‘Tis the Season-Bloom Day September 2013

Sierra Exif JPEG
‘Tis the season of the fall blooming Anemone hupehensis. Found at a farmer’s market in a small pot several years ago, labeled as A. ‘Prinz Heinrich’, it is now believed to not be that cultivar. But whatever the name, this bed of pinky purple, for the one has become many, is more full of blossoms than ever before. These small bumble type bees are mad for it. Added: Thanks to an alert and intelligent reader, my dear friend Victoria, the name of this Anemone is most likely A. hupehensis ‘Praecox’. Thank you, Victoria, and look out, Gail and I might take you up on your offer someday!

Sierra Exif JPEG
Trying to capture the image of the busy bees proved to be too much for my abilities and the point and shoot camera, for these were the fastest moving little pollen jockeys ever. They preferred the flowers that had just opened or even those that were not fully unfurled. The pollen must be of a higher quality in the younger blooms.

September 12, 2013 016 (2)
The smaller pollinators were visiting, as well.

September 12, 2013 018 (2)
Nearby, a patch of toad lilies, Tricyrtis ‘Empress’ looks ravishing in the shady nook by the pond. Japanese beech fern, Phegopteris decursive-pinnata, hmm, I smell a name change, is its partner here, they bring out the best in each other.

September 12, 2013 032 (2)
Oxblood lilies, schoolhouse lilies, hurricane lilies, Rhodophiala bifida are blooming now for the first time ever. It is hoped they will spread and fill in the bed under the garage deck stairs.

September 12, 2013 043 (2)
This little cutie has been shown before, but remains in bloom yet another month. There is a lot of personality to the bat faced Cuphea llavea. Cuttings will be attempted soon to try to winter over this USDA Zone 9 hardy plant.

September 12, 2013 054 (2)
Pulling back for a longer view, this time across the middle terrace, the tall ironweed, Vernonia gigantea has been allowed to seed about for more of a mass planting. These were cut down by more than half in May to keep the height down to a manageable six feet. Just beyond can be seen the pink muhly, Muhlenbergia capillaris coming into bloom.

September 12, 2013 077 (2)
Solidago sphacelata ‘Golden Fleece’ is a ground cover type of goldenrod that looks good cascading down the slight slope of the Black Garden into the Gravel Garden. The turning foliage of Crocosmia ‘George Davison’ makes a good color echo. A daylily seedpod has spilled its treasure already. Perhaps a wonderful new cultivar will arise from it.

September 12, 2013 088 (2)
Many Colchicum bulbs have been planted here, but only a few bloom each year. This one is C. ‘Rosy Dawn’. The conditions are not to their liking, I suppose, but those that do show are quite welcome.

September 12, 2013 090 (2)
This, the newest lady’s slipper orchid, Paphiopedilum ‘Pinocchio’ has been blooming since it arrived fully budded on Februay 5, 2013. It was ordered from my favorite orchid dealer, Carter and Holmes in Newberry, South Carolina. It looks like there is one more bud, too. Soon all the orchids will receive the dip of death, click here for the story, before being brought inside to winter over in the greenhouse/sunroom.

Sierra Exif JPEG
Not a flower, but surely as pretty as one, this immature male summer tanager was spotted in the dogwood tree. This is a first sighting for me, and what a handsome fellow he is. He will be solid red when mature, but for now matches the turning leaves on the dogwood tree.

***
To see what else is blooming on Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day in the world wide blogdom, check out my friend Carol of May Dreams Garden’s list of links.

Frances

This entry was posted in Garden Bloggers Bloom Days, wildlife. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to ‘Tis the Season-Bloom Day September 2013

  1. Valerie says:

    Your garden is looking good. Love the new look on your blog. Valerie

    Hi Valerie, thanks so much. The blog may be changing again soon, tomorrow the custom design that I have been paying yearly for expires. I decided not to renew and will see how that changes the available free themes from wordpress.
    Frances

  2. Lea says:

    Beautiful garden!
    I especially like the deep red color of the oxblood lily.
    Happy GBBD!
    Lea
    Lea’s Menagerie

    Hi Lea, thanks for visiting. The garden is pleasing as it winds down for the season. The oxblood lilies are a vibrant red, very nice. Happy GBBD to you.
    Frances

  3. I am struck more strongly than ever at the amazing diversity of plant material that thrives at Fairegarden. You are surely one of the best partners Mother Nature has ever had. You are mutual enablers in the best possible way.
    What is the feathery foliage (like soft tiny needles) plant the oxblood lily is growing among? And, do you let all your daylilies go to seed or just some you have helped pollinate?

    Hi Michaele, thanks for those kind words. I am sort of a plant collector, always trying those new things that come to my attention. Some work here, some don’t. But it is surprising how much diversity this zone and soil will allow. The groundcover with the oxblood lilies is a Euphorbia of some kind, possibly Fen’s Ruby but I have never seen any red on it. It came from a nursery in Seattle during the fling there a couple of years ago. I noticed it growing in several places but it was not offered in pots for sale. They let me dig a little bit of it and it has prospered here. I am lazy with the daylilies and just let them seed except for the one time I crossed some myself.
    Frances

    • I actually wondered if it was a euphorbia since I have one somewhat similar (feathery soft needlelike leaves with vibrant chartreusy brackets in the spring) that was already on our property when we moved here. I have never seen it for sale and it stayed a mystery plant to me for years. Here’s a link to a Fine Gardening webpage that has my euphorbia in its full blooming glory (ha, although typical of my photography, it’s got a lot of blurriness going on). http://www.finegardening.com/item/27798/michaeles-garden-in-tennessee-day-2 Sorry if the link is not live…I just did a copy and paste and have no idea if that is the trick to share it.
      If the link does work and you take a peek, I’ll ask does yours have that spring pop of chartreuse?

      What a pretty garden you have, Michaele! The last photo of the group does look like the Euphorbia I have. The flower is the chartreuse color, as are most Euphorbia blooms/bracts. It dies back in winter and I worry it has died, but this is its third year here so it must be hardy. It’s a beauty.
      Frances

      • Your euphorbia stems still look so fresh and upright. Mine are all long and lanky. Thanks for your compliment about my garden…my plant population is waay more conventional than yours. I so admire your continuing interest and enthusiasm for bringing new plants to Fairegarden. I’m at a stage where I’m depending more and more on my strong stalwarts to lay claim to more garden real estate and make my maintenance easier.

        Don’t be fooled by the photo of the Euphorbia, Michaele. Those are the tips of the sprawling, protrate stems. It just snakes around on the ground with only the tips upright. I do like to try new things, at the same time trying to have the least possible maintenance. It is a tight wire act.
        Frances

  4. Enjoying your garden this morning. I love the Toad Lily. They are one of my favorites in my Secret Garden. They are simply a perfect bloom. Thanks for sharing your garden with us.

    Hi Sandy, thanks so much. I love those toad lilies, too, glad you are also growing them. They have spread a bit along with the beech fern and make a perfect vignette next to the pond. They require nothing at all from me. I like that.
    Frances

  5. Pingback: Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day – September 2013 | Hurtled to 60 and Now Beyond...

  6. Oooh, what a mouthwatering selection of flowers, Frances! Your anemone looks more like ‘Praecox’ – I saw some in a nursery the other day and they were gorgeous.
    I have lots of ‘Fens Ruby’ and like you I have never seen a trace of red. People keep telling me it’s invasive, but I’ve never found it a problem.

    Yippeeee! Thank you, thank you, Victoria, for the correct identification for the Anemone. ‘Praecox’ it must be. It is quite vigorous and and much more invasive than the little ferny Euphorbia. Thugs are welcome here, so both are appreciated for helping spread their wealth. I have added the name to the post with a link to Tales from Awkward Hill, a place I would very much like to see in person someday!
    xoxoxo
    Frances

  7. The garden and the blog both look great. My aging eyes love your typeface: easy to read and a perfect size. Hope you are doing well.

    Hi Linda, thank you so much for visiting and the kind words. The font and size may be changing tomorrow when the custom design expires. I will search for a theme that has the larger size that my eyes also find easier to read. I am well, and hope you are the same.
    Frances

  8. Alison says:

    I loved seeing your flowers today, but especially the oxblood lilies. I’ve admired them so much on other blogs, but I couldn’t grow them here, the one time I tried. Don’t know what it was about the spot I picked, but they never came up. I really should try again. Your Anemone is a beauty, too!

    Hi Alison, thanks so much. I must admit that it took several years and finally digging up and moving the bulbs to get these blooms. I believe they needed a wetter and more protected spot than where I first planted them.
    Frances

  9. Kris P says:

    I’m impressed by your pairing of bird and foliage to produce color echos (even if it may have been pure serendipity)!

    Thanks, Kris. It was a lucky day for me to be able to see new birds and get a few shots of this one in the dogwood tree. Pure D luck!
    Frances

  10. indygardener says:

    What a wonderful display for September, Frances, thanks for joining in for bloom day!

    Thanks, Carol. Fall is a very good time here, as the heat of summer begins to subside. The turning trees give a wonderful background to the late bloomers.
    Frances

  11. Both you and Nan Ondra have ‘Rosy Dawn’ blooming, and mine is not. I wonder if it needs more warmth to encourage it?

    More Rosy Dawns have popped up since this post was written, too, Kathy. It is by far the best performing Colchicum here, for whatever reason.
    Frances

  12. Semi says:

    The garden looks exquisite and that bird, wow!!! The Golden Fleece looks so nice with the surrounding foliage of the gravel garden. Must plant more anemone, the flowers are so sweet!! Lots of love semi

    Thanks Semi, my dear. The bird was so beautiful, there were several of them but he came closer to where I was standing with the camera, lucky for me. You can have all the anemones you want, there are hundreds of them popping up all over.
    Frances

  13. bittster says:

    The garden looks great but I think it’s the tanager picture that I like the best. The colors are amazing! I hope someday I’ll run into one around here too but so far no luck :)

    Thanks for visiting, Bittster. I was pretty thrilled about seeing that tanager, let alone getting a photo of it. There was a flock of them, but they all stayed in the tall tree tops, out of sight, except that brave, or foolhardy fellow. Luck it was.
    Frances

  14. Lola says:

    Another great post. I so enjoy reading them. I love the flowers.

    Thanks, Lola. I appreciate your readership!
    Frances

  15. Rose says:

    What a beautiful bird! I’ve never seen a tanager before; I was so taken with him that I forgot what I was going to say…. Oh yes, love the color combo in the photo with the goldenrod; the gold and the chartreuse foliage make such an eye-catching contrast. And the Japanese anemone–so lovely!

    Hi Rose, thanks. The tanager was such a treat for me, and having the camera in hand was pure luck. The goldenrod and yellow-y foliage does look good, a total surprise.
    Frances

  16. gail says:

    My dear friend and fellow lover of colonizing/thuggish plants! Many of the natives that I adore have strong personalities and fill my garden with their loveliness. There’s nothing like plants making a good swath on their own~The bees and other pollinators love it. I think I have that same anemone? Is it possible I got it from you? I love the deep coloring and the bumbles like it as much as they do A ‘September Charm’. Happy gardening. I would love to go with you to see Victoria! xoxoxogail

    Hi Gail, it is altogether possible you have the same anemone. I push it off on any and all visitors! We do love our thuggish plants, they are the only ones that can hack it around here. Imagine another trip to England…
    xoxoxo
    Frances

  17. Janie says:

    Toad lily is my favorite…

    Hi Janie, thanks for visiting. The toad lily has never looked better.
    Frances

  18. commonweeder says:

    Your garden is just beautiful. If I were a bird I’d make a really good nest there. I love your anemone. My plain old robustissima is taking hold but it is really short this year. A mystery.

    Hi Pat, thanks so much. The birds have it pretty good around here. Robustissima is anything but plain, but we have found these fall blooming anemones to have good and bad years. This is a good year, last year was not. Why? I don’t know.
    Frances

  19. Ela says:

    Such a beautiful garden with many flowers, colors…really fantastic :)

    Hi Ela, thanks so much!

  20. Just catching up on some Blog Day posts. Your September gardens are beautiful and I especially like the Anemone hupehensis. I am so glad you included the photo of the tanager. Birds are such a wonderful addition to the garden and make for some great photography. I have been enjoying some local Mockingbirds in my garden. Happy Fall!

    Hi Lee, thanks for stopping by and the kind words. The Anemones are having the best year in quite some time. The tanager was so exciting for me, a first. We do love the birds, too.
    Frances

Comments are closed.