We Went to a Garden Party

Sierra Exif JPEG
The day began with thunder, lightning and a downpour in Asheville, North Carolina. But fears of the weather spoiling the garden party were for naught as the rain stopped just in time for the nine o’clock opening of a very special place that goes by the name of Wamboldtopia.

Sierra Exif JPEG
Wamboldtopia, named for the street on which it exists, Wamboldt Avenue in Asheville, was one of many gardens visited by the garden bloggers during the Fling of 2012. I wrote about that visit here.

Sierra Exif JPEG
On this day in late July, Damaris Pierce was hosting an Open Garden to showcase her artfully designed and decorated steeply sloping property that has been transformed into the perfect place for magic to occur. Children, including offspring Semi and her offspring LTB were in abundance.

Sierra Exif JPEG
This is a spot that is made for the child in us all.

photo7 (2)
To make this event even more special, an ice cream flavor was developed by the Ninja Master of The Hop Ice Cream Cafe, Ashley using rosemary from the Wamboldtopia garden, Nutella Rosemary. It was scooped by none other than offspring Brokenbeat on the screened in porch and was absolutely marvelous. I am not just saying that either, and usually order Vanilla Bean with home made hot fudge sauce when at The Hop.

Sierra Exif JPEG
The garden and its art are always changing, as all gardens are, a work in progress.

Sierra Exif JPEG
It is fun to see the latest incarnations.

Sierra Exif JPEG
This tree, complete with a trio of fairy portals at the base and embedded pieces and pods above is still being tweaked and added to.

Sierra Exif JPEG
It looks to be a pièce de résistance.

Sierra Exif JPEG
I have been to this enchanting and enchanted garden several times and consider Damaris my friend. I admire her talent and work ethic, her creativity and generosity.

Sierra Exif JPEG
I admire her work so much that even though I also make fairy doors, seen in this post, two of her fairy portals were purchased for the Fairy Village back home in Tennessee. LTB selected the one on the right, my choice was on the left. I liked the writing on it.

Sierra Exif JPEG
The new doors were thoughtfully placed by LTB after our return home. LTB is responsible for the entire design of the Fairy Village which is also constantly tweaked and added to. It includes a zip line, the small basket suspended on the broken rake handle, something a little boy would think of. He loved Wamboldtopia and did not want to leave, ever, he said. The new doors will be a reminder and inspiration of a very special place and a very special artist and her garden.

Frances

This entry was posted in fairies, Road Trips. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to We Went to a Garden Party

  1. Steve Perone says:

    Thank you for taking time to share your adventures. Your posts are very inspiring. Do you ever get to Greenville, SC?

    Thanks for reading and the kind words, Steve. We have been to Greenville a few times, yes. It is a great city!
    Frances

  2. Carol says:

    What a wonderful garden and garden tour. Thanks for sharing it with us. I like the fairy doors, too.

    Thanks, Carol. I enjoy seeing gardens in different seasons, especially this one where the artistic creations are constantly changing and being added to. The fairy doors are something your garden fairies might enjoy!
    Frances

  3. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    I brought home several of her portals from the Spring Fling. I love her garden. I wish I could revisit too. It is like being in a fairy land when there. Lucky you and the Offspring to get to visit.

    That is wonderful that you have some of her portals, Lisa. The Financier, Semi and LTB thought the garden, and Damaris were wonderful. LTB literally did not want to leave, even though we were going to the beach from there. He couldn’t wait to work in the Fairy Village here upon our return home.
    Frances

  4. How great that your grandson has his own special place in your garden to freely express his creativity. He’s doing a wonderful job at giving it a novel and fun twist that reflects his boyness!
    Wamboldtopia certainly looks like a place that can be visited again and again. The structures, both large and small, are amazing.

    Hi Michaele, thanks for stopping by. LTB loves to work in the Fairy Village, and likes it best when his mother or I work along with him. We let him come up with the ideas, of course, and he is quite creative, in a masculine sort of way. I would never have thought of a zipline for the wee folk. Wamboldtopia is pure magic.
    Frances

  5. Dee says:

    I love that place.

    So do I, Dee.

  6. How wonderful to visit again through your eyes, Frances. I am sorry now that when I visited I didn’t purchase something to remind me of the magic, but at least I have photos.

    Thanks, Kathy. I was sorry to have not purchased a portal during fling, but made up for it with LTB. We agreed it was a very magical place.
    Frances

  7. Alison says:

    Thanks for giving us another look at this wonderful garden. I would have been drawn to that fairy door with the writing on it as well. I’m not a mini garden/fairy garden maker, but I could see making a stepping stone like that, if I could just figure out how. I love that one that you opened your post with!

    Thanks for reading, Alison. The doors that Damaris makes are of pottery and kiln fired. That process allows for more detail than I have been able to figure out with concrete, but I am working on it!
    Frances

  8. gail says:

    ….and what a garden party. Good people, great art, tasty ice cream…I loved that garden and hope to visit it again. xoxogail

    It was a wonderful turnout, Gail. We were one of the first groups to arrive, luckily, and had the place to ourselves. It got quite busy as we were leaving. It was nice to have a chance to chat with Damaris in the early morning after the storm blew over. The ice cream was superb.
    xoxoxo
    Frances

  9. I had to work that day. Glad you could go back for another visit and share Wamboldtopia with more of the family. It is different every time you visit.

    I was hoping to see you there, Christopher, sorry you weren’t able to make it for free ice cream. There will be other times, and it will be different, yes.
    Frances

  10. Semi says:

    Truly a magical place, it was such a treat to visit and admire her work. I loved every bit of the trip, as did LTB. Hopefully we will visit again. Lot of love semi

    I am so glad you and LTB enjoyed Wamboldtopia as much as I do. We will visit again, yes.
    xoxoxo
    Frances

  11. Karen says:

    A wonderful magical place, I love the pictures of your garden in the post below.

    Hi Karen, thanks so much for visiting.
    Frances

  12. Cindy, MCOK says:

    Walmboldtopia was my favorite of the gardens we visited in Asheville. I would happily go back there!

    Hi Cindy, it is one of my favorites in Asheville, too. I hope you get to make a return visit, or several of them!
    Frances

  13. klmaryon says:

    Frances
    I first found this enchanted garden and blog through your first post and then again when it was featured on a gardening program. I feel it’s special to be able to support and bring something home from a special garden or artist as in this case even if we could make something similar ourselves.
    Your post are always enjoyed with a morning cuppa and help me start my day of in an inspirational way.
    Thank you

    Hi Kate, thanks so much for adding to the conversation here. Wamboldtopia is a very special place and deserve much publicity. Owning a bit of Damaris’ art means a lot to me, too. Thank you for those kind words. It helps me continue with the blog posting when sometimes it seems too much of an effort.
    Frances

  14. sharon says:

    my granddaughter would love this!

    I am certain she would, Sharon. This garden is a delight for kids of all ages.
    Frances

  15. jsteppok says:

    Sooooo inspiring :)

    It really is!

Comments are closed.