March Orchid Appreciation Dedication


It is now March. Finally. Those slow as frozen syrup days of January and February are now behind us. Finally. Even with the unusual abundance of nice days alternating with heavenly and blessed rain and the early blooming of many of the late winter flowers, much of the scenery around the Fairegarden consists of bare, brown stems. Come March, on our Zone 7a steep slope, changes can be noted daily. Leaves are unfurling and colored buds are bursting. But there is something else going on here, something that gets left behind in the explosion of seasonal sensations outdoors.


Within the confines of the greenhouse/sunroom, a space dedicated to the growing of tender and tropical plants during the colder months, there is a blooming show going on. (A more thorough description of this room can be read here.) The orchids have been in flower for many weeks. As they first open, there are oohs and aahs and camera clickings and daily doting by the gardener.


But once the show begins on the larger stage outside, the greenhouse/sunroom gets merely a glance through the windowed door as we pass through the mudroom on the way to the hillside production. There is the weekly watering still being done, on Mondays, laundry day, to help me remember. But the blooming orchids, Paphiopedilums all, for those are the type that enjoy the sort of service and conditions we are able to provide in this relatively small space, stoically continue doing their business.


And so we wish to show them a little appreciation and love for their consistant continuous conspicuous campaign of comeliness. Here’s to you, our pretty Paphs! Happy March!

***

To see all of the orchids we grow and their names, which are a mouthful, click on the sidebar page Plants We Grow-Orchids, or click here.

Frances

This entry was posted in Plant Portrait. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to March Orchid Appreciation Dedication

  1. Carol says:

    Those orchids are gorgeous, Frances. How nice to have them to bridge the season of winter over to spring.

    Hi Carol, thanks. The orchids are beautiful and I take them for granted, rushing past that room to get outside and partake of the great outdoors. Poor orchids, underappreciated but still loved.
    Frances

  2. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    You have such a beautiful collection of orchids Frances. I am always drawn to those air plants that you find unique ways to grow and display.

    Hi Lisa, thanks. The orchids are exotic beyond imagining to me, that is what draws me to them. That and the fact that I can get them to rebloom successfully. The little Tillandias are other worldly, they don’t even look like plants! One of these days I will fasten them to something better than hardware cloth.
    Frances

  3. I am wondering where I could put a sunroom or greenhouse here. You are fortunate to have that space. But maybe I could grow an orchid by my desk window for starters.

    Hi Kathy, thanks. I am fortunate, but I had to do battle with The Financier and the contractors to make this room happen. It was worth the fight. The best situation for such a room is on the Southeast corner. If there is a deciduous tree South of the room, it will be cooler in the summer and sunnier in the winter. That is a concern here, the heat of summer with all that glass, but maybe not for you.
    Frances

  4. Leslie says:

    Those are lovely Frances! You have a gift for orchid growing…and what a great space to grow them in!

    Hi Leslie, thanks. It is a great space, for the Paphs. I won’t bore you with the number and types of orchids I have killed. HA
    Frances

  5. Orchids are not my forte. Of the three I have, two are still alive……..but still haven’t bloomed. One is almost dead. Wish mine were a lovely as yours. oh wellllll………..

    Hi Janet, thanks. But most of these came from Newberrys! Paphs are what grow best under the conditions that I can offer. Having the right potting medium, light and watering regimen are the keys to success. Keep trying! It took me 10 years to finally figure it out, so don’t give up so quickly. And forget about those Phals, or treat them like cut flowers and toss after they are finished flowering.
    Frances

  6. Great Orchids. I have difficulty with them so I appreciate people like you who can grow them and them share them with people like me. Here on the shore of Lake Michigan the gardens are far from “tropical” so too my house but the lake makes up for all that. I often have the lake in the background of my photos. It makes the garden. See you again. Jack

    Hi Jack, thanks for visiting. We are not tropical here in Tennessee, either. The greenhouse/sunroom takes care of the orchids during the winter, they go outside in the summer and are completely ignored. I am sure the lake where you live *makes* it!
    Frances

  7. Pingback: Orchid Love « Fairegarden

  8. Pingback: January 2013-The Bloom Day « Fairegarden

Comments are closed.