Take A Picture…


Remember that childishly snide remark, “Take a picture, it will last longer”, uttered to some other kid who was looking or seemingly staring at you?

Above: Paphiopedilum Honey ‘Newberry’ x Paph. primulinus ‘Lemon Glow’

True words, those.

Above: Louisiana Iris ‘Black Gamecock’


Especially in the garden, taking a photograph of flowers that are blooming particularly prettily this year….

Above: Clematis ‘Rooguchi’


….Or foliage that is still perfect without insect or weather damage, yet, is the best way to have a record of the where and the when.

Above: Cotinus coggygria


The when is out of whack this year for many things, and you know how we like things to be in whack, not out of it. Having photographic reminders will help in future garden design planning, one hopes, of what flowers might possibly bloom together. Maybe.

Above: Allium ostrowskianum


I tag all of the images with the date when loading the memory card onto the computer. It helps so much to have the day, month and year right there, visible in the photo filing system and on all of the blog posts when in HTML mode.

Above: Cyclamen hederifolium, and the culprit who is eating the flower caught on pixels! Excuse me while I dash outside and squish that vandal!


And so, dear readers, please take this not as an insult, but rather as a friendly suggestion…

Above: Nigella damascena

Take a picture, it will last longer.

Above: Japanese maple, Acer palmatum var. dissectum ‘Crimson Queen’, Hosta ‘Sunpower’ and a birthday gift from my sweet sister in law, a glass Fiddlestick from Barbara Sanderson! Thanks so much, my dear, I love it and you, too!!!♥

Frances

This entry was posted in Photography, weather. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Take A Picture…

  1. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Your birthday fiddlestick looks to be mimicing the tree. What a beautiful gift. After seeing Pam’s post about Chihuley glass and now your Barbara glass in the garden I am having the urge to purchase some glass for the garden. I love the echoing affect you are getting with this glass.

    Hi Lisa, thanks. I didn’t catch on at first when placing the fiddlestick and had it turned the opposite direction. After taking some photos and loading them on the computer, I noticed that the curl would match one of the maple branches if I turned it around, so I did.
    Frances

  2. Beautiful pictures this morning. I also have the Clematis Rooguchi and it is one of the neatest plants. The Nigella is so delicate and do you dry the pods? They dry so well. Have a good day!

    Hi Sandy, thanks. We are awash in Nigella because I allow the pods to dry and open on most of the plants. I do pick some and hang in the shed for better seed harvesting. They look cool in there.
    Frances

    • Dearest Frances,
      I would love to have some seeds of the Nigella, My garden is in its 2cond yr and I am really looking for new and wild natural looking flowers to add, I can send you a self add and stamped enveloupe of whatever you need, Just let me know. Thank you for your time,,
      Freedom

      Hi Charles, thanks for stopping by. For personal privacy reasons, I do not give out my email address or home address to people that I do not know, sorry. This Nigella is nothing exceptional, not a named variety. Seeds are available at any big box store or garden center. Depending on where you live, sow them in the next month of so, they are biennial.
      Frances

  3. I must have had a sheltered childhood–or perhaps my memory is failing me. I don’t remember that snide comment. I love that Louisiana iris.

    Hi Kathy, thanks. Maybe you didn’t hang out with a bunch of wiseacre smart mouth kids like I did. Not that I was one of those types or anything. HA
    Frances

  4. Hi Frances – do you also take full view shots of the each bed on a regular basis? I find that helps me to keep track of spacing and height issues, also helps me see where the beds need more/less colour. Right now I’m waiting for the next round of perennials to start blooming as there’s only white and green in the garden. I can see next year whether adding some more colourful plants will make a difference when I compare the shots of the same garden taken a year apart.

    Hi Heather, thanks for adding in to the conversation. I take all kinds of photos, most do not make it to the blog but are used for my record keeping. Noticing when certain colors really add to the garden and writing that down to be sure and add something later is the method I use. It has really helped with the winter view of the steep slope, where I have added a patchwork of colorful Heucheras.
    Frances

  5. georgiafromga1 says:

    Just lovely, Frances. Your photos are always so inspirational. Really covet that fiddlestick. What a delightful grace note.

    Hi Georgia, thanks so much. When I opened the box and saw the fiddlestick I yelled out in sheer delight. It was the perfect present.
    Frances

  6. You really do have an amazing diversity of plant material and I say that with admiration and appreciation. It is always such a treat to see your luminous close-ups which allow every plant to have its starring moment. (Norma Desmond in Sunset Boulevard would be jealous).
    Your sister-in-law is a total treasure…what a perfect gift!

    Hi Michaele, thanks. The diversity is here, for I have always been a plant collector type of gardener. It is just in the last few years that I have gotten better at the design part, massing and drifting. This zone does allow for the greatest selection of plants that will grow here. My sister-in-law is a true gem.
    Frances

  7. Layanee says:

    I still think that fiddlestick is the tail of a mythical (or not so) creature. Love it. I am taking pictures like mad since my memory is not what it used to be.

    Hi Layanee, thanks. The fiddlestick is mystical and magical, I agree. My memory is shot, I need photos and an easy way to find the image I want, too.
    Frances

  8. sandy lawrence says:

    Lovely photos, as always, Frances. I think zone 7 must be the perfect zone for me. Too bad I’m in TX zone 8a ha! I’m glad to see a LA Iris ‘Black Gamecock’ bloom. I just bought that iris for my bog garden from Plant Delights and it should bloom next year. From the look of your photo, I’m glad I chose it! I also grow the Clematis ‘Rooguchi’. What a performer! Love your new Barbara Sanderson art glass addition and it’s location. I think if I were to buy one, it would be a fiddlestick. Thanks for the morning’s gardening inspiration!

    Hi Sandy, thanks. Zone 7 is most definitely the perfect zone for me. Black Gamecock is gorgeous, even in the dry realm of the gravel garden here. I imagine it would be much happier in a wetter spot. I am in love with the fiddlestick, totally smitten with it. It is prettier in real life.
    Frances

  9. You’re preaching to the choir here. I have reams of photos of the tree peony, which is now gone over. What is the bug that was eating the Cyclamen?

    Hi MMD, thanks. The bug was green with very long antennae, shaped like a green pepita. He is now deceased.
    Frances

  10. What great advice! And your photo gallery is stunning as ever. My Clematis are doing fabulous this year when I thought they were all dead in last year’s drought. As you say, everything is every-changing!

    Hi Diana, thanks. I am so glad to hear about your Clemmies, some plants are tenacious, thank goodness. Every changing, each year different, that’s what makes it interesting.
    Frances

  11. Gorgeous blooms and that Fiddlestick is a must have…i love it!

    Hi Donna, thanks. The fiddlestick is so wonderful I have to pinch myself when gazing upon it!
    Frances

  12. gail says:

    Fantastic advice my dear! The other corollary is “never visit the garden without your camera.” xoxoxgail PS I do love that Louisiana iris.

    Hi Gail, thanks. Words of wisdom, those, but I cannot take the camera with me when doing weeding, etc. That is when I see the most wonderful sights, too, like a hummingbird hovering in front of me with the staring contest.
    xoxoxo
    Frances

  13. Lynn says:

    What a perfect spot for the Fiddlestick. I am truly blessed to have you as my sister-in-law.

    Dear Lynn, I was hoping you would see this post. I am the lucky one to have you, my dear friend. The Fiddlestick is perfect, as are you.
    Frances

  14. Barbarapc says:

    I remember that cheeky remark from my childhood. It was one of those big girl comments – she was usually wearing boots, and elastic band of a mini, and hair all the way down to there, chewing gum and smoking. And now I stare at flowers….. Lemon Glow is a stunner.

    Hi Barbara, how funny! I was a bit of a snot when younger, gardening, and age have smoothed my edges.
    Frances

  15. Just gorgeous photos, I wish I had such ability to make lovely things grow and do them justice with a camera :-)

    Hi Cake and Shakes, thanks for visiting.
    Frances

  16. Crystal says:

    Lovely photos, especially like the Louisiana Iris. Did you manage to get the bug that was eating your cyclamen?

    Thanks Crystal. I took care of that bug the second I saw the photo. He was still on the cyclamen flower when I ran outside. He is now gone, I am happy to report. No more chomping for him in this world.
    Frances

  17. Linda says:

    Final picture………..amazing……….otherewise………….Whoa!!!!!

    Thanks Linda. I am glad you liked the photos!
    Frances

  18. Your Cyclamen is blooming now? Mine isn’t, maybe a different variety. love the glass sculpture!

    Hi Janet, thanks. This is the spring blooming one, C. hederifolia. I also bought C. coum which blooms in the fall, with a more rounded leaf, maybe that is the one you have. They are new to me and I am loving the one in bloom now, but do have to get way down low, under the Daphne odora, to see them.
    Frances

  19. Rose says:

    The glass fiddlestick is lovely, and your placement of it is perfect–it looks like a twin to your tree! I never took photos of my garden until I started blogging, and when I began, it was mostly with the idea of getting a few good pictures to illustrate blog posts. But now I take photos for myself as much as for anyone else; otherwise I’d never remember in November where all those tulips were blooming in April!

    Hi Rose, thanks. Funny you should mention never taking pictures of your garden before blogging. I have been taking pictures of the gardens ever since I got my first house, with the old style film cameras. But when my husband gave me a digital camera in 2002 and showed me how to load the photos onto the computer, real photo records began! I am better at taking pictures now, and better at knowing which ones to keep to know where stuff is.
    Frances

  20. RobinL says:

    The glass fiddlestick and tree branch behind it are perfectly matched, but then again, I’m sure you planned it that way. Like you, I take my garden pictures and keep my garden blog to keep a record of when and wear everything bloomed. Always a good idea!

    Hi Robin, thanks. I did notice the curves were similar when taking photos and turned the fiddlestick to face that direction, if you can call that planning. The blog is a wonderful record of one’s garden, for sure!
    Frances

  21. Pingback: 2013 Fairegarden Calendar « Fairegarden

Comments are closed.