Seattle Fling 2011-Grand Finale


On the last day of the Seattle whirlwind visit with dozens of other garden bloggers, there was a ferry ride out to Bainbridge Island.


After days filled with blue skies and sunshine, the iconic cloudy drizzle of this region descended upon us. Umbrellas and raincoats were in evidence on many of the travelers, along with sensible footwear, waterproof being a bonus. I shot the shooter, Jim of Compost In My Shoe, while he was recording us for posterity from the upper deck of the ferry. The term herding cats was mentioned more than once.


The first stop was the mysterious Bloedel Reserve. By the time we arrived, the skies had opened wide and were spilling the fabled rain upon us. We were set loose to wander with cameras under umbrellas, lunch being served at the visitor’s center around noon. This was my favorite venue of all. Even with the pouring rain, the magnificence of the ancient moss covered trees was awe-inspiring. I wanted to drink it all in and slosh in the ooze. We even saw a bit of magic presented by one of the trees.


The rain let up as we pulled up to the final destination, Dragonfly Farms. This was the perfect ending to a garden filled trip. Art abounded…


Plantings were spectacular.


Combinations were well thought out with bits of whimsy brilliantly added.


One could almost forget that this was not only a farm, but a place of business.


Almost.


On the flight back to Tennessee, our thoughts were filled with happy memories of laughter and friends, flowers and moss. The announcement had been made on this final day of the site of the next Garden Bloggers Fling, Asheville, North Carolina. I hope to see you there!

The rest of the posts about Seattle Fling 2011:

Seattle Fling 2011-Overture

Lost Secret In The Bloedel Reserve

Semi Does Seattle

Art And Artful In Seattle-Birrell And Tucker Gardens

Art And Artful In Seattle-The Dunn Garden

Glass Art Of Seattle

Art Of Seattle 2011 Fling-Day 2

Seattle Fling 2011 Day 3-Onward

Frances

This entry was posted in Road Trips. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Seattle Fling 2011-Grand Finale

  1. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    What fun and the inspiration from other bloggers and the gardens, they are impressive. I can’t wait for Asheville.

    Thanks Lisa. I so look forward to seeing you again!
    Frances

  2. Rose says:

    So nice to see a few familiar faces in the group. I’m hoping I’ll see them all in Asheville!

    There were familiar and new friends there, Rose, as has been the case at each of the flings, except Austin where they were all new!
    Frances

  3. What a grand time. The PNW is such a different experience than where we live. Beautiful!

    It was grand, Janet. We are so lucky to have been able to travel all over the country to these flings. It is the best of the best, people and places!
    Frances

  4. Valerie says:

    The first year I started blogging and came upon your site you were off to the Chelsea in England. I have wanted to go ever since. Maybe this year if all goes well. Valerie

    Thanks Valerie. I hope you do get to Chelsea! We went to Malvern, a lesser but equally wonderful experience, even more so since we got to meet some UK, Polish and Netherland bloggers!
    Frances

  5. Christina says:

    Frances, it certainly must have been a great Garden Bloggers Fling! I love the third photo of the mossed tree in Bloedel Reserve. Living in Southern California I for sure miss being able to walk in magical and majestic pacific Northwest type of forest at times. I hope, I have a chance to visit this reserve myself one day. Your posts about it truly have whetted my appetite!
    Christina

    Thanks Christina. The Bloedel Reserve was the favorite stop on our trip. Talk about magical, that is the place for it. I highly recommend it and hope you can make your way there someday.
    Frances

  6. Jeannine says:

    I enjoy reading your blog and the posts regarding this trip! Sounds like lots of fun. I’m green with envy.

    Thanks, Jeanette. I am glad you enjoyed the Seattle posts, obviously we took a whole lotta photos.
    Frances

  7. Jo ann says:

    I absolutely love your garden blog. I live in the Midwest but 2 years ago spent 8 years in Warrenton-Astoria Or. area. I have been gardening for over 30 years mostly in the Midwest except for the 8 years in Oregon. I know many of the areas you blog about. Anyway here is my comment or question, Herding cattle is a Midwest term, is hearding cats a pacific northwest term ? Just curious.

    Thank you, Jo Ann, for those very kind words. I appreciate your readership! I first heard the term herding cats at the garden blogger fling in Buffalo in 2010, spoken by one of the organizers, Jim Charlier. Apparently he thought we were an independent-minded group, more like cats that like cattle!
    Frances

  8. Oh what a great looking trip. Looks like so much fun. I would love for us to go to Ashville this year. What a blessing it is so close,

    Thanks Alicia. I am tickled to hear you plan on attending the Asheville fling! It will be wonderful!
    Frances

  9. Dear Frances, Reading your postings about the Seattle fling makes me want to join you on your next adventure. I hope to see you in Asheville. P. x

    Oh Pam, that is marvelous! I can’t wait to meet you. I am going to ask you about Brook Cottage.
    Frances

  10. The moss-tree is entrancing. North Carolina! Wonderful!

    Thanks Esther. The Bloedel Reserve was an enchanted place, so much moss, giant trees, woods, it was so beautiful. We are really glad the next fling is in North Carolina, driving not flying!
    Frances

  11. Cindy, MCOK says:

    Us, an independent minded group? Surely he jests!

    HA, Cindy, exactly!

  12. Lola says:

    Awesome pics. It’s no wonder that my dh said I would love it there.

  13. Pingback: Frothiness « Fairegarden

Comments are closed.