Fluff


Fluff-having a very soft, light or frothy appearance.


-Light down or fuzz, like feathers on a young bird, suggested for your viewing pleasure by the lavender Conoclinium (Eupatorium) coelestinum.


-To make something appear lighter or fuller, like fluffing a pillow. One could stuff a pillow with the seedheads of the very aggressive Pennisetum alopecuroides ‘Moudry’.


-Seedheads on some flowers or grasses, like the yellow aster, Heterotheca villosa ‘Ruth Baumgardner’.


-A soft, light downy mass, like clouds or spiderwebs.


-Pink muhly grass, Muhlenbergia capillaris….


-…. and dog fennel, Eupatorium capillifolium, click here for more info about it. Note the similar species names, from the Latin capillaris = hair-like, meaning finely textured. They are the very definintion of fluff in garden-speak.

***
Wildflower Wednesday is the fourth occurence of that day in each month. Please join Gail of Clay and Limestone to see more.

Frances

This entry was posted in memes, Wildflowers. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Fluff

  1. Cyndi says:

    Your FLUFF is absolutely Beautiful!
    Smiles, Cyndi

  2. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Your garden is looking quite fluffy right now.

  3. I love that pink grass, wish I could grow it here! I tried the purple love grass, never turned color.

    Eileen

  4. gail says:

    Frances, I love your garden fluff! It’s beautiful and perfect for Wildflower Wednesday! xoxogail

  5. Nothing like a little light fluff to finish off a very satisfying meal! So, that is the dog fennel growing on either side of your shed? …what an enchanting look for the end of the season.

  6. gittan says:

    You´ve got some great fluff there / Kram

  7. Leslie says:

    Hi Frances, I’m a new reader and I just wanted to say that your blog is truly wonderful. I love everything about it–your pictures, your writing style, your garden, even the name! I spent yesterday afternoon reading your fairy pages. I was in heaven.

  8. Your grasses are adding a lot of texture to the garden right now, in addition to that soft colour.

  9. Just beautiful, Frances. Wish I had a place for that divine muhly grass.

  10. Lola says:

    A lot of fluff in a gorgeous garden.

  11. kwgarden@gmail.com says:

    Beautiful

  12. sharon says:

    I am so enthrallled with the pinl grass…It makes quite a statement……pretty in pink

  13. Dee says:

    So. P. alopecuroides ‘Moudry’ is very aggressive. Maybe I do or don’t want it here. I love your fluffy plants Faire.

  14. I love how you organize so many of your posts by a topic that covers many plants, and even spider webs! It is a fluffy time of year. Clematis seedheads are also fluffy.

  15. Love the dog fennel! I had never heard of it before.

  16. patientgardener says:

    I like a bit of fluff and I really like that purpley grass which I must now look up

  17. Wow, that dog fennel! Fall is indeed the season for fluff in the garden,.

  18. Rose says:

    You’ve made a believer of me–Fluff is beautiful! Love the photo of the Muhly in front of your garden shed, but everything is glowing in your photos–you capture the light so well.

  19. indygardener says:

    Fluff is good!

  20. tim says:

    love the Eupatorium. looks like its is in part shade too.

    Yes, the Eupatorium grows best in partial shade, a native of woodland edges.

Comments are closed.