Home for Christmas

December 18, 2012 013 (2)
Home.

December 17, 2012 004 (2)
Home may mean their childhood home to some, this house is not that.

December 17, 2012 006 (2)
It is not where our children were born or where they grew up. One of them never even lived in this house at all.

December 17, 2012 009 (2)
Due to many moves over the years, the childhood home of our offspring was left behind long ago.

December 17, 2012 011 (2)
It exists only in memories, old, hard copy photos and some VHS videos that are treasured beyond measure.

December 17, 2012 016 (2)
But this year, for the first time in many, the family will be coming home, where the parental units live for Christmas. There will be adult children, featured in the photos above, grandchildren, a beloved aunt and a child-to-be included in the hugs and embraces of 2012. (Photo above taken Thanksgiving 2006)

December 19, 2012 002 (2)
The Financier and I are the oldest living family members now, the Patriarch and Matriarch of the Fairegarden clan. On the holiday tree this year the theme is Home, using only those ornaments that once belonged to our parents, the grandparents of our offspring, the great-grandparents of their offspring. Some might call these baubles vintage, we consider them reminders of Christmases from long ago, still alive in each of our memories of home. We will speak of stories from Christmases past, and perhaps view photos and the DVD that was made of all of our recorded present openings. There will be food and laughter and tears and wrestling and chaos. It will be wonderful.

***

I’ll Be Home For Christmas

I’ll be home for Christmas
You can plan on me
Please have snow and mistletoe
And presents on the tree

Christmas Eve will find me
Where the love light gleams
I’ll be home for Christmas
If only in my dreams

This song was originally sung from the viewpoint of soldiers during World War II stationed far from home. It was written by Kim Gannon, Walter Kent and based on a poem by Buck Ram. It was first recorded by Bing Crosby on Decca records in 1943 with the John Scott Trotter orchestra.

Merry Christmas to all, and may there be peace on Earth, someday.
Frances

This entry was posted in holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Home for Christmas

  1. Anne Boykin says:

    Enjoy! Merry Christmas!

    Thanks Anne, and a very Merry Christmas to you!

  2. Mark and Gaz says:

    Have a lovely time! Merry Christmas!

    Thanks Mark and Gaz and a happy Christmas back to you!

  3. Desiree says:

    What a beautiful post! May your Christmas be filled with every joy and happiness as yet another wonderful memory is added to your family archive.

    Thank you, Desiree, you have put it beautifully yourself. Adding memories to the archives, in our hearts and minds as well as in pixels.
    Frances

  4. Valerie says:

    Merry Christmas to you and your family. Valerie

  5. cheryl says:

    This sounds like my kind of Christmas, loving caos. Beautiful memories Frances and that’s what Christmas is all about. Merry Merry from my Eden to yours.

  6. Family get togethers is the best part of Christmas.

  7. linda says:

    Frances, your post brought tears to my eyes. I know you willhave a wonderful, memorable Christmas.

  8. Sounds like you will have a memorable and enjoyable Christmas with your family. I know as I get older, reflecting on family memories are so precious and important. Merry Christmas from Arkansas!
    Brenda

  9. Sincerest wishes to you and all of yours for the very Merriest of Christmases. Sounds like it will be very special with all the gathering of family.

  10. Layanee says:

    Your Christmas will be wonderful with all under one roof. Don’t work too hard although I know it will be a labor of love with many hands helping. I love that Christmas song.

  11. Les says:

    Merry Christmas to you and your clan. I hope it is a wonderful time for all of you.

  12. indygardener says:

    Merry Christmas, Frances. And many good wishes to all.

  13. Jane Gladden says:

    Merry Christmas, Frances. Your blog inspires and comforts me.

  14. Lovely thoughts Frances….wishing you and your family a very Merry Christmas at home with your wonderful family and memories!

  15. Alison says:

    Merry Christmas, Frances! I’m sure it will be wonderful to have so many family members around you this year!

  16. Barbara H. says:

    Dear Frances,
    You have evoked the essence of past, present and future. Best wishes for this solid brick in the wall of memory and memory-making. Barbara

  17. My favourite ornaments on my Christmas tree are the ones from my parents’ tree and my childhood. They always bring back warm Christmas memories.

    Merry Christmas

  18. Ogee says:

    Enjoy! Enjoy! Enjoy! All the best to you and your clan!

  19. lesley McClave says:

    A lovely Christmas post…Wishing you and your beautiful family Joy for the holiday and a healthy 2013.

  20. Cindy says:

    I know it will be a truly memorable Christmas for you and yours … the tree is beautiful!

  21. Exactly what the holidays should be about. A lovely post, Frances. Merry Christmas to you, and your family!

  22. Semi says:

    I can’t wait to see the family and tree!!! These old photos bring back such wonderful memories!!!! We are so lucky to be able to celebrate together!!! Much love semi

  23. My Kids Mom says:

    Merry Christmas to you and all of your family

  24. patientgardener says:

    I hope you have a wonderful family Christmas with all your offspring and their offspring. May there be many happy memories made.

  25. Marcia says:

    Merry Christmas!

  26. Sandy & Richard says:

    We wish you joy and love with your close and beautiful family this Christmas.
    We raise a glass to your good health, and will see you in the garden next year.
    warmest wishes to one and all. Sandy

  27. fairegarden says:

    Merry Christmas, dear friends, the big day is finally here, with half of the family gathered together, the rest to come later in the day. Thank you for the wonderful thoughts and wishes, you all are loved and very much appreciated. xoxoxo
    Frances

  28. gittan says:

    Merry Christmas my friend! What a beauty that tree is with all those treasures in it, I love that! And I wish that my father have saved them, all those ornaments from grandma and grandpa. The few I have I treat with a lot of love and they are hangning in our tree every christmas (even if my kids think that they are old and ugly?) We had the best Christmas ever yesterday and hope the very same for you / Trippel Kram gittan

  29. Rose says:

    As the old saying goes, “Home is where the heart is.” All these treasured memories are what makes Christmas special. I hope you had a wonderful Christmas, Frances!

  30. Family is what it is all about to me. I am so happy for you. Merry Christmas to you and yours.

  31. dirtynailz says:

    I hope you are having a wonderful Christmas, Frances. My family is back in Canada, and work won’t allow me to take much time off, but home is here in Rhode Island now. If only we would have some snow….

  32. Pingback: Seasons Greetings from Christmases Past | Fairegarden

Comments are closed.