Blooms of March GBBD 2008

Welcome to the big show! This time, for your viewing pleasure, we present March, so full of spring flowers that there will be an intermission for powdering noses, having a beverage, or just stretching your legs. So without further adeiu, and with a great big thank you to
Carol at Maydreams for sponsoring our event, let’s begin.
Above, helleborus orientalis ‘Blue Lady’, newly purchased.
Our only garden shot of this month’s photos, the rest will be macro for proper viewing, a display of hellebores and our early no name daffodils, great garden companions for late winter pizzazz.
The earliest blooming named daff, Jetfire.

Crocus


Crocus ‘Pickwick’

A newcomer, fritillaria raddeana.

veronica ‘Georgia Blue’

Flowering quince , chaenomeles

The first time ever, a decent shot of the rosemary, blooming since December, but so difficult to capture that blue.

We have now come to the intermission. Go and attend to whatever needs doing, or hang around for the orchid section. These are repeats of previous bloom days displays, but they are still blooming so this will be their final showing. Maybe. Above, two vandas hanging from the bromeliad trellis.


Paphiopedilum ‘Onyx Fancy Cherry’
A second bud on this fellow was spotted today, yippee!


Paphiopedilum ‘Oriental Mystique’, just showing signs of fading from its prime beauty.

And now to the feature, the viola beauty pageant. These are really the preliminaries, the real contest is held in May, with the self sown contestants vying for the crown of prettiest flower. We will begin with the lifetime achievement award going to the wild violet, whose genetic material makes possible the loveliness to follow. Well done, Ms. Violet, and thank you for your contribution to our delight.

We will be referring to the contestants by their Faire Garden monikers. Above, in the blue category, is Ariel.


Gwendolyn

Margaret


Aisha

Penelope, leading off the pink category.


Maureen
Going to the yellows, we have Rita.


And for you purists, the palest yellow pansy, Charlotte.
Please feel free to place your votes for the flower you consider worthy of the title, ‘Fairest of the Faire’.
Thank you for your participation.
Frances
This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

82 Responses to Blooms of March GBBD 2008

  1. Frances, says:

    To all visitors; we posted this a day early since we will be away on the fifteenth. Hope no one is inconvenienced, we are, after all, ‘sooners’. ;->
    Frances

  2. lintys says:

    Frances, such lovliness is never inconvenient! I’m afraid I just can’t choose the Fairest of the Faire because they’re all so beautiful.

  3. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Your garden is so far ahead of our our garden Frances. Seeing yours give me hope for our garden blooms. All of those pansies are darling. I do wish Margaret would come visit my garden…and stay.

    Have fun this weekend.

  4. Melanie says:

    Frances, my vote goes for Margaret, the fairest of the Faire.

    I hope to get out in an hour or two to see if there’s anything here to photograph but I know my garden is at least two weeks behind yours in bloom season.

  5. Blackswamp_Girl says:

    Wow! Lovely, lovely pictures, Frances. It does me good to see spring somewhere!

    As far as the pageant, I vote for Ms. Ariel. It’s hard to carry off reds and blues together in the same outfit, and she does it without looking like a bad modern painting. Bravo! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Frances, says:

    Linda, thanks for visiting. Like you I cannot pick just one, so we will let the judges decide the winner.

    Lisa, hope is the thing with feathers….and Margaret thanks you.

    Melanie, two weeks behind isn’t too bad. Some seems to be living on another planet with all that snow still around,and another vote for the faire Margaret. Thanks.

    Black Swamp Girl, it is feeling spring like here in TN, but we know there will be more cold snaps. Ariel, the discerning judges choice, thanks you.

  7. gintoino says:

    For a minute there, I thought I was late with my GBBD post ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Such beautiful blooms, Frances! But my vote has to go to Paphiopedilum ‘Oriental Mystique’.

  8. gintoino says:

    upss, forgot to vote for the ‘Fairest of the Faire’ contest. That has to be Penelope

  9. Crafty Gardener says:

    Gorgeous blooms for March. I’m envious, jealous, and all those words, but I know my turn for blooms will come soon.

  10. Dave says:

    Quite a collection of bloomers already! Most of our things are just short of blooming. I’m still waiting on the daffodils to bloom! The Heather is still blooming in our yard. The Bradford pears are about to break (the blooms that is, not the tree).

  11. Gail says:

    Everyone was up early today…Frances the blooms are lovely and you are very fun to read. I would vote for Charlotte.
    Gail

  12. Dee/reddirtramblings says:

    Frances, oh my . . . your hellebores are so much bigger than mine. You must have a better nursery. I love looking at your garden because we live in the same zone, although you have some mountains to keep yours cooler. Girl, thanks for the beauty.~~Dee

  13. Frances, says:

    gintonio, Oriental Mystique thanks you for being considered, but Penelope will be the recorded vote.

    Crafty, your time is coming, we have lulls between the spring stuff and the daylilies that are kind of sad, you will probably be in full swing then.

    Dave, you need some of these super early daffs, all the ones that we bought have not opened yet except little Jet Fire.

    Gail, we are an early bunch. I was wondering who would be drawn to the purity of Charlotte.

    Dee, thanks. My hellebores are probably just older than yours and seed grown in the same soil they are growing in. I think that makes a difference from store bought nursery raised things.

  14. brokenbeat says:

    ariel, for sure.

  15. lynndelou says:

    The wild violet is my favorite.

  16. Mr. McGregor's Daughter says:

    Gorgeous! After seeing your photo, I’m convinced one of my ‘Pink Lady’ Hellebores is really a ‘Blue Lady.’ My Violet pick is a tie between Gwendolyn & Margaret.

  17. kjohnson says:

    I agree with Melanie is spectacular. I am going out to see if I have any surprises in the garden. We are weeks behind you.

  18. Frances, says:

    brokenbeat, an apt choice for your love of all things dark.

    lynndylou, an apt choice for your love of all things wild ;->

    MMD, at the nursery there was one called red lady that was very similar, but blue lady was darker, what I was looking for in case the seeds don’t work out. Your votes will count for both, thanks for picking.

    kjohnson,http://gardenhistorian.blogspot.com/ welcome and thanks. I LOVE your blog. Check it out folks!

  19. Robin's Nesting Place says:

    You have so much blooming right now!

    It is difficult to choose a favorite, but I guess it’s Margaret for me.

  20. Frances, says:

    Robin’s Nesting Place, thanks from Margaret and me.

  21. Phillip says:

    An awesome show!

  22. shirl says:

    Hi there Frances ๐Ÿ™‚

    Yep, I agree with everyone – what a lovely show of colour!

    Mm… favourites? Well, your new hellebore would be one – lovely deep colour. Next favourite would be Pickwick and pal – I’m really liking the crocus this year ๐Ÿ˜€

  23. Frances, says:

    Phillip, thanks!

    Shirl, thanks, I bought two of those hellebores, something I never thought would happen when we have so many seedlings here, hundreds easily. But none are that dark color. We hope to get seedlings from it that are the same. They are planted apart from the rest, if that makes a difference. We need to plant more crocus and some snowdrops this fall.

  24. Nan Ondra says:

    With the increasing popularity of Bloom Day, I think it’s a help to have a few early posts, so we can get a head start on making the rounds. Your fritillaria is awesome, Frances! And I’m with MMD on Fairest of the Faire: I’m most drawn to Margaret, but I have sentimental reasons for picking Gwendolyn, so I must split my vote.

  25. rusty in miami says:

    Frances I like all your violas, but my favorite is Rita. The two viola plants that I have in my garden are dying from the heat, this is the first year I had any and I am hook.

  26. Gardener of La Mancha says:

    My vote goes to Margaret.

  27. jodi says:

    Oh, these are just blissful–what a glorious feast for the eyes. I’m going to the orchid show in Wolfville today, so we’ll see if I resist temptation…

    and for the pansy? Margaret, of course. My maternal grandmother was Margaret, and she was one of the people who seeded the love of gardening into me, especially of violas, lupins and poppies.

    Have fun on Saturday–whoops, that would be today–whereever you’re going to be.

  28. Pam/Digging says:

    More lovely hellebores! It seems everyone has them this Bloom Day. Except the Austinites, because they don’t grow here (watch Annie prove me wrong!).

    Your macro pics are all so lovely. I couldn’t even pick a favorite.

  29. Frances, says:

    Nan, thanks. The frittilaria will be shown again when the three bulbs are in bloom. This was a last minute purchase and the ones I wanted were sold out so these looked good. Margaret and Gwen thank you as well.

    Rusty, thanks. A first pick of Rita, who is quite lovely. Violas are probably a winter flower for you, even here they are gone by June for the most part due to heat. We wouldn’t be without them, planting in fall, October usually.

    Gardener of La Mancha, Margaret, it is.

  30. Frances, says:

    Jodi, thanks. I wonder how many people are picking their fave because of the names? Your book, “The Atlantic Gardener’s Greenbook”, the prize from your drawing of the bloggers who wrote about their geography lesson arrived yesterday and is just beautiful, thanks so much.

  31. Frances, says:

    Pam, thanks. I went macro for this, most people seem to like those types of photos for bloom day. I will show more garden photos on other posts. I had the hellebore big mama in Houston, but it was new and small so didn’t really do anything. It was in a very shady spot with good water from the in ground sprinkler we had. Maybe Annie will have one.;->

  32. Carolyn gail says:

    Thanks for inviting us to your lovely March show, Frances ! Can’t imagine anything more lovely than Spring in Tennessee.

  33. Carol says:

    Frances, I kept waiting at intermission for you to come out with drinks & popcorn!

    My vote is for Penelope. I just like how she presents herself.

    Very pretty blooms, nicely presented.

    Thanks for joining the fun of bloom day again!

    Carol, May Dreams Gardens

  34. semi says:

    They all are so beutiful it was hard to choose but if i must it will be sweet Penelope love semi

  35. Anonymous says:

    MAUREEN FOR SURE!! (Hint, Hint).

    But I want to split my vote as well. I want to go with lynndelou and her choice of the Wild Violet. They have a sentimental beauty that is uncomparable to beauty seen by the naked eye. But this is a beauty pageant, so techically I go with Maureen. On a grander scale, the Wild Violet: chalk a point up for each.

    Much Love, CP

  36. Jean says:

    Also a tie between Margaret and Gwendolyn for wearing almost the same dress, but I would have voted for a viola in a black/purple dress if there’d been one, my favorite. All are beautiful.

  37. Bonnie says:

    Good lord, you certainly started with the dramatic. That Blue Lady just takes my breath away. Great pictures and it looks like a garden full of blooms.

  38. chuck b. says:

    Enchanting violas.

  39. Layanee says:

    I vote for the hellebores! Both shots are lovely! So much in bloom in your garden while I wait, somewhat impatiently, for more! Thanks for the tour!

  40. Weed Whackin' Adventures says:

    Lovely GBBD post. My vote would be for Margaret.

  41. Marie says:

    What a wonderful post ๐Ÿ™‚

  42. Marie says:

    Amazing photos!

  43. Annie in Austin says:

    Someone may be growing hellebores in Austin but it’s not me, Pam – it’s a winner in Frances’ Faire Garden. And congratulations on catching the elusive blue of the rosemary.

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

  44. Frances, says:

    Carolyn Gail, thanks. It is starting to look rather nice here, but wait until next month! (I hope)

    Carol, it was imaginary popcorn, did you miss it? Your vote has been counted, and Penelope thanks you.

    semi, thanks. Penelope is surging to the fore.

  45. Frances, says:

    Chickenpoet, thanks. Tie vote only get one half a point, that’s only faire;-> Maureen and Wild One thank you. BTW Maureen and Penelope are now for sale at Dixie Lee in Knoxville, I saw yesterday!

    Jean,Welcome, I think the real pageant in May will have the dark viola, we have had them in the past. Your votes have been counted, thanks for voting.

    Bonnie, Blue Lady is very photogenic, and thanks.

  46. Frances, says:

    chuck b., thanks. Hope you are better.

    layanee, thanks, your time is coming and I can’t wait to see your garden!

    WWA, Welcome, thanks for visiting, and Margaret sends her regards.

  47. Frances, says:

    Marie, thanks for stopping by.

    Annie, sorry to hear you have no hellebores, or is that just none blooming? Thanks for remarking abour the rosemary, many a shot has been taken trying to capture that blue.

  48. Green thumb says:

    Well, it was big all right, but there were no powdery noses, just BEWILDERED eyes at a show so wonderful.
    My vote goes to Penelope, although it feels unfair to single out one in such a perfect display.

  49. Frances, says:

    Green Thumb, glad to see you! Don’t worry about hurting the flowers’ feelings, all are well loved here, picked or not. Penelope does appreciate your vote, however.

  50. Christopher C. NC says:

    Don’t take my word on it, but from the John Scheepers catalog I would guess your unknown Daff to be a Trumpet Daffodil. 1st choice ‘Honeybird’, the trumpet needs to mature white, yet hold the yellow on the rim. 2nd choice ‘Spellbinder’, the whole trumpet matures to a creamy white.

    I vote for Margaret. She reminds me of my tropical Butterfly Pea.

  51. Frances, says:

    Christopher C., thanks for helping. There is a pronounced trumpet, but no fading to white. Also there is no backswing on the outer petals, but they are kind of twisty. The most identifiable part of this daff is its time of bloom, nearly a month ahead of all the named types we have here. And it is a little smaller in leaf size and flower size. Margaret thanks you and your butterfly pea must be lovely. Thanks again.

  52. Wurzerl says:

    What a wonderful post. I see it now for the third time, and I’ m so fascinated again and again.
    Violas are great plants, a prefer the little one because they mostly come back in the next year. I love the cat faces!
    Your newcomer Fritillaria raddeana need a lot of dung to bloom next year again, you know?
    Have a great day Wurzerl

  53. bestdank says:

    WOW incredible pictures. The blooms are so beautiful. I love the paph.’s simply perfect.

  54. Katarina i Kullavik says:

    Fairest of the Faire: it’s impossible to choose between so many beauties, I will pick three – the Pansy Margaret, the frittillaria raddeana and the hellebore Blue Lady.

    Honestly, I’ve been sitting here sighing and wishing I had a fraction of your lovley plants. Thanks for sharing!
    /Katarina (Roses and stuff)

  55. Frances, says:

    Wurzerl, thanks for the repeat looks and thanks for the tip about the fritt, you must have grown it?

    bestdank, thanks and welcome. You have beautiful orchids.

    Katarina,the flowers and I thank you for your picks and for visiting!

  56. Meems says:

    Frances, All your blooms are presenting themselves in fine array and so fun to look at for this Florida gardener… much deprived of hellebores. We could plant pansies but they would suffer so quickly from heat and then I would suffer from disappointment.

    Ariel gets my hands-down vote for Fairest of the Faire.She presents herself so well in the deep richness of colors from top to bottom. Yes, she definitely deserves the crown.
    Hope you are having a great weekend!
    Meems @HoeandShovel

  57. Frances, says:

    Meems, thanks so much for stopping by, and Ariel sends her best. I have been away off and on and am feeling a little under the weather, not up to commenting on all the bloom day posts. There were so many of them, how wonderful. I will get to them eventually.

  58. Rurality says:

    Can I just say that I love them all? Don’t want to hurt anyone’s feelings, LOL. ๐Ÿ™‚

  59. Mad Man Bamboo says:

    Frances,

    The Crocus “Pickwick” is beautiful!

    Sean

  60. Kylee says:

    Ooooh, Frances, such beautiful blooms! Those pansies…….ahhh! And you’ve got me excited about ‘Jetfire’ because it should be making its debut in my garden this year. I hope mine is as beautiful as yours is!

  61. Sherry at the Zoo says:

    Ok. Let me wipe the drool off my mouth and laptop.

    Beautiful shots. Just gorgeous!

  62. Frances, says:

    rurality, thanks, you can say whatever you want, within reason of course ;->

    madmanbamboo, thanks, pickwick is even prettier in person.

    kylee, thanks, jetfire is really early here, after our unknown inherited one and very sweet with the swept back wings and orangey trumpet. Yours will be lovely.

  63. Salix Tree says:

    I like Rita, because she is yellow, and I adore yellow violas. Actually I think a lot of them are quite pretty. Margaret has a wonderful expression on her face. Penelope has a subtle beauty. And Charlotte is a delicious shade of vanilla. But my vote goes to Rita for her cheerful whiskery face.

  64. Kerri says:

    A very creative and fun post Frances ๐Ÿ™‚ Your blooms are all gorgeous, but I have a special affection for the Hellebores, looking wonderful with the daffs!
    My vote goes to Penelope…so demure and unassuming, but Margaret is certainly a close second (rather flamboyant, isn’t she?). I think they should all get prizes, as all are very charming.

  65. Frances, says:

    salixtree, thanks for a thoughtful analysis, Rita thanks you also.

    kerri, thanks. I love the hellebores, as much for their time of bloom as for their beauty. Penelope is popular and we will do a final vote count after the comments cease, no hurry, is there? ;->

  66. kate says:

    I vote for Gwendolyn and Charlotte although I like the wild violet the best. Your Hellebores are gorgeous as are the Orchids. What a treat to see all that you have in bloom.

  67. Frances, says:

    Kate, thanks. Your votes have been added.

  68. Di DeCaire says:

    Your blog is keeping me going because in Upstate NY we still have snow cover and more to come. The coldest March I can remember.

  69. Frances, says:

    Di DeCaire, thanks and glad to help. Your time is coming, and we’ll be inside because it will be too hot to garden later on.

  70. Catherine says:

    Wow!! You’re March blooms are spectacular!! I love the shot of the Daffodil(daff,Jetfire) with the light coming through the petals~fantastic capture!! And the Frittillaria raddeana~WoW!!
    Great shot of the Rosemary!!
    And for the viola beauty pagent~a hard choice ~they are all gorgeous! But I choose Margaret ~a gorgeous blue & white~and blue is my favorite color!! ๐Ÿ˜€
    Lovely post!
    Cat

  71. Cabs says:

    This is an incredible posts….definitely one to “pick!” I love the picture of the hellebores and together! I have never thought to combine them and will do so now for sure. And the lady slipper. Ah…..lovely!
    Thx for sharing!
    Stop by sometime,
    Carol
    terranovadesign.blogspotr.com

  72. Sarah Laurence Blog says:

    Lovely flowers! Thanks for sharing.

  73. Yolanda Elizabet says:

    Such a lovely and colourful contribution to GBBD. Love your new hellebore Blue Lady, she is gorgeous!

    You are right it is difficult to get a decent pic of the rosemary flowers. Mine has been blooming since December too.

    Very pretty orchids, they do brighten up a room, don’t they?

    I love all your violets equally, small wonder as Yolanda means violet too. You can never have too many violets in the garden! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  74. Frances, says:

    Catherine, welcome and thanks for visiting. The flowers all thank you for the compliments, but especially Margaret!

    cabs, thanks for stopping by and I will definitely visit you, just did as a matter of fact, great blogging!

    Sarah laurence, welcome and thanks!

    YE, thanks and if you had said your name meant violet, I had forgotten;-> I have always thought your name was lovely, now doubly so with the flower meaning!

  75. Entangled says:

    Can I vote for 2 for Fairest of the Faire? I can’t decide between Margaret and Maureen.

    Love the dark hellebore too!

  76. Frances, says:

    entangled, welcome and you may do whatever you wish, thanks for coming by!

  77. Lori says:

    I am so envious of all of your daffodils. Daffodils are my favorite spring flower, and always make me smile. And the hellebores! Between you and Yolanda Elizabet, I’m beginning to wish I lived somewhere more hellebore-friendly!

  78. Frances, says:

    Lori, thanks and welcome. The daffodils and hellebores was what spring is about here in TN.

  79. Ewa says:

    77 comments – wow, what a number.
    I am late – I can se ๐Ÿ™‚
    Beautiful blooms ๐Ÿ™‚
    Pansies look like nice collection.

  80. Frances, says:

    Ewa, thanks. The bloom days that Carol sponsors have really become an event in blogdom, haven’t they? It is so fun to see everyone’s flowers. Thanks for stopping by, you are always welcome, late or early! ;->

  81. Pingback: Fairest Of The Faire 2012 « Fairegarden

  82. Pingback: Daffodil Hit Parade-Mid Season Blooms « Fairegarden

Comments are closed.