Chamaecyparis

Well, once again not on topic. This shot shows the view across the lower slope in April with purple smoke tree in the foreground, cotinus coggygria .

Up first is Chamaecyparis obtusa ‘Well’s Special’. These three are the background element in the center area of our street frontage. They are over six feet tall now and should not get much larger.

Featured in this photo are three C. pisifera ‘Boulevard’.


This close up of ‘Boulevard’ shows the soft blue color and short needle like foliage.

Here are three C. pisifera juniperoides. The one on the far right took some frost damage but is showing new growth, I think it will be all right with a little pruning next spring.


In this close up of juniperoides is the winding stem of Killer, rosa ‘Alberic Barbier’. Look out little chamy.

In the foreground is C. obtusa ‘Crippsii’. It has the fern type leaf as opposed to the needle like foliage of the row of C. pisifera ‘Gold Mops’ behind.


The gold color is highlighted by whitish near the stem. The yellow color stays all year.


The gold mops is yellow in spring, greening up some during the summer and fall into winter.


Same day shot from the other end of the gold mops hedge. Some days they are greener, some days more gold. Note the arborvitae , Thuja occidentalis ‘Emerald’, hedge size in the background.

Renamed silver lace vine, fallopia baldschuanica, formerly polygonum aubertii. This seemed like a good idea to cover the chain link fence. It has been pulled, cut and sprayed but still remains. Note how small the arborvitae hedge is at the time of this photo, 2002. Originally along the back of the garage property was a large overgrown japanese privet hedge, not touched by shears in more that ten years. The solution to the high maintenence of the privet was a row of arborvitae behind and C. pisifera ‘Gold Mops’ in front of the large existing hedge. In time both front and back shrubs would be large enough to provide privacy and the privet could go. That time has now arrived. Goodby privet. In seeking an evergreen shrub suitable for a hedge, the clan of Chamaecyparis was discovered. There have been losses due to drought, but this is a shrub I will keep adding to the garden. For easy care and diversity of growth habit and color they are hard to beat.

Looking for winter interest and ease of care,

Frances

This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Chamaecyparis

  1. tina says:

    Do all of your chaem. get full sun? I have lots of part sun and am trying to grow one. I think it is Gracilis ‘Nana’. Does that sound right. Anyhow, it has been planted two years and is not growing. It is in the most sun I can get it in. Could there be another problem? Yours are beautiful. I never thought of them as hedges. I do use arborvitae though.

  2. Frances says:

    Tina….some are in full sun, some are in partial shade, it does not seem to affect them. A useful site is this wholesale grower, http://www.bluesterling.com/chamaecyparis.htm It has loads of info about specific shrubs even though they are not for sale by home gardeners. Maybe check the root ball for girdling?

  3. Phillip says:

    I love conifers although the selection always seems to be limited in my area. I didn’t know that the silver lace vine had a new name. Thanks for the information. I need to update my website.

  4. Frances says:

    Phillip….One has to search for interesting cultivars, smaller nurseries seem to have a better assortment. Forestfarm is excellent for online. My info on the silver lace vine was from Southern Living Garden book. I don’t know how current their names are either. It’s hard to keep up with the changes.

  5. brokenbeat says:

    frances, it’s amazing to think of the wealth of knowledge you have behind this blog. Even if you did an update everyday, it would still not be ample to tell this blogging world subgroup all that you know. perhaps you should consider writing a book. merry christmas eve eve.

  6. tina says:

    Thank you. I checked out the website and it does have alot of good information. Like Phillip I also didn’t know the silver lace had a new name. Very interesting. I have some silver lace. It is in part shade so it does not take off rampunctiously. It seems it is hard to get rid of. Good luck getting rid of the privet and Merry Christmas!

  7. Frances says:

    brokenbeat…what a nice comment. This blogging thing is a perfect fit for me for now.

    tina…thanks and Merry Christmas to you.

  8. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Hi Frances. I enjoyed seeing all of your shrubs. I have a “mops” that is in a lot of shade. I hope it gets some of that golden color this spring as it gets more sun during winter with all around it being leafless.

    I had one of those Silver Lace vines once. I just loved the way it took off and covered an area I wanted covered. However I was at the local park one day and saw it growing “wild” along a fence line. I knew right then it would probably be declared an invasive in the near future. I went home and chopped it and sprayed it with roundup. I got rid of it from my garden. There are just too many natives that aren’t so aggressive that I would rather encourage here.
    I am certainly not a purist one way or the other but I don’t like the idea of this vine taking over like it did on your fence. Too bad it is such a pretty thug.

  9. Frances says:

    lisa…thanks. The silver lace vine has become one with the honeysuckle, wild grapes, volunteer morning glories and who knows what else growing on the fence behind the arborvitae hedge. It is out of my control other than severe pruning.

  10. Francis says:

    My chamaecyparis tree in my garden, i noticed that some worms has ate the tree leaves slowing, i try to remove the worm but it just keep on growing back to the trunk of the chamaecyparis! what kind of cures or chemicals can kill those harmful worms, please suggest me how am i going to proceed with it? i wants to keep my tree green & healthy! please email me for any suggestions! thanks!

    Hi Francis, I don’t use chemicals here, we are a certified Wildlife Habitat. I would keep spraying your tree with a strong jet from the water hose. I have done that before on other shrubs with good results. Twice a day. Good luck!
    Frances

Comments are closed.