Fleeting Snow

The white stuff started falling at daybreak. Like Dave at The Home Garden we only get the occasional snow here in southeast Tennessee and it rarely amounts to much. In fact, this didn’t amount to much, but it was over an inch. It is gone now, however it is still cold, in the twenties, and windy. But the sun is shining.
Frances
This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Fleeting Snow

  1. Gail says:

    Frances,

    It was fleeting wasn’t it…but beautiful for a bit of time.

    I think a blanket of snow would make parts of my garden shine in the winter, it would cover up all the brown! I see that you have nice winter interest in your garden.

    Gail

  2. Frances, says:

    Gail…Thanks. The snow really made the garden look romantic, too bad it was so cold.

  3. Carol says:

    Hi Frances, we got some snow, too, maybe a little more than you. But fortunately, the sun melted most of it away. I still hope to plant my peas in another week or so!

    Carol, May Dreams Gardens

  4. Nancy J. Bond says:

    Speaking as one who has seen enough ice and snow to last several winters, I think “fleeting snow” is the best kind. 🙂

  5. Blackswamp_Girl says:

    Your garden has wonderful “bones”… I like that the snow shows them off in your picture. 🙂

  6. Dave says:

    Yep fleeting is the word of the day. It was mostly gone before lunch time. At least we got outside early and sledded down the hill in the backyard. The little girl loved it! Time to move on and look forward to spring. That’s probably our last one of the year. Thanks for the link Frances! 🙂

  7. Frances, says:

    Carol, glad your snow was fleeting also. It seems some areas got hit really hard. Yummy peas.

    Nancy J., I’m with you. We have blooming flowers, snow can’t be helpful to them.

    Blackswamp, thanks. The snow was gorgeous, but not sorry to see it melt.

    Dave, that is a good thought, the last wintery blast of the season, let’s hold on to that thought.

  8. Robin's Nesting Place says:

    Your snow covered garden is beautiful!

    That is the kind of snow I like best too… FLEETING. Ours is melting and the temps are warming up yippee!

  9. jodi says:

    This photo is a perfect example of what a garden looks like in ‘winter interest’. Even though covered in snow, it’s glorious. And you can take comfort in the fact that it won’t last that long….:-)

  10. jodi says:

    Oh, and I forgot to add…Blogger must have eaten your other comment about being stung by a bee. I’m sorry about that; I’d dearly love to know what the problem is at Blogger, other than I think they’re trying to be too many things. May have to migrate to WordPress if that continues, although sometimes I think it’s Firefox problem with me and Blogger, as I don’t get nearly the errors in Safari. Go figure!

  11. Frances, says:

    Robin’s, Good for you having some snow of the fleeting sort. yippee back at ya.

    Jodi, the snow is nice ‘jewelry’ for the garden, it even makes weeds look good. Thanks for the kind compliment. I will try and remember what I wrote, but darn it was so clever, I’ll never remember it. After reading and commenting at your site, I went to Annie’s and thought to copy the comment before hitting the post button, so even having to do it several times, it wasn’t lost. I would have given up without that, and do sometimes.

Comments are closed.