I Need A Place


A requirement in the pursuit of happiness, for me, is a spot indoors with a good view of the garden.


There should be a comfy upholstered piece of furniture upon which to sit while gazing out.


The best situation would be with the sunshine streaming in the cold months and cool shade in the warmer times, as would be provided with a large deciduous tree on the south side of the house.


The garden would be planted out and tweaked over the years to offer structure, texture, movement and color in every season, with relatively little upkeep after getting it right.


There have been previous homes that lacked that afore described place, like the Texas house that had a fireplace and mantel in the middle of the main living area and tall but narrow windows on each side that offered only slivers of garden views. That was unacceptable.


There was another previous home that had a curved glass roof greenhouse wall addition only five feet wide but running the entire expanse of the room that offered garden views from any seating position. There were the aforementioned deciduous shade trees for coolth in summer that allowed for the sun to stream in when the temperatures dropped. It was ideal.


If and when we move again, from this home that has two very good garden viewing rooms with walls of glass sliders, the master bedroom and the addition, there needs to be a large expanse of glass in the new house. And a garden. I can take care of the last item myself.

Frances

This entry was posted in Design, Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to I Need A Place

  1. Jane Carroll says:

    Love this piece and wish I had such a place in this house. My previous house had a small converted porch where I placed my comfy chair and spent my time journaling and dreaming. Such a nice spot. Thanks for the memories.

    Hi Jane, thanks for stopping by. Your converted porch sounds perfect as the place to sit and gaze at the garden. I hope you can finagle someplace, however small, to sit and stare out, as well.
    Frances

  2. pbmgarden says:

    Your garden is lovely. A good viewing place to enjoy the garden brings me peace of mind and pleasure.

    Thanks PBM. When the weather is cold and/or wet, we still need that garden view fix to make things right. There is nothing quite like it.
    Frances

  3. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    I giggled when I read the part about “little upkeep after getting it right”. Tee hee… Is it ever right?? I must be missing something because I am still working at getting there. Hitting that right spot. I agree though that your garden is right on. Love your viewing areas. It is perfect for now.

    Hi Lisa, thanks. Funny thing about getting it right, the one section that is viewed from the addition, the left part of the steep slope it finally right. I was looking at it and decided it needed nothing! That was the inspiration for this post. The other parts of the garden are not yet right, but getting there.
    Frances

  4. Layanee says:

    Oh, yes, a view from each room is my goal. I have my office in that curved glass greenhouse addition and it does help with the view each and every day. My move from this place will be to my final resting place. Oh, I should add that I hope that move is at least thirty years away. LOL

    Hi Layanee, a noble goal it is, the view from each room. As gardeners, we are connected with the out of doors and need to be able to see our creations. Thirty years, or more!
    Frances

  5. gail says:

    My dear, I know just how you feel. When we are stuck inside it’s wonderful to see the garden from a comfy chair. I’m so glad you wrote this. It helps me formulate a list of must haves for a next place~ views from a comfy chair are near the top after decent soil, no hills and more sun! Have a sweet day my friend. xoxogail

    Thank you, sweet Gail. Even this early in the cold season, the views to the outside garden have been appreciated nearly every day. It never fails to make me happy. You list is a good one, no hills being right up there for me, too.
    xoxoxo
    Frances

  6. Kate Maryon says:

    I think every gardener has this “gene” inside them….those of us that are or have gardened in a zone with long winter periods certainly know what its like… I have a post Im working on about this exact topic! Blogger is keeping me from uploading more photos at this point though so waiting for help.
    Thanks for sharing…

    Hi Kate, thanks for joining in the conversation. Yes, the *need to look at the garden gene* is strong in us! I hope your blog problems get resolved. That is so frustrating, I know.
    Frances

  7. Leslie says:

    Wow, your garden is looking so magical now–so many colors and such beautiful light! And you’re right–a good garden-viewing spot is so important. When we lived in Atlanta we put in a special bird window and we would sit and watch the backyard birds and chipmunks for hours. We’d watch the window the way you might watch TV.

    Hi Leslie, thanks for stopping by. After 12 years of planting and tweaking, the steep sloping part of the garden is right and pleasing. The rest of the garden is not there yet, but there is hope. Watching the birds and wildlife is a favorite winter pursuit here, too. My comfy chair is situated so I can see both the garden and the newcasts on tv.
    Frances

  8. I. too, felt a gentle smile tugging at my mouth at your comment “little upkeep after getting it right”…oh wait, the key word that I didn’t include was “relatively”…ha, yes, that changes everything! It acknowledges that there will always be tweaking as long as the body is able!
    I have a soul satisfying view from my kitchen table which is where I sit throughout the day (when I am indoors and doing the sitting thing) until it’s time for evening news. It means the world to me and I would feel punished without it.

    Hi Michaele, well said! Feeling punished without being able to gaze out upon the gardens, that is the way our Texas house was situated. Good thing we only lived there three years. Relatively is crucial, yes.
    Frances

  9. Cindy says:

    I can confirm that the view from Frances’ comfy chairs is indeed stunning! But define “relatively little upkeep” … HA!

    Hi Cindy, thanks for the support. It is a view that keeps me sane, in the heat of summer or the cold of winter. Relatively speaking, the upkeep on the view from the glass sliders in both rooms is minimal, finally. If you count the number of hours spent getting it that way, it might scare one right out of their garden boots.
    Frances

  10. I guess by your measure I’m pretty well off, windowwise. Although my comfy chair in one direction is my office chair, making for occasional distraction from work. Now if I could only figure out that “little upkeep” trick!

    Hi Helen, thanks for adding in here. I like to look up at the garden while doing office type work, for *inspiration* and mind clearing. The little upkeep was arrived at after a dozen years of slaving on the slope, planting, dividing, moving, removing until right now, for this one moment, it does seem right and needs no upkeep. No upkeep being relative. I will rue those words when it is time to cut down all the hellebores in a couple of months.
    Frances

  11. jodi DeLong says:

    Ah, Frances. As I read this post, I thought of one you wrote several years ago, wondering what would happen to your garden when you leave it. I’m in that position now, having moved due to the evilness of my late partner’s family. I’m in a new spot, a blank slate on which to create, and there are great places to sit from indoors and enjoy those gardens–once they appear, that is. In the meantime, I will draw joy and inspiration from posts like this. Thank you from the heart of the Annapolis Valley. <3 to you…

    Dear Jodi, I am both sorry and glad about your new situation and know you will create someplace wonderful and full of joy. Blank slates are what we make of them, and with experience each one we find ourselves in becomes even better than the last. Thank you for visiting.
    Frances

  12. Dear Frances,

    It says on your blog you live in SE Tennessee….I live in Chattanooga…Are you near here? In response to your looking for an ideal place…My parents are selling our horse farm on Graysville Rd. It could work as an azamzing garden for the right person. I am a landscape designer locally. I really like your approach!

    Thanks,

    Scott

    Hi Scott, thanks for dropping by here. I do not specifically name my town or exact location, being quite leery of the internet and its reach. Your parent’s farm does indeed sound like a grand place. I hope the right buyer comes along soon and takes advantage of it. Good luck with your business, I wish you the best!
    Frances

  13. Alison says:

    Oh yes! What you say is so true! An outlook onto the garden is essential. One of the first things I do most mornings is look out a little window in our bedroom that gives us a view of the back garden. I need that view to wake up in the morning, almost as necessary as a cup of coffee. I have a view of the garden from the kitchen (over the sink) and from a comfy chair in the den as well. The kitchen window actually entices me to dish-washing.

    Hi Alison, thanks for sharing your viewing spots with us. The window over the kitchen sink is crucial here, as well. I am not fond of doing dishes, but being able to look out at the garden really helps the time go by.
    Frances

  14. Dee says:

    Lovely musings on a room with a view.~~Dee

    Thanks Dee. I momentarily entertained the idea of that phrase as the title of the post. One of my favorite movies!
    Frances

  15. commonweeder says:

    You are right that every house should have a viewing spot where the garden can be enjoyed in every season. And you have certainly achieved the goal of enjoyment in every season. We also are fortunate in our current house with expansive views to the south. I have also a nice view to the north when I sit in my reading chair.

    Hi Pat, thanks for joining in the garden viewing positions. I am so glad to hear of your good situations!
    Frances

  16. Our back porch was falling down and when we rebuit it we put a lot of effort into making it more comfortable and ensuring it provided a good view of the garden – and the bird feeders. We have always felt that this was one of the best investments we have ever made in terms of home improvement.

    That is great, Garden IAC! When an opportunity like that arises, rebuilding part of the house, thinking about what makes you happy is so important. The garden and the birdfeeders is what I want to see, as well. It is a good selling feature, too.
    Frances

  17. Lola says:

    I too could enjoy this position. What a wonderful view.

    Hi Lola, thanks. It is wonderful, yes.
    Frances

  18. Thanks for reminding me how fortunate I am to have a sunroom with full-length windows with garden views on three sides. I do take it for granted, and it’s probably the main reason we selected this home. You certainly have some incredible views from inside your home. Always a good idea to step back and take stock of what we have to be thankful for. I appreciate your nudge to do so. By the way, I gave you a nod in my most recent post. Thanks for the inspiration!

    Hi Beth, thanks so much for the linkage! A garden view on three sides, that sounds delightful and sunny. I would spend every waking moment in there, soaking up both. Stepping back is a good thing!
    Frances

  19. Carol says:

    I agree, one must have views of the garden from inside of the house. It reminds me that I heard Barbra Streisand say on a talk show that she matched the roses growing outside her dining room window with the decor in the dining room. Don’t know how that relates, but…

    Hi Carol, thanks for stopping by. Having roses inside and out, I can relate to that!
    Frances

  20. The inside/outside connection is important in design. You really captured the ‘why’ of it.

    Hi Donna, thanks for visiting. I did not know that about the inside/outside connectin and design, but do know that it is necessary for my own happiness.
    Frances

  21. Patrick says:

    In my old house I had an extraordinarily large deck off the kitchen that I could see from my bedroom as well. I enjoyed the view of the container but couldn’t afford enough planters to make a larger statement but I adored what I could see. I’m sure others have had a similar experience.

    Hi Patrick, thanks for sharing here. I think being able to see a focal point such as your container, from two different perspectives would be wonderful.
    Frances

  22. Your garden view has been crafted to perfection. Colour and interest from foliage and your intriguing garden art. As we go househunting – I too will learn from our first 2 houses. Third time lucky I will deliberately plant the garden for the views from the windows.

    Hi Diana, thanks so much. Twelve years is a long time to work on a view from inside the house, but worth the effort right now. Next time I will give it more of a priority. Good hunting for your new home! It sounds so exciting and previous experience will help you create the garden of your dreams.
    Frances

  23. Rose says:

    This is one of the major complaints I have with the house we’re living in now–not enough big windows to enjoy the view. Some people may have thought it odd where I created the latest garden areas, but it was exactly for this reason–I can see them easily from my patio doors. Lovely views of your garden–it certainly deserves viewing through all the seasons.

    Hi Rose, thanks for adding in here. Patio doors are what give the good views here. The windows, not so much. I would like every room to have great garden views, but will settle for these.
    Frances

Comments are closed.