Daffodil Hit Parade-Mid Season Blooms

This is a post to showcase the daffodils blooming in the garden now, the mid season bloomers. The early daffs, our unknown very early yellow, now believed to be Narcissus pseudonarcissus, and N. cyclamineus ‘Jetfire’ have been shown already in the
March bloom day post. There are several varieties of late season bloomers, several budded but not yet open, that hopefully will be in bloom next month. Today’s featured flowers will most likely not be in bloom for April’s bloom day, so this is their chance to shine. There will be no cutesy names assigned, someone has already named them officially. There are a couple that were passalongs that we don’t know their names and another that you will just have to see for yourself. N. ‘Audubon’, above, had just opened for the
welcome spring post but really should be included in the mid season group also. These are planted at the end of the long wall and under the pine trees. They were more expensive than most, and were one of the only types not sold out from Van Engelen, so only a few were purchased a couple of years ago.

Double Narcissi ‘Tahiti’
Only a very few of these growing along a pathway and around the pond. They are a little slow to multiply.


N. ‘Salome’
These are planted en masse along the street front within the liriope. There are three sections of frontage, each with two rows of large clumps of this one, a whole lotta Salome, which came in large bags from the big box store.

N. ‘Ice Follies’
Only two clumps of these,they are not speedy spreaders.

Passalong from Mae and Mickey. This may be N. ‘Redhill.’
Groups of these are planted under the pine trees.


N. ‘Mount Hood
We have been dividing these steadily, adding them along the back wall. The flowers are huge.

N. ‘Pink Pride
A mass purchase from a big box store several years ago. These are in the daylily hill, along the front walkway, and beside the garage.


From Semi,this looks also like N. ‘Redhill’
Two clumps of these are at the top of the hill.

N. Bulbocodium ‘Golden Bells’
New this year, tiny but terrific.
From Van Englen, these were interplanted with the Greigii tulips in five groups, interplanted with alliums and some, this group shown above, planted alone, ringed in grape hyacinths to mark them. These get the most sun, we hope the others will bloom and not get lost with the tulips and alliums. What was I thinking, they are so little!


What a Mess. This seems to be a double of some kind. Has anyone ever seen something like this? All the flowers look the same, not quite right, a breeding experiment gone very wrong. Added: This has been identified as Van Sion. The research explains that after a year or so the flowers revert to a tangled mess, rather than polite doubles. It came with the property, as did Mount Hood, Tahiti, and Ice Follies, along with the very early Narcissus pseudonarcissus. These are all cultivars that were in commerce at the time this house was built, 1940-1950. In the beginning there was some gardening done here, the plantings all date to what was popular during that time. Then the house was a rental for many years until we purchased it in 1996. There was much bramble and picker bushes on the hill, plus an old apple orchard, totally given over to huge wasp nests amid the rotting fruit. The first team of tree trimmers left the job of clearing the hill half finished due to a wasp attack and subsequent hospital trip. Until we moved into the house ourselves in 2000, we tried weedwhacking and even mowing with the trusty electric mower, but were unable to wrestle control of the hill back from the privet, mimosa, honeysuckle and poison oak in addition to the fruit trees. Finally, the big boys came with the backhoe, which moved the shed to the top of the hill, scooped out terraces and gave us a blank slate. Several large dump trucks of mulch were poured on the whole thing afterwards. As I began to plant and plan, in that order, bulbs were found and planted in the beds. It was a surprise when they bloomed to see that there were different types, although the earliest one, Narcissus pseudonarcissus, was by far the most numerous. We have slowly but surely been spreading these far and wide on the hillside, for seeing the yellow trumpets in early February is the most gladdening of sights. More can never be enough. We have added more fancy daffodils, with pink trumpets, tiny trumpets, special color combos, trying to extend the season of these spring blooms. There are some interesting ones yet to open. All are lovely, except for the double gone wrong. I keep hoping that one year it will straighten itself out and bloom properly, but so far, that has not happened. The what a mess is limited to one group of about five. It will not be divided and spread about.

Frittilaria Uva Vulpis

This is another bulb that will be finished before the bloom day so it is included with this group. Planted in batches of six along the forty foot wall behind the house the first year, these are left alone by the voles that have moved into that space. They need to be divided now, the blooming is decreasing and the foliage is very crowded. They are subtle in their beauty and need to be planted at eye level to be appreciated. They are a good companion to the grape hyacinths, blooming at the same time and about the same height. Let’s think of a way to make an artful planting of them.

~~~

These bulbs are what spring is about here, long awaited during the cold times of late winter, most welcome harbingers of the bloom explosion soon to come.

Frances

Kitty

Just because he is so sweet, he gets to end this presentation.

F

This entry was posted in cats, Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to Daffodil Hit Parade-Mid Season Blooms

  1. Layanee says:

    Frances: I think I might have planted ‘Tahiti’! Another blogger link. That first photo is a beauty! Well, they are all great but I seem to be gravitating to the stronger hues in the daffodils although the pink one is quite lovely isn’t it. You cat sure knows who is in control.

  2. Kay says:

    That double looks suspiciously like ‘Van Sion’ (see http://www.oldhousegardens.com/vanSion.asp).
    I don’t think I’ve seen ‘Audubon’ in person before – it looks gorgeous. Overall, you have an amazing garden!

  3. Frances, says:

    Layanee, thanks. It seems that the fancy daffs are more photogenic in their closeups, but in that total garden view, they are all more or less the same. The old Rijnveld is the most arresting, due to its early bloom and prolific numbers. But in the catalogs what you see are the close ups, and they do make good photos. The cheapo bag o bulbs are as good a garden asset as the expensive ones. I’ll still buy the special ones, too fun to choose though.

  4. Frances, says:

    Kay, a million thanks and welcome. Old House Gardens description and photos were exactly right, and they mentioned that most catalogs don’t show what happens frequently, with the loss of definitive trumpet in subsequent years’ blooms. Excellent, I always like to know what is growing here.

  5. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Hi Frances, I have one of those double daffodils. I wondered what happened becase when I planted them they looked like the early bloomer. Hmmmmm I thought maybe some virus made them do this. It is easy to blame a virus for odd blooms and squirrels for disappointing bulbs. 😉 Your daffodils are no disappointment though. I can’t wait until some of my, what I call fancy daffodils, bloom. It shouldn’t be long now. All we need is a little sunshine. Love seeing yours. They are so cheerful.

    Your hill project sounds like it was a real challenge. You have tamed it and made it a show garden.
    Can’t wait until you show more.

  6. Melanie says:

    Frances, these are all so beautiful but I love the ‘Golden Bells’ most of all. Just last night I told my gardening class of the wonderful variety of daffodils that are out there.

  7. Dave says:

    Wow Frances, you could start a daffodil nursery with all the varieties you have! I like the ‘Tahiti’ and the ‘Red Hill’ daffs you have.

  8. Jean Ann says:

    Great pictures…I love both Tahiti and the Fritillaria. Spring is a great time for me to see all of the bulbs I forgot I planted!

  9. jodi says:

    “And then my heart with pleasure fills, and dances with the daffodils.” says Wordsworth, and that’s how I feel on seeing these gorgeous blossoms. I have Salome, Mount Hood, and Ice Follies, all of which I love, and I’m really intrigued by Pink Pride; it’s much pinker than some of them, which tend more to orange. It seems to me someone told me that soil composition (minerals, etc) played a part in how pink they got, but I could be completely wrong about that. Love the F. uva ulpis too, and of course Kitty just makes this a perfect post (especially since it’s snowing again here.) It always makes me happy to escape to Faire Garden. 🙂

  10. Frances, says:

    Lisa, thanks. I think the what a mess is Van Sion, and am not sure about Rijnveld now, there is one called W. P. Milner that looks just like it. Ack! So glad your home is on dry ground, that is so scary in your area. There will be more to come about the hill, since it’s all we have!

    Melanie, thanks. They have always called to me and they are looking good so far, but should have been planted alone, not with the tulips. The number of daffs is mind boggling!

    Dave, thanks. I prefer to give plants away rather than sell them, not a good business practice. Tahiti is one of the prettiest ones, for sure.

  11. Frances, says:

    Jean Ann, thanks and welcome. Good luck with your farming pursuits.

    Jodi, thanks, glad to have something to take your mind off of wintry conditions. But know from reading your book, finally finished, that your garden will be showing off it’s lovely self eventually. Pink Pride is pinker some years that others, why, who caana tell?

  12. Esther Montgomery says:

    Hello,

    We’ve got some messy daffodils, like your ‘double’ and, like Lisa, I attributed this to a virus or, possibly, an insect.

    With ours though, I’m sticking to this diagnosis.

    It’s especially frustrating because the earlier ones were fine (ordinary and rather small – but fine). So fine, indeed, that children in the street decided to pick them and chuck them around in the road.

    Ohhhh!

    They don’t seem to be bothering with the distorted / lumpy ones so I’ve left them all in place. Result – our ‘display’ is a collection of odd little blobs on sticks.

    Esther

  13. shirl says:

    Hi there Frances, wow what a stunning selection of flowers

    I just have a few but I will now need to look up what varieties they are now too. I am so looking forward to seeing my new tulips flower. I bet you have lots of tulips too 😀

    Have a great weekend 😀

  14. Connie says:

    I love the muted, delicate color of Mt. Hood and the Golden Bells are just too cute!

  15. Gail says:

    Frances these are lovely and if I had to vote I would choose Mt Hood, it is a stately fellow and the color is terrific….although Kitty comes in a close second! The bulbocodium is a sweetie, coming in at third place.

    I enjoyed this posting very much, I am going to go out to the garden and think about where I want to see more daffs!

    gail

  16. Annie in Austin says:

    Pretty fancy bunch of daffodils you have there, Frances – they should bloom well in gratitude for your battle with wasps and resorting to backhoes in order to give them a proper setting… a hillside full of daffodils, wow!

    I’m glad someone came up with the name for the messy double – an Illinois gardening friend had it, too. I think the flowers opened properly one year in 12 and surprised the heck out of her.

    Down here a few ‘Thalia’ daffodils linger and a few ‘Pink Pride’ planted last year were very slow to appear. They’re just now showing a couple of buds at ground level but it’s so late they may be fried before they can open.

    Salome looked pinker in IL. Perhaps the pinkest one in that garden was ‘Filly’. ‘Passionale’ had a superb pink cup.

    Thanks for the daffodil stroll,

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

  17. Mr. McGregor's Daughter says:

    ‘Golden Bells’ is so cute! I really like the small Daffodils with little blue bulbs. I also have ‘Ice Follies’ & ‘Mt. Hood’; does everyone? (Is it a law?) I agree with your point about how these fancy bi-colors are best appreciated close up. I find myself gravitating to mostly or all yellow Daffodils for impact in the landscape.

  18. Frances, says:

    Esther, thanks and welcome. That is too bad about the children, they need some flower education! Reading the description on the Old House Gardens site really about how Van Sion starts out good, then loses the trumpet over the years really fits our daff. Check out the photos to see if yours look similar, or not if you want to keep the virus theory, it has its merits too. ;->

    Hi Shirl, we do have some tulips, though not as many as the daffs. They are iffy about returning each year. A couple are starting to open, we have to hope it doesn’t get hot too quickly, or they burn up.

    Connie, thanks. Two good choices, and very different from each other.

  19. Frances, says:

    Gail, thanks from me and from Mr. Kitty. When the daffodils bloom each year, I always spread them then, so I can see where we need to have some splash, even though that goes against the rule. It works here, sometimes they droop some after the move, but are fine the next year. Forward thinking, that’s the way in the garden.

    Annie, thanks. When we lived in Houston, we tried the suggested varieties, can’t remember the names, but they never bloomed. Spring looked different there, but still pretty, especially the azaleas.

    MMD, thanks. I think there are some places for a few more Golden Bells, this was the experimental year, but they sure a tiny. For the money, the plain old yellows give the landscape the most punch, I agree.

  20. Dee/reddirtramblings says:

    Frances,

    I have Tahiti. I got it last fall. Like it very much. My pink trumpeted ones eventually died out. I really enjoyed this post and love the history of your place.

    I tagged you for a meme on my site. I hope you don’t mind, but if you don’t want to do it, I understand.~~Dee

  21. Frances, says:

    Dee, Thanks for thinking of me. If I have time, I’ll get to the meme. Sorry about your pink daffs, maybe too wet?

  22. Nancy J. Bond says:

    I can never get enough of these wonderful, frilly blooms! And you’ve certainly got some beauties.

  23. Marie says:

    I LOVE your photos/flowers!

  24. Frances, says:

    Nancy J., thanks. Daffs are a fave here also.

    Marie, thanks, glad you liked them.

  25. Crafty Gardener says:

    What beautiful variety you have in your daffodils Frances. I loved looking at all of them. I’m still dreaming about mine.

  26. Frances, says:

    Crafty, I was just leaving a comment on your glove post! Glad you liked looking at the daffs here while you dream of yours. We’ll be glad to see them in your garden when they decide to appear at your place.

  27. Diana says:

    Wow – Frances – what a stunning collection you have. I was especially impressed with the Golden Bell and the double. I don’t even know what I’ve planted in my yard because I only have two kinds. Some planted long ago and I don’t know what they are, and the ones I planted in the fall (and more of them in January) I lost the tag. I aspire to a beautiful array like yours. I guess I’d better get planting! They are my favorites – like Spring sunshine blowing in the breeze.

  28. Frances, says:

    Diana, thanks, we are pleased with the golden bells also. In the fall the big box stores sell daffs in bags of 40 and 50 bulbs for less than ten dollars. It doesn’t even matter what variety they are for the impact they have in the garden. More, more, more!

  29. Brenda Kula says:

    They are all quite beautiful. Keep us up to date.
    Brenda

  30. Frances, says:

    Brenda, thanks. There will have to be a late season daff post, then we’ll be going into the tulips, hooray!

  31. Cinj says:

    Wow. What a great variety of daffodils! My bulbs always seem to disappear when I plant them. The only bulbs that manage to come back each year are the tulips. Darn squirrels.

  32. chuck b. says:

    What a spread. I like the first two, and ‘Pink Pride’ the best. And fun story too–you had to resort to a backhoe! Too funny.

    My daffodils are winding down…I liked my thalias, and will buy more next year, but the others I didn’t care for; they’ll get composted or given to my neighbor.

    Now the jonquils are blooming… I think I like them best of all.

  33. Phillip says:

    That is a great collection of daffodils. I really love “Golden Belles” and want to find it. Nice kitty photo too!

  34. Frances, says:

    Cinj, thanks. The squirrels are a problem here too, although they cannot eat the daffs, they are poisonous, they will still dig them and any other bulbs up because it is the time they are planting their own bulbs, the walnuts. Something is also attracted to the bone meal that is put into the hole. I quit doing that and last year put chickenwire over the tuplip plantings with long metal staples. It worked. Mulch was added over the wire for a neater look. Try that.

    chuck b., thanks. Luckily we had the backhoe here to dig the foundation of the addition to the house anyway. What is the difference with jonquils and daffs, a different grouping?

    Phillip, thanks. Do look for the golden bells, mine came from Van Engelen, but I have seen them in other catalogs.

  35. Salix Tree says:

    Love the little Golden Bells, very cute!
    I like “What a Mess” as well. I like the chaotic formation with those green streaks through it.

  36. rusty in miami says:

    The are all beautiful, but my favorite is the Pink Pride

  37. chuck b. says:

    Aren’t jonquils just really small daffodils?

  38. Ewa says:

    Hello Frances,
    I love daffodils and wait for mine with big lack of patience. I go to them every day and ask ‘are you there, yet?’. Still some time to wait.
    actually I like the messy one as well 🙂 looks very untamed.

  39. The Giraffe Head Tree says:

    Frances,

    Daffodils are my all time, hands-down favorite spring flower. Your photos are gorgeous – I swear I can even smell each bloom. Give your kitty a kiss on the head from me. We can’t have a cat so I live vicariously through all my blogger buddies who have them. xo! Debi

  40. Catherine says:

    Frances~what a wonderful variety of Daffodils you have…that first shot is a stunner~a gorgeous daffodil~and you captured the light through the petals~fantastic!
    I have mt. hood, & Ice follies.

    I have an award for you in honor of your excellent blog..so please drop by when time premits!
    Have a great week!
    Cat

  41. Frances, says:

    Salix Tree, thanks for visiting. The Golden Bells are quite attractive, not so sure about what a mess!

    Rusty, thanks. It really is very pink, our pink pride.

    ewa, thanks for stopping by. Your daffs will soon be saying ‘We are here!”

  42. Frances, says:

    Debi, thanks, the daffs last a long time and give great joy, we love them also. Kitty says ‘PURRR’.

    Catherine, thanks for commenting and a big thank you for awarding the big E for excellence, quite an honor.

  43. Frances, says:

    chuck b., I really don’t know the difference, I thought you would know, you are so much smarter about taxonomy. Now I guess I need to look it up and will get back to you.

  44. semi says:

    Bravo! What a brilliant show. They all have their own beauty. Golden Bells is pretty sweet, and of course so is kitty! Love semi

  45. Frances, says:

    Semi, thanks. This has been a good bloom year so far. Kitty says purrr. love.

  46. lisa says:

    Wow, what a gorgeous spring!

  47. Frances, says:

    Lisa, thanks. So far so good, let’s hope for no late crazy freezes this year.

  48. I’m a huge fan of Salome and Mt. Hood myself, so I think you are doing the right thing spreading them lavishly!

    As for Van Sion, whoever perpetrated it in your yard did the same all over the town near to me, it must have been horribly popular at some point. I checked its date and it’s from 1620, so unfortunately there has been plenty of time for it to spread around. Now I know its name, does that give me more power over it? It certainly has its own staying power as it’s the one you find at vacant lots and deserted homesteads.

    Gorgeous photos as always, Frances – and I think that early daffodil is Rijnveld’s – it’s a bit hard to tell from that photo, but its shape looks right for it.

    Thanks for that, Pomona. That blog of a daff is just awful, but it is still there, budded, this year. I can’t seem to force myself to dig it up, but we have not spread it like the others The buds are cute, little yellowish balls, very fat and plump, jam packed with too many petals. Thanks for the Rijnveld ID, I am pretty sure that is correct, as well. 🙂
    Frances

  49. I have taken note of all of these varieties for the fall when I’m planning to add some to my non-collection. I won’t have as many as you, but it would be nice to have at least a couple;-) I will be sure to steer clear of Van Sion.

    Do stay clear of Van Sion, what a disappointment he is, but he still lives here, I don’t have the heart to dig him up, the sympathy vote I guess. 🙂
    Frances

  50. Oh, oh, oh. Frances, what an array. The ‘Audubon’ is stunning in close-up. I’ve grown ‘Mount Hood’ and the N. bulbicodiums, and many others. But sadly narcissi don’t stick in my garden. Too dry and sandy… not to mention the shade. I’m reading everyone’s daff posts with a pang. But it is a pang of bittersweet pleasure.

    Thanks Helen. I am sorry the daffs don’t do well for you, perhaps in pots? Audubon is a real looker. 🙂
    Frances

  51. Pingback: Daffodils 2010 « Fairegarden

Comments are closed.