Goodbye, Hello

Nymphaea 'Helvola'

Nymphaea ‘Helvola’

Or maybe the title should be Hello Again.

Japanese anemone, Anemone hupehensis

Japanese anemone, Anemone hupehensis

There have been dramatic changes here at The Fairegarden*.

Perilla frutescens 'Atropurpurea' and Rudbeckia fulgida 'Goldsturm'

Perilla frutescens ‘Atropurpurea’ and Rudbeckia fulgida ‘Goldsturm’

The decision was made last year to move house.

Hosta 'Sunpower'

Hosta ‘Sunpower’

The old house was sold. A new house was purchased. Not in that order. It is done.

Mountain mint,Pycnanthemum muticum

Mountain mint,Pycnanthemum muticum

Bits of the old garden were moved to the new location, about an hour from the old slope. Those things not potted up, but rather rudely yanked from the earth were planted into a holding bed. We will try to keep them alive until proper beds can be made for them.

Yucca 'Color Guard'

Yucca ‘Color Guard’

Many carloads of garden-y stuff were brought to the new house. The above photo was taken in the new garden. All other photos in this post were taken at the old garden, the day before moving day.

Left behind

Left behind

Most of the garden was left for the new owners to enjoy. May they receive as much or more joy from the house and garden as we did. (Hey, to Lou and Andy!)

Cornus controversa 'Variegata'

Cornus controversa ‘Variegata’

In the journal pages of yearly plant purchases there is but one entry for 2014. So far. This new little tree will be a focal point in the now blank slate of level crabgrass lawn, it is hoped. The wedding cake tree, Cornus controversa ‘Variegata’ will be planted after the beds have been visualized and laid out.

Kitty is ready to go

Kitty is ready to go into the soft carrier to begin a new phase of life. Hazel was already packed up.

We are not to that point yet. There is still renovation going on inside the new house and boxes are stacked high, waiting to be unpacked. I can’t find my shoes. As the new garden evolves there will be entries of before and after. Perhaps you, dear readers will wish to follow the progress. I missed you. Onward.

* The Fairegarden is defined here as the place where I garden. It is a metaphysical location that moves when I move. I am not only the gardener, I am the garden and the garden is me.

Frances

This entry was posted in cats, New garden. Bookmark the permalink.

67 Responses to Goodbye, Hello

  1. Meta says:

    Welcome back. It will be interesting to follow you about in your new gardens.

    Thanks. I hope to make it interesting.

  2. Linda says:

    Yipee!! Good to see you back. I have come here and read some past entries when I was researching various plants. It will be exciting to follow you along as the new “Fairegarden” comes to be.

    Thanks, Linda, you are very sweet and I appreciate your messages on facebook during the blog hiatus.

  3. Dee says:

    Oh!!!! I am so glad you are back. I missed your photos and your words. Hugs and congrats on the new house.~~Dee

    Thanks so much, sweet Dee. You have been a good friend to me.

  4. Georgia says:

    Oh Frances, thank goodness. There you are. As my sister says, I went to The Google looking for you. Your post has made my day. Next time, please leave a note! lol and big sigh of relief. Looking forward to your new start with some old favorites for flavor.

    Thanks, Georgia, how kind of you! I am sorry to have worried anyone, but wanted to waited until we had finally closed on the sale of the old house before writing about what was happening. I am sort of superstitious, not to mention super busy and not motivated to write until now.

  5. Barbara H. says:

    Oh Frances, I missed you so much. I am so happy to see you back. A new garden to create – how exciting! I was just looking at my gardens in the back yesterday after weeding, feeling pretty amazed at how much planting I’ve done in the last few years. It’s fun to look back at my early pictures to get a full sense of the transformation. I loved your old garden, as I loved my old garden, but change can be very fulfilling.

    Thank you so much, Barbara. I am happy to be back. I have created many new gardens, but hope that this is the last time. (I said that with the last garden, too.) With moving comes experience.

  6. flowergirl3 says:

    I have sorely missed you and your beautiful pictures. I am so glad you are back! Looking forward to seeing the new garden progress.

    Thank you very much. I hope the new garden becomes blogworthy soon.

  7. grammapenny says:

    Hi, Frances. I am thrilled to see you back. Reading your blog was what motivated me to start mine. I began my blog last March on the first day of spring. Whew – it is work, but I am really enjoying sharing my garden. I hope you and/or your readers will stop by http://www.grammapennysgarden.wordpress.com
    I am really looking forward to watching your new Fairegarden take shape. Welcome back.

    Thank you, Penny and congratulations on your entrance into the Blogdom. I had forgotten how to blog so this post took much longer than it should have. It gets to be easier the more you do it. Good luck!

  8. jean says:

    I missed you and your gardens. They were so peaceful and serene! So glad you are back and now you get to make the world a little bit better by taking a plain piece of land and turning into something magnificent that we can all enjoy! Hugs and blessings! Jean D.

    Thanks Jean for those kind words. I will do what I am able with this little bit of land, as time and budget allow, not to mention physical abilities. HA

    • jean says:

      I understand. We moved to Indiana after 23 years in Ohio and I had to leave most of my lilies, etc behind as the house sold in February and you just can’t find them under all that snow. Been here about 1 1/2 years and it is beginning to look so much more like home. One Day At A Time and your green thumb will make things better. Just be patient with you! LOL

      Good advice, Jean, thanks. I know it will take time to feel satisfied with the whole set up here. I couldn’t find the spring bulbs to dig, moving in August, sadly. But it will be fine. Good luck with your newish garden, too.

  9. Cindy, MCOK says:

    Welcome home, Frances!

    Thanks, Cindy, my friend!

  10. Sharon Parker says:

    So thankful you are alive and well and back to your garden blog! You have been greatly missed! Having moved many times, I know how traumatic that can be-especially as we get older! New challenges can keep us going and I know you will create another “heaven on earth” garden. Seeing Fairegarden on my email has made my day, which had started badly, into a cause for celebration. Here’s to you, Frances, my very best wishes to you and your family! As someone else said, please don’t leave again without a brief word of explanation. You have many friends out here!

    What a sweet and uplifiting comment, Sharon, thank you so much. I am sorry for leaving the Blogdom without explanation, but honestly was not sure what the future would hold and did not want to jinx anything or misspeak. I am a very private person and wanted to wait until I felt comfortable enough to share what was happening in my life.

  11. Whoo hooooooo. Great to see you again. I was wondering what was going on in your life. I see now how busy you have been. I can’t wait to see this garden evolve or maybe it is seeing YOU evolve.

    HA Lisa, good one! Thanks for hanging in there as I got around to blogging again. Evolution is constant, in humans and nature, isn’t it?

  12. Moving is traumatic even when desired. Good to see you here again. I will look forward to all the before and after shots of the new home and garden.

    So very true, Layanee, my friend. It is good to be back.

  13. Looking forward to hearing more about the move. How exciting to have the opportunity to make a new garden!

    Thanks, Marian. It is exciting to finally be living at the new house and being able to sit and imagine what kind of garden wants to be here.

  14. Jane Carroll says:

    Frances,
    Congratulations on your new home. I know the gardens will be lovely and I can’t wait to see how they appear. ;)

    Thanks, Jane. I can’t wait, either.

  15. Valerie says:

    Oh Frances I wondered where you had gone. I missed your posts. So nice that you are alive and well and just moved to a new location. I look forward to hearing about your move and what is in store for your new property. Valerie

    Thanks, Valerie. I am alive and well, if tired and achy sometimes. It has been up and down emotionally this year. I hope to settle down and get to gardening now.

  16. Ginger says:

    Frances,
    So glad to see your post. I, too, had been looking for you. I will look forward to your posts as you establish your new Fairegarden.

    Thanks, Ginger. I appreciate your support!

  17. Rose says:

    So glad to see you back–you have been sorely missed!! Seeing some of your pins on Pinterest, I thought perhaps a new house was in the works. Oh those lucky new owners to have that beautiful garden to enjoy! I can’t imagine leaving such a place behind, but I love your definition of a garden. I’m so looking forward to seeing how Fairegarden evolves in its new location. P.S., I do hope the Bongo family and Athena made the move as well??

    Thank you, dear Rose, for the well wishes. I have been busy on Pinterest, it really helps with the planning and dreaming of what could be. The Bongo family and Athena, along with more concrete than you can imagine did make the move. My husband could not believe how many heavy things were involved in moving the garden to the new location, and we left quite a bit behind. The stuff is piled all over and will get placed as inspiration strikes. HA

  18. meander1 says:

    Wishing you the very best in your new situation. I know we will all benefit from whatever information you share as you mold and shape the new Fairegarden. There have been times during your absence that a gardening question has arisen that I have recalled you posted about and into the search engine I went with the tag words…”fairegarden” and whatever the topic of my question was.
    Ha, I know it will be you doing the hard work but we will all so enjoy your journey. Welcome back!

    Thanks, Michaele and good one on the google search. That is exactly how I look for posts about certain topics, too, or even the names of the plants when writing this post. There is much work to do here. I will have to figure out the least physically taxing way to achieve the desired result. I seem to have aged quite a bit since the last new garden was tackled, even though it was only 14 years. HA indeed.

  19. shepherd767 says:

    So good to have you back! Much success at your new homestead!

    Bruce.

    Thank you, Bruce. It is good to be back.

  20. srmc207 says:

    So glad to see you back – many of us were concerned. I look forward to the ‘becoming Fairegarden’ posts.

    Thanks. I am sorry to have caused any concern, but needed to wait until the dust of my life settled before reporting. I hope to post more often.

  21. Gail says:

    Welcome home my dear.xoxoxoxo

    Thanks, sweetie. xoxoxo back to you.

  22. Alice Woody says:

    Frances, when I saw the e-mail from Faire Garden I was so excited. I’m so glad you are okay and creating a new garden. I hope you are happy in your new home and know you will make a beautiful garden. Thank you for coming back.

    Thank you for the kind words, Alice. I am okay now that the stress level has lowered a little. The new garden is waiting to be created.

  23. Katherine Baker says:

    Hey Frances, I have been wondering where you went. I have been out of touch too, as our youngest got married several weeks ago in Seattle. Congrats on your new digs! Wish I could help you plant more roses like I did at the old house. It will be fun to watch your garden grow. Hugs to all! : ))

    Oh Kathy, how nice to hear from you! Congratulations to the sweet new bride and may all of your family be doing well. I had forgotten how we planted those roses, how funny. You may not know that they turned out to be so vigorous that they tried to eat the house, we nicknamed them Killer! Several posts were even written about it. Alberic Barbier was the name, be forewarned if you ever plant that rose! xoxoxo

  24. Was wondering where you were…I didn’t always comment but was always there reading.
    What an exciting time for you! I look forward to watching your new gardens evolve!

    Thank you for your readership, Karen. Stay tuned for posts as gardening gets going here.

  25. Susan says:

    I was thrilled to find your post in my email today! I have gone to your blog many times hoping there would be a new post. I was worried about you! Hope you enjoy your new adventure.

    Thanks, Susan. That is a good way to keep up with new posts, subscribing, if you can stand one more email in your inbox. I hope to record the progress in a timely fashion.

  26. I look forward to seeing your new gardens. Are you an hour closer to me or an hour further away?? I know how heartbreaking it is to leave a garden you have nurtured for years. Mark the progress of the new garden and don’t look back.
    Welcome back to the blogging world, you have been missed.

    Thanks, Janet. I think I might be an hour closer to you, by car, anyway. I have left many gardens before, but had become quite invested in that last one. It is the longest we had ever lived in one place, 14 years. I hope to get inspiration for the new garden from the old photos and blog posts. I missed you all.

    • Then I hope we get a chance to get together! We were in Seaford for 18 years, hard to believe! The longest prior to that was 6 years for me during high school and 3 1/2 years for Charlie when we were in Germany!

      That would be great, Janet. Your new garden looks like it is the most beautiful spot and you are enjoying it to the fullest.

  27. Alison says:

    Oh Frances, I missed you too! I had no idea what was going on, but definitely noticed the lack of posts. I’m so happy to see you back again. I started over 5 years ago after a move, so I know how scary and thrilling it is. You are going to have so much fun building a new garden. I am excited that we will get to follow along with all the changes.

    Thank you, Alison, for the kind encouragement. Scary and thrilling, yes, and overwhelming. It will be fun and I hope to take advantage of the blog to record it from the beginning. I was 7 years into the last garden when the blogging began, but had always taken photos. It will be easier this time around, I hope.

  28. S says:

    Welcome back!!!!

    Thanks!

  29. Marie Brown says:

    Dear Frances, I am extremely happy that you are here again. Yes, different everything. It will be a thrill to see it evolve from the beginning.
    Marie

    Thank you, Marie, for following along. It is daunting but thrilling at the same time.

  30. Great to discover an email from Fairegarden again in my inbox Frances :) Looking forward to following you on this new part of your garden journey.

    Hi Rosie, thanks for your support. It is a journey, you are so right.

  31. Kathleen says:

    I am excited (and am sure to be inspired) to watch you create a new Fairegarden from the ground up Frances!!! Your last garden was so amazing, I know you will take the best of all you’ve learned and make something even better. Plus there’s Pinterest if your never-ending creativity has a temporary block!!!! Best of Luck in your new home & garden.

    Thanks for the kind words, Kathleen. I appreciate your positive outlook. Pinterest has so many ideas, my brain seems to be wired in a way that scanning all of those photos is calming to me. I see you on there, as well.

  32. Marguerite says:

    Frances!!! OH HAPPY DAY!
    (Snoopy Dance: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0G8XH4WDxP4)
    I knew something was up, every so often would try to Google, and hoped that you were alright and dealing with a positive change in your life and that you would return to share the beauty you create and your insights with us… Thank you for coming back . What you do takes incredible time, focus and effort and we so appreciate it. Change is the one thing we can count on in life, and having negotiated life changes and the care of my family both young and old, these adjustments take up the luxury of the bandwith that one has left to reach out beyond those family borders. Just as we never love the same way twice, I see in my own garden’s two decades that I don’t garden the same as time goes on. Thank you for all you have shared to date and I so look forward to hearing from you again in your new Home. May it bring you and your family joy, health and peace.
    Welcome back indeed,

    What a beautiful and poetic comment, Marguerite, thank you so much! I am so touched by these sweet comments, beyond words. The only constant is change in life.

  33. beth j says:

    It is so good to hear from you and to know we will again be reading your beautiful words and seeing your gorgeous pictures.You were missed but I look forward to every new post and picture as well as following your new garden journey.

    Thank you, Beth, for your supportive words. I hope to photograph and record the new garden from the beginning.

  34. Lynn says:

    Yahoo! Glad to see your post this morning. Even though I am not much of a gardener, I really missed your posts. Looking forward to watching the garden evolve.

    My dear Lynn, how nice to hear from you. I appreciate your commenting! Much love.

  35. Christina says:

    Hi Frances, congratulations to your move! It must be hard for you to leave your beautiful “old” garden, but I always believe change is good! Are you saying that you are now gardening on a more flat patch? Anyway, I am looking forward to following the process of your new garden evolving. I am sure it will be gorgeous. Good luck!
    Christina

    Thank you, Christina, for the good wishes. Yes, this is a smaller and more level piece of land. There is some change in elevation, but plenty of flat, sunny and open space to work with. It was not as hard as I had anticipated to leave the old garden once the house was sold. I knew it would be loved, in a different way, without me.

  36. Add me to the extensive list of readers who are looking forward to your further adventures. I am a couple of years ahead of you (year three in the new garden) and it is still fresh in my mind how discouraging it was to plant a garden bed here and see mostly bare dirt when done. Those beds do fill in but it takes a couple of years. But I find many readers really enjoy those before and after posts, even if there is a lot of bare dirt in the photos.

    Thanks, Kathy. Your own move has been a source of comfort to me, as your new garden grows more beautiful. I love seeing before and afters, too.

  37. commonweeder says:

    So good to see you again. Very interested to see your new gardens take place – especially since we are considering such possibilities ourselves.

    Thank you, Pat. It was hard to move, I loved the old house and garden, but this was the right thing for us and we are glad to have made the decision. There is much work ahead, but we are older and wiser now and will use those tools to make a space that is easier to care for but still wonderful.

  38. Onward, indeed! I’m so glad to see you back! L, H.

    Thanks, Helen. It is good to be back.

  39. Oh, Frances! Best wishes to you in your new garden (with attached house),now on to a new gardening adventure on “level crabgrass”!
    Slopes can be dramatic and fun to landscape but not having to haul everything up and down hill has its own charms. Thanks for telling us what’s been going on.

    Annie

    Thanks for the encouragement, Annie. The slope was beautiful to gaze upon, with all that luscious backlighting, but the bold truth was that it was too much for me to navigate safely anymore. The level crabgass lawn can and will become something delightful with enough time, effort and funds.

  40. vbdb says:

    Something in between your words and photos brought tears to my eyes – I simply can’t imagine leaving so much of my soul somewhere and starting from scratch with a patch of crabgrass. But I hope you know you take all of us with you on your new adventure, Frances. We will no doubt learn a lot as you bring beauty to the new digs.

    You are very astute in your comment. I had moments of sadness while pondering the move, but we have moved many times and have left beautiful gardens behind with each move. The old garden surely did contain my blood, sweat, tears and a part of my soul, but there is more in me to give. Thank you for understanding.

  41. VP says:

    Lovely to see you again Frances :)

    We call that Cornus the wedding cake tree here in the UK. I’d love one in my garden.

    I hope you get settled into your new home quickly – will the new garden have pink muhly grass, or will we see a new ‘signature plant’ emerge from that crabgrass?

    How nice to see you, too, VP. I must change the cake reference straight away! HA Ongoing renovations prevent the speedy settling in, but I soon hope to at least find the box with my shoes in it. The pink muhly most definitely will wave in the breezes here. xoxoxo

  42. Pam/Digging says:

    Frances, I have been thinking of you nearly every day for a week, and missing your voice and annual presence at the Fling for longer than that. And so it was with delight that I saw your FB post pop up in my feed. Congratulations on your move and the beginnings of your new garden. The wedding cake tree is one of my favorites (from afar; it would not care for Texas) and a beauty with which to inaugurate your new place. I look forward to following the journey, which is, as they say, the best part.

    Hi Pam, thank you for those sweet words. I very much miss going to the Flings and seeing all of my friends. Perhaps there will be one closer to home that I can attend one of these years. I do enjoy reading all of the posts about them. The wedding cake tree is not something seen around these parts, either, but I am giving it a try after seeing one at Stockton Bury when Gail and I went to England. Your own move to a new garden that you have created so beautifully is inspiration to me. It can be done!

  43. _emily_rose says:

    It’s wonderful to see you back! I look forward to follow your journey growing into your new space :)

    Happy Gardening!

    Thanks, Emily Rose. It is good to be back and happy gardening to you.

  44. Sue Ellen says:

    So glad to see you posting again. I, too, will look forward to reading about your new garden. Your blog was among one of the first I found when I discovered garden blogs. It opened up to me a world of other people who like to garden as much as I do.

    Thanks, Sue Ellen. Discovering garden blogs was an epiphany for me, as well. Knowing there were others like us meant a great deal and changed my life for the better. I hope you enjoy the posts to come.

  45. What joy to find you back, Frances! I had assumed a rather abrupt new year’s resolution, and have often mourned your presence, your garden and your flock of birds. It is SO good to unexpectedly find you back amongst us! :)

    How sweet of you to say so, Jack. I was definitely back and forth about ever blogging again. I needed a break and life had become very complicated for the last few months. Things are better now and I have a garden to play in. It is good to be back. There are birds and butterflies here, too.

  46. Anna says:

    Oh it’s good to see your post Frances. Wishing you much fun creating your new garden and what a fabulous tree for your first plant purchase of the year.

    Thank you, Anna. I have high expectations for the pretty tree. It was difficult to locate here in the US, and was shipped at the wrong time and had dropped all of its leaves in transit. It was repotted in my own compost and given the best of care and has sprouted new leaves. It will be planted in ground as soon as a bed has been made for it. Soon, I hope!

  47. Carol says:

    Welcome back, Frances. I feel like there was a hole in my garden waiting for just the right plant and then *poof*, the garden fairies filled the hole for me. I look forward to seeing how your level garden grows!

    Thanks, Carol. We gotta love those garden fairies! HA

  48. Kris P says:

    It’s great to find you on-line again! Congratulations on the sale and purchase, which I have no doubt were carefully considered. Echoing comments of some of the other gardeners above, I know how difficult a move like this can be, even when it is thoughtfully planned. You take plants with you but can still be amazed how you miss some of those you left behind. However, It sounds as though you left the old space to people who will appreciate it, even as they make it their own, and that should certainly ease any angst. Best wishes in developing your new space. I look forward to your future posts (and I hope you found your shoes).

    Thank you, Kris, for your kind words. Moving is always traumatic, more so when it is not just a house but a beloved garden that is left behind. The new owners are wonderful and young, may they have many happy years there. The lack of plant material to work with at the new garden, even though so much was brought here, is discouraging. Propagation will be the prime focus this fall. I did find some of my shoes, but am surrounded by boxes of unknown stuff. HA

  49. cheryl says:

    YAY! This post has made my day Frances, welcome back! I’ve been checking in and thought oh dear she’s gone to the other side with FB ;) I’ve missed your colourful photos, the detailed descriptions, everything about you and your Eden. You write not only for yourself but your devoted readers of which I am one. Take your time creating your new garden, I know easier said than done but think of the fun you’ll have. Thank you for returning Frances :)

    Thank you sweet Cheryl for the good thoughts. I did a little facebook and a lot of Pinterest, I admit. HA I had forgotten how to operate wordpress but that can be relearned. The garden in the raw awaits.

  50. Frances, what an absolute delight to see you pop to the top of my list – just where you belong! Good for you for doing a post at this stage of the process. While completely contrary to good design – the method of plant first, dig up and plant somewhere else…. I’m thinking perhaps a bit of bulb-tucking-in in a quiet spot between sips of a good stiff drink would be a good thing. Truly, there’s nothing like a plucky early daff when everything else looks vile – and after all, if your crab-grass is like ours – it doesn’t appear until mid-summer, so at least you’ll have something to look at. The secret to living a long life is to continue doing what you always have done, or maybe it’s having to do it all over again makes you feel very old. Let’s go with that first thought. Looking forward to seeing your new garden. Best wishes and welcome back.
    Barbarapc

    Thanks, Barbara, your comment and the others really lifted my spirits. You are so right about those plucky daffs, I must stick some bulbs in here for that jolt of sunshine in late winter. This move has made me feel old, but the thoughts of a new garden revive me. It is good to be back.

  51. Les says:

    Congratulations! I hope your move has brought you closer to children and grandchildren, but what a thing to leave such a garden. I am also glad you are back “on-line” and that your absence was due to the move, and not something else, something less positive. The mind tends to speculates you know.

    Thanks, Les. You are right about the move bringing me closer to family, one of the many reasons for it. This year has been eventful, good and bad, as are most years. But the move has been accomplished and now it is onward.

  52. Lola says:

    So glad you are back. I have missed you & your lovely pics. The best of luck with your new garden. I can’t wait to see it unfold.

    Thank you, Lola. I look forward to sharing the new garden as it tells me what it wants to be.

  53. bittster says:

    Glad to see you back and congratulations on the new garden (and house). It can be so hard leaving things behind, but you’ll create something new and amazing and I’m looking forward to hearing about it!

    Thanks for those words of encouragement, Bittster. It is good to be back and to get started on making a garden at the new house.

  54. Norine says:

    It was exciting to see the email today – I thought I had unsubscribed or something just as foolish. Best wishes in your new home and in your metaphysical transformation of the new space.

    Thanks, Norine. The garden has already taken on some of my characteristics with the placement of a few pots. Onward.

  55. Welcome back! I missed you, and in fact I visited your blog recently to find out what you were up to because your blog hadn’t shown up in my feed for a while. Congratulations on the move and the new beginnings. I’m sure the transition was/is challenging, but it sounds like you have big plans. I especially enjoyed your description of the garden/gardener at the end. True, true!

    Thanks for checking in, Beth. There were low points where I nearly deleted the blog entirely, but I am glad to be back now. Challenging, yes. Good thing I love a challenge.

  56. Michele says:

    Wow,I had to blink twice to make sure that was really you in my Inbox! Like others, I had been worried but eventually was reassured you were OK. So delighted that you are back and you have my best wishes for continued inspiration, strength and creativity. Since your departure, the husband and I have acquired a new property (acreage and a farmhouse) that eventually will become our ‘retirement’ home. Though my efforts in the garden pale beside yours, I do wonder just how much I will be able to accomplish with a few more years added on to my aging self! We will be changing from zone 7b to 6b, how about you? Welcome back!

    Thanks, Michele. Good luck on your new property, it sounds wonderful! This garden is the same zone as my old, 7a but the soil is awful, hardpan clay where the topsoil had been scraped off and sold when the subdivision was built. We will need to make sure the garden will not only be pleasing but easy to tend as we enter our golden phase.

  57. Much love to you and yours in this new adventure
    K
    xxx

    Thank you, Karen. I appreciate your well wishes. xoxoxo

  58. Dave says:

    Congrats on your new home! I hope you enjoy gardening there as much or more than your previous Faire Garden!

    Thanks, Dave. It is fun to be able to start over on more level ground, so many possibilities.

  59. Welcome Back Frances! I hope the new owners can read this blog of how beautiful your gardens were ( Are) , I can’t wait to hear more from you!
    You have been missed!
    Smiles, Cyndi

    Hi Cyndi, thanks for those sweet smiles. I gave the new owners my blog cards so they could check out the highlights of the garden and its history. I don’t know if they have looked at it, yet, or not. I missed being here and am glad to be back.

  60. My Kids Mom says:

    So happy to see a new post in my blog feed! I’ve held on, hoping you’d be back! Isn’t it great of Mother Nature that she continues to help our plants along even if we have to take a breather?

    Hi Jill, thanks for the support. Mother Nature certainly carries on without us, with her own design intentions. I hope to get some of her design into this new, sterile space.

    • Jane Gladden says:

      I am so glad you will be back. I have missed your beautiful blog this summer and I am looking forward to the creation of your new garden.

      Thanks, Jane. I am glad to be back. The creation will be slow but steady, I hope.

  61. Gittan says:

    Hi Frances my dear friend, it`s so nice to see you again! Life is full of changes and it seems to me that you´re happy about your move and the new house. I´m looking forward to follow you in your new garden and wish you the best! Lots of kramar / Gittan (my blog is on vacation ;) )

    Hi sweet Gittan. It is nice to see you, too! Life is full of changes and I will make the best of these most recent and dramatic ones. Making a new garden is a challenge but lots has been learned over the years. One thing I know, let what will grow here take the lead and don’t waste time on trying to grow things that need coddling. Much kramar back to you, my friend.

  62. Diana Studer says:

    I’ve been dipping in back here, each time your calender came to visit my blog, and wondering if you were OK.
    Wonderful to see you are a few months ahead of us. I’m busy packing my garden (and house stuff) as we are moving to False Bay. Renovation and landscaping still ahead of us.
    I wish you every happiness in your new garden, and home!

    Hi Diana, thanks for visiting. May your move go well and the renovation and landscaping meet your expectations. I am bogged down dealing with workmen, trying to unpack boxes. It is slow going, but that gives more time to hone the vision.
    Frances

  63. Frances, I think about ALL the history of your “old house and gardens!” But you are right. Wherever you are is where your gardens are! :-) So… more hypertufa here? More concrete castings? More reason to create new items?? You will be super-busy with “nesting!” Happy New Home. :-)

    Hi Shady, thanks for stopping by. Every now and then I get a twinge of nostalgia for the beauty of the old gardens, and house, but must look forward. Who knows what projects await, but we do still love concrete.
    Frances

  64. kathy gill-hopple says:

    Hello Frances – I have just discovered your blog, and what a delight to see that you have a cornus controversa to put in the ground! Where did you get it from? I will be interested to hear how it fares in it’s new home. I am a recent transplant to the southeast, Charleston, SC, and have much to learn about the different soil, weather, plants, bugs, weeds and all! perhaps you will show me the way in this new part of the country!

    Kathy

Comments are closed.