a lifetime. Gardens, bloggers who are now friends, it was simply the best. :-)
    Frances

  31. It looks very very wet. I hope you stayed dry under an umbrella my friend. So glad you got to go and with such nice friends. Beautiful.

    Thanks Dee. It was raining and I was worried about ruining my camera. I held a laminated map of the Hampton Court garden over the camera while shooting. Not enough hands for an umbrella, we all had hoods on our raincoats. Meeting the bloggers was so wonderful, they were welcoming and gracious and will be friends for life, just like the US bloggers we have met. :-)
    Frances

  32. Hi Frances

    I’m sure you said you shot all your images using the intelligent auto setting on the camera. But it’s more than that, these really are great images of a beautiful garden.

    I usually shoot using IA and rarely get quality like this. I’m off to have a bloody big row with my camera!

    Thanks Rob, you are sweet. It was raining and the photos are somewhat dark, but the gardens were so beautiful, one couldn’t take an ugly photo of them. My camera is a wonder, such a lucky purchase, I just wanted a Canon and it was on sale and fit into my pocket. I only use the auto function, I know nothing about settings, etc. :-)
    Frances

  33. Patsi says:

    Thanks for the tour.
    Interesting using the word “Aged hardscape”…aged gardens have history which is something we like to have in years to come. Something that last longer than we do.

    Thanks for stopping by, Patsi. These gardens outlived their makers and several occupants of the homes. It is remarkable that so many have been restored and/or preserved, it is huge tourist attraction for the UK. Nothing like them anywhere else on earth. They are wise to realize the value and not just build over them as is sometimes done in the US.
    Frances

  34. home garden says:

    What a beautiful garden. I love the pond and the trees creeping on the wall.

    Thanks for stopping by. It was an amazing place. Glad you enjoyed seeing it. :-)
    Frances

  35. Pam/Digging says:

    “Aged hardscape leading to a secret garden?” Yes, that. I could eat that up all day long.

    You would be in heaven there, Pam. The moist lushness, the ancient structures, well tended to perfection. I still gaze longingly at the photos. :-)
    Frances

  36. Home Design says:

    Hi! I see this page by coincidence and I like it. The pictures are awesome. Green is a very good colour for my eyes.
    I’ll bookmark this page for sure.. Keep up your good working!
    THank U :)

  37. Thanks Frances, that was lovely, brings back fond memories! Did it rain that day, I hardly noticed. ;-) Been too busy to blog much lately but there’s a post up on the Biscuit blog if you’re interested. The vid doesn’t work but you’ll find link in comment section that does work.

    Stockton Bury was grand, wasn’t it? An enchanted English garden.

    XXX Yolanda

    PS How’s Don?

    Now that is some dunk, YE! And Don is…. wait for it….disagreeable. :-)
    x x x
    Frances

  38. Cindy, MCOK says:

    It’s everything I’ve imagined and more. What an amazing adventure!

    Thanks, Cindy. All I can say is, go if you can, garden lovers need to see this stuff in person!!! :-)
    Frances

  39. Pingback: Pragmatic Gardening « Fairegarden

Comments are closed.