Space Invaders

Out and about in the garden this weekend, we have found what appears to be outer space visitors. They must have brought these strange looking flowers with them. Maybe the blooms are really vehicles for space travel. Or maybe it is a green fly on an Allium Christophii flower.

The green alien emerging from the center on his blue flying saucer is sending out his tentacles to search for intelligent life forms. Sorry, buddy, wrong house. Or maybe it is the first of the nigella blooms.


This spidery looking being is unfolding for a walk on the wild side while sitting on his blue hover craft.


Or maybe this is clematis ‘Elsa Spath’ with somebody’s hand holding her still for her close up.

Many little green men are having a conference in their yellow and white amphitheatre. Or maybe this is an osteospurmum getting ready to open fully.

This time it is little blue men, I wonder if they are musicians? They like to travel in style in their white coach.


The blue men are donning their gold trenchcoats on this mauve flying machine.


No wait, this is another osteospurmum, an especially vividly colored one.

There is a group of them! Call civil defense!


No cause for alarm, these appear to be just annuals planted in a garden bed.


Under the red wine leaves of a newly planted Japanese maple, the color echo is bound to bring pleasure to any and all onlookers, from any galaxy.


On second thought, the invasion is so on!

(Many thanks to my friend Laurie for supplying this wonderful photo of the mantis hatching, click on the image to see the space invaders up close and personal.)

Frances

This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Space Invaders

  1. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    I love the close ups of all your plants Frances. I think of plants as personalities so this post is right on my wave link. Ha… the Mantis photo is awesome. I am glad your friend shared it with us.

  2. Linda Lunda says:

    Hi hi hi Thank you for this funny story!!!!! It was also werry beutyfull photos …. as always!
    Linda

  3. Nancy J. Bond says:

    What glorious blooms! The osteospurmum looks like a painting! Lovely. 🙂

  4. Helen says:

    I enjoyed your post – the flowers on the clematis are huge

  5. Jim/ArtofGardening.org says:

    I assume the second shot is “Love-in-the-Mist”? I have plenty of it and it does look like it came from a galaxy far, far away.

  6. tina says:

    Cool pics!

  7. Gail says:

    Frances, This is a delightfully clever post, with drama, exciting photos, new life forms. This is “so why” you’re blog is deserving of a Mouse Trowel Award!

    Gail

  8. Gail says:

    F,

    I was so busy trying to be clever, I forgot to say that your flower photos are wonderful!

    Gail

  9. Amy says:

    So funny, and such great pictures! Yes, so many things in the garden look like they came out of a science fiction story when you really look closely 🙂

    Your photos in Mon. post are a great inspiration. I see so few gardens on slopes – it’s encouraging to see how beautiful your sloped garden is. Someday…

  10. Robin's Nesting Place says:

    Frances, I love your up-close flower shots!

    You asked if I use a tripod; I rarely ever do. They are too much trouble for me. That is why I usually have to sharpen the focus a bit in Adobe Photoshop.

  11. Frances, says:

    Lisa, glad your wave link was wiggled by the space invaders. I will let Laurie know you liked her photo.

    Linda, thanks, glad you found amusement here. One never knows if others will get their attempts at humor.

    Nancy J., thanks. The osteos are coming out now in lots of new colors. They do really well here in containers, very drought tolerant.

    Helen, thanks. Those are really bigger this year than they normally are for some reason.

    Jim thanks for stopping by. Yes, that is love in a mist, is self seeds here also, we yank out what we don’t want and still have millions of it.

  12. Barbee' says:

    Clever post, Frances. It leaves me smiling!

  13. Frances, says:

    Tina, Thanks for visiting.

    Gail, thanks for your exceptionally clever comment, you are so sweet. Come visit me!

    Amy, what a nice thing to say. The slope is a challenge for sure. The plants that have done the best are the very xeric, drought tolerant ones, like the dianthus. The shady areas on the slope are more difficult. Spireas and fothergillas have done well. Keep looking at how others handle it, one of the hardest things is keeping the soil from washing away off the roots. I have found using large rocks on top of the roots helps, also building small rock walls around young shrubs keeps the moisture in a little better. Good luck with your project!

    Robin, thanks for letting me know about that. I have a focus thingy and never use it, but will try it now. Your photos are the most amazing ever. I really loved the one today of the damselfly.

    Barbee, music to my ears. We like to keep the customers satisfied. HA

  14. The Garden Faerie says:

    Frances, I’m sending you a virtual hug because your lovely colorful photos just make me that giddy! 😉 I seem to have trouble with my camera’s macro feature (though it is an optical, not digital, zoom)–what kind of a camera do you use? Your close-ups are awesome!
    ~ Monica

  15. Frances, says:

    Hi Monica, thanks for the hug, giddy is good. My camera is a Canon Power Shot A720 IS. It has features that I don’t know how to use, I am strictly point and shoot on auto with the macro. For me, the lighting is key as well as no wind. Early in the morning is when the best shots have been taken. I take twenty or more to get one good one. I have to hold very still and sometimes that is hard, depending on the position I’m in. A lot of the best pictures I have taken are just lucky, I am no photographer, don’t know how to adjust for light, etc. I just take a whole lot of pictures. Thanks for the support!

  16. Suburbia says:

    I just found you at Roses place and wanted to say how much I enjoyed your photos. The first one is fantastic!

  17. Mr. McGregor's Daughter says:

    LOL! I used to laugh at the “alien” floral arrangements on the ’80s versions of “Star Trek.” These are much prettier.

  18. Blackswamp_Girl says:

    What a fun post! Can you send your invaders my way? It would truly delight me to find a mantis case–with mantids hatching out of it, preferably–in my garden.

  19. Frances, says:

    Suburbia,welcome and thanks for much for stopping by. Thanks for the kind words.

    MMD, HA, good old Star Trek. We used to be amazed at the hairstyles and make up when we watch the NEW edpisodes on Saturday night before going out on the town in the 60’s.If watching them again, I will check out the flowers, too. Sometimes flowers had special powers that turned you into robots or something. LOL

    Kim, wish those space invader mantids were here, but they are at my friend’s house. We do have some I think. At another house there was a hatching from the arbor where we were sitting on a bench and the little ones fell down on us by the hundreds. We laughed so hard, after the initial fright. It was raining mantids.

  20. Pam/Digging says:

    What a fun and clever, not to mention pretty, post, Frances! Love your close-ups and your funny captions. And kudos to your friend for capturing the mantises hatching. I’ve never seen that before.

  21. Frances, says:

    Pam, thanks for the compliment, coming from an excellent photographer like you, it means a lot. I had seen the mantis hatch once before, but that was before the time of the digital camera. We didn’t even have a computer then, if one can imagine such a thing.

  22. Layanee says:

    I have never seen one of those ‘mantis emergences’. Pretty cool and the closeups are so interesting! A pleasure to read and see.

  23. garden girl says:

    Gorgeous shots Frances, and a very cute post!

  24. Lola says:

    Frances, Loved you post. The flowers are beautiful. I’ve never seen a mantis “egg” before. Now I will know what to look for. Aren’t they good for the garden?

  25. Frances, says:

    Layanee, thanks so much. The little mantids are very cute, in an outer space sort of way.

    Linda, thanks for stopping by.

    Lola, welcome and thanks. The mantids are insectavores and are considered good guys. They do not discern between good bugs and bad bugs, however. We have seen them eat large butterflies, a sad sight. But we encourage them to live here anyway.

  26. brokenbeat says:

    i’m very excited to think about your visitors from distant space. word is that the blue clematis descended from the crab nebula which is located in taurus. is that what you’ve heard as well? saturn sent me some swirling lacecaps which stunningly landed on the tips of our hydrangeas. and it seems that correspondence exists between our nigella, your nigella and its mother mercury, or so the 1-foot-diameter crop circles tell me. they’ve not been wrong in the past. anyway, killer post and much love.

  27. Frances, says:

    Brokenbeat, thanks. The invasion has begun for real with the nigella circles. This must be their home base, as there are millions of them. Good news about the hydrangeas, we have been on the purchasing trail for lacecaps of our own. New hope for hydrangeas under the rotting ferngully. love.

  28. Phillip says:

    Frances, your photos are outstanding!

  29. Frances, says:

    Phillip, thanks, glad you like them.

  30. Rosie says:

    Thankyou Frances – great picture of them emerging – loved it!

    Thanks Rosie, glad you liked it! 🙂
    Frances

Comments are closed.