Anniversary – One Month

Today , January 7, is the one month anniversary for Faire Garden, the blog. It seems like a good time to reveal a little about myself. Here is a photo taken this past September of my youngest grandson getting a watering with the hose lesson from his GG. Those are the usual gardening clothes, shoes and gloves for that time of year. When it is colder out, the outfit is boots, waterproof pants with long johns, a turtleneck, flannel shirt, hooded sweatshirt, waterproof jacket, knit hat and always gloves. There will be no photos taken of this attire. It doesn’t matter how these outfits appear to neighbors or passersby. The goal is no insect bites, scratches from thorns, as little mud grinding its way into skin as possible, and no poison ivy. Oh and don’t forget too much sun exposure, that is a no no also. These are no nonsense outfits. In the past gardening has been done in everything from bikinis and bare feet to stylish matching floral hats and jumpers. Those days are long gone. Every article of clothing has a purpose, and attractiveness or lack thereof is not involved in the decision of what to wear any given day. It might be raining, cold, hot, windy or perfect, but protection from some danger is always necessary.
What is your favorite gardening attire?

Honestly,

Frances

This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Anniversary – One Month

  1. Pam/Digging says:

    Well, I have never gardened in a bikini, Frances, so you’ve beat me there. I often do garden barefoot, with the resulting pedicure-desperate feet. I go for practical rather than stylish apparel too: T-shirt, rolled-up pants, garden clogs, and straw sun hat. Looking good is not even a consideration when a hot day of garden digging or clean-up is planned.

    Thanks for showing us a teasing look at you, Frances. I’m not sure I’d recognize you on the street, but perhaps that’s what you had in mind. 😉 You have a cute grandson too.

  2. Pam/Digging says:

    Oh, and thanks for putting the Spring Fling badge up at Faire Garden!

  3. Frances says:

    Pam…you are very welcome for the Spring Fling badge. I hope to be able to attend and meet all the nice people whose blogs I enjoy so much. Yes, we do think this one and all our grandsons are very adorable.

  4. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Great picture of you and the grandson.

    I must say I don’t have any special attire for working in the garden other than a hat. I don’t like my face to get much sun. I am allergic to too much sun. Maybe allergic is too strong of a word but I am super sensitive lets say. Isn’t that a kick in the pants?? I am usually well covered if I have to be in the sun.

    Congrats on your first month anniversary. I have truly enjoyed your blog and look forward to more.

  5. Frances says:

    lisa…What a nice thing to say. Thank you so much. In the summer I try to wear a hat or large visor also. Sunscreen is on everyday no matter the weather

  6. semi says:

    Our little helper. That is so sweet. He was helping me tonight clean up some of the front garden. Tubetope and soccer shorts are still my favs and a hat when the sun gets too hot. I know I still have growing up to do. At least sun screen is in part of the regimen now. love semi

  7. Frances says:

    semi…sunscreen and a hat, never garden without them!

  8. brokenbeat says:

    sleeveless flannel shirt, khaki carhart suspenders, straw hat with a hole in the head, and weed-pulling boots. that’s in the summer time. in the winter it’s long johns underneath the best ever pair of forest green coveralls, leather cowboy hat with a protective shower cap cover, and black galashes. contrary to what many have said, i garden in style. ha.

  9. Frances says:

    brokenbeat…oh, you must be that little cowboy….explain please the reason for the shower cap on the leather cowboy hat?Love.

  10. brokenbeat says:

    so it doesn’t get ruined in inclement weather.

  11. Frances says:

    brokenbeat…ah, of course. Still waiting for elaboration on the wisteria bark belt however.

  12. chickenpoet says:

    I usually garden in my pajamas, whether it be Pops old boxers and white t-shirt in the summer;or Grammys old sweats with a long john shirt under some old racing or boys baseball team shirt. No reason, that is just what I always wear when I am home. I have gardened in a bikini on occasion when weeding wasn’t in the plan, but noticed, and had to be done.

  13. Frances says:

    chickenpoet…comfort sounds like a priority for you. We need to be able to bend and twist don’t we?

  14. Carol says:

    Green t-shirts, jeans, garden clogs, lots of sunscreen, and a hat for me. Those are the basics. Gloves for certain activities. And I always have my holster clipped to my pocket to hold my Felco pruners.

    I look like a gardening geek out in the garden, but then that’s what I am!

    Carol, May Dreams Gardens

  15. Frances says:

    Carol…Being a gardening geek is the highest calling, IMO. Thanks for commenting.

  16. Pingback: Ten Ways Cold Climate Gardeners Treat Cabin Fever — Cold Climate Gardening

Comments are closed.