Fairegarden Calendar for 2012


January


February


March


April


May


June


July


August


September


October


November


December

***

For the last several years, a calendar has been made from the photo files to give as a gift to family and friends. Here is the finished product for the upcoming 2012. In shopping around for the best, most cost effective means for me to print these yearly gifts, a switch was made to a new publisher. This company offers to sell and ship one’s work so this year we thought we would give it a try. Click on the button below if you are interested. Why not make a dollar for your effort in these tough times? Maybe I can buy a plant or two if anyone decides they want this calendar, but please don’t feel any pressure. My feelings will not be hurt if no one clicks on the button. Really.

Support independent publishing: Buy this calendar on Lulu.

May 2012 find you all happy and healthy!
Frances

This entry was posted in Photography, Projects. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Fairegarden Calendar for 2012

  1. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    What gorgeous photos. I love the turtle portrait. I also like seeing the rain in the August garden because rain has become rare in August here. Good luck with your calendar.

    Thanks Lisa. The turtle is my favorite, 2011 was the year of the turtle here. Sadly that is the sprinkler running in the August shot, rain, what is that? In August anyway.
    Frances

  2. Linda says:

    What is in your January pic?

    Ornamental cabbage.

  3. Gail says:

    Frances, It’s a beauty! I love November and hope to have something similar this fall once my hollies get planted. Okay, okay, in a few years, once they grow! Happy New Year. xxoogail

    Thanks Gail. May you get berries soon and lots of them! Hoping 2012 is the best year ever for you and everyone!
    xxxooo
    Frances

  4. michaele says:

    I so love how you are not afraid of the closeup. I am going to try to be braver in that regard in my own photographing efforts. My daughter very sweetly has a calender made up for me each year from my favorite shots and in perusing last year’s, I see how I always go for the more distant, capture as much as possible view.

    I’m sure it’s been asked and answered before but this relative blog newbie would love to know what camera you use?

    Thanks Micheale. I like to do both closeups and long shots. The closeups, macro mode are so much easier and perfect for calendars, but the long shot shows more of what the garden really looks like, flaws and all. I have two cameras, both Canons. The Powershot A720 IS is the go to and has an amazing macro function. It fits in my purse and is easy to use. The Powershot SX1 IS has a 20x zoom and is used for long shots and especially for taking pictures of the birds from far away, in winter mostly. It is bigger and I am still learning how to use it better. I shoot on auto, BTW, but have learned to read the light to get the best shot. I also take hundreds of shots to get one good one. Good luck!
    PS, whatever camera you use, be sure and read the manual!
    Frances

  5. I love May – what are they? Beautiful photographs, thank you. Wishing you a wonderful and happy 2012. Ronnie@hurtledto60

    Thanks Ronnie. May 2012 be the best year ever for you and yours. May is the seedheads of prairie smoke, Geum triflorum.
    Frances

  6. Valerie says:

    Your photos will make a lovely calendar. Happy New Year. Valerie

    Thanks Valerie. The family seems to enjoy getting the calendars and I love making them. May 2012 be the best year ever for you and yours.
    Frances

  7. Sharon McMahan says:

    Gorgeous! I have ordered my copy, here’s hoping you get to buy LOTS more plants.

    Sharon

    Wow, thank you, Sharon! I really appreciate you!
    Frances

  8. Rose says:

    Beautiful! I was looking for the pink muhly in October, but gosh, it looks just as gorgeous covered in snow for December. Happy New Year, Frances!

    Thanks Rose. I was trying not to use the same plants everytime for the months. January is often crocus, etc. That was my favorite December shot, of the muhly, by far. So rare to have snow like that here in December. May you have the best year ever in 2012!
    Frances

  9. Donna B. says:

    And here I was thinking it was a “best of the month” post! I loved what you picked for November [my birth month!], it looks like the perfect fall day! I’ll have to see into my “garden-stuff” budget to see if I can maybe spoil myself with this calendar… I usually make my own every year, [this years' isn't done yet...] using photos of my dogs during the year – but maybe I need a face full of IRIS to get me out of the winter blues… ^^

    Thanks, Donna. I have done the year in review posts for other years, but the calendar sort of says it all. Those Iris reticulatas are grand, aren’t they? The bulbs help get us through those last throes of winter, for sure.
    Frances

  10. Lona says:

    Hi Frances. Your calender is just beautiful. I love all of the pictures you picked. The turtle is so cute. We do not see many of them around here anymore. I think the cars get so many crossing the roads here. I love all the berries in the one shot. Happy and Blessed New Year to you.

    Thanks Lona. It is so fun to choose the photos for the calendar, somewhat time consuming to narrow it down to just one. The turtle shot is my favorite, we saw more of them than ever before here this year, for some unknown reason. May 2012 be the best year ever for you and yours.
    Frances

  11. goodtogrow says:

    What a great gift!

    Thanks! The family and friends do seem to appreciate these, and most people still like to have a paper calendar to hang on the wall.
    Frances

  12. My Kids Mom says:

    I’ve already made a new calendar of photos of my active boys, but if I had your February to look forward to, I wouldn’t dislike the month so much!

    Good for you, Jill, seeing your kids is the best calendar of all. Wish I had done it when mine were little, but there weren’t any computers then! For home use, for us, anyway. Bulbs are worth every penny for the job and beauty they bring when winter is bearing down.
    Frances

  13. Carol says:

    You picked out some wonderful pictures, Frances. Your family will surely enjoy it all year long.

    Thanks Carol. The family seems to like the yearly calendars.
    Frances

  14. Les says:

    I wouldn’t normally say this, but my favorite month (based on your calendar) is September. Happy new year to you and your family.

    Thanks Les, may 2012 be the best year ever for you and yours. September is my favorite, too.
    Frances

  15. sequoiagardens says:

    A lovely idea, Frances! May 2012 be a memorable year for all the right reasons! Jack

    Thanks Jack. I hope 2012 brings the best for you and yours!
    Frances

  16. Dave says:

    Beautiful pictures well worthy of a Calendar!

    Thanks Dave. May 2012 bring blessings to you and your sweet family!
    Frances

  17. Dee says:

    Gorgeousness abounds at the Fairegarden.~~Dee

    Thanks Dee. I hope you have the best year ever in 2012!
    Frances

  18. Anna says:

    Should make a colourful calender Frances. Intrigued by those glorious May seedheads. May the new year treat you and those that you love kindly and may all that graces your garden flourish xxx

    Thanks Anna. The Geum triflorum seedheads are better than the flowers, and might give us some baby smokes, too. I hope 2012 brings the very best for you and yours.
    xo
    Frances

  19. Barbara H. says:

    So many wonderful shots, Frances, but I think November is my favorite. No, August! No, May! They are all spectacular in their own way. The detail on the antennae of the butterfly is fabulous. Best wishes for a year full of learning, sharing and immense happiness for you and all your family.

    Thanks Barbara. Choosing the shots to use for the calendar is so fun, glad you liked it. May 2012 bring all the best for you and yours!
    Frances

  20. This is beautiful, Frances! My favorite is the Ornamental Cabbage–I don’t think I’ve seen that variety before. Happy New Year! Beth

    Thanks, Beth and may 2012 be the best year ever for you and yours. That cabbage was especially beautiful, I don’t know the variety, they often don’t have more information on the tag other than cabbage. Thanks for the Blotanical fave. I have added you to my blogroll and look forward to getting to know you better. Your photos are marvelous!
    Frances

  21. sweetbay103 says:

    I love your calendar. I can’t believe what beautiful eyes that turtle has!

    Thanks Sweet Bay. That little turtle is the most beautiful creature, I call her Little Princess.
    Frances

  22. Pingback: 2013 Fairegarden Calendar « Fairegarden

  23. Pingback: 2014 Calendar | Fairegarden

Comments are closed.