A Special Daylily From Sunshine Hollow

The chores are done, it is just after eight thirty in the morning, the sun is shining, and the temperatures are forecast to hit the nineties by noon. After writing two posts about the daylilies growing in the garden here and mentioning a favorite local nursery,
Sunshine Hollow, it was realized that we had better get out there or the bloom season will be done before we have a chance to add to the collection. I love the drive through the hilly countryside to get there as much as arriving at the destination, well almost as much. There are native wildflowers blooming along the side of the road. Orange butterfly weed, Asclepias tuberosa, grows in the Faire Garden also, but mine is a little lighter in color than the wild one shown above.
We have Queen Anne’s Lace, Daucus carota, also, but have been pulling it the last couple of years as space has been more at a premium with the addition of more plants and the existing ones maturing.
This does not grow in my garden, a little too weedy, but the blue chicory, Cichorium intybus, flowers are some of the prettiest of the roadside wildlings.

The farmer’s have mown the first batch of hay to feed the cows that are plentiful around here. The big dairy, Mayfield is in my town and the milk comes from the local farms.


Here is an unpleasant roadside weed, the infamous kudzu vine, Pueraria montana var. lobata. It covers every surface and would cover the road too if the cars driving on it didn’t break off the stems. Look out, it’s reaching for us, step on the gas!

We know we’re getting close when the farms start showing up with large masses of daylilies. These gardeners know how to showcase the daylilies properly, in a large raised bed in a sunny spot by the road for all to admire as they pass by.

My own collection of daylilies is a sorry lot compared to these healthy plants. More ideas here for the redo at home that will be done this fall of our daylily areas.

Ah, here is the turn. Without the two signs at the two left turns I would drive all the way to Nashville. It always seems longer before the turn than one remembers. Then I worry that something has happened to the sign and I have missed it. But luckily that is not the case today.

Here we go into the farm. The road to the office is over a mile long.

Wait a minute, where are the flowers? Where is the sea of daylilies blooming that should be in this field? Uh, oh. Something is not right here. In fact something was not right at all we found out from the owner, Dave Rhyne. I thought it had something to do with the severe drought we experienced last summer and are still suffering through. But there is a lake here to irrigate the display gardens. Dave explained that the drought has affected the food normally eaten by the many deer that live in the surrounding woods. The electric fence had kept those hungry critters away from the daylilies that are deer candy for ten years. Extreme hunger drove the deer to cross the fence and accept the shock, that was devastating to the daylilies both in the field and in the greenhouses. Many thousands were eaten and a large financial loss has resulted. They are working on a new fencing plan to protect their precious farm, let us wish them the best of luck in the endeavor. In the meantime, the one special daylily that I came to get was sold out. And they were out of the home made butter pecan ice cream, too.

But do not be too sad, for Dave kindly offered to dig some of the special daylily from his hiding place. While I was waiting for him, this display area was right next to where my car was parked. The Doughertys were Tennessee hybridizers who created some amazing flowers. The following are photos taken from this bed while I was waiting for Dave to return with my special one. There were no tags that I could see, so the names are unknown, we only know that they are Dougherty bred. Please enjoy these most exquisite flowers.

I may need this one some day.

I held this one still and wanted to show the size of the bloom with my hand for reference, but Ye Gods, what happened to the skin on my hand? I had been cleaning the bathrooms in preparation for weekend guests and should have worn rubber gloves, it appears. Quick, find some hand cream!


This absolutely needs to be growing in my garden.

Oh, here he comes now.

Holding a bouquet of the daylily Dave Rhyne, bred by his friends the Doughertys, is Dave Rhyne, and by the way it was dug from the field by ….Dave Rhyne.

Back home in a vase.

This flower is so breathtaking, I will cherish it always. Many thanks, Dave, for digging it. It has been planted and watered faithfully. We wish you and your gardens safety from all harm.

Frances

This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to A Special Daylily From Sunshine Hollow

  1. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Obviously the drought has had side effects that does not meet the eye. I hope that the drought works out of your area sooner than later.

    It is too bad the deer don’t eat the kudzu or that the drought makes it dry up. I am always amazed to see how it just takes over. Scary really.

    Those day lilies with the lime green throats are always calling my name. I really like the first white one with the green throat.

  2. Sylvia says:

    What a lovely story of your day out. I really enjoyed your lovely pictures they help to tell the story.

    I liked Asclepias tuberosa, never heard of it before, looks very exotic!

    Best wishes Sylvia (England)

  3. Zoë says:

    They are fabulous, I really like the orange ones, and haven’t seen any so large, they are monsters!

  4. tina says:

    Frances, Don’t you know gardeners are allowed to dry and rough hands? Don’t forget the dirt under the fingernails too! A requirement here.

    Too bad about the poor deer. And what a history with your ‘David’ daylily.

    It is rough here in the garden. No rain for over two weeks and EGADS! I have some replanting and working to do. Okay, here comes the water hose snakes..

  5. ourfriendben says:

    Hi Frances! What a delightful (though poignant) post. I enjoyed every moment! But my heart goes out to the Rhynes. And, oh no, kudzu is in Tennessee now? I haven’t seen any on trips back to Nashville/Franklin, so I guess I thought Tenessee was still safe. Gulp. It’s coming for us…

  6. Becca says:

    Those first two daylilies look like two of mine that I got from my mom. I call the first one Apple Crisp and the second Metamorphosis. My wild one is almost the same color as the last daylily pictured. I call it wild because it’s so generous with its blooms!

  7. Frances, says:

    Hi Lisa, it is sad but hopeful at the same time. Aren’t those with the green throats tempting? They are talking about making gas for cars out of the kudzu, a good idea.

    Hi Sylvia, thanks. The butterfly weed is a true native here, always seen along wild roadsides in this part of the country, the southeast. It’s color makes it stand out even from afar. Seeds started inside in the winter have been the best way to get it into our garden.

    Hi Zoe, the hybridizers do tend to be going for larger flowers on stouter stems, better to withstand wind and storms and gardeners weeding in the beds. I can’t tell you how many stalks I have broken while trying to tidy the garden. Better to just leave the weeds and deadheading until after they are finished blooming. ;->

    Hi Tina, you are right, my hands look like I am ninety years old, but seeing it in the photo was shocking. I have been moving things, including blooming daylilies even with the drought, can’t help myself. The hoses are left out, no point in coiling them they are in use so much.

    Hi OFB, thanks, glad you enjoyed it. The Rhynes will figure something out, I hope. We have kudzu here, especially along the highways, luckily none in my garden, for now. It is so scary.

    Hi Becca , maybe your lilies were bred by the Doughertys. I like the names you have given them. I think I have one of them, Golden Globes is the name. It is one that I saw blooming in that same bed one year, asked for the name and bought it.They were all so tall and robust.

  8. Gail says:

    Frances,

    Daylilies were my first flower love…they remain in my heart, like all first loves! These are lovely and I must admit there are a few I would have to have, too! Like a kid in a candy store…I want that one and that one and oh, can I have that, too!

    Isn’t it interesting that the butterfly weed in the wild is always just a bit brighter or redder in color?

    Let’s talk daylily redesign sometime…mine our desperately in need of it, too.

    Gail

  9. Rose says:

    Frances, I knew you were an early riser, but all your chores done by 8:30??
    Anyway, enjoyed this post so much. Just the name “Sunshine Hollow” would entice me to drive for a visit. With a place like this, it’s no wonder you have so many lovely daylilies in your garden.
    My sympathies to the owners, though; how devastating to have your livelihood destroyed by deer.

  10. Mr. McGregor's Daughter says:

    No icecream for you! That’s what you get for talking this place up before going there yourself. ;^P
    As if last years freeze didn’t do enough damage to Tennessee growers’ business, this drought comes along & kicks them when they’re down. I hope things start getting better there soon. Those Daylilies are truly special.

  11. Frances, says:

    Hi Gail, It’s hard not to fall for the daylilies, the many colors now available make them hard to resist. And the fact that they grow so well here allows for them to be used in many ways in the garden beds. I have already started moving the daylilies around for a better display and divided ones that were not going to bloom this year anyway. It just means lots of hose dragging.

    Hi Rose, I really am an early riser, usually up by 5 AM. So glad you enjoyed the road trip, I did in spite of the disappointments. I felt honored that Dave dug his namesake daylily for me also.

    Hi MMD, We can’t let our expectations get the better of our common sense, you are right. I didn’t need any ice cream anyway, but always enjoy it when going there. I feel confident that the farm will survive, they will come up with a way to protect their valuable assets.

  12. Daphne says:

    That first orange daylily is to die for. I don’t have many daylilies in my garden, but I would put that on in.

  13. Frances, says:

    Hi Daphne, thanks for stopping by. As I look at the first orange one, it looks like the same one as the next one only upside down, LOL. Either way, it is a beauty. I may need that one also.

  14. Phillip says:

    Just beautiful – I love the lavender colored ones, like the one in the photo below the yellow one. It looks like a beautiful drive there – too bad about the display gardens.

  15. Brenda Kula says:

    I swear some of those photos look like the daylilies are wearing lace! So feminine and beautiful. You couldn’t design anything that wondrous.
    Brenda

  16. Lisa in CA says:

    Once again, great post Francis. I am not really a day lily person but I loved your photos and Sunshine Hollow looks just lovely.

  17. joey says:

    Sounds like a perfect day, Frances! Except for ‘stellas’ and ‘Happy Returns’, my daylilies are just beginning to bloom in earnest. I’m always away for the first 2 weeks of July and in and out throughout the summer at the cottage, missing favorites, happy to have many that bloom throughout August. I adore daylilies and your photo shoot was delightful.

  18. Frances, says:

    Hi Phillip, that is a pretty one. We have several with those colors here, but none quite as striking as that one. I plan on adding some of the Dougherty daylilies to my collection over time, a good path to follow for they are so lovely. The display gardens were actually fine, they are planted around a small lake and protected. It was the stock fields that the photo was showing. Normally that field is filled with flowers, so breathtaking as you first drive in. Thanks for stopping by.

    Hi Brenda, that is a good observation. The ruffled ladies are quite dressed up. Brokenbeat, my son, says they look like French aristocrats at court. Thanks for visiting.

    Hi Lisa in CA, thanks. I was reading that the daylilies need a slight freeze to trigger dormancy and bloom, they in particular mention southern Florida and southern Texas as not being the right climate. I don’t know about California, though. Glad you could enjoy the flowers anyway.

    Hi Joey, I love the sound of your summer cottage, lucky you. I have been eyeing Happy Returns, love the color and it would add to all the darker ones we have. Thanks for the kind words.

  19. Jan says:

    Oh, I am glad I don’t garden where there are deer. I would be crushed if my plants were eaten like this. I think I would have to put deer food on the other side of the fence to protect my plants. I guess that isn’t practical, huh. Love all the daylily photos.

    Jan
    Always Growing

  20. Dave says:

    That must have been devastating for him to lose all those daylilies. I’m glad you found what you were looking for. I read an article recently about someone turning kudzu into bio-fuel. I hope that’s true, we have enough of it! By the way kudzu blossoms are edible.

  21. Skeeter says:

    Thank you so much for letting me stroll through my beloved Tennessee! Makes me a bit, okay, a lot homesick but in GA we see beautiful scenes as well.

    Kudzu is there! Look out the armadillo have crossed the border and the fire ants are on the way!

    Drought have the deer eating my ivy for the first time ever! They must be desperate to endure the shock for food. I have heard the only fencing to keep them out completely would be a 9 foot tall one… I see them jump our 4 foot fence with ease!

  22. Annie in Austin says:

    There is such a charming immediacy to your adventures, Frances – we do feel as if we’ve been to Sunshine Hollow, and now feel sympathetic toward the daylily growers – and maybe even to the poor, starving deer.

    I’d like to grow the daylily where your hand is in the photo – love the color and shape as well as the size. The once-bloomers are done here but with a little water, ‘Happy Returns’ and ‘Vi’s Apricot’ should repeat bloom until fall.

    Did you settle for store bought pecan ice cream?

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

  23. DP Nguyen says:

    What a fun day trip! The daylilies are beautiful as always, and what variety in the color!

  24. Frances, says:

    Hi Jan, thanks for stopping by. I have a friend who cannot grow many things because of severe deer eating, I would have to enclose a special area to grow those things. The daylilies alone are worth that effort.

    Hi Dave, thanks. There has been some word about the biofuel on the news here as well. It seems like a good solution, there is no weather disaster that affects the growth of kudzu. But I won’t be eating it anyway, yuck! ;->

    Hi Skeeter, glad to oblige. We are so close to GA, we get their news and weather on TV. My daughter in Knoxville had fireants, I think they were in the shrubs planted by the builder. We have a resident skunk who likes to dig, and of course bunnies. A tall fence will probably be what they end up with at Sunshine Hollow, although Dave was telling me about a fifteen foot tall fence that was pushed over by a pack, herd? of deer trying to get to daylilies.

    Hi Annie, ah, the intuitive woman realizes the pain of the ice cream loss. I did have vanilla bean with chocolate and caramel sauces when I got home, thank you. I like that giant daylily too, the plant was very tall. All of the Dougherty ones were great, that will be my new slant, maybe putting them together, someday. We should feel sorry for the poor deer, starving animals are a sad thing. I am wanting Happy Returns, and Vi’s Apricot is my favorite color, will have to look for that one too. I am in the process of redoing the daylily set up, there will be room for more!

    Hi DP, thanks, it was fun in spite of the negatives that were mentioned. I just like going there.

  25. Yolanda Elizabet says:

    How devatating to lose all those daylilies but how sad for the deer too to be driven to such desperate measures. Thanks for the pics of those gorgeous but so far nameless daylilies. This year I have daylilies in my garden for the first time ever and I’m loving it!

    How kind that dig up that beautiful daylily espcially for you!

  26. Frances, says:

    Hi YE, well rested from your second vacation we trust? Glad to see you back. First time for daylilies, what kinds do you have? Thanks for visiting, I know you must be super busy after being away for so long. Don’t try to do everything at once! It was super nice for him to dig it, it was very hot that day and we was not a happy camper. The smile in the photo was the only smile he managed, despite my valiant effort at humor. ;->

  27. Layanee says:

    Luscious daylilies! Mine are just beginning but I don’t have anywhere near that amount. Kudos on the great pictures.

    Oh, you don’t need an ipod to listen to the podcasts on The Garden Guys website. Just click on the picture of the ipod and then pick a show. It plays through the computer. Thanks for your kind words!

  28. Frances, says:

    Hi Layanee, I was just listening to the broadcast of your radio show with Pam of Digging when your comment came through. It was fun to hear both of your voices and picture you having a face to face conversation. I am surprised at how fast the northern gardens catch up to us in the south, we will both be having daylilies blooming at the same time. Much in common, like you discussed on the radio show. Thanks for stopping by.

  29. Jon says:

    A visit to your lovely blog is as refreshing as a nice shower after working up a sweat in my garden! I love your great photos and text, and I am adding a link to your blog in my blogroll. Hope y’all have a Happy 4th. Best regards, Jon in Vicksburg, Miss. on 7-3-08

  30. Frances, says:

    Hi Jon, thanks for the link, you probably saw that you are in my sidebar as well. Thanks for stopping by, the kind words, and have yourself a happy holiday also.

  31. Robin's Nesting Place says:

    Those are lovely daylilies. The kudzu was all over the area where I lived in Alabama. It would be wonderful if they could actually find a use for it.

  32. Frances, says:

    Hi Robin, thanks for visiting. Wouldn’t that be a smart use of an easily grown plant, to make fuel out of it? Hope that comes to fruition. It would help solve many problems.

  33. Garden Lily says:

    What wonderful colour on that Dave Rhyne daylily, and to have it delivered by Dave Rhyne is such a great moment! Wow, I love that cream-coloured monster one, I didn’t know there was any such thing.

  34. Frances, says:

    Hi Garden Lily, welcome and thanks for visiting. We love the stargazer lily here also. The size of that creamy flower was impressive, wasn’t it? Looks like I need to go back to Sunshine Hollow!

  35. I likE plants! says:

    Beautiful daylilies! I really enjoyed your post.

    ~=)

  36. Frances, says:

    Welcome Eric, and thanks so much for stopping by. Glad you liked it.

Comments are closed.