I Thoughteth They Were Flowers


Summer approacheth…


Blooms commenceth…


Accordingeth to schedule.


Some catcheth the eye with a hue of brilliant light…


Bits of precious metal gleameth on a shady hillside.


But lo, whateth is this…


Some of the flowers are flyingeth…


We counteth a mated pair and is this another peekingeth from behind the thistle sock?


Yeseth.


Parents and two young ones feedeth at the sock…


For a moment they were mistakeneth for the golden flowers.


There are other flowers that flyeth as well.

Please accept our apologies for this misuse of the English language. It just came out of the fingertips on the laptop after witnessing the surprising movement of the yellow evening primroses, believed to be Oenothera tetragona on the hillside visible from the lazyboy in the addition from whence all Fairegarden posts arise. And to think, the dreadfully appalling thistle socks were nearly removed just days before the sighting of the American Goldfinch family feasting there. Now the socks must be kept filled! The spotting of the Great Spangled Fritillary butterfly coincides with the opening of their favorite treat, the Asclepias tuberosa, butterfly weed. Oh boy!

Frances

This entry was posted in wildlife. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to I Thoughteth They Were Flowers

  1. sequoiagardens says:

    The faire garden is forsooth a fairy garden too as some seem to readeth it. Love the angles in through under as well…

    Hi Jack, thanks for staying in the character of this silly post. The Goldfinches were a wonderful surprise that day. :-)
    Frances

  2. Liisa says:

    Frances,
    Wonderful photos. The birds light up the garden just as much as the evening primrose. The yellow flowers look beautiful paired with the colorful grasses. I do hope you are enjoying a wonderful spring. :)

    Hi Liisa, thanks so much. The birds were exactly the same color as the flowers, it was a special moment. Happy spring to you, it is like summer here with 90 degrees, but still wonderful. The butterflies like the heat. :-)
    Frances

  3. Barbara H. says:

    Oh Frances, thank you for my second good laugh of the morning – and I’ve only been up for 10 minutes! It’s going to be a good day. Loved the flowers, the birds, the butterfly – even the thistle sock!

    Thanks Barbara, that does my heart good to think of your laughter. Those silly thistle socks, hideous yet loved by the finches. :-)
    Frances

  4. Frances, aw the juvenile goldfinch is so sweet! And I’ve never seen one sit atop a foxglove, but it’s also true I don’t have foxglove, lol.

    Thanks Monica. It is the season of baby birds here, little tweetings are heard from various spots, along with the carping of mother birds at Kitty and me to stay away. I had never seen a bird sitting on a foxglove either, and we have plenty of them. I believe you need some. :-)
    Frances

  5. Gail says:

    Dear Frances, I liketh it all~the bird’s have put on their prettiest clothes to visit fairegarden. They are beautiful~I still have birds visiting the feeders so, I’ve put out safflower seed and it’s attracting the nuthatches, chickadees and cardinals. I thought I had enough flowers but no butterflies yet! Except for cabbage whites! Have a good in the garden~xxxxgail

    Thanks Gail, for staying with the theme here. So silly, what was I thinkething? Plenty of cabbage whites here too. It was pure luck to get the verbena butterfly shot, I was trying to take pictures of the eremurus nearby and just turned around, the camera was already on. Have fun with your visitor.
    xxxooo,
    Frances

  6. Valerie says:

    Hi Frances: I enjoyed your take on the English language and your birds, butterflies and blooms. Happy Gardening. Valerie

    Thanks Valerie, sometimes a post will be on the light side. Happy Gardening to you as well. :-)
    Frances

  7. A fun poem and pretty flowers and flyers, too.

    The Goldfinches are so spectacular in color. I grow big patches of the stick verbena for them…and, they are appreciative. It’s often easy to count 6-8 birds at one time.

    Hi Cameron, thanks. I love the goldfinches, they are usually spotted on the kniphofia spikes, echinceas and later the very tall rudbeckias. This time of year they are around but not visible, but we left the thistle socks up just out of laziness and lo, the birds were there. A real treat. :-)
    Frances

  8. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    The flying flowers in the gardeneth are magnificenteth. They are lucky creatures to have found your gardeneth.

    Thanketh thee, dear Lisa. It is I who doth be the lucky one, on so many levels. :-)
    Frances

  9. Frances, I am lovingeth the yellow flying flowers, absolutely gorgeous. They really addeth to the colour scheme.

    Thanketh thee, Deborah. The birds doth add so mucheth. This is too silly! HA :-)
    Frances

  10. commonweeder says:

    You always share the beauties of your garden, stationary and aerial – in ways that delighteth us all. My late elderly neighbor used to call goldfinches ‘wild canaries’ which is also delightful

    Oh thanks so much Pat, that is so very sweet of you to saith. Wild canaries, a wonderful name for them. :-)
    Frances

  11. Ibrahim says:

    New growth , new flowers lovely birds feeding brings joy & hope.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Hi Ibrahim, thanks so much. Glad you enjoyed this bit of Fairegarden Lite. :-)
    Frances

  12. Love the last picture of the butterfly on the verbena. It really does look like a flower.

    Thanks Dave. It was a coincidence when the butterfly showed up, and sat still long enough for a photo, as I was taking pictures of the Eremurus. Sometimes it works like that. :-)
    Frances

  13. Rose says:

    Methinks the lady doth protest too much–Shakespeare wouldeth haveth been proud of this eloquent language useth.
    Excuseth me whilst I stop laughing:) I almost missed the beautiful photos while I scrolled down to see what you were going to say next:) Yes, I’m enjoying the flying “flowers” in my garden these days as much as the stationary blooms. The last photo of the fritillary is spectacular!

    Hi Rose, thanks. I wondered what your response would be, glad you like to play along and even invoketh the name of The Bard himself! This is an exciting time of year with new flowers opening and new visitors enjoying them, much to our joy. :-)
    Frances

  14. Lona says:

    LOL! All your ‘eths’ are so prettieth Frances.

    Thanketh, Lona. Glad you enjoyed them and this bit of fluff. :-)
    Frances

  15. barbarapc says:

    My socketh doth reside no more in my garden. It would appear I was too hastee.
    As there were birds who would have found it tastee.
    Their bodies of jaune.
    I couldn’t leave it alone.
    So now I pine for that ugly socketh in the garden.
    Mercifully, the end.

    Lovely little finches – ours will be poking into the garden shortly – sadly they’ll just have to find something else to eat.

    Hi Barbara, brilliant retort, as always! Loved your party BTW! Tastee Freez liveth! Those socks are just hideous, aren’t they? As I was filling mine, I did not see the large hole in the side of the netting and thistle seed spilleth over the garden. Dratheth. :-)
    Frances

  16. Jen says:

    Gorgeous, stunning, and so colorful. I have yet to see such a flash of color at our place. But, you never know.

    Love the lushness of your garden.

    Jen

    Thanks Jen. I have not noticed the goldfinches at this time of year before, but never had the thistle socks hanging up at that time eithereth, so who can telleth? :-) Sorry.
    Frances

  17. Town Mouse says:

    That way of talking is actually how the Igors in the Terry Pratchett Discworld series talk. Mmmm. That gives me pause…Kind of good you live a little ways away after all.

    Great photos, though. Not sure an Igor could actually do that.

    Thanks. I had to google it, Town Mouse, but find the whole set of characters extremely amusing. Especially how after a master dies his body can be “broken down for thpareth”. What a hoot! I had no idea, but that would have colored my writing, so glad I didn’t know.

  18. Really, Frances, is some basic speech therapy too much to ask?

    Apparently yeseth. If you could actually hear my diction, you would be amused at this. :-)
    Frances

  19. Frances! Forsooth, I lotht my tooth?! ha. Love your post and the fun you had (and provided me) today! :-) Great photos.

    Too funny, Shady! Thanks for that laugh, and glad you had one as welleth. :-)
    Frances

  20. joey says:

    Lovely, Frances … I thoughteth I had commented on this before but guesseth not! Soeth, forgiveth me :)

    There is nothing to forgiveth, deareth Joey. (Can’t tell if this is Olde English or merely a speech impediment!) Blogger has been eating nearly all of my comments on Blogger blogs for a while now, much to my disgruntleth. I believeth they haveth declaredeth war on WordPresseth!
    Frances

  21. chuck b. says:

    Our gardens have big, wavy grasses and Verbena bonariensis in common right now.

    I wish I could add your bright yellow birds to the list.

    And raspberries! I keep looking at the PCH iris, it is growing, as is the dierama. You do have charming and sweet birds that love to visit you as well, but thanks for the nice thoughts, and visiting! :-)
    Frances

  22. Grace says:

    Hi Franceth, I loveth thee Gold Fincheth family! Now thems some dis-used words!! But they’re heartfelt. :)

    Thanks Grace, too funny! What began as Ye Olde English turned into a lisping competition. HA :-)
    Frances

  23. Giggle! I loveth thit poth! The goldfincheth maketh me also very happy. They are so brilliant in colour right now, they are indeed like flying flowers. It’s a good time of year.

    Hi Jodi, thanks. This post was supposed to be in Olde English but turned out to have a speech impediment added, a total surprise when the comments started mentioning it. HA It is a good time of year. :-)
    Frances

  24. Gardening says:

    While reading the post I smileth, but the responses maketh me burst outeth in laughter ( Sorryeth). I’m scareth that the spirit of Shakespeare would curseth me. God bless thee.

    Hi Albert, thanksth. What began as ye olde English turned into a speech impediment, totally unexpected but hilarious in the comments. Glad you could join in the fun. :-)
    Frances

  25. Janet says:

    Just had to share how much your blog makes me smile. Such beauty, and wit, and wonder…. We lost our 19 yr old cat this morning, and I needed a respite in the lovely world you’ve created. Thank you, Frances.

    Hi Janet, thanks so much. Please accept my deepest sympathy for the loss of your beloved pet. We have had elderly felines as well, they truly become members of the family.
    Frances

Comments are closed.