Do It Now-Fall Planting For Spring Blooming


Time is running out! Time that is, to get some fall planted spring blooming bulbs into your gardens. Above: Crocus tommasinianus ‘Rosea’ blooming here on January 22, 2012 and friend.


These flowers are normally shown on blog posts at the time of bloom, much too late, or early depending on your perspective to be able to purchase and plant them. Above: Crocus chrysanthus ‘Gypsy Queen’ and C. ‘Violet Queen’ blooming here on January 23, 2012.


It seemed therefore a good idea to show some of the fall planted spring blooming bulbs from times gone past, as a gentle reminder to get some bulbs and plant them. Now. Above:Galanthus elwesii from Old House Gardens in bloom here January 23, 2012.


It is not too late, and many bulb companies have discounted their wares for those procrastinators who like a bargain. Above: Iris histrioides ‘Katharine Hodgkins’ in bloom here February 25, 2011.


There were some bulbs that came with this property, steadfast spreaders like the vivid blue Muscari armeniacum or neglectum. These are highly recommended. Above shot was taken March 20, 2011.


We like to try new to us bulbs each year. Muscari macrocarpum ‘Golden Fragrance’ was something of a letdown, blooming March 11, 2011. It was not that fragrant and did not show up well in the garden, despite how this macro shot might appear.


There cannot be too many bulbs, especially daffodils since they are not eaten by critters and are faithful returners. If there was a beauty contest for the daffodils, Narcissus ‘Audubon’ might be the winner, blooming here March 11, 2011.


Hyacinths are added every year without fail. Sometimes, or make that often, they do not return reliably, but the scent is heaven sent. Above unknown varieties from March 20, 2011.


Tulips, even the species, are not reliable either, except for this group of white Tulipa viridflora ‘Spring Green’ in the knot garden. Planted in 2000, this shot is from April 10, 2011. These are perennial here, so far.


The tiny species Tulipa ‘Little Princess’ (orange) and T. ‘Little Beauty’ (cherry red) have a fairly good track record, some years are better than others, however. April 7, 2011 was a good day, month and year.


Notes are written to remind me of certain bulbs that need to be ordered when that time rolls around. I like to order from several companies, spread the wealth. These sweet Crocus chrysanthus ‘Prins Claus’ were on the list. Why didn’t we order any? It’s not too late!

Frances

This entry was posted in Seasonal Chores. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Do It Now-Fall Planting For Spring Blooming

  1. gail says:

    Thank you for the reminder to order those sale bulbs! I love the many color options for tulips, but they have been food for rodents and now deer! So a lot more daffs are going in! Beautiful photos…xoxoxogail

    Thanks Gail. Daffodils are the way to go when critters are naughty since all parts are poisonous. I had some dug up that were planted recently, but they were not eaten. I replanted them and put some rocks on top. They haven’t been touched since. I think whoever was digging knew these were not for eating.
    xoxoxo
    Frances

  2. I got a few bulbs into the ground. I needed to order some others. It may be too late here. I love the way your grape hyacinths look around the stepping stones. Brilliant.

    Thanks Lisa. They say it is not too late as long as the ground is not frozen. We have several more weeks, or even months here to safely plant. Getting bulbs on sale makes a tightwad gardener happy. I love the Muscari paths, too. They are good spreaders.
    Frances

  3. Julie Adolf says:

    After ordering more than 1500 bulbs on sale last year–and then planting them all, I swore to myself that I would not succumb to fall bulbs sales this year. Who am I kidding? I placed an order with Van Engelen yesterday. I just can’t resist spring blooms. But now, seeing some of your beauties…I might need to do a tiny bit more shopping. I love your ‘Spring Green’ tulips. Hmmm… Lovely photos, as always! Now, I’m dreaming of spring…

    Hi Julie, thanks for contributing to the beauty of the world with that bulb planting! Of course you need more, don’t we all? I highly recommend Spring Green. It has done very well here.
    Frances

  4. Thank you for this timely nudge and in the most convincing way possible…showing pictures of what I’ll be missing if I don’t get moving and get planting. I did do some daffodil dividing last spring thanks to one of your posts so maybe I will follow through today’s suggestion.

    Hi Micheale, thanks for reading. I am so glad you divided your daffodils, you will be pleased when spring comes around, and perhaps inspired to divide even more. That is what happens to me. There will be more bulbs purchased here, as always.
    Frances

  5. Kate Maryon says:

    Your so right about looking at our gardens And thinking of where we could add something for spring. There certainly are amazing deals out there.
    Thanks for sharing

    Thanks Kate. (Sorry I got the wrong name in the comment on the last post, fixed it!) I like it when the bulbs go on sale and have had very good luck with the late planted ones, even into December.
    Frances

  6. Your photos have me anticipating the blooms of next spring. I had a lot of fun planting a number of bulbs this fall, and picturing the coming flowers. It’s one of my favourite gardening tasks. Your grape hyacinths make a great edging for the steps, so pretty with all of that lovely blue. I planted ‘Prins Claus’ for the first time this fall, in combinations with some other crocus that will be new to my garden. I’m looking forward to how they look, along with my old favourites.

    Hi Shade, thanks for adding in here. Hooray for Prins Claus, it is amazingly beautiful. But I don’t believe there is a bulb that is not beautiful. Anticipation is wonderful. So are photos from past garden bloomings.
    Frances

  7. Lola says:

    Enjoyed your bulb tour. I have a very few of the muscari that was a gift from niece. It’s in a pot so I don’t loose them. lol I still have bulbs that need to be put in the ground. Slowly I hope to have things that come back every yr. Less work for me. lol

    Hi Lola, thanks. We have found the Muscari to be very good at spreading by making little bulbs around the mother and also self seeding all over the place. Perennials are certainly the best way to go.
    Frances

  8. Anne Boykin says:

    Hi Frances, I love your muscari! Everything looks so beautiful. I’m inspired to plant more!!

    Hi Anne, thanks. Seeing the photos from past springs and late winters makes me want to plant more, too!
    Frances

  9. After this first spring in the new home was nearly bulbless, I have been planting bulbs at every opportunity. Dug up snowdrops from the old garden as they were going dormant, ditto daffodils and colchicums. All replanted at the new garden. Also planted 400 crocus corms as a start on a new crocus bank. All this to say: I agree with you 100% and have been practicing what I preach!

    Hi Kathy, thanks for joining in with your experience at being bulbless. That sounds like a very sad way to be, but you will have bulbs aplenty this spring and all the springs to come. Keep on planting!
    Frances

  10. Scott says:

    I have my bulbs waiting patiently in my office…just waiting for a weekend that I have time to plant…which usually ends up being right around Christmas…hahahaha!

    Hi Scott, thanks for sharing your method. I have also planted bulbs around Christmas, not because I had them sitting around but because I can’t stop buying them until they are no longer offered for sale anywhere.
    Frances

  11. Randy says:

    Your muscari looks so much larger than mine does. I almost considered getting rid of it because it’s only a couple of inches high. Hmmmm…

    Hmm, Randy, I am not sure what to tell you, other than don’t get rid of your Muscari, get more! I honestly do not know what type this is, but they will grow anywhere, sun or shade, wet or dry, even in the lawn. Maybe yours are a dwarf type?
    Frances

  12. I’ve done my bulb planting – tulips and crocuses. You have many of my favorites, though that Iris is awfully pretty and new to me.

    Hi Garden IAC. Tulips and crocuses are perfect, you can’t go wrong with them. The little rock garden iris, as these are known along with a few other species are tiny but so cute. Van Engelen is a good place to find new to you bulbs and they are having their end of season sale right now. Not to enable you or anything…
    Frances

  13. I’ve been in hospital for a month and being stressed how I’d get my 400+ bulbs in. But I’m getting out tomorrow so will need to make quick plans.

    I think I need to bookmark your muscari walkway in my mind. Don’t think it will be going out of me for a while. I think the varieties with adulating levels of blue on the same bloom would make for an even more textured effect. Thoughts?

    I am sorry you have been in the hospital, Patrick, and hope that you can get back to gardening as soon as possible. Any flower that blooms blue is heavenly in my book. The Muscari latifolium has not proven to be as vigorous a grower in my garden, that is the only one I know with the various tones of blue, but you never know until you try it yourself!
    Frances

  14. I did get mine in, right before our first snow!

    Way to go, Stacey!

  15. My bulb order is due in the first part of December from Brent and Becky’s. This year Crocus will be planted.

    Yea! Janet, of course you need crocus. I did order the Prins Claus, too. Those earliest bloomers give so much and ask so little. Easy planting, too.
    Frances

Comments are closed.