Late Daffs, The End of an Era

We are posting the late season daffodils today due to the fact that we will be gone for a few days. These flowers will not be in bloom for bloom day this month, it is hoped that they are still in bloom when we return from our trip, but to be sure that the later blooming daffs get some much deserved exposure, now presenting: most of them. A couple are barely out of the ground, newly planted late last fall, so they are not featured here. One, N. Sinopel is just really late and will be shown whenever she decides to open her petals. Shown above is Narcissus Limbo. This one was purchased because the photo in the catalog showed the petals to be the color of orange sherbert. We have taken pictures with every kind of light behind them and while lovely, the petals are not orange.

N. Limbo has dark yellow petals and a very orangey red trumpet.


Some may find this combo of N. Pink Pride and N. Limbo too stimulating for their delicate sensibilities. Our sensibilities are leather tough, and find the two together delightful.

N. Gentle Giant


N. Fidelity

N. Lorikeet

N. Scarlet Gem
This shot was not cropped because I like the blurry background composed of heathers, grape hyacinths and spirea ‘Magic Carpet’ , I even like the rebar pole. Leather, I tell you.


N. Actea, possibly N. ‘After All’, sold as N. ‘Angel Eyes’ but lacking the green center so who knows?


N. Geranium

One stem of N. Geranium


Macro shot of N. Geranium

Our bags are coming down from the attic, the summery attire is at the ready, comfortable walking shoes, sunglasses, hat, and extra camera memory cards are on the packing list. Print outs of directions, flight info, itineraries are at hand. It will be difficult to sleep tonight knowing what fun awaits. Is Austin ready for the barrage of garden bloggers? ‘Cause we’re ready for Austin!

Frances

This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Late Daffs, The End of an Era

  1. Gail says:

    Frances,

    Big thunderboomers woke me at 4:30 this morning,no going into the garden to get the photographs I put off getting yesterday! The flowers will be a bit beat up after this storm…

    so I doubly appreciate your daffodils this morning.

    The extra memory card is a wonderful idea! Thanks,

    Gail

  2. Carol says:

    My daffodils are just now getting started, so I don’t think I’ll miss too many this weekend while I am gone. I see some on your list that I want in my garden. Must make some notes…

    Carol, May Dreams Gardens

  3. garden girl says:

    Such a nice variety of daffodils you have Frances. Have a wonderful time in Austin!

  4. ourfriendben says:

    Have fun, Frances!!! And btw, I love your pink-and-yellow daff combo.

  5. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Oh Frances, you are an inspiration for me to keep better records of what I plant. Your daffs are so pretty.

    Have a great time at the Spring Fling. Pack plenty of batteries, memory cards and take copious notes and pictures. I can’t wait to hear all about your experiences. Bon Voyage…

  6. Melanie says:

    Hi Frances,

    I’m glad to see my sensibilities are leather tough too 🙂 Have a great time away, we’ll all be supercharged next week!

  7. Frances, says:

    Gail, oh our bags are packed, we’re ready to go, la la la, ho ho ho, apologies to Peter, Paul and Mary.

    Carol, same as above for Gail. (Sound of singing).

    Linda, thanks. Wish you were coming too, wish everyone could come. Maybe next year, if there is a next time!

  8. Frances, says:

    Our friend ben, (Elly, isn’t it?), thanks. Lorikeet is the most expensive daff we have, it was what was left, not sold out, two years ago when I decided more daffs needed to be ordered. I think it was three bulbs for a high price. Hopefully they can be divided at some point. They really are exquisite.

    Lisa, I have seen your notebook, it looks like you keep better records than I do. I had to search for the names of a couple of those, good thing I checked, the wrong name was in my journal! I promise you will be supplied with so many pics of Austin you will be sick of them.

    melanie, thanks. Here’s to leather!

  9. kjohnson says:

    Have a great time in Austin. Say hi to our blogging friends for us. I am taking note on your daffs. You’ve got some winners!

    Kathryn

  10. SA says:

    I don’t think we can have too many picture of the Austin Spring Fling. I can feel the excitement here in England!
    Have a lovely time Sylvia

  11. Pam/Digging says:

    Austin is ready, Frances! The bluebonnets are blooming, the sun (we hope) will be shining, and there are a lot of excited garden bloggers ready to get to know each other in person. See you tomorrow!

  12. Dave says:

    Have a safe trip Frances! Take a lots of pictures…hmm I probably don’t have to tell you that.

  13. Frances, says:

    Kathy, thanks, I will. I think daffs are the most for the money.

    Sylvia, thanks. It is good to know the English gardeners are interested, we will try and bring back some fun to read stuff.

    Pam, key word here is excitement. Trying to stay calm today will be hard.

    Dave, Only something catastophic could prevent the taking of tons of pics.Thanks.

  14. Kylee says:

    That last macro shot is breathtaking! I like the water droplets.

    Have a great time in Austin and we expect a full and detailed report when you get back!

  15. tina says:

    Beautiful pictures. Have a nice trip.

  16. artistsgarden says:

    Have a great trip. Lovely daffodils. When I see them in other peoples garden I always think I should buy more. You have some lovely varieties.
    Karen

  17. Nancy J. Bond says:

    Absolutely beautiful — thanks for sharing your lovely daffs with us. The Lorikeet is stunning.

  18. Frances, says:

    Kylee, thanks, sometimes the rain spoils the flowers, but not in this case. Full report, coming up.

    Tina, thanks.

    Karen, thanks, more daffodils is always a good idea.

    Nancy J., thanks. The Lorikeet is special, I agree.

  19. tina says:

    I think I like the Scarlet Gem best.

  20. Anita says:

    Wow, what a large collection of daffodils you have! Yes, what a lovely flower to start the new gardening year!

    Happy gardening to you!

    Best wishes from Germany,
    Anita

  21. Frances, says:

    Tina, that scarlet gem is a tazetta, with multiple flowers per stem, as in geranium, very fragrant also.

    Anita, Thanks and welcome, glad you stopped by. And Happy Birthday to your garden!

  22. Robin's Nesting Place says:

    That is a lot of daffodils! Your pictures are beautiful!

    Frances, I hope you have a lovely time in Austin!

  23. Blackswamp_Girl says:

    Ooooh…. I can’t wait for my ‘geranium’s to bloom now! And that answered my question as to why they aren’t up yet. They’re late ones–whew.

  24. Terra Hangen says:

    Sensational daffodils pictured here. Thanks for sharing. I found your blog through a comment you left on the Nightshade book tour.

  25. Meems says:

    Frances: Very nice photos of your varieties of daffs.AND you know all their names… very impressive.
    I don’t know but I’m of the thinking there are few flowers that don’t look good together… color is a beautiful thing. 🙂

    Have a blast in Austin.It is sure to provide you with much to post next week… can’t wait to “see” and hear about it.
    Meems @ Hoe&Shovel

  26. Frances, says:

    Robin, thanks. Wish you would be there also, maybe another time.

    Kim, thanks. Geranium is great with the multiple blooms and sweet smell, worth waiting for.

    Terran Hangen, thanks and welcome. Love Susan Albert’s books also.

  27. Frances, says:

    Meems, thanks. I think they all look good together too. Wish you could come to Austin, next time!

  28. Rose says:

    The daffodils are beautiful, and thanks for labeling each one. I have just the usual “yellow” daffs; I’m going to save this page and plant some different varieties this fall.
    Just stopped by; not sure why I haven’t visited before, but I’ll be back! Have fun in Austin.

  29. Rurality says:

    Great daffs! I hadn’t seen that Lorikeet before – very pretty. And what a good idea, to have ones that bloom after the earlier ones are gone.

  30. Lynn says:

    just found your site,and it’s beautiful! thanks for sharing your pix.
    lynn, blogging at Seedlings

  31. joey says:

    Stunning parade of daffs, Frances.

  32. lisa says:

    Wow, you have got some gorgeous daffs!

  33. Brenda Kula says:

    I love “stimulating.” Can’t get too colorful for me! Love those gorgeous blooms, and the papery thin layer of the last one is so delicate.
    Brenda

  34. Frances, says:

    Rose, thanks and welcome. There are really an amazing number of daff cultivars out there, all are so lovely!

    Rurality, thanks. It was recently discovered about the different seasons of bloom for the daffs. It does help extend the season to have them, but those first ones are still the most welcome.

    Lynn, thanks and welcome. Glad you liked it and return any time you like!

    joey, thanks.

    Lisa, thanks and welcome.

    Brenda, thanks. I love all the colors together all the time, too.

  35. Catherine says:

    Great variety of daff’s!! Lovely captures…the capture with the water droplets is amazing!
    Enjoy the weekend & your lovely daff’s!
    Cat

  36. The Garden Faerie says:

    Wow!!!!! What a beautiful colorful display. Are you kidding–I love N. Pink Pride and N. Limbo together! 🙂

    We’re still waiting for daffs to bloom here in SE Michigan.

  37. Marie says:

    I love yor photos, they are amazing!

    There is an award waiting for you on my blog 🙂

  38. Frances, says:

    Cat, thanks. We are back now and exhausted but happy.

    Marie, thanks. I will check out the award and thanks for thinking of me.

  39. Frances, says:

    Garden Faerie, thanks and welcome. Your spring will be glorious and worth the wait.

  40. Sherry at the Zoo says:

    Your daffodils are just gorgeous! I hope they’re still there when you get home.

    Have fun in Austin!

  41. Frances, says:

    Sherry, thanks. The weather had been cool in our absence and everything is still going, plus some. We are tired but happy, and am posting tomorrow about some of what was seen.

  42. Layanee says:

    Frances: I know you must have had a great time! Thanks for missing me! I can’t wait to see the group photo so that you will be more than a clay face to me! Looking forward to reading all the different stories.

  43. Frances, says:

    Layanee, thanks. I like being the clay face however, the hair always looks good. I too think it will be fun to see what different tacks are taken.

  44. Mr. McGregor's Daughter says:

    I was so busy pre-trip, I didn’t have a chance to see this post til now. Your Daffs are great. When I 1st saw a picture of ‘Lorikeet,’ I thought “eew!” A couple of years later I started to think, hmm, not so bad. Last year I almost ordered it – then I saw the price! :^( Someday, the price will fall…

  45. Frances, says:

    MMD, my first reaction to seeing the pink and yellow was the same as yours, why? I thought do such a thing. But on a whim, they were ordered, three bulbs I think, and they are splendid. Blooming very late has them in with the tulips, I think pink tulips would look lovely interplanted with Lorikeet. Put that in the journal!

  46. Pingback: Daffodils 2010 « Fairegarden

Comments are closed.