Mother


Thinking more than doing happens as the gardening winds down and holidays happen near the end of another calendar year.


A thought bubbled up through the miasma of a lifetime of family events, song lyrics and plant names.


That thought brought a smile.


Chickenpoet, my oldest offspring once told me of a saying she had heard that once her children are grown up and are no longer quite so needy, a mother will grow roses.


It makes perfect sense.


After tending little ones from diapers to driver’s licenses, a woman, or man get used to and become competent at giving care. When their services are not as time consuming as the children grow older, the parent will turn to that which also needs care, roses, or a garden. There is weeding, watering, making sure the requirements are met for a healthy and happy plant. There is the payoff of flowers or fruit or simply knowing that something is thriving under your watchful eye. Just like children. I am the Mother of this garden in a way, or any patch of dirt that I tend. It is good.

*****

May you all enjoy time with family and friends during this Thanksgiving Week!

*****
The Photos, highlighted words are links to previous posts about the subject:

1. The back of the shed with old gardening implements hanging to greet the new day.
2. The fruit, first one ever on a dwarf pomegranate tree, also greeting the new day.
3. Glass mushroom and leaves, frosted.
4. Mrs. Bongo Congo, left and her offspring Whimsy with moss makeup being shared.
5. Viburnum ‘Cardinal Candy’
6. Daylily babies created by my own hands, growing well.

Frances

This entry was posted in holidays, Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Mother

  1. Valerie says:

    I like to think that I too am mother to my plants in the garden. Happy Thanksgiving to you Frances. Valerie

    Hi Valerie, thanks for stopping by and Happy Thanksgiving to you. We mother our plants, among other things, and the rewards are great.
    Frances

  2. indygardener says:

    Yes, it is all good, and all in its own time. Great pics of your fall garden, Mother of Faire Garden.

    Hi Carol, thanks. May you have a lovely Thanksgiving with your own family.
    Frances

  3. So, there I was feeling all mellow and gentled by your post of today and then I decide to hit the link for the Bongo family since it seemed unfamiliar to me. Suddenly, I’m smiling and chuckling and marveling at the different places your writing takes us emotionally. What fun you must have had putting together that thoroughly entertaining and playful soap opera saga!
    Happy Thanksgiving to you and all those in your life.

    Thanks Michaele. Whimsy is one of my all time favorite posts, and yes, it was quite fun to write. The Bongo Congo family is becoming mossy, except for Mister because he was painted and poly-ed. I guess I should say the ladies of the BC family are starting to wear moss makeup. May you have a lovely Thanksgiving!
    Frances

  4. I started gardening smack dab in the middle of raising a family, taking a baby intercom out with me to weed, or dragging a playpen into the shade. But I always felt bad that I could never seem to keep everything weeded. Now that the youngest is ten years old, I find maintaining a garden a bit easier, and now I know why: I was supposed to wait until they could take care of themselves before I started caring for plant babies! This was a lovely post.

    Hi Kathy, thanks for sharing your experiences here. They didn’t have baby intercoms when my kids were little, I used an open window in the baby room and kept my ears open. For those who are care givers, gardening seems the natural progression.
    Frances

  5. Beth Cawein says:

    Absolutely true for me. I dabbled in gardening and loved it, but I became serious when my youngest of 3 left for college and I took the Master Gardener class that winter. Ten years later, I spend more and more time outside, and since I retired last May I have the glorious freedom to tend, to grow, to watch to my hearts content. And just like the love one receives from a child, the garden gives back to me.

    Hi Beth, thanks for adding to the conversation. Serious gardening is very rewarding. Congratulations on the MG and retirement!
    Frances

  6. Rose says:

    I not only went from mothering to gardening, but also from teaching to gardening. Instead of seeing young teens blossom into adults, I now enjoy seeing young seedlings maturing into their full beauty. But although I may be the mother/caretaker of the garden, I’ve turned into the student now as the garden teaches me so many things.

    Your “children” have turned out beautifully, Frances. Hope you and your family have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

    Hi Rose, thanks for joining in here. Watching baby plants, especially those seed grown ones is especially rewarding. You are so right about being a student, too. There is so much to learn. May you have a delightful Thanksgiving!
    Frances

  7. Anne Boykin says:

    Hi Frances, My own mother, now gone, grew 5 children and then when we grew up she had roses and beautiful flowers that she tended. Happy Thanksgiving to you & yours!

    What a happy story, Anne, thanks for sharing it. May you have a wonderful Thanksgiving.
    Frances

  8. Dee A. Nash says:

    I’ve been considering similar things as one daughter is in college, and my son is a senior in high school. Life moves on, and I garden on. Thanks and Happy Thanksgiving.~~Dee

    Hi Dee, thanks for stopping by. Life does keep on moving, whether we are ready or even like it or not, as does the garden. May you have a lovely Thanksgiving.
    Frances

  9. Lola says:

    I’ve dabbled with gardening all my life but now that I have plenty of time I don’t have the health to do it in er nest. But I do manage to get some of it done. Trying now to get things growing that don’t require a lot of tending. I didn’t know pomegranates would grow there.
    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving. xo

    Hi Lola, I am sorry for your health issues, but proud of you for working around them as best you can to be able to do some gardening. The pomegranate is not supposed to be hardy here, sold in the grocery as a houseplant. It has been in the ground many years, but this is the first fruit, just the one. May you have a lovely Thanksgiving.
    Frances

  10. gail says:

    I moved my office to my home and that gave me the opportunity to garden during the day once Matt was in school. It worked out beautifully for both of us. Love, love, love seeing your daylily babies and knowing the joy that propagating them has brought to you! Happy Thanksgiving. xoxogail

    Hi Gail, what a wonderful solution for you, your son and your garden to move your practice to your home. The daylily babies are thriving and it does make be so glad. May you have a wonderful Thanksgiving.
    xoxoxo
    Frances

  11. sharon says:

    so true! …no one is blogging or commenting….activites heat up…who names a kid chickenpoet!…hahaha

    Hi Sharon, this is a busy week for so many, including me. Chickenpoet chose this name for herself, not her real name, but the name I use for her on the blog. All my offspring have them, Chickenpoet, Semi, Gardoctor and Brokenbeat. CP raises chickens and writes poetry, she doesn’t let anyone read her poems, though. A good name choice for her.
    Frances

  12. Enjoy the holiday with your tribe Frances. Your garden is lucky to have such a mothering hand to tend it.

    Thanks Lisa, and may you have a lovely Thanksgiving, too.
    Frances

  13. I’ve been thinking about a Rose bush or 2 next year, only 2 kiddos still home!

    Good idea, Stacey! Or add the plants of your dreams, even ones that might need a little extra TLC.
    Frances

  14. Leslie says:

    I don’t have kids, but I do have lots of cats and a huge garden. Everybody has the need to nurture and protect and care for something living. Everybody mothers something. Happy Thanksgiving!

    What a wonderful quote, Leslie, “Everybody mothers something.” So true and beautiful. Happy Thanksgiving to you.
    Frances

  15. Cindy says:

    Happy Thaksgiving, dear Frances!

    Thank you Cindy, and the same back to you!

  16. Thanks for that heartwarming message, Frances. So many of us gardened during the years we tended our babies, and as they grew into adults. But it’s such a joy and a privilege, when they’re grown, to turn that nurturing instinct into increased care and improvement of a garden. Beautiful post. Happy Thanksgiving.

    Hi PP, thanks for visiting. Tending and nurturing, whether humans or plants, growing things, gives us peace and satisfaction. I hope your Thanksgiving was a good one.
    Frances

  17. Diana says:

    What a lovely sentiment — happy holidays to you and yours.

    Thanks Diana. I hope your holidays were wonderful.
    Frances

  18. Now my boys are 16 1/2 (don’t forget the half!!) and 19, and recently my two dogs sadly died within 4 months of each other – I have started growing roses again. Roses are needy, but when in bloom are a salve to the spirit, and a boon to the senses.

    Hi Dawn, thanks for stopping by. Please accept my condolences on the loss of your beloved pets. I am glad that growing roses has given you some comfort.
    Frances

Comments are closed.