Web Walk

It is early morning and we are going out the back door to have a walkabout the garden, as we try and do every single day. We have had some rain recently so says the dragonfly’s flagon. Good deal. That means the plants should be pert and perky. Off we go!
Turning left to go up the stone steps to see what’s happening in the veggie garden we come upon this bit of filament where the gravel path meets the block wall. Oh goody, misty moistiness. The camera is at the ready, for we may get to see some interesting things on this foggy morning.

Looking up at the arborvitae hedge that lines the back of the veggie patch, we see some filmy weavings. The evergreens are always a good spot to find such things when the wetness catches on the nearly invisible threads. Let’s continue down the hedge to see what else will show itself to us.

On the tomatoes, with the arborvitae behind, someone has been a busy spider. You have created a vision of beauty Ms. Arachnid. Very geometrical.

Still at the tomato row, this masterpiece reminds us of a lacy collar on a victorian dress.

Down in the area we call the flat garden where the old gravel driveway of the house next door used to end, more of a parking lot really, the blue Atlas Cedar holds the spinnings of a free style artist. There may be a pattern here, but it is not readily apparent. Good job though, we applaud the effort.

Now what’s this? It certainly has a web look to it doesn’t it? This is a large fan covering that was found laying out for the trash pick up. It got picked up allright, and just fit inside the diamond at the end of the arbor built by our Gardoctor. It may get painted someday, or not. The foggy background gives it a sense of mystery. Was this the work of a large spider with access to a welding machine?

I hope this one shows up, you may have to click on it to see the web covering the entire breadth of the pond. These master builders must be able to jump great lengths to get started on one of this size. We are still waiting for the first waterlily flower, this area has gotten more shady through the years and may not let enough sun in for flower production. The leaves are still lovely though and echo the shape of the glass fisherman floats.

Walking around to the front to get the morning paper we notice this work of art on the weeping blue atlas cedar. In the distance is the row of Knockout roses that line neighbors Mae and Mickey’s white fence. Hi there neighbors!

Up near the front door on the post that used to hold dearly departed rose Killer, now home to a Carolina Jessamine, yet more webbing is spotted. Everywhere we look are more webs. Are they always there and we just don’t see them on sunny dry days?

There were several webs with the large opening at the bottom as you can see here, I hope. I have never noticed before that type of spinning, with the egg shaped open space. Interesting. The coloring on the fading iris leaf has always attracted me. I have woven baskets out of this strong material, braiding it first for more uniform thickness. I’m afraid my basket making days are coming to an end however, for my hands lack the strength necessary to pull the weavers tight anymore. Adjustments will have to be made in the weaving process for that lack. Anyway, I have made a lifetime supply of baskets, sold some, given more away and have the rest hanging on the rafters in the garage loft space. Storage has been a problem for the larger ones, hanging is the best solution. They look pretty, but really attract the spider webs!

We got off track there a little, please forgive me. Back to the web walk, I think this one is on a butterfly bush. The gold chamaecyparis is in the background.

We have always called this type of web as belonging to the writer spider, also called a wolf spider. This one is in the rosemary topiary forest and the weaver is small, now. We have seen very large black and yellow spiders weave this same form of web. I hope this one doesn’t get that large, or he will have to be removed.

Drat, this photo taken in the black garden doesn’t show the web well with the Summer Wine ninebark. But look just past at that spot of bright pink! The new lily is beginning to bloom. Hooray!

Loaded with buds is this species lily, new this year, Black Beauty. Once again, there is nothing black about it, but it still is worthy of a spot in the black garden. Look at those luscious blooms.

Maybe the black refers to the stamens, for they are very dark. Not would I would call black, but maybe they darken with age. Well that winds up our web walk for today. Foggy wet mornings show us art in the garden that is normally not visible, although in the mornings sometimes we feel a thread across the face and know that we have interrupted the work of our friendly spiders, just doing their job. We cooexist with them, knowing some are dangerous. There is a place for all here, as was meant to be.

Frances

This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to Web Walk

  1. Lucy says:

    I love webs in the same way as I love to see hoar frost.

    But I’m useless at identifying.

    Every year, about this time, I get out my books and try to work out which is what and whether orb spiders really are poisonous etc. etc. – and I always fail and always start again the next year – with the same results.

    But webs is webs is webs and they are all lovely!

    Inspiring post.

    Lucy

  2. Rose says:

    Loved this early morning walk, Frances.I always enjoy the spider webs–unless they’re in the house, of course. Their webs are truly works of art, and I know they’re taking care of some unwanted insects for me.
    It’s foggy here, too;you’ve inspired me to go check for webs in my own garden now.

  3. Dave says:

    Spiders make some fascinating weaves in their webs. You captured some good webs in your photos!

  4. tina says:

    You did a great job of sharing our early morning walks! Webs are a joy to see in the garden as are the spiders. Maybe that egg shape opening was where an intruder burst thru it? Maybe even a fairy? Sorry about your basket making. You do lovely work and I enjoyed your post on growing the fibers and the baskets way back when.

  5. Layanee says:

    I thought for a moment that we were going to tour the internet! How meanings have changed. Magical webs are always intriguing and your pictures show them to perfection. Love the webs.

  6. Gail says:

    Frances, the spider web shots are marvelous…They are fascinating creatures and quite happy and busy at Faire Garden! I have begun to notice more webs here but not like yours! No fog here, just intense heat and humidity! Thanks for a wonderful web walk.

    Gail

  7. Frances, says:

    Hi Lucy, thanks so much. I don't know much about spiders at all, only the writing one, the web is so distinctive. The spiders are such good garden helpers, we welcome them.

    Hi Rose, good to see you and thanks for joining in the walk. My house is full of dust bunnies, cat hair and spider webs, plus what gets brought in from the garden, leaves in the hair, etc. I do try and clean up sometimes. ;->

    Hi Dave, thanks. We were lucky to get the shots, the moisture really helps them show up.

    Hi Tina, thanks. There were a couple of webs with that same exact opening, not broken but carefully woven somehow. I still love basket making, especially in the fall when the foliage is drying but still supple. Thanks for remembering the early days. ;->

    Hi Layanee, yes, it was a trick title. I am so poor at tech stuff, better at gardening. Thanks for stopping in.

  8. Frances, says:

    Hi Gail, thanks. Very hot and humid here also, already! Hoping that means another thunderstorm. The weather said a high of 96, that’s getting up there. As fall approaches the spiders seem to kick into high gear. Hope you get some rain soon.

  9. Bobbi says:

    Oh, I love spider web photos! Especially the ones that catch the morning dew! Spider webs are some of my favorite things to photograph!

  10. Mother Nature says:

    Not only beautiful when they catch the dewdrops and sun, but hummingbirds use them for their nests.

  11. Skeeter says:

    The web over the pond is great! Amazing how those spiders spin a web. I was watching one busy at work spinning in a window (outside) of our sun room. I was so captivated that I watched the thing build the entire web! I could not get a picture of it through the glass and it was sprinkle raining so I did not go for an outside attempt. Unfortunately, it was not there the next morning.

    My dad and the Saint both like Atlas Cedar trees. Once while we were together in Pigeon Forge, the Saint and Dad picked up some cones in hopes of growing their own. The trees were at the hotel pool. I had to laugh at them but gave them an A for trying…

  12. Skeeter says:

    Ops forgot to say, I have accidently destroyed my share of webs while walking through the woods! Ah, the great feeling of an attack Web…. YIKES….

  13. Phillip says:

    They are pretty but irritating when you walk through one which happens to me just about every morning. You would think I would know by now that they are there.

    I like your rain gauge – I’m looking for another one. I received a pretty fancy one for Christmas but it doesn’t work very well.

  14. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    What a collection of web masters you have in your garden Frances. I like seeing your garden through the eyes of a spider.

  15. Randy and Jamie says:

    Frances, what a wonderful walk thru your garden! I enjoyed every step of it. I’m curious to see more of your rosemary topiary forest. I shall have to pour over your site to find more pictures. 🙂
    -Randy

  16. Frances, says:

    Hi Bobbi, thanks, me too. We have been too dry for this type of shot until the day these were taken. One has to take advantage when the opportunity arises. ;->

    Hi Mother Nature, I didn't know that about the hummingbirds using the webs. Thanks for being a true mother of nature, we are in awe of your power. ;->

    Hi Skeeter, thanks. I have collected the seeds from the cones and planted them but never had any luck. Sometimes that takes years for germination, or fire or something we can't provide. They do get points for the effort. I always feel bad when walking through a web, hoping no spider is going to be on my face or head too.

    Hi Phillip, thanks. That rain gauge is a cheapo from Lowes. We have to replace the glass gauge sometimes, but a really cheap one fits this one also. We put a piece of pvc on the the end. We forget and leave it out when there is frost and it cracks. In the fall we try and remember to take a stick to knock down the webs across the path.

  17. Frances, says:

    Hi Lisa, what a good way to put it, seeing the garden through the spider’s eyes, thanks.

    Hi Randy and Jamie, thanks, glad you like it. The first rosemary post was one of the earliest ones when I started the blog last December. Here is the url:
    http://fairegarden.blogspot.com/2007/12/rosemary.html There is mention of the rosemary forest in one of the fairy posts too, I will look for it. http://fairegarden.blogspot.com/2008/05/fairies-part-two.html
    Hope you enjoy it.

  18. Titania says:

    Frances, this was a lovely morning web walk, (and not a cyber one) much nicer. I love spider webs in the morning when they are holding diamonds and crystals to sparkle in the first sun rays. The net over the pond is amazing. Great post.

  19. Nancy J. Bond says:

    Beautiful webs, especially when they’re empty! 😉 I expected to see Charlotte nestled in one of them.

  20. Crafty Gardener says:

    Lovely spider web photos, they are so pretty covered in morning dew. Your addition of a fan cover makes an interesting spot to view through.

  21. Jan says:

    I love those morning stolls when I am able to see the spider webs that were built overnight. We have just started having the larger webs here, but with such dry weather, there are no dew drops to set them off. Your photos are great.

    Jan
    Always Growing

  22. Frances, says:

    Hi Titania, thanks so much. Diamonds and crystals are an apt metaphor. So glad you could see the web over the pond, it was very thin and fine.

    Hi Nancy J., the web with the egg shape at the bottom reminded me of Charlotte, was she trying to send us a message? Thanks for stopping by and the kind words.

    Hi Crafty, thanks. Do you think I should paint the fan cover? If so, what color?

  23. Frances, says:

    Hi Jan, thanks. You are so right about the dry weather. We have been lucky with a few pop up thunderstorms in the evening. Afterwards everything is wet but soon becomes steamy with the heat in the nineties. But the plants are telling me that fall is just around the corner.

  24. lola says:

    Hi Frances, I really enjoyed the tour through you garden in the misty morning. That is a wonderful time to explore what has been going on during the night. A magical time.
    Thanks so much for the tour.
    I will have to go back & see your post on basket making. I have a few that were hand made be the cherokee. Seems to be a dying art. I think of the talent of the person that made a particular basket so I wrote the name of the maker on the bottom least I forget.

  25. Carol says:

    I’m not a big spider fan, but those webs do have a certain beauty early in the morning. Maybe some of those webs are actually bits of lace left by the garden fairies in their haste to run and hide as the sun rose.

    I’d love to see pictures of some of your baskets!

    Carol, May Dreams Gardens

  26. Pam/Digging says:

    You certainly have some busy spiders in your garden, Frances. Nice shots of them too.

  27. Frances, says:

    Hi Lola, thanks so much. Glad you enjoyed the tour. Looking back, I think the post was about broom making and I mentioned some basket making too then never followed up with a basket post. I will though, there seems to be interest in it. The broom post can be found here:

    http://fairegarden.blogspot.com/2008/01/brooms.html

    I always signed the bottom of the baskets I made, if possible.

    Hi Carol, spider webs and fairy webs are so similar, it if nearly impossible to tell the difference. Looks like a basket post will have to be put together sometime. Thanks for dropping in.

    Hi Pam, thanks. Everyone at the Faire Garden is a very hard worker. No slackers here. ;->

  28. Roses and Lilacs says:

    Garden walks on a misty morning are the best. I didn’t see a single ‘catch’ in any of the webs. I believe you have more spiders than bugs for them to eat. Which is a good thing:)
    Marnie

  29. Frances, says:

    Hi Marnie, you know, I don’t usually see any prey in the webs. Maybe that comes later in the day, these shots were taken at daybreak. Do the spiders spin at night? We have so many bugs, I do hate to see one in a web though and sometimes free them. Thanks for that input and for stopping by.

  30. DP Nguyen says:

    I’m a big fan of spider webs, but they are interesting to look at and they are so intricate! It’s great. When do you remove yours? I wonder if spider webs are good for the garden. I guess they do eat bugs, but I just don’t like knowing there is a spider around the corner that could bite me! LoL.

    But the web walk was very interesting! and gorgeous blooms!

  31. Frances, says:

    Hi DP, I am not frightened by the spiders or their webs, but don’t like walking into one and it getting on my face. Spiders are very shy creatures and will not attack you. I don’t remove the webs, but do spray the evergreens hard with the water hose to prevent spider mites in dry weather. The spiders eat bad bugs and most consider them garden helpers. Thanks for stopping by.

  32. Annie in Austin says:

    What fun to see all the webs decorating your garden, Frances ~ especially the one stretched over the pond. Last summer we had spiny orb weavers everywhere, but there are only a couple this year. The ones most in evidence are the small green garden spiders that lurk in the hibiscus and roses in hopes of a buggy meal, but they do not spin.

    I’d also like to see a post on your baskets someday when you have the time.

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

  33. Frances, says:

    Hi Annie, thanks so much. When it is so dry, the spider webs are not visible. We were lucky the day these shots were taken. I do considert the spiders to be friends of the garden. Looks like a post about the making of baskets will be contemplated.

  34. Eve says:

    Spider webs always remind of Charlotte’s web. They are beautiuful as most of nature’s teasures are. No artist will ever come close to duplicating the wonderful colors and forms we find in nature. Thanks for the post. It was more than interesting. It was was an education.

    Was this the work of a large spider with access to a welding machine. ROFL

  35. Frances, says:

    Hi Eve, glad you enjoyed it. I have always been drawn to the spider webs and their industriousness.

  36. fran sorin says:

    Frances-
    Love the potpourri of webs that you shared with us. You either have a great eye for ‘seeing’ them or else your property is just filled with these goodies. Thanks for the reminder that we should stop and observe what is in front of us, with heads up, rather than always looking down at the ground (for weeds I dare say)! Fran

  37. Frances, says:

    Hi Fran, thanks so much. There is a lot of garden here, very little lawn, so lots of spider opportunity to jump from here to there with spinning in mind. When the morning is foggy and wet, I grab the camera to look for webs that would ordinarily be invisible. Ever the opportunist.

  38. Catherine says:

    Wonderful captures of all the webs!
    Your garden is so magical!
    Cat

  39. Frances, says:

    Hi Cat, thanks so much. Fog and moisture help create the scene, don’t they? Wish we had more mornings like that. Most are dry and hot lately.

  40. Cosmo says:

    Wonderful webs in your faire garden–they’re works of art, as are your photos of them! I’m with Phillip, though–I hate it when I accidentally walk through one, and not only because I’ve destroyed the web–

  41. Roses and Lilacs says:

    Hi Frances. In my garden the webs seem to be spun at night. I walk outside and there is one blocking a path I took the evening before. Wonder if the spiders work at night to avoid being eaten by a sharp eyed bird in the daylight.

    I sometimes release the ‘victims’ too:) I can’t say I’m fond of spiders. I know they are a benefit to the garden so I’ve adopted a live and let live attitude. Have to admit the webs are a work of art.
    Marnie

  42. lisa says:

    Great tour, Frances! I really love to see spider webs (and spiders). Very cool decoration you made with the fan, that’s my kind of re-purposing! I used to have an antique desk fan with a grill shaped like a spider web…wish I still did! 🙂

  43. jodi says:

    So many webs! Such a web of comments, too. Things are looking wonderful, Frances, as always.
    You’ll be tickled to know i”m getting my passport finally and will be making a trip to the US in late August…so here’s hoping for next year’s Austin spring fling, too!

  44. Cindy says:

    I’ve enjoyed your web walk. I never realized you could identify the spiders by their web characteristics. I’m going to be paying closer attention on my next morning walk.

  45. garden girl says:

    Wow Frances, you spotted a lot of webs. Excellent shots! They’re great garden helpers with all the pests they snare.

    A few days ago I spotted one over a yew hedge illuminated perfectly by the sun, and grabbed my camera. It was less than a minute before the sun’s position changed and the web seemed to disappear.

    The spiders around here seem to like our front storm door. They aren’t allowed to stay there, and it’s an almost-daily chore getting rid of the web and moving the spider to a more secluded spot.

  46. Frances, says:

    Hi Cosmo, welcome and thanks so much for stopping by. When walking through the webs and they brush my face, it is unpleasant, I agree.

    Hi Marnie, the spiders are night artists, eh? That explains the web appearance in the mornings. Sometimes they are gone by noon. It must be frustrating for the little guys.

    Hi Jodi, so glad to see you. That is great news about your passport. I think the meet up for next year is in the fall at Chicago thanks to Barbara at Mr. McGregor's Daughter. Hope she has room for us all! ;->

    Hi Cindy, thanks. The only web I can tell who did it is the writing or wolf spider. But there is probably info online about how do identify the webs. There is every bit of information one could dream of oneline, isn't there?

    Hi Linda, thanks. You are a good steward to move the spiders each day from your door. Wonder why they are drawn to that spot? Bug hang out? HA

  47. Frances, says:

    Hi Lisa, sorry this is out of order. I am always saying this to people. Anyway, thanks. That sounds like such a cool fan. I have a spider web gold pin. I wear it on my witch’s costume on Halloween.

  48. Salix Tree says:

    Fantastic photos! I love spider webs, they have fascinated me my entire life. Our whole family is careful to leave webs where they are built. Once we had a gigantic one in our kitchen. We managed to avoid walking into it for several days till one day it was gone.

  49. Frances, says:

    Hi Salix, thanks so much. It is nice to see you again, I am so behind on my blog reading, too much to do in the garden right now. A web inside the house is not allowed here, if it is where it will be noticed. In the corners at the ceiling, I turn a blind eye until dusting time which doesn't happen very often. ;->

  50. Leah/ Texas/ United States says:

    What incredible webs – you have some talented spiders in your part of the country – very talented. I live in West Texas and there isn’t much of anything for spiders to build webs on out of my side of town, it being mostly martian landscape and no trees. You are lucky and blessed to be surrounded by such beautiful greenery and pretty pink blooming irises. thanks for sharing so people like me can armchair (or computer chair) travel!

  51. Frances, says:

    Hi Leah, thanks and welcome. Also, thanks for that nice link in your blog, Colorful Art Girl. We are lucky with our climate and can grow a great diversity of plants. We are experiencing a drought at the moment, but are trying to adjust our plantings to a more xeric one. Glad you enjoyed it here.

Comments are closed.