Negative Ions in Fall


Negative ions, those mystical, magical healing properties of large bodies of water draw in the human psyche like moths to the fire.


Earlier this summer research was done to find out more about how these ions spin their soothing sensations to calm and relax us. Click here to read about it if you are so inclined. The above shot is believed to be a Louisiana heron.


Recently a whirlwind trip found us again on the coast of the Atlantic Ocean, again in South Carolina but this time a little farther south in Hilton Head. The above shot is believed to be a snowy egret.


It was cooler, less crowded and achingly beautiful with the lower angle of light, more so than the usual glaring summertime sun at the water’s edge. The above shot is believed to be of brown pelicans.


Not a family vacation this time, but a meet up with dear friends brought us to this scenic island. The above shot is believed to be of a Zebra butterfly, who sometimes strays from the Caribbean to South Carolina.


While the menfolk golfed daily, my friend Shari and I enjoyed nature exploration. We went to a museum that had a butterfly house of natives, rather than the usual tropicals. There were many, many Gulf fritillaries. Some were people friendly.


It was peaceful and relaxed, and very beautiful. The above shot is of Callicarpa americana, especially fetching backed by the Spanish moss, Tillandsia usneoides.


The coastal Low Country South Carolina, land of live oaks dripping with Spanish moss…


…and quiet contemplation. I would go again in a heartbeat.

Frances

This entry was posted in Road Trips, wildlife. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Negative Ions in Fall

  1. Anne Boykin says:

    Beautiful photos!

  2. Valerie says:

    Your trip does sound like the perfect thing to refresh the soul. I am glad you had a good time. Valerie

  3. indygardener says:

    It looks lovely. I have only been to the ocean to bask in the negative ions in the summer. Maybe it is time I planned a fall trip!

  4. Gosh, Frances, I feel refreshed just reading your beautiful report about those negative ions. And i much prefer the beach on the outer edges of winter.

  5. Cyndi says:

    I envy you able to go to the coastal Carolina. Since moving here, I have wanted to visit! Looks so beautiful, I will have to get there one of these days! Thanks for sharing some of the life to look for there. The surf is so calming and wiggling your toes in the sand!
    Smiles, Cyndi

  6. Gail says:

    Thank you dear, I needed those ions of peace and calm! Visiting the beach in fall is perfecto~all the students are back in school and the beach is quiet and serene. Btw, I just added the American Beautyberry to the garden and cannot wait to have those wonderful berries! xoxogail

  7. Layanee says:

    What a positive way to entertain the negative…ions that is. Love your pictures and especially your thoughtful pose.

  8. Your post topic is a wonderful example of the amazing balance found in nature…how something “negative” can be so positive! Sounds like you had a perfect and well earned get-away.

  9. Leslie says:

    What a wonderful trip. This post is like a poem.

  10. Carolyn says:

    My kind of trip… but I love anything ocean. Brings solace to my soul. Your post did the same for me. Yesterday we had snow. The blooms loved the photo op it provided.

  11. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    So glad you got to get together with friends in such a positive peaceful place. I love the fact that some places make butterfly houses with our native butterflies. It teaches people about caterpillars, environment and show the delicate bits of nature we must protect, especially in our own backyards. Have a great weekend even if your aren’t in the optimum ion collecting place.

  12. Lola says:

    A wonderful peaceful rest for you. I am so glad. I would like to put an American beautyberry in my garden but don’t know if I would have the room. I love to see the berries in the fall. Your contemplating pic is gorgeous.

  13. Cindy, MCOK says:

    And I would go with you!

  14. People-friendly butterflies! Pretty cool!

  15. We might be in Charleston over Christmas – hoping to do some side trips to see a bit of the country.

  16. Jeannine says:

    Aha! I have photos of that gorgeous berry from a recent trip to Charleston and had no idea what it was; now I know! Callicarpa Americana! And I never get tired of seeing those oak trees dripping with moss.

  17. commonweeder says:

    What a wonderful trip. It is nice to be able to arrange congenial companionship for different interests. Not so many negative ions down at our frog pond.

  18. The light is so soft and reflective. Thanks for the dreamy photos!

  19. Beautiful images and places of peace and relaxation.

  20. Lovely images, a nice peaceful break. Best Wishes Karen.

  21. Sandy & Richard says:

    Your pictures are wonderful Frances, I know the feelings that you describe, I lived by the sea on a small island off the Tasmanian coast for almost 20 years, and sorely miss those ions, especially after a storm.
    Thank you for sharing your trip. It is so nice to see the person who writes all these wonderful letters….very pensive, with a nice glass of red. Warm smiles Sandy.

  22. Les says:

    Hilton Head is definitely a special place, a great one to relax in. The Spanish moss frames everything there.

Comments are closed.