Daylilies Part Two-Midseason Magic

Welcome to this show of daylily portraits blooming in the Faire Garden now, the middle of the season of their bloom. The big bang beginning has evened out to just a few new varieties opening each week as the summer calender rolls along. The lack of rain lessened the length of bloom by causing the plants to produce fewer buds, just trying to stay alive. We have had more than an inch of rain recently and things are perking up. It is probably too late for the daylily plants to manufacture more buds, but the overall health of the garden is apparent. We still need more rain however. We are starting with Long Jump, from neighbors Mae and Mickey, shown above.
Juanita’s Picotee Delight from local daylily farm Sunshine Hollow.
After analysis of the way that these plants are used in the garden, it has been realized that this is a collector’s garden, rather than a design. Why do we try to have only one of each of these beauties when we should be using the color’s like a living painting. The portraits shown would lead the reader to believe that the garden is chock full o’ flowers, when it simply is not so. A photograph of each cultivar is taken, several if possible, to have a record of when the flower opened on each plant. This has been done since the first digital camera came into our possession. But why? What is the goal of having so many different named types? This isn’t the way the rest of the garden has been planted. The view from the windows and deck in addition to the following of curving paths lined with pleasant if not stunning combinations has been the vision. All these daylilies don’t fit into views or visions, but they should. Looks like we need to get to work again. Surely a better display can be planned to enjoy the individual varieties while blending with the other perennials and shrubs in these beds.
White Opal, from Sunshine Hollow, was one of several whites purchased when it was noticed that all of the daylilies were dark colors, mostly reds given by Mae and Mickey. We needed some contrast on the daylily hill with the addition of lighter colors.
The colors on Savannah Art, from Sunshine Hollow again, are a soft blending and look good in the bed with the orange butterfly weed and gaillardias.
This is a better use of the daylilies, in a cohesive design. From M and M, My Ways. So many of these reds look alike, I am a little unsure of who is who.
An old variety, Hyperion.
This one came with the property and was called Elrod yellow, the former owner’s name. After research, this tall, fragrant almost spidery form leads us to believe it is Hyperion. Can anyone out there veryify that?

Chorus Line Kid has shorter petals and a darker green throat. From Sunshine Hollow.
Not a white, but the palest of pink, is Lullaby Baby, Sunshine Hollow.
Free Yellow, from Sunshine Hollow. The name for this was on a tag, but the ink has disappeared and our journals did not record the name. Those lazy journals.
Elrod Purple, another daylily living here when we took over management of the land. Addie Branch Smith, from Sunshine Hollow.
This one needed dividing badly. The part in a tub of water under the deck is blooming, the part left in the ground replanted is awful, no buds at all. I blame the drought.

From M and M, Radiant Greeting.
This one has seeded in the gravel and there are slight variations in the offspring, kind of fun.
During my melon phase, Heavenly Treasure from Sunshine Hollow.
From the nursery down the street from offspring Semi, Champion Daylilies, comes our best white to date, Innocent Bystander.
The first purchase from Sunshine Hollow, Emperor’s Dragon.

From M and M is Chicago Regal.

Only rarely are the flowers double on this, Stand Up Double from Sunshine Hollow.
Another of the Chicago series, Chicago Brave from M and M.
Not one of the more perfect specimens, after a thunderstorm, of Swan Pond from Sunshine Hollow. This was the first white we bought, on recommendation from one of the owners.

Red Volunteer is robust and floriferous, from M and M.
Saving the best for last, this is the newest blooming daylily from a recent trip to Sunshine Hollow, Royal Butterfly. There will be more written about that trip, and photos from their farm soon. Some daylilies bloomed while we were at the beach and we missed getting a photo. Absent are Night Beacon, Matthew Martin, Siloam Uri Winnifred, and Pandora’s Box.
Frances

This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Daylilies Part Two-Midseason Magic

  1. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Frances I really like all of your daylilies but I especially likethe white ones. I guess because I have lots of red and yellow in the garden the white is quite the contrast.

    Our daylilies are now beginning to bloom too. I will have to get out and try for some pictures.

  2. Frances, says:

    Hi Lisa, thanks for coming. So far the whites do not produce as many flowers as the darker ones, maybe that gene is lacking as the breeders strive for the elusive white color. I can’t wait to see pics of what you have in your garden.

  3. Zoë says:

    Arent they beautiful, I particularly liked Juanita’s Picotee and especially Chicago Delight, what a fabulous colour.

    Thanks for sharing these Frances, I am constantly amazed just how many varieties there are. I have a few in my garden, they are just budding up.

  4. The Giraffe Head Tree says:

    I’m convinced to seek daylilies for my gardens. Yours are exquisite, Frances.

  5. Rose says:

    They’re all so lovely, it’s hard to pick a favorite, but I’d like to have some “Innocent Bystanders” in my garden:)
    I’m glad you mentioned these are mostly single specimens; I was imagining rows and rows of each and wondering how much room you had in your garden!

  6. Nancy J. Bond says:

    There are few flowers that have such a wide variety of petal shapes and gorgeous colors! Thank you for sharing your beautiful blooms with us — they’re all wonderful.

  7. Dee/reddirtramblings says:

    Hi Frances, is Heavenly Treasure a Bro. Reckamp daylily. I bet it is from the name and color. He was very famous. I’m thinking about doing a post on him sometime. Your daylilies are lovely. I got around the collector’s look by grouping several varieties of reds or purples together at strategic places in the garden. I then surrounded them with a supporting cast of daylilies with the same eyezone color (yellow/purple EZ) and other perennials. This is the first year it’s looked good.~~Dee

  8. Frances, says:

    Hi Zoe, thanks so much. Those two are faves here, good performers. Juanita is very tall with a stout stem and large flower, a newer one here.

    Hi Deb, thanks. You do need to get some, your climate is perfect for them.

    Hi Rose, I could tell readers thought the hill was ablaze with daylily flowers, I wish it was. The whites are so refreshing in the heat. I need to figure out a way to showcase them better in the landscape.

    Hi Nancy J., thank YOU for those kind words. The daylilies really do have something for all tastes in colors and flowers.

    Hi Dee, you know a lot more about the breeders than I do, but I am trying to learn. I wish you could come here and help me rearrange these plants to enhance the landscape better. Thanks for the ideas, something needs to be done this fall in the way of clustering and color. I have noticed the naming gives a clue to the hybridizer, like Siloam, Chicago, Candy, etc.

  9. tina says:

    You have inspired me to catalogue my daylillies. That will be a chore. I do know one though-Hyperion-yeah me! Does that count?

  10. emma townshend says:

    Absolutely gorgeous, absolutely gorgeous. Mine never really seem to thrive, I wonder if someone you have written a post “daylilies for beginners”? If you haven’t maybe you could treat us to one!

  11. Gail says:

    Frances,

    You have some fabulous daylilies! The whites are spectacular and I concur that is indeed Hyperion, one of my favorites. The simpler the daylily the more I like them…so I ordered more Hyperion, now I can have a wave of color with one of them. Speaking of that…I was thinking very nearly the same thing about my daylilies…the phrase collection rings true. Now I am wondering what to do with my individual daylilies…they are what makes my sunny bed feel so clown pants!

    Gail

  12. Skeeter says:

    Wow, you have so many! I dont think the Chorus Line Kid looks like a lily but I like its stubby bloom because it is so different. I must get more lilies!

  13. Brenda Kula says:

    All are so beautiful! But I’m in love with that fifth photo!
    Brenda

  14. Frances, says:

    Hi Tina, everything counts at Faire Garden. We are generous with our grading system. ;-> While daunting, the cataloging of your daylilies will make you feel good about yourself after it is completed.

    Hi Emma, thanks for visiting. I don’t know your growing conditions, but here in the southeast US, daylilies will grow anywhere with no care at all. They need some sun, but can do well in partial shade, but while drought tolerant will bloom and thrive with ample moisture. Dividing about every four years or so helps also.

    Hi Gail, thanks. While I love clown pants, wear them often in fact, there must be a better way to plant the daylilies than what is going on now. I am thinking about it, thinking about Dee’s suggestion, just plain thinking.

    Hi Skeeter, Chorus Line Kid is different, and very pretty. If only I could figure out how to best show these lovely flowers so that you can inspect each one but the whole lot of them looks good from afar.

  15. Gail says:

    Frances,

    dee’s comment/suggestion sounds great…now if I can remember where they are all located…color wise! Did I take enough photos to help me locate which is which?

    Gail

  16. Jane Marie says:

    Every one of those are new to me except Red Volunteer which I will be getting a start of from my friend Lamb in a few weeks. I love the last one but can’t remember the name. If I go back to your blog, I’ll lose my comment.

    We’re about to hit our peak season here, it’s usually around the middle of July. A very exciting time for me.

  17. Piondröm says:

    Frances what a collection you have!! So many different colors.
    Wery nice!!
    Ken

  18. Frances, says:

    Hi Brenda, thanks so much. The fifth photo is My Ways, a good strong red.

    Hi Gail, yes and thanks again to Dee. Something must be done, I am getting more dissatisfied by the minute with the layout here. Photos plus maps are what I use. Names on stakes on some kind would help, if they were not too horrible looking.

    H Jean Marie, I am so sorry that blogger won’t let you revisit the post. I have changed it back to the pop up window, maybe that will help. The last one is Royal Butterfly, a beauty. Our peak is now, but some will rebloom later, extending the season. More water helps too. Can’t wait to see yours.

  19. kate smudges says:

    Frances, Your daylily collection is impressive. White Opal and Elrod Purple and Emperor’s Dragon and Lullaby Baby and … and … and … are my favourites. I guess I fall into the same category of plant collector – it makes life more interesting, I figure, unless you have unlimited space and resources to devote to large swatches of colour.

    You h

  20. walk2write says:

    I love that name, Elrod! What a fine chap to leave you with such beautiful flowers to start your daylily collection. The white ones are my favorites. If M&M (or you) ever retire to Florida, please consider moving to Pensacola. Daylilies thrive there too, and I would love to add to my collection. ;>)

  21. Frances, says:

    Hi Ken, nice to see you here. Thanks so much, we do have a good variety, too many really.

    Hi Kate, thanks for visiting. Being a collector is fun, but there must be a better way to display these beautiful flowers. It looks like your comment did not all get published, that blogger is difficult sometimes. So sorry.

  22. Frances, says:

    Hi Walk2write, the Elrods had a nice group of colors, purple, yellow, peach and pink. They must be older varieties, maybe some out of commerce even, but all great. The white ones have a subtle beauty, not really true white. I would be happy to share with you, but doubt that we will be moving to Florida. The offspring are all around this area, and that is the deciding factor of where we live. I have been retired for some time, the Financier is getting closer. ;->

  23. DP Nguyen says:

    I also love the white varieties. The others are lovely, but there is something spectacular about the white. It’s so innocent, so lovely.

  24. Jan says:

    Your daylilies really are lovely. The photos have given me some ideas (longings) for new daylilies for my garden esp. the white ones.

    Jan
    Always Growing

  25. Frances, says:

    Hi DP, thanks. I was surprised at the comments about the white daylilies, maybe it is because they are seldom seen in catalogs and commerce. They really add to the overall beauty, I agree.

    Hi Jan, thanks for visiting. If I was to recommend one white, it would be Innocent Bystander with larger flowers and more vigor, but they are all lovely.

  26. Dave says:

    Wow Frances! That’s a big variety of daylilies! Have you ever tried hybridizing? You might be able to come up with some interesting combinations, although you seem to have plenty of daylily interest to go around!

  27. Frances, says:

    Hi Dave, thanks. I don’t hybridize myself, but we do get seedlings since I don’t cut the seedpods off when they form. There is so much insect activity, I prefer to see what they come up with.;->

  28. The Garden Faerie says:

    Wow! You have a plethora of beautiful lilies! Don’t they just make you smile? I think they’re just a friendly-looking flower!
    ~ Monica

  29. Frances, says:

    Hi Monica, you are so right, they are just happy, the flowers make one smile, and it even looks like the blooms are smiling also. How clever of you to notice! ;->

  30. Benjamin Vogt says:

    I’m not really a daylily fan–not at all truth be told–but some of the varities you have here step up to the “ok” level for me. This is a very backhanded compliment. 🙂

  31. Frances, says:

    Hi Benjamin, welcome back, and thanks, I think. ;-> I’ll bet there is at least one daylily that would win you over, maybe more. Think of the plusses, great color variety, height variety, fragrance, ease of culture, reliably hardy, pest and disease resistant, easily divided, long bloom period,plays well with others, what more do you want? If you think they only come in orange, you need to check out some of the nursery websites, the breeders have been busy.

  32. Mr. McGregor's Daughter says:

    These are all lovely too. I like the eyed pinks, such as ‘Emperor’s Dragon’ & ‘Addie Branch Smith.’ The Daylily season is just starting here. Post to follow soon.

  33. Frances, says:

    Hi MMD, I like all the eyed ones. Can’t wait to see yours.

Comments are closed.