Sweet Blooms Of March 2012


Welcome to Garden Bloggers Bloom Day for March 2012, courtesy of Carol of May Dreams Gardens. The honeybees are busy, busy, busy in the Fairegarden right now. There are many spots for them to visit, including the purple leaf peach tree that my neighbor Mickey gave me several years ago. He struck cuttings from his tree and gave them to several of the people who live on our street. Seeing these trees in bloom reminds me of his friendship, sweet indeed.


Along the forty foot long, four foot high block wall behind the main house, groups of long ago planted Fritillaria uva vulpis offer sweet closed bells of purplish/brown with bright golden edgings. They are very overcrowded and need dividing but every time I dig down into a clump, trying not to disturb the multiple nearby plantings, all that happens is decapitation. So we let them be, with declining bloom numbers each year. One of these days…..maybe.


Ooohhhhhh! These sweet Crocus chrysanthus ‘Prins Claus’, a very late last year purchase at 75% off, were planted in a container after Christmas. The devil digging squirrels moved some of them around right after planting and before a wire cage was placed over the pot. Even now, with larger rocks surrounding the bulbs now blooming, the varmints still think they have buried walnuts in there and continue to search, throwing dirt all over. Soon the bulbs will be replanted in the ground anyway.


These are the flowers of Narcissus jonquilla simplex, a species miniature in the lawn/meadow. With grass like rather than strappy foliage like other daffodils, after blooming the leaves die back sweetly and unobtrusively. Note to self: Need more.


Also in the lawn/meadow are patches of Anemone blanda ‘Blue Shades’. Short in stature but still sweet, we need a kazillion more of these for a better showing. 100 does not go very far, believe it or not.


Unknown daffodils, again from neighbor Mickey bloom under the tall pine trees with various flowering and evergreen shrubs. The little Corylopsis spicata has been quite slow to grow, but the hanging yellow clusters are still sweethearts.


Narcissus ‘Lorikeet’ is a luscious combination of pale buttery yellow with a peachy pink trumpet. Unlike some daffodils with this unusual coloration, this one does not fade with age, nor begin differently hued. It is very sweet. I wondered why it had not increased at all and went nosing around underground. It turned out that some bits were completely covered by large rocks that had slid down the hillside. There was foliage, all white and yellow, but still trying to grow, even under the rocks. I dug them right up and replanted them out in the open. Poor little things!


I adore Hyacinths of all hues. The scent, the flowering, the form, everything about them speaks to my soul sweetly in early spring.


Multitudes of massing Muscari, most likely M. armeniacum came with the property. Seeing the pathways that are lined with these little blue sweetlings brings joy and pleasure beyond measure to the gardener.


Euphorbia x martinii ‘Ascot Rainbow’ has performed well along the above mentioned long wall behind the main house. Riddled with unsweet voles, there have been many losses of plantings there. The poisonous sap of the Euphorbia family is immune to the nibblers and squirrels keep clear of them as well. We are in the process of adding more of these.


After a sequence of close up macro shots, here is the long view from the wall up towards the shed. Spring is moving along at a fast clip. Blink and you might miss its sweetness!

Frances

This entry was posted in Garden Bloggers Bloom Days. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Sweet Blooms Of March 2012

  1. Looks beautiful Frances. I have a question regarding the muscari – does the foliage stay on them all winter in your area? I have recently moved and there seems to be a ring of muscari around one of the beds. But they stayed green all winter – here in Canada that doesn’t usually happen. Never seen it before. Waiting now for some flower shoots to show – but it’s too early. If they don’t bloom, they are gone because right now they are rather unsightly.

    Hi Heather, thanks. As to the Muscari, yes, the foliage appears in late summer/early fall after disappearing sometime in June here. It overwinters and can look sort of messy. Mulching can take care of that, however. My money says that they wil bloom for you. Look inside for the flower buds. That sea of blue is so welcome with the yellow daffodils, I hope you can overlook the foliage to appreciate the rewards of benign neglect. It would be a shame to miss out on free plants.
    Frances

    • Nell Jean says:

      Muscari makes a good marker so you can find daffodils when they’re hiding underground with the Muscari proclaiming: “here they are!” I always wanted a river of muscari. In this climate I’m grateful for a trickle.

      Hi Nell Jean, thanks for visiting. I have used Muscari to mark lilies, especially ones that emerge late. Trickles can be good, too.
      Frances

  2. sandy lawrence says:

    Spring is my favorite time of year because of the bulbs. One can’t have too many, is my opinion. Thanks for the lovely tour of yours, Frances.

    Hi Sandy, thanks. I completely am of the same mind as you about bulbs. There is no such thing as too many, ever!
    Frances

  3. CurtissAnn says:

    Your blooms are lovely, and your photos spectacular. Thanks for sharing!

    Hi CurtissAnn, thanks. I aprreciate those kind words!
    Frances

  4. Jane Carroll says:

    Beautiful as always…makes me wish for …more…space…time…inclination…

    Hi Jane, thanks. As for having a garden, it is those last two, with the last one especially that can hold you back. If you want it, make it happen! Life is too short not to.
    Frances

  5. My Kids Mom says:

    You inspired me to go outside with my camera today. Things are about a full month ahead of schedule here. In fact, I could smell the pollen in the air today. I’ll post photos on Monday.

    I picked up a late pack of the muscari, thinking I had a bag of ten. I got home and saw that I had a bag of 100, so I have put them everywhere! I hope they will spread until I have masses of them all over.

    Hi Jill, thanks for stopping by. That is great to hear you were inspired to get out there. It is like summer, and that is just scary to me. Reminds me of 2007 with that late killing cold snap. Shudder. As for the 100 Muscari, that sounds like a lot but really is not. As for THEM spreading, I say HA! It is YOU that must spread them, although there will be seeding about.
    Frances

    oh well. Put in my place by a bag of bulbs.

    HA Jill. We do need to be in our place, Nature keeps us humble!

  6. So pretty the tree that your neighbor gave you. I love the image of your busy bees pollinating the tree.

    Hi Donna, thanks. These neighbors gave me so many plants when we first began creating this garden, the most generous folks ever. The bees are all over here, a guy keeps hives across the street but doesn’t have much of a garden. We are mutually beneficials!
    Frances

  7. I wish I had more Ascot Rainbow!! Super spring blooms.

    Hi Janet, thanks. Believe it or not, I saw nice looking Ascot Rainbows at Walmart today!
    Frances

  8. Luscious pictures of these bight spring flowers…I can smell the hyacinth and hear the bees…

    Hi Donna, thanks. Those hyacinths are quite sweet, and the bees and loud!
    Frances

  9. Lea says:

    Very beautiful, every one of them!
    I love the way you have caught the light, especially on the daffodils!
    Happy Gardening!
    Lea
    Lea’s Menagerie

    Hi Lea, thanks and happy gardening to you! Backlighting really makes this slope pretty, especially in spring and fall.
    Frances

  10. patientgardener says:

    I love Spring with everything emerging but I am panicing a little as everything is so far ahead this year that I am already behind!!

    Hi Helen, thanks for stopping by. I know exactly what you mean about feeling behind and the season has just barely started. No way we can catch up, but just have to jump in wherever we can!
    Frances

  11. What great photos. There is so much colour in your garden right now.

    Hi Green Bench, thanks so much. Spring has arrived here, early by a couple of weeks, but definitely here. There is no going back now!
    Frances

  12. Jeannine says:

    Just lovely! Happy spring!

    Hi Jeannine, thanks. Happy Spring to you, too!
    Frances

  13. Rose says:

    A lovely vision of spring, Frances! Every fall I wonder why I purchased so many bulbs to plant, and every spring I wonder why I didn’t plant more:) There are some things you can never have too many of. Fantastic photo of the bees!

    Hi Rose, thanks. There simply can never be too many bulbs!
    Frances

  14. Pingback: 2013 Fairegarden Calendar « Fairegarden

Comments are closed.