January 2013-The Bloom Day

Sierra Exif JPEG
It is nearly the same every winter.
Above: Hamamelis x intermedia ‘Diane’

Sierra Exif JPEG
The same pretty faces get shown over and over.
Above: Crocus chrysantha ‘Violet Queen’

Sierra Exif JPEG
It is because those are the few, the proud, …
Above: Camellia sasanqua ‘Chansonette’

Sierra Exif JPEG
…The only plants in bloom in the depths of winter, warm as it may be for some.
Above: Mahonia media, with the Camillia just peeking into the shot in the upper right corner.

Sierra Exif JPEG
The showcase would not be complete without a few violas, these are Viola ‘Antique Shades Apricot’ planted in the turqoise containers last fall and written about here.

Sierra Exif JPEG
Most images shared are close ups, with the exception of the warts and all shot of the Galanthus elwesii, kept from squirrel harm’s way by rusted chickenwire.

Sierra Exif JPEG
This is not the more common traditional snow drop, Galanthus nivalis but rather a special, very early bloomer that does well in the warmer climes of USDA Zones 5-8.

Sierra Exif JPEG
Very special, indeed. This is the second year of bloom for these sweethearts, purchased with pride from Scott at Old House Gardens.

Sierra Exif JPEG
The weather a’keeps on changin’, and flowers that at one time bloomed in March seem to be showing earlier each year, like the grocery primroses planted in the ground previously.

Sierra Exif JPEG
Whenever the primroses appear in the grocery, they are swooped up swiftly into the shopping cart to brighten our days in the warm environs of the greenhouse/sunroom, to be planted outdoors in March. This dark pinky violet color seems to be among the earliest and hardiest for our USDA Zone 7a.

Sierra Exif JPEG
There are other flowers in the greenhouse/sunroom blooming along merrily, the Paphiopedilum orchids. Typical Fairegarden winter Bloom Day, same old, same old, but worth sharing still, when some folks only see a white blanket of snow out their windows. Do visit the hostess of Bloom Day, sweet Carol of Maydreams for a complete listing of participants from around the globe.

Frances

This entry was posted in Garden Bloggers Bloom Days. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to January 2013-The Bloom Day

  1. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    It is fun to see any blooms this time of year especially. I have a new appreciation for orchids since my small ones have decided to rebloom for me. I will have to see if I can get a photo of them to share. Not a blooming thing in the garden right now. Everything is FROZEN. brrrrr.. Happy GBBD.

    Hi Lisa, thanks. It is a treat to seem blooms in January, no matter what they are. Kudos on your orchid rebloom! That is the gateway to addiction, you know. HA Stay warm and Happy GBBD
    Frances

  2. georgiafromga1 says:

    What charmers, Frances. More bulbs, more bulbs, I must plant more bulbs. I too have my first camellia blossom but was alarmed to see my daphnes already in bloom. That can’t be right.

    Hi Georgia, thanks. Who knows what is right anymore? We just have to roll with it. More bulbs, yes, there can never be too many bulbs. I buy the ones for sale now in the grocery and plant them outside in March after enjoying them indoors. They will often return in subsequent years. Hyacinths, daffs and crocus, tulips are iffy.
    Frances

  3. Christy says:

    You have so many beautiful things blooming! I think I need to plant more bulbs. The only things I have blooming are my violas. My daffodils have buds, but no flowers yet.

    Thanks, Christy. More bulbs, always! My daffs also have buds, but none open just yet. It is a good month early for them, but it is also early for the other stuff. Violas are wonderful.
    Frances

  4. Lola says:

    I love Diane. So much to look at. My snowdrops aren’t blooming yet. Even my camellia isn’t blooming yet. Things sure are strange.

    Hi Lola, thanks for stopping by. Diane is a beauty, I am so glad to have planted her as a tiny stick all those years ago. She is a nicely shaped tree, now. These are very early snowdrops, different from the traditional ones usually seen. I love anything early. These Camellias have been blooming since November, maybe even October. Yours may be a different species that blooms later.
    Frances

  5. Nell Jean says:

    There’s a special place in my heart for Violas. I plucked a whole flat not yet in bloom from the middle of a table of violas. They turned out to be big fat purple pansies, no less beautiful. I sowed some saved viola seed and have some precious pretties.

    Hi Nell Jean, thanks for sharing here, nice to see you! The foliage of the pansies and violas is so similar, you can’t really tell the difference unless you can see the flowers. I try to get ones that have at least one open bloom to know what they are, but as you say, pansies are no less beautiful. Good luck with your seeds!
    Frances

  6. Your special selection of snowdrop is quite delightful…it hangs with such delicacy and balance. It’s refinement makes a fun contrast with the bold colorfulness of the primroses…kind of like a ballerina followed by clowns (and I mean that in the best possible way).

    Well said, Michaele! The primroses are sort of gaudy, in a good way of course. I love how they show up from inside the house, much better than the white snowdrops which are so much more delicate. The pinky purple primroses really sing with the yellow daffs later on, too.
    Frances

    Pinky purple as a background chorus for yellow daffodils…spring songs don’t get much better than that!

  7. julieadolf says:

    I always love to visit and see what’s blooming in the Faire Garden! Snow drops are my favorite, and your variety is lovely. I’m embarrassed to admit I have quite a few bulbs that still need to get in the ground. The primrose are charming–I definitely need to add more to our garden as well. And thank goodness for camellias. What would we do without their beautiful blooms? Happy GBBD to you!

    Hi Julie, thanks for visiting and a very happy GBBD to you. Better put on your gear and get those bulbs in the ground, woman, pronto! HA It is not too late as long as they haven’t turn mushy. You might miss a bloom this year but hopefully they get it sorted for the year after.
    Frances

  8. mamaraby says:

    I think the top picture on the post is my favorite!

    Diane is quite attractive, it’s true. She has just started blooming and will offer color well into March, it is hoped.
    Frances

  9. Cindy says:

    I love the Antique Shades of pansies but haven’t seen violas in that mix offered here. Glad there’s some beauty at Fairegarden to brighten dreary winter days !

    Hi Cindy, thanks. The Antique Shades came from B.B. Barns nursery in Asheville, the place where we spent some time at the blogger fling last May. Ruth at Mouse Creek also has had them on occasion. If I ever see them wherever, I grab some.
    Frances

  10. It gets harder to appreciate the snowdrops when other things bloom unseasonably early, but they are such little charmers. My witch hazel is trying to bloom now too, but isn’t quite as far advanced as yours. I have primrose envy. What a treat to have them blooming in your garden so vibrantly.

    Hi MMD, thanks. We have struggled in the past with snowdrops here, so these early bloomers that can also take our summer heat are quite welcome and special, much appreciated. The primroses are wonderful, too, I just bought all they had, only four left, at the grocery.
    Frances

  11. gail says:

    I was going to say that first photo of ‘Diane’ is my favorite, but all of them are lovely and brightening the winter gray day. I suspect that ‘Diane’ has a few blooms here, but, she’s covered with ice right now and those cutie pie petals have probably curled back up. Have a sweet Bloom Day my dear friend. xoxoxgail

    Hi Gail, thanks. Diane is very photogenic, as you know, but she doesn’t actually stand out that much in the garden, yet. Ice on the blooms sounds scary cold! Happy GBBD to you!
    xoxoxo
    Frances

  12. Frances, Many of us would be thrilled to have your same-old same-olds in January. My same-olds right now have an unvarying brown tinge – except for a rather luxurious double amaryllis. Happy blooms day!

    Hi Helen, thanks for visiting. I know that the colder parts of the world would enjoy having blooms at this time of year like these out of doors. Your Amaryllis does sound like it will help beat those winter doldrums. Happy GGBD!
    Frances

  13. I love the violet crocus. Up here there are a few snowdrops up in a a protected spot.

    Hi Jason, thanks for visiting. I am so glad you have some snowdrops, too, these delicate beauties brighten a winter’s day.
    Frances

  14. Oh my, this is one of the prettiest Bloom Day posts I’ve ever seen! Maybe it’s because you have gorgeous blooms both indoors and out. Or because I’m feeling bloom-starved up here in Wisconsin (not complaining, per Jen at Muddy Boot Dreams, just sayin’ …). Anyway, thanks for sharing this beautiful post.

    Hi PP, thanks so much, such a sweet thing to say. We are lucky to have a bloom here and there outdoors in winter, and the greenhouse/sunroom is always pleasing.
    Frances

  15. Les says:

    Your crocus faces are indeed cheery, they would make me happier if they and everything weren’t blooming so early this year. It makes one wonder what the weather will bring in 2013. Happy GBBD, Frances!

    Hi Les, happy GBBD to you! These crocus, also called snow crocus, are blooming when they usually do, often in January, depending on the weather. Who knows what that silly weather will be up to this year, but we can be sure it will make the news.
    Frances

  16. Katharine Hoda says:

    Lovely, i just don’t know it how you guys do such a great job raising such beautiful flowers. The indoor orchid is lovely and just perfect inside mygarden shed.

    Thanks Katharine.

  17. Allison says:

    Hello! I am a new reader and am truly enjoying your writing! My new sasanqua, planted last spring lost most of its leaves this past July and never got them back. It’s not blooming this season. What happened to it, and can it be saved? Thanks!

    Hi Allison, thanks for visiting. You don’t mention where you live, but most all Camellias need shade and adequate water but not wet feet, as in standing water at their roots. If it is in full sun, I would move it to a shady place and hope for the best. Good luck with it!
    Frances

  18. Your orchids are always stunning. Mine at least has a flower stalk coming up!! The blue sky behind the witch hazel is soooo blue!
    I planted crocus this fall and mine are just barely coming up through the mulch (thin layer). Hope they continue to come up and flourish.

    Hi Janet, thanks for stopping by. The sky is so blue in the chill cold of winter sometimes. I love it. Good luck with your crocus, may they spread well for you.
    Frances

  19. We melted all our snow in the warm up and I found one snowdrop which is highly unusual…now we are headed back into winter with some snow but a deep arctic freeze on the way for the rest of January at least…so I will not see any of these blooms until April at least. Nice to see them here.

    Hi Donna, thanks for sharing your tale of the one snowdrop. That is so unusual, but who knows what is the norm anymore?
    Frances

  20. My favorite little flower is the Perce neige, as we call them(pushing through the snow)..the snowdrops. There are so many varieties and all beautiful..then I also love the little Claudinette, as we call them(Leucojum vernum)..just love them!
    Here’s to January and February and all the snow drops !
    bises
    Ronelle

    Hi Ronelle, thanks for stopping by and the French lesson! HA Snowdrops and the other early bulbs bring us so much joy as a taste of the sea of flowers to come in Spring. Here’s to them all!
    Frances

  21. Are your primroses fragrant? My husband remembers a fragrant primrose from his childhood colored like yours. I’ve never been able to track it down.

    Hi Kathy, I don’t recall these being fragrant at all, but there may be another species that are sweet smelling. Good luck on your search, if I run across one that is fragrant, I will certainly let you know.
    Frances

  22. Charlie says:

    I find the Crocus and the Snow Drops to be really beautiful. Thank you for sharing the pictures.

    Thanks Charlie, for stopping by and those kind words.
    Frances

Comments are closed.