Great Backyard Bird Count-2011


Let’s get the word out!


Are you listening?


Hey, you!


This is a big deal!


Wanna see my Linda Blair impersonation?

***

This weekend is the Great Backyard Bird Count 2011 in the USA. Click here to get the details.


The Fairegarden is ready.


Carolina Chickadee


American Goldfinches


Downy Woodpecker


Mourning Dove


Carolina Wren


American Robin


Brown Headed Nuthatch

***

There are four days to do the count, Friday, Saturday, Sunday and Monday, February 18, 19, 20, 21. It only takes an hour, or as little as fifteen minutes. You can do it anywhere, not just your backyard, parks, public areas, neighborhood spaces, anywhere that birds can be found. Go to the link above to learn how to count and report your findings. It is important. For our feathered friends. Pretty please with birdseed on top.

We will post the bird numbers from our count after it has been tabulated here.
Count #1
Observation Date : FEB 18, 2011
Start Time: 1:00 PM
Total Birding Time: 1 hour
Party Size: 1
Skill: good
Weather: good
Snow Depth: No snow was present
Habitat(s):
deciduous woods
coniferous woods
urban
freshwater
Number of Species: 20
All Reported: yes
Checklist:
Mourning Dove – 4
Red-bellied Woodpecker – 1
Downy Woodpecker – 2
Blue Jay – 1
American Crow – 1
Carolina Chickadee – 2
Tufted Titmouse – 2
White-breasted Nuthatch – 1
Brown-headed Nuthatch – 2
Carolina Wren – 2
Ruby-crowned Kinglet – 1
Eastern Bluebird – 1
American Robin – 19
Northern Mockingbird – 1
Yellow-rumped Warbler – 1
Song Sparrow – 1
White-throated Sparrow – 4
Northern Cardinal – 3
Common Grackle – 1
Purple Finch – 1

Frances

This entry was posted in wildlife. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Great Backyard Bird Count-2011

  1. Randy Emmitt says:

    nces,

    Good luck with the count! Some years I help with the Christmas Bird Counts, getting out before 7 am is making them harder to do for me these days. And Meg is always over worked with teaching school.

    Thanks Randy. I like that they are offering so many days on which to count. Like you say, people have very busy schedules anymore. Good luck with your count, too. I am excited about the Brown headed nuthatch pair! They are quite bold. :-)
    Frances

  2. Good job getting the word out! We do it each year; and like doing it from the same place each year (our own back garden) so we can compare from year to year. I’m happy to report, each year we have seen a marked increase of bird numbers and diversity as our habitat has matured.

    Hi Helen, thanks for sharing that. I like to do it from the garden here as well. Depending on the weather, the count is a high point of the bird watching from all aspects, inside and out. :-)
    Frances

  3. Lovely post, Frances. Good luck with the count! I was writing a tribute piece the other day for a naturalist and biology professor and author who recently passed, and was recounting an anecdote he told about counting birds. Someone asked him how he kept them all straight when doing a count, and he said he just counted the number of legs and divided by two.

    Hi Jodi, thanks for joining the converation. What a delightful story. I am sorry for the fellow who is no longer with us, he sounds dear. I count the heads, personally. :-)
    Frances

  4. Eileen says:

    Frances, I am afraid with the dog and all of the squirrels the birds don’t stay long enough for me to count them. They try to get to the feeder but get chased away. When the trees leaf out they come more often and hide amongst the branches.

    Eileen

    Hi Eileen, thanks for visiting. The birds do enjoy a hiding place. They like the brush piles at the perimeter fo the property here, along with the evergreens.
    Frances

  5. Janet says:

    You know I am ready! Looking forward to it.

    Hi Janet, alright! Glad to hear it. With your woodlands, there should be many feathered friends to count up. Good luck with your tally! :-)
    Frances

  6. Donna says:

    will attempt this but with all the snow still on the ground here, we see little to no birds close up

    Hi Donna, thanks for stopping by. We use binoculars when the weather is bad and we have to count from inside the house. Hard to get the big picture that way, but good for identification.
    Frances

  7. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Gosh Frances, you have lots of birdies in your garden. FUN.

    Thanks, Lisa. The birds are really loving this warm weather we are having. I was listening to a mockingbird go through his whole playlist just now while working out in the garden. Love it! :-)
    Frances

  8. gail says:

    Dear Frances, I love every one of those birds! I think Doves are so pretty and they make the oddest squeaking noise when they are startled and fly away! Thank you for the Bird Count reminder~I will get my binoculars out to watch the way-wayback feeder. Btw, ss the feeder that Mr Chickadee is visiting new? I like it! xxoogail

    Hi Gail, thanks. The doves are the prettiest colors and fun to watch. I often hear an owl across the street back in the woods, I would love to see him. The acorn feeder is old, but is one of my favorites, gift from my sister in law. Thanks Lynn! :-)
    xxxooo
    Frances

  9. Layanee says:

    The female cardinal is really more subtle and more interesting than that flash of red male isn’t she. Love all your birds.

    I agree completely, Layanee, the female is more interesting to me as well. Thanks for dropping by. :-)
    Frances

  10. Phyllis says:

    This will be my first year to participate. I’ve always missed it before.

    Good to hear, Phyllis! It just takes a short time and is so worthwhile. :-)
    Frances

  11. Catherine says:

    We’re counting today too. So far we’ve heard lots of birds, but not a whole lot have visited other than Robins. My little one sat on the heat vent watching out for them this morning. You sure do get a wide variety there. Looking forward to see who all visits.

    Hi Catherine, thanks for joining in. This is the most perfect activity for young ones, on so many levels, but I don’t need to tell you that! HA Hope you see lots of varieties of birds. We hear so many more than we see here as well, a cachophony of bird talk in the tree tops! :-)
    Frances

  12. Penny says:

    I will be doing this, here in Miami, over the weekend. And I think there will be quite a few migrating birds to count, too.

    –Penny

    Oh how exciting, Penny! Seeing the migrating birds must be wonderful. Enjoy your counting. :-)
    Frances

  13. Lola says:

    Great post Frances. Sure wish I had more of our feathered friends here. City is bad place for them.

    Hi Lola, thanks. We are lucky with the number of birds here, but I do work hard to make it a pleasant place for them with feeders, habitat, birdpaths, the pond, lots of bushes with berries, etc. :-)
    Frances

  14. I live in a city and do get plenty of birds at the feeders, but have no clue how to count them. They come by the hundreds. It is only when the hawks come do the numbers decrease to that which can be counted. Morning Doves alone are about thirty at a time.

    Hi Donna, cool! That would be hard, to count so many. Perhaps more of a guesstimate as to the numbers. :-)
    Frances

  15. Melanie says:

    Hi Frances,
    So glad you blogged this. I almost did the Audubon Societies Christmas Bird Count, then my girls got colds and I was too busy wiping little noses to even look out the window! So I am trying to do this one this weekend, thanks for sharing. However I do have 25-30mph winds with 60mph wind gusts yesterday and today to contend with, so our birdies will more than likely be hiding!!

    Thanks Melanie. I hope the winds calm down on one of the counting days so the birds have a fighting chance! Good for you involving the little ones in this. They will always remember it. :-)
    Frances

  16. Pingback: Some Birds* « Fairegarden

Comments are closed.