2013 Fairegarden Calendar


January features Crocus chrysantha ‘Prins Claus’.

February 18, 2012 002 (2)
February showcases sweet violas.


March reveals Tulipa ‘Prinses Irene’ amid Persicaria microcephala ‘Red Dragon’.

April 29, 2012 027 (4)
April stars Rosa ‘Veilchenblau’.


May presents Paphiopedilum Honey ‘Newberry’ x Paph. primulinus ‘Lemon Glow’.


June juxtaposes an Eastern tiger swallowtail butterfly nectaring on Lilium ‘Black Beauty’.


July jumps with the bee on a thistle, Cirsium vulgare.


August lets the lettuce seedlings leap off the page.


September dazzles us with Dahlia ‘Gallery Cobra’.


October waves its magic wand after the rain over a lowly fungi.


November notices the winter interest of winterberries, Ilex verticillata ‘Winter Gold’, and I. ‘Sparkleberry’.


December celebrates with a wreath of holly and ivy from the garden.

***

Each year a calendar is assembled from photos carefully selected from the files. Most are from posts of months gone by, the links shown in green. A couple were leftover shots deemed not worthy of being included in a story at the time, but that seemed the right choice to represent February and April for 2013. The hard copy calendars are given to family members and special friends. The online version is shared with you, dear readers, who I also consider to be very special friends. May 2013 be your best year ever!

Previous Fairegarden calendars

2012

2011

2010

Frances

This entry was posted in Seasonal Chores. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to 2013 Fairegarden Calendar

  1. What a wonderful review of the year, Frances. There are so many gorgeous images here. I hope 2013 turns out to be as good for you. Love, Victoria xoxo

    Dear Victoria, what a pleasure to see you! May your own exciting new adventure make for the best year ever in 2013. I look forward to reading about your exploits at the new homestead.
    xoxoxo
    Frances

  2. Thank you Frances. I think this is a great tradition. I look forward to seeing it every year. Seeing this makes me want to do the same…with my photos of course. I wish you a fabulous 2013.

    Hi Lisa, and thank you for your loyal readership. The yearly stats roundup from WordPress inform me that you have commented on very nearly every post published this year, and I know it has been the same ever since this blog was begun in 2007. I treasure you and your friendship! May your 2013 be the best year ever.
    Frances

  3. That’s a lovely fungus, Frances! Happy New Year. Lucy

    Thanks Lucy. Happy New 2013 back to you and yours!
    Frances

  4. indygardener says:

    Happy New Year. May your garden always be so pretty!

    Hi Carol, thanks. Happy New Year to Thirteen!
    Frances

  5. What a lovely reminder of the year. You have some great plants.

    Hi Green Bench, thanks so much. We are indeed fortunate in the diversity of what will grow here in our zone 7a clay based acidic soil on a steep slope.
    Frances

  6. Layanee says:

    A great calendar..reminds me that Ilex v. ‘Winter Gold’ has been on my list for several years. This year I will make it so!

    Hi Layanee, thanks. Winter Gold is worth searching out. I do love it mixed with the reds, too.
    Frances

  7. How did you ever have the self discipline to actually complete and commit to your selections? You have taken so many amazing pictures throughout the year. I would probably be afflicted with a serious case of “paralysis by analysis” if I were you in this task.
    The bumble on the thistle is so adorable…actually makes me want to gather them up for a nurturing cuddle…I know, not a good idea in reality.
    Happy New Year and Happy Gardening!

    Hi Michaele, thanks and a happy New Year and gardening to you! One of my personality quirks, of many, is impulsiveness. I am rarely bothered by indecision. Another quirk is having to look at every single photo in the files to make the right choice. It is a process of elimination that I enjoy and can do fairely quickly.
    Frances

  8. Perhaps next year I will reach my goal of making a gift of my garden for friends and family through a calendar…Frances your images are breathtaking…love looking at them over and over again!

    Thank you, Donna, how sweet of you to say so. I am glad you enjoyed the selections for 2013. Do make a calendar for your friends and family, it is quite fun. A work of advice: Do it each month, beginning with December photos from the year before, selecting those that you feel are standouts. It will make going through the files much less cumbersome.
    Frances

  9. gail says:

    They are all fabulous! I couldn’t pick a favorite. Happy New year my dear. xoxoxogail PS Although, that fungi is an incredible capture.

    Hi Gail, thanks so much. No need to pick a favorite, each month will get its turn in the spotlight. It is so fun to choose the shots, you really need to do this, with all of your wonderful images!
    xoxoxo
    Frances

  10. gittan says:

    A beautiful calendar Frances! I love the colors of March and wish you A HAppy New Year / KRAM!

    Double Kram to you, dear Gittan! May 2013 be your best year ever! It is fun to choose the photos each year for the calendar, thinking back of the way the garden looked through the seasons.
    Frances

  11. Cindy says:

    Frances, that gift is a labor of love that starts in the garden and ends with smiles! I’m so glad I got to see Fairegarden for my own self this year … it was a highlight of 2012 :-)

    Hi Cindy, thanks so much. I am so glad you got to come visit me and the garden this spring, you were a lovely guest!
    Frances

  12. commonweeder says:

    I don’t know how you manage to choose just 12 photos out of all your glorious photographs. I really like that my birth month shows wonderful lettuce! I know 2013 will be another beautiful year for you and I wish you many joys in the garden.

    Hi Pat, thanks for those kind words. May 2013 be the best year ever for you and yours!
    Frances

  13. Barbara H. says:

    Best wishes for 2013, Frances. I know you will inspire many as you work your garden magic this coming year.

    Hi Barbara, thanks so much. May your 2013 be the best ever for you and yours.
    Frances

  14. Oh Frances, what a wonderful way to share your talent for photography with your family and friends. I’ll bet they look forward to your calendar every year. Just lovely!

    Hi Georgia, thanks for those kind words. The calendars have always been well received.
    Frances

  15. Ricki Grady says:

    Beautiful photos…Happy New Year, Frances!

    Thanks Ricki. May you have the best year ever in 2013!
    Frances

  16. It’s a lovely look back at the gardening year, with many great shots of the beauty to be found in each month.

    Have a wonderful 2013.

    Hi Shade, thanks so much. May your 2013 be the best ever.
    Frances

  17. Lola says:

    I can’t make a choice of all these lovelies. Your garden is always so beautiful. May the New Year bring you all that you wish.

    Hi Lola, thanks and may you and yours enjoy the best year ever in 2013. No need to choose among these for a favorite, that was my job in selecting them from the thousands of images in the archives!
    Frances

  18. Sandy & Richard says:

    Dear Frances, You excel in your images, calendars are a wonderful idea….but I think you could produce a book
    you have so many stunning images to fill it with. I look forward to 2013 and more magic from yourself and your garden, a labour of profound love. May the new year bring good health and peace, and may nature continue to dazzle us all with her beauty. Warmest love Sandy.

    You are so sweet, Sandy, thank you for the kind words and encouragement! May your 2013 be filled with love and happiness.
    Frances

  19. Elizabeth McLeod says:

    Those pictures are amazing. Your garden is such a special one and very well thought out. I am glad you included a photo of a fungi as I find them intriguing. Continue to find the beauty and peace of gardening as a way to feel at one with nature. Thanks for sharing the lovely and colorful plants, trees, shrubs and blossoms all year long! Cheers to 2013…..may you sow seeds with success.

    Hi Elizabeth, thank you for the kind words. The photos were chosen somewhat on an emotional level, and the fungi was certainly one of my favorites, too. May your 2013 be the best ever!
    Frances

  20. I love the fungi shot! A beautiful calendar, and always a fun way to reflect on the previous year in the garden. Happy New Year!

    Hi CV, thanks. Looking back through the photos of previous months, especially those warm season ones with a kajillion flowers in bloom is quite satisfying. A good way to spend the hours when the weather is too miserable to be out. May 2013 give you much joy and happiness!
    Frances

  21. Charlie says:

    The photos are amazing, I especially love the photo of the Eastern Swallowtail butterfly. Thank you for posting, thank you for posting when winter is starting to crowd around and seem to be entirely too long.

    Hi Charlie, thanks for visiting and those kind words. Seeing cheerful photos does indeed help when winter starts keeping us indoors more.
    Frances

  22. Rose says:

    What a gorgeous gift this is! I remember the photo of the fungi–a beautiful image–and I love the bumble all dusted with pollen. Every year I vow to make a similar calendar for myself, but this year my 8-year-old grandson beat me to it. He didn’t use photos, but drew an appropriate picture for each month, including some of Grandma’s flowers for July–begonias and dandelions:) He put so much work into it; it’s a gift I’m going to treasure long after 2013.

    Hi Rose, thanks. Your special calendar sounds like a keeper, for sure. What a wonderful and clever boy your grandson must be. Perhaps you and he could work jointly in the future on a calendar for friends and family.
    Frances

  23. Kris P says:

    Your blog is always so full of beautiful photos – it must take you hours and hours just to select 12 for your annual retrospective. Thank you for taking the time to share these with your readers and best wishes for a wonderful 2013!

    Hi Kris, thanks so much and may 2013 bring you the very best. I work on selecting photos for the calendar a little each month through the year so it is not such a big project. That reminds me, those December photos need perusal for the 2014 calendar!
    Frances

  24. RobinL says:

    I do so enjoy seeing your calendar every year, another beauty!

    Hi Robin, thanks so much. I do appreciate your readership!
    Frances

  25. Pingback: 2014 Calendar | Fairegarden

Comments are closed.