Some Birds*

Sierra Exif JPEG
There has been a break in the weather, but ice is still in evidence.

Sierra Exif JPEG
It is time to go see what could be seen outdoors after being cooped up for entirely too long by rain, ice and cold.

Sierra Exif JPEG
There was a ruckus being made by some feathered friends as we gingerly stepped along the pathways. Noisy for their size, the tufted titmouse twittered at us, but still went to partake of the offerings from the feeders.

Sierra Exif JPEG
The red bellied woodpecker is the largest diner at our feeders.

Sierra Exif JPEG
The downy woodpecker is much less intimidating to the little Carolina wren whose rear parts are in evidence on the suet cake feeder hanging behind the acorn.

Sierra Exif JPEG
Cardinals used to be our most numerous birds, but not this year.

Sierra Exif JPEG
Mockingbirds are plentiful, for there are many berry bearing bushes around the garden.

Sierra Exif JPEG
Winter is still upon us, but the birds are like flowers in the landscape.

***
*The official counting of the birds is also upon us. The Great Backyard Bird Count-this is the link is a fun way to help out our sweet birds. It is easy and good for an individual, group or family. You can count in your own garden, or go elsewhere. It only takes a few minutes and can be quite exciting! I encourage you to participate. The birds will thank you and so will I. So, save the dates, February 13-15, 2013. Click on the link to find out how to do it and submit your counts.

Past Fairegarden Counts:

The Great Backyard Bird Count-2008

GBBC*-2009

One, Two, Three… 2010

Great Backyard Bird Count- 2011

In 2012 we counted but did not write about it. We promise to do better in the future.

Frances

This entry was posted in wildlife. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Some Birds*

  1. Mark and Gaz says:

    Some lovely birds there! And they do indeed need as much help they can get during winter and glad to see your bird feeder well used :)

    Hi Mark and Gaz, thanks for stopping by. The birds do need our help, by putting out feeders, making a habitat friendly garden with no poisons and offering some brush piles and water. I love watching them.
    Frances

  2. Hi Frances

    Some wonderful photographs of lovely birds, nice to see such variety

    Thanks! It is good to see different birds out there. I do love watching them.
    Frances

  3. indygardener says:

    Love the pictures of the birds. I can almost hear them scolding you for interrupting them as you walk along the paths!

    Thanks Carol. They are so bold, making a lot of noise. Maybe they want me to fill the feeders up to the top? The birds must be hungry in the cold weather.
    Frances

  4. Layanee says:

    The birds do provide entertainment and color at this most drab time of year. Love the acorn shaped feeder.

    Hi Layanee, thanks for visiting. My sister in law gave me the acorn feeder a few years ago. Recently she gave me another one, so there are two. They are beautiful and the birds enjoy them, too.
    Frances

  5. I wonder if birds mind having their picture taken with their mouth full? (chuckle) And as I’m from South Carolina, I must call for a better view of the Carolina Wren than just the shot of its cute little rear end. Do you know what’s up with the Cardinals? I don’t have many this winter either.

    Hi Marian, thanks for visiting. The Carolina wrens are so numerous here. They one time got into the shed and made a huge nest in the rafters. No eggs, though. Nearly all the birds go to the opposite side of the feeders just as I am clicking the shutter on the camera, but I will keep trying. As for the cardinals, I don’t really know. There are many, many berries around here that they like to eat so usually there is a healthy population. Or was.
    Frances

  6. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Your birds are lucky to have such a marvelous garden to swoop around in. I am sure they enjoy helping you keep the insect pests out during summer. It is nice that you reward them in winter by putting out such a nice feast for them.

    Thanks Lisa. I only fill the feeders during the winter because I want the birds to eat those insects. It seems to work well as long as we have a cold enough winter to knock down the bug population. Here’s hoping 2013 will find a good balance.
    Frances

  7. Christy says:

    Hi Frances….I love your post! I have never participated in the GBBC but will definitely participate this year! I know why there aren’t many Cardinals in your yard this year…..they all came to my yard…LOL!! Yesterday I took a picture (which I will post in the future) of our Willow Oak….I counted over 30 Cardinals in that one tree. We’ve never had so many at one time. I really like your little acorn feeder…really cute!

    Hi Christy, thanks. I am so glad to hear you will be joining in the counting this year. It is fun! I am also very glad to hear the cardinals are being well cared for, even if it is not in my garden. Your photo sounds superb and happy! My sister in law has bought me two of the acorn feeders. I love her and them.
    Frances

  8. _emily_rose says:

    Thanks for the reminder!! Last year was my first year :)

    Good deal, Emily Rose. It is fun and rewarding to help out with these counts.
    Frances

  9. Pearl says:

    Watching the birds is what gets me through the long winter months. I love all the birds but I especially love when the bluebirds show up. They just cheer up my day!

    Hi Pearl, thanks for sharing here. I love the bluebirds. They don’t visit the feeders but I do see them out in the gardens and sometimes they will nest in the boxes we put out for them. The birds make the garden seem more alive, even in winter.
    Frances

  10. commonweeder says:

    We have a cat so do not put out birdfeeders. BUT I just discovered the Macauley Library http://macaulaylibrary.org/ where I can see and Hear all manner of birds – and fishes and other creatures. Virtual birdwatching is all I will ever aspire to.

    Hi Pat, thanks for letting us know about the feature at the library. That sounds perfect. Our cats stay inside except when Kitty goes out to the garden with me sometimes. There are losses from stray cats that are heartbreaking, too.
    Frances

  11. meander1 says:

    You are so right that “birds are like flowers in the landscape”…especially in the winter. I have two feeders in easy view of where I do my sitting at the kitchen table and the birds always capture my attention. We have been fortunate to still have a generous cardinal population and they are probably my favorite visitors. Your picture of the puffed up mockingbird is adorable…they usually look so alert and uncuddly.

    Hi Michaele, thanks for sharing your bird watching. The birds seem quite active right now for some reason, after being sort of shy for most of the winter. I am glad to see them and offer more food now that they are more numerous at the feeders. Maybe it is the colder temps we have had lately. The think the mockingbird was so cold that he puffed up, also, it was raining hard as I took the photo from inside the house. They do seem aloof most of the time.
    Frances

  12. Your top picture – I always think there’s something special about seeing autumn and new leaves tangled in the same place.

    Hi Esther, thanks so much for stopping by. I love that photo with the mix of leaves and the little bit of ice, too. It is special and natural and beautiful to see how things place themselves.
    Frances

  13. pivi says:

    I like your bird feeder on the second photo, nice ! Beautiful birds !

    Hi Pivi, thanks for visiting. I adore acorns of all types, real and artistic renderings. My sister in law has given me two of the feeders. The birds really flock to them! HA
    Frances

  14. We have many cardinals and downy woodpeckers (and occasional red bellies), but I am jealous of your tufted titmice.

    Hi Jason, thanks for sharing here. The little titmice and chickadees are subtle in coloration but they have very loud voices, along with the Carolina wrens. They do not hesitate to give me the what for when I am out in the garden.
    Frances

  15. Sandy & Richard says:

    I love your birds, such beautiful colours, birds in the garden are a blessing and a pleasure. My favourite here in Tasmania, are the fairy wrens….so tiny, the male bird wears a most brilliant shiny blue cape, as a family they work together, the children from the previous year always help to feed the babies of the next year…it is so cute to watch. We made great friends with ‘our’ wrens, when we lived on the edge of a forest on Bruny Island, they would actually feed out of my hand, it is a treasured memory for both of us, we even have a video of them.
    Your acorn feeder is wonderful, what a lovely sister-in-law you have, and now you have two, more room for more birds. Happy bird watching…one of lifes pleasures.

    Thank you, thank you, Sandy and Richard, for sharing that delightful story. Having a wild bird eat from your hand sounds like heaven on earth. You must be very gentle people with dear hearts.
    Frances

  16. Cindy says:

    This is the first year I’ve put feeders in the back garden where I can see them from my recliner. The goldfinches keep me entertained with their comings and goings.

    Hi Cindy, thanks for sharing that. I am so glad you are enjoying the birds from a comfy spot in the house. I think the birds prefer for us to be inside, too.
    Frances

  17. Marguerite says:

    Such beautiful birds…and I love your Giant Acorn feeder which could have starred with the vegetables in the movie Sleeper! Today I discovered some hanky panky going on out by my “squirrel resistant” bird feeders…. Our two resident squirrels, Felony and Misdemeanor, were swinging from the crabapple tree branches onto the tops of said squirrel resistant feeders like the Flying Wallendas , shimmying on the feeders as they swung like pendulums from the trees, and then immediately jumping to the ground under the feeders to eat what they had shaken free. Such Wiseguys! Just keeping us amused til the bulbs bloom…..

    Hi Marguerite, thanks for sharing that funny story! Flying Wallendas indeed! HA We finally found feeders that the squirrels cannot raid, including those acorn feeders, thank goodness. They are fun to watch, though.
    Frances

  18. Elizabeth McLeod says:

    We ,love birds and I especially loved this post. We do not have cardinals in the West…they are splendid! Love those woodpeckers!

    Hi Elizabeth, thanks so much. I am glad you enjoyed seeing a few of our birds. The cardinals are beginning to show up again around here in better numbers. They do stand out against the browns and greens, better to be spotted from inside.
    Frances

  19. Sandy & Richard says:

    Thank you so much for your beautiful comment Frances. I do have to pass on the episode of filming the wrens feeding from my hand, (with an old style video camera), Richard was doing the filming…it was two days before we left this idyllic place were we had lived for 8 years. The filming was going well, I was covered with about 8 wrens….all squeeking with delight, THEN they spotted the video camera up to Richards face….and in a protective attitude, they started to attack the camera…thinking that this black monster on Richards face, was attacking him….I think that shows how much we had become a part of their family. The person who bought the house, carried on the tradition…..we miss ‘our’ birds them very much.

    Thanks for adding to the story, Sandy and Richard. That must have been bittersweet to leave such a place of wildlife interaction. It is cheering to hear that the new owners are also bird lovers, though.
    Frances

  20. Charlie says:

    I love your photos. I have tried hard to replant my yard to attract a variety of birds so I have a real appreciation of what you have created.

    Thanks Charlie. Having berries, water and habitat, including brush piles for the birds to hide in is important. Hanging the feeders is as much for the humans as for the birds. They are so fun to watch, especially in winter. Good that you are attracting the birds!
    Frances

  21. We too have the Red bellied Woodpecker at our feeders, but just the female. She sure does squawk when the feeder is empty!

    Hi Janet, thanks for sharing here. I love those red bellies. We have several, they live in the tall pine trees at the end of the property. They do like to hog the feeders, keeping the smaller birds away for long stretches. I do love seeing them, though.
    Frances

Comments are closed.