Chiltern Seeds Order-third try

The seed order from Chiltern Seeds, http://www.chilternseeds.co.uk/ has been shipped. Hooray!

Abies ‘Koreana”

Look at those cones! Even though this is a large tree at maturity, it will be fun to see if we can get germination. If so maybe some bonsai work will be tried. These may be gifts to the offspring to bring these babies to maturity, a solemn task, offspring.

Bromus rubens

Why was this on the order? The coffee had not kicked in yet when the selections were made, perhaps? The description suggested red fox tails waving in the breeze, let’s hope for that in reality.

Dierama ‘galpinii’

Recently the book “Down to Earth with Helen Dillon” was purchased and read, very enjoyable it was too. She had a chapter on dieramas, the angel’s fishing rod. She spoke of the difficulty of growing these. Being a taurus, that was the red flag being waved in my face, I must try and succeed to grow dieramas. This cultivar was described as being more upright, a trait appreciated here.

Helleborus ‘blacks/purples/slates

Hellebores have done well on the hill here, with lots of seedlings available to move to deserving spots. These black/purple/slate ones will blend well with the lighter siblings already thriving in Faire Garden.

Sorghum vulgare

The post titled “Brooms” on 1-7-08 explained that this is the plant from which to make brooms. That is our goal with this one.Chaenomeles species and cultivars mixed

The coral colored quince is an early bloomer here and continues until June with loads of flowers. It is hoped that this mixture will supply some of the other shades of this beauty.

Twice before this story has been posted with disastrous spacing problems. The insertion of text and photo credits is partly to blame. The non Faire Garden pix are as follows: Abies and Helleborus-Wikipedia Commons, Dierama-Daniel Mosquin ubcbotanicalgarden.org, Bromus-tncweeds:ucdavis.edu/esadocs/.

Ready to start planting,

Frances

This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Chiltern Seeds Order-third try

  1. Entangled says:

    I love the Chiltern Seeds catalog! My trouble with it is that I can’t stop reading it long enough to place an order. 😉

    I’ll have to check out the Hellebore section – I didn’t realize they had them by color.

  2. Frances says:

    entangled…Isn’t that exciting to be able to get those dark hellebores without paying exorbitant prices? Let’s hope we get some germination!

  3. chickenpoet says:

    I love the flowering quice. I hope your seed starting adventures have a happy ending. Much love.

  4. Frances says:

    chickenpoet…a piece of the quice now in the garden will be dug for you. It came from Mae and Mickey as a pot of six inch sticks, they grow quickly. We shall see what comes of the seeds, all of them.

  5. jodi says:

    I love quince too! I have two different ones, a salmon and a deeper red; they aren’t huge yet and though they flower, they have yet to set fruit. But I’m a patient gardener…
    …except with hellebores. Well, I HAVE been patient, but I haven’t given them what they’ve wanted in the past. It’s partly the climate; last year, I had buds and blooms starting in January, then we got a humungous dump of snow that stayed on them for several months, then it was a cold wet spring. They just got disgusted and gave up. This was about the third year I’d tried…but I’m stubborn and put ONE MORE PLANT in, in a different spot, with better drainage and a bit more sun in spring (under a Hamamelis ‘Diane’) and when I saw it last week, it was looking fine. Now buried in snow again, so we’ll see what happens next!
    You have great choices in seeds. I’m going to buy a tree of Abies koreana this year, though, because I’m not THAT patient.

  6. Frances says:

    jodi…HA! Patience is a relative thing, don’t you think? Good luck with the hellebore, So much snow with buds on doesn’t sound promising. What would happen if you removed the snow, if that is even possible? We are very fortunate with our climate.

  7. Mr. McGregor's Daughter says:

    I’m afraid to try Hellebore seeds. I’ve always read that they are difficult to germinate. Hey, who am I kidding – I need more Hellebores like I need more Dandelions. You might want to grow those Hellebores on in pots until after they’ve bloomed once. The seed strains don’t always come true. I ordered 3 Pink Ladys & planted them together. 2 are pink, but 1 is a very dark purple. Good luck with your seeds!

  8. Aud says:

    Hello Mrs. Garrison…it’s me, Audria. I love your gardens. wish i could have gardens as extensive as yours in Minnesota, but our climate doesn’t permit it. Keep on posting cause I’m enjoying the pics. if you have any ideas for a minnesota climate I’d be much obliged.

  9. Frances says:

    MMD…Talk about luck, getting a dark purple out of the pinks. All hellebores are welcome though and these seeds will go in the ground, well maybe three or four in a pot, in the general hellebore hatching ground, well marked of course. Thanks.

  10. Frances says:

    aud…hello there audria, I know the perfect site for you to find out about MN gardening…Renegade Gardener. Fine writing, good info and funny. His link is on my sidebar, just click on it, or any of the others. Lots of good sites and info and pretty pictures on them all. Welcome.

  11. Marvin says:

    Anticipation reigns supreme.

  12. Frances says:

    marvin…exactly.

  13. brokenbeat says:

    i had planned to begin seed starting today, but due to accumulating snow showers that fell through the night, i have dedicated the day to sledding, building punk rock snowmen, slide-tackling tall weeds, and drinking lots of coffee. i do have my aforementioned supplies, including the wisteria bark belt, sitting out. perhaps i’ll start tomorrow. good luck to all seed starters.

  14. Frances says:

    brokenbeat…snow, coffee and the wisteria bark belt returns! Hooray!

  15. Diana says:

    I love the picture of your quince — i have never had one, yet they are one of my very favorite plants — here in Austin, one of the first two harbingers of Spring, along with primrose jasmine — particularly in Central Austin in older, more protected neighborhoods. I plan to find one in the perfect color this year and plant it!

  16. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Well Mz Taurus all of your choices are great but those cones are to die for. Gee you did choose some tough to start beauties. I can’t wait to see what develops. YOu are much braver than I.

  17. Frances says:

    Diana…welcome. Hope you can find that perfect quince, they really are all perfect. Can’t wait to see what colors the seeds will turn out to be.

    Lisa…I have been researching the abies for hints on germination. Looks like they will need the cold treatment. As Chilterns says, you’ll never get the seeds to grow while they are in the packets. You gotta love that attitude, why not give them a try? We might even get a tree!

  18. chuck b. says:

    I germinated Dierama pulchirrimum (sp?–I am still in the first-cup-of-coffee stage of the morning) seeds without any trouble. It will be interesting to see if that plant grows well where you are. The flowers are beautiful, but the base of limp, strappy foliage is a real drawback, imo. While it is not common here, you do see it often enough in California. Some years the flowers are amazing, and other years you wonder why you bother.

    Good luck!

    In general, how long does it take an order from Chiltern to arrive in the mail?

  19. Frances says:

    chuck b…thanks, I think luck will be needed for some of these oddballs. This cultivar of dierama was chosen because it was supposed to be less floppy. Chiltern notified me on Jan. 15, that the originally ordered hellebore, ‘best blacks’, should have been ‘black,purple,slate’, so they are sending me two packets instead, was that allright? yes to that, they said they would be shipping as soon as they heard from me, so assume the shipment went out Jan 15. I will update when the seeds arrive.

  20. Frances says:

    To all interested parties…the Chiltern seed order arrived today, all seeds included. It was sent out no earlier than January 15, today is January 23. That is faster than many US seed companies. Kudos to Chiltern Seeds.

    Frances

Comments are closed.