What Looks Good Now-For Future Reference

Sierra Exif JPEG
It’s simple, really.
Above: Passalong peony from dear neighbors long ago, probably P. ‘Festiva Maxima’

Sierra Exif JPEG
Photos are taken of various parts and plants of the Fairegarden, they are then tagged with the date and held in folders until being used in blog posts.
Above: Gifted Iris siberica ‘Butter and Sugar’ from daughter Semi.

Sierra Exif JPEG
As garden plans are made, wish lists recorded and checked periodically, the archives of published blog posts provide handy dandy access to valuable information. What was blooming at what time of year and what else was also blooming or was planted nearby helps jog a sometimes forgetful gardener’s memory.
Above: Allium ‘Mt. Everest’ in the Lawn/Meadow

Sierra Exif JPEG
Sometimes plants do poorly or skip a year of bloom, or disappear entirely. Searching on the blog or using an internet search engine using the name of the plant and adding Fairegarden to the search brings up those posts containing just what we are looking for.
Above: The repurposed wheelbarrow now planter with the hummingbird favorite red Salvia coccinea ‘Lady in Red’ as the thriller.

Sierra Exif JPEG
We know the hummers love these red Salvias because photos of their visits in this garden in previous years exist out there in the sanctum of the world wide web.
Above: Nigella damascena and Salvia greggii

Sierra Exif JPEG
Attracting pollinators of the fuzzy or feathery kind is a high priority here.
Above: Monarda bradburiana and Rosa ‘Blush Knockout’ in the Heather Bed.

May 17, 2013 040 (2)
Writing the full botanical name of the plants takes time and research to get the spelling and/or name changes correct, but that is the key to finding what we are looking for. It also helps folks who might be looking for information or photos of a particular plant, too. Sometimes a Plant Portrait post is written to supply both to be even more helpful. Click here and/or here for two such stories about the foxglove family.
Above: Digitalis purpurea, they attract fairies, you know.

Sierra Exif JPEG
Some of the gardens here change very little from year to year, such as the front gardens. It is nice to see how things continue to grow that were planted long ago.
Above: The view from the driveway of the front round and raised beds, written about here. Featured plants are Salvia x sylvestris ‘May Night’, Veronica austriaca subsp teucrium ‘Crater Lake Blue’, Geranium sanguineum, Rosa ‘Knockout’ in the lower round. In the raised bed are Oreganum vulgare ‘Aureum’, Acer palmatum var. dissectum ‘Atropurpureum’ and Chamaecyparis pisifera ‘Boulevard’.

Sierra Exif JPEG
Time consuming, yes, writing all of those plant names with proper capitalization and italicization, but those are their names, and writing them several times can help one to memorize them.
Above: The Knot Garden, with photos taken of this view of it was first featured in another of the earliest posts, here.

Sierra Exif JPEG
It is fun to see how it has evolved over time. Kitty photobombed this shot taken from atop the bench.

Sierra Exif JPEG
There are other features that are featured in blog posts besides plants. There are containers and glass art, too.

Sierra Exif JPEG
And that brings us to the final image, the newest feature of the Fairegarden. A gift from my husband, The Financier for my recent birthday was this beautiful Horn of the Unicorn made by sweet Barbara Sanderson of Glass Gardens Northwest. Finding just the right location to best showcase the cobalt blue horn led to it being installed atop the golden heath of the Yellow/White Garden, Erica carnea ‘Westwood Yellow’. This post will mark that event for future reference and future fun gazing back on times past.

Frances

This entry was posted in cats, what looks good now. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to What Looks Good Now-For Future Reference

  1. You have so many blooms in your garden Frances. It is no wonder you need help remembering what you have. I love your birthday present. It could also be considered the horn of plenty. Beautiful color of blue. Also a belated Happy Birthday.

    Hi Lisa, thanks so much. You should see the lists and journals I have kept since the very beginning of gardening of plant names! HA But we have moved several times, and plants have been moved hundreds of times, if not more. I like that, the Horn of Plenty! It describes the garden well, plentiful.
    Frances

  2. gail says:

    Frances, It’s so lovely in your garden this morning. The Knot Garden and the blue grass is deliciously cool and the front bed with the lovely pastels and golden oregano is also a delight. I wish I could beam myself over for a morning walk about. I do agree with you about using plant names in posts, I now can spell many a strange name~Except, I have this stubborn streak about the Ex-aster’s new name! xoxogail

    Hi Gail, thanks. I wish you could beam over, too. What fun we would have! Talk about stubborn, they will always be Asters to me! HA
    Frances

  3. Christy says:

    Hi Frances…You sure are thorough. That’s probably why your garden is so beautiful! That Horn is wonderful and putting it with the yellow Golden Heath really makes it pop!

    Hi Christy, thanks. I am a detail oriented person, for sure, born that way. There is no changing that, although I have let some things go over the years as I have mellowed. Thank goodness! The Horn looks good, yes.
    Frances

  4. That exclamation point of cobalt blue looks perfect in that location…I’d wager that placement will pass the test of time.
    Does that golden heather stay so vibrant looking all through the summer and does it require some shearing to maintain thickness?

    Hi Michaele, thanks for visiting. The horn looks good there, I agree. It was a little worrisome about the placement for a while, but this seems to be the permanent spot. For now. The Westwood Yellow has been wonderful, more than ten years in that spot now. I have never touched it with pruners, which is highly unusual for me. I believe that is an example of right plant, right place, for once.
    Frances

  5. Carol says:

    It all looks great, Frances. My peonies are not quite blooming yet, but like yours are cherished passalongs

    Thanks, Carol. Peonies are the perfect passalong plant. I have given bits of these to my offspring, too, to continue the sharing.
    Frances

  6. Cindy says:

    So much loveliness … and that includes Kitty!

    Hi Cindy, thanks. Kitty says “Puurrrrrrr” and wants a head scratching!
    Frances

  7. I love everything here. Fraces, your garden has a very happy look!

    Hi Tatyana, thanks for stopping by, so nice to see you here! The garden is very, very happy this year with all the rain and cooler temps we have been having. When the garden is happy, so am I! HA
    Frances

  8. Anne Boykin says:

    I love that you have so many flowers! Those alliums are a favorite. Your foxgloves – did you grow them from seed or did they reseed where they are? Wish they’d reseed in my garden.

    Hi Anne, thanks for being on the more is better side of gardening! The foxgloves do seed themselves some, and I buy seedlings from the local nursery, Mouse Creek. Since she is closing this year, I will have to figure out how to grow my own seedlings more reliably. I still don’t know the exact method that will work best. I am working on it!
    Frances

  9. Dee says:

    I think many of us started blogs to keep track of things, but I also think you’re one of the most successful. It is fun to look back through images and see what worked and how things change over the years.

    Thanks, Dee. You are sweet! I do enjoy looking at the old posts, and especially reading the comments from folks who I got to meet and know as friends, like you!
    Frances

  10. Everything looks beautiful, Frances – the pollinators must consider you their garden goddess. And the blue horn is absolutely smashing with the yellow Erica. But I like the way you say “For now” about the unicorn horn, leaving possibilities open!
    Although I do try to write things down as they happen, I’ve also had to scroll through my old posts to pin down a date or location. Sometimes it’s fun to remember how small trees and shrubs were… but sometimes it’s sad to see plants that are no longer around. So it goes.

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

    Hi Annie, thanks for visiting. It seems only the largest trees and shrubs are in permanent places in the garden, and those can be cut down with a chain saw! HA Looking at the old posts does help us remember plants planted in the past, some still living and some gone.
    Frances

  11. I was just thinking about how my blog makes a good substitute for a garden journal, which I do not keep. This function argues for regularly timed posts like GBBD. Your garden looks fantastic, I love the front garden with all the blue flowers.

    Hi Jason, thanks for visiting. I am a born record keeper, but the blog is so much easier to access most of the time, and a picture is worth one thousand words! HA
    Frances

  12. Kris P says:

    I appreciate the time and effort taken to add botanical names. I’ve been trying to do the same myself to solidify them in memory as much as to assist readers who might not know them by the same common names I use. It’s a better mental exercise than Sodoku in my book. Thanks for sharing the current stars in your garden.

    Hi Kris, thanks for adding to the conversation here. Even after more than five years of typing the names of some of these plants, I still have to check for accuracy. It is a good way to keep an aging mind sharp! HA
    Frances

  13. I had to stop and look at your peony photo serveral times, it is so gorgeous, your whole garden is gorgeous.

    Hi Charlie, thanks. Those peonies are so photogenic, like fishing in a barrel. HA
    Frances

Comments are closed.