What Looks Good Now-Early April 2013

Sierra Exif JPEG
Things are really speeding up around here.
Above: Narcissus ‘Geranium’

Sierra Exif JPEG
One could say the garden has been slipped into high gear….
Above: The most perennial of tulips, species Tulipa vvedenskyi ‘Tangerine Beauty’.

Sierra Exif JPEG
….With the accelerator depressed to the floorboard.
Above: Fido, a goldfish who has survived all but the first incarnation of the pond. Click here to see those incarnations.

Sierra Exif JPEG
The mid and late season bulbs are peaking.
Above: Grocery primroses, Heuchera ‘Silver Scrolls’ and grape hyacinths

Sierra Exif JPEG
Fritillaria ‘Uva Vulpis’ is having a fine year.

Sierra Exif JPEG
Hyacinths and grape hyacinths continue to glow in the Black Garden.

Sierra Exif JPEG
Tulips planted in containers last fall might meet the vision. More on that when, or if the purple, red and orange flowers open together. I hope.

Sierra Exif JPEG
Epimedium x versicolor ‘Sulphureum’ carpets the woodland garden.

Sierra Exif JPEG
Borrowed views frame the emerging foliage of Acer palmatum ‘Butterfly’.
If you are interested in the cattail sculptures, the post about them is here.

Frances

This entry was posted in what looks good now. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to What Looks Good Now-Early April 2013

  1. Everything is waking up! Love your koi pic, too.

    Thanks Karen. Hooray for the slumbering gardens to finally arise!
    Frances

  2. Layanee says:

    Hailey and I love your early blooms. We are just gearing up here. The little bulbs are still blooming.

    Hi Layanee and Hailey, thanks for visiting. Gearing up, revving the engines, 3-2-1 GO!
    Frances

  3. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    It is always fun to see what is blooming in your garden. This is the prelude towhat will be happening in my garden in a week or two. Bring it on…

    Thanks Lisa, for being a steady reader. We are more than ready, aren’t we?
    Frances

  4. entwinedlife says:

    Oh the parade of blooms has begun! Beautiful Frances!

    Thanks, Jayme. Yes, it really has begun, finally. Looking ahead at the ten day forecast, we are frost free until after the last frost date. Supreme joyfulness abounds!
    Frances

  5. Hello. I am a landscape designer and I must live nearby you. I’m in Chattanooga. TN. If you let me know your e-mail I can send you a Flicker photostream of a garden I helped design that was just on the Missionary Ridge Garden Tour. It is called “story book garden” and abounds with fairys, gnomes, all sorts of interesting elements I think you would like it. Love your posts!

    Thanks,

    Scott

    Hi Scott, thanks for your kind offer. The garden design sounds delightful. I regret that I do not ever give out my email address, or the specific location of my garden for personal and private security reasons. I hope you continue to enjoy my posts anyway.
    Frances

  6. Jaime says:

    wow you have such beautiful plants…I specialy love your Fritillaria, and Epimedium..I don´t have them in my garden…they are perfect!!

    Hi Jaime, thanks so much. Perhaps you can find some of these very fine spring bloomers for your own garden. Good luck!
    Frances

    • Jaime says:

      Fritillarias are easy to find here, and we have some wild ones as well in my country, but epimedium I have never seen it. I must buy at least some fritillaria next fall, your Spring garden was an Inspiration!! :)

      Thanks Jaime. How wonderful to have the fritts growing wild where you live. It makes me happy to have given a little inspiration.
      Frances

  7. Aren’t you the lucky one to have been fortunate enough to come into the possession of the exotic and much sought after exotic beauty ‘Grocery’ primrose…I make that tease because your label made me smile! It really is happening here in East Tn, isn’t it…spring is here and I love it. The blue of the grape hyacinth certainly makes makes it a wonderful companion plant to everything. It wins the spring “most genial” award.

    HA Michaele, so nice that you get the light hearted bits in the blog posts. That blue of the grape hyacinths has been spread far and wide here. There is not a single bed that cannot benefit from that color.
    Frances

  8. Christy says:

    Hi Frances….everything is just beautiful. Your pictures are always so vivid I feel like I could reach out and touch the flowers. I really like all the bright colors. Your gardens are just amazing.

    Hi Christy, thanks. The photos of the spring garden help me get through the browns and greys of winter, especially the ones taken at this time of year. I like bright colors, too, they cheer me.
    Frances

  9. beth jimenez says:

    What a little trooper you have there in your goldfish,Fido.Sounds like he was waiting for you to come and rescue him after the former pond failure,He’s a special one alright.I love seeing your beautiful pictures and do so enjoy reading about how you have developed your garden over the years since you’ve been in TN.Your posts make my week.

    Thank you, Beth, for those kind words. Fido was so named because he is tough like a bulldog!
    Frances

  10. Cindy says:

    So much beauty … a lovely way to start my day!

    Thanks Cindy. Seeing gardens or photos of them is indeed a wonderful start to every day.
    Frances

  11. Leslie says:

    Lovely! I keep thinking my bulbs are done, then I see something else. Yours are beautiful!

    Thanks Leslie. What a pleasant surprise to keep finding flowers. Don’t forget about the lilies, too. They are also bulbs.
    Frances

  12. _emily_rose says:

    Your hyacinths are AMAZING! I must plant more next fall : )

    Thanks Emily Rose. Most of the blue and lavender hyacinths, if not all of them were planted in the spring, purchased as potted plants from the big box stores. Then you can see where all the other plants and bulbs are when placing them.
    Frances

  13. Virginia Callicott says:

    Frances: This has nothing to do with your present entry but with a multitude of past ones: i.e. pink muhly grass which appeared many times in fall pictures of the Fairegarden. My husband found some locally and the question now is where to plant it. I keep trying to get into your past fall archives to see how it is in your garden but I without the patience, I think, to find it. Hubby is a neat freak and was trying to plant it singly and too close to the walk. I keep saying it needs to be in a block in a roughish vista where the fall light shines through it. Any help?

    Hi Virginia, thanks for reading. The pink muhly likes a sunny, well drained spot. It grows on sandy beaches in the wild. Placing it for backlighting is what makes my driveway and hillside plantings so spectacular, especially for photography purposes. It does get large in diameter, two to three feet wide. I hope this is of help and good deal on even finding some for sale!
    Frances

  14. Beth says:

    I do so love my tulips, but always treat them as an annual here in Memphis. I’ve made a note to find some bulbs of tulipa wedenshkyi – perennial, how lovely! All your pictures are sensational!

    Thanks Beth. I get the vveds from Van Engelen. I hope you can get some and they return well for you!
    Frances

  15. Wow, that ‘Geranium’ is one gorgeous narcissus. I had never seen that one before.

    It’s a good mid to late season daff, Jason. It has multiple flowers on each stem and is fragrant. Worth seeking out!
    Frances

  16. What a gorgeous selection of spring blooms! We’re still waiting for the weather to warm up here in the UK and bring the garden to life.

    Thanks Paula. I hope your spring comes soon!
    Frances

  17. Beautiful Faire. I love April. We are getting a cold front though. I’m worried about my views. I’ll be out there with a camera this afternoon.~~Dee

    Thanks Dee. April is my favorite monthi is the garden, too. May you and your garden be safe from whatever weather brings you.
    Frances

  18. Eileen says:

    I wish I could say we are waking up here, but things are very slow. I have a few early daffodils that are blooming but we keep going back into the cold weather. I feel better looking at all of your lovely blooms.

    Eileen

    Hi Eileen, thanks for visiting and enjoying a little spring vicariously until yours decides to make its presence known. Soon, I hope, for you.
    Frances

  19. klmaryon says:

    Hi Frances
    Its always uplifting to see what is blooming in your garden. We are a couple weeks behind you to say the least but things are starting slowly pushing their way up through the mulch and yawning as they unfurl their new growth. Gorgeous epimediums… I smiled at the Cattails as it is when I joined digitally to the magazine too!.
    I lived in Europe for 14 years and was lucky enough to go to several gardens. Something I hope to do once again!.
    Thank you for sharing.

    Hi Kate, thanks so much for those kind words. Those cattail sculptures were beautiful, weren’t they? Mine are but a pale shadow of them, but make me happy. Lucky you to see the European gardens, that is something I hope to do someday. We did go to England in 2010, and fell instantly in love with the gardens, countryside and the people!
    Frances

  20. Your garden is in high gear and it is really quite lovely. I absolutely love the joyful colors.

    Hi Charlie, thanks. Joyful is the word for the spring gardens here, but it could also describe every single month, to me anyway.
    Frances

  21. Great fun, it is wonderful to see your success.

    Hi Charlie, thanks so much.
    Frances

Comments are closed.