We Begin

If you are reading this

It means that you

 

Have followed me here.

I thank you.

~~~

(Please bear with us as we feel our way around here. If you care to leave a comment, and we LOVE comments, your blog will be listed in the blogroll on the sidebar.  The links on the sidebar on blogger will remain, but are too numerous to transfer here.  Some are out of date and needed to be updated anyway. There is still much to learn and our method is as always trial and error.  We hope that soon this blog will begin to look like home.)

Frances

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to We Begin

  1. Jan says:

    Hey, Frances. I’ve updated my blogroll to show your new site. Love the blue morning glory – beautiful color.

    Jan
    Always Growing

    Hi Jan, thanks for that. I have added you also. There may be some time when I need to ask a question about doing things here. Do you mind if I contact you? Are you smart with this stuff? I have an issue already that I cannot figure out. ;->
    Frances

  2. Sylvia (England) says:

    Frances, congratulations on your move! I do like your banner, nice and bright, just what I need on a grey English day. Hope the ‘settling in’ continues to go well for you.

    Best wishes Sylvia (England)

    Oh thank you, Sylvia, so nice to see you. We are working diligently trying to find our way around the maze of buttons to click on here. It is kind of fun though, in a masochistic way!;->
    Frances

  3. rstair says:

    Hi Frances, your new site is looking good. I moved to wordpress too and now I’m showing up in Blotanical again. I added you to my blogroll!

    Hi rstair, thanks and welcome. I was not showing up in blotanical as of last night, haven’t checked it out yet this morning. Thanks for adding me to your blogroll. As soon as your url is located I will add you to mine!
    Frances

  4. Smooth a silk, Fances.

    Hi Donna, more like sandpaper, I’d say! I am still struggling, as there is no innate ability to figure out this maze. It is get better, as with everything, practice, practice, practice! ;->
    Frances

  5. Jane Marie says:

    Hi Frances, I’m heading over to my blog to edit your address on my blogroll. You’re looking good so far. Love that morning glory.
    I might have to make the same move or give up on Blotanicals. Don’t know what I’ll do yet.

    Hi Jane Marie, thanks for that. I know how you feel and kept waiting for Stuart to fix the problem and it finally just got to me. I opened the account at wordpress and starting fooling around with it to see if I could write here. That part is easy, just writing, loading photos and publishing. It is the extras that are more difficult. Blogger made it so simple and it is not like that here. But I do like this way to reply to comments, it is so much easier to be able to see what has been written while composing a reply and it shows up right under the original comment. Very logical.
    Frances

  6. Gisele says:

    Your new blog looks fantastic! I hope to keep reading your beautiful posts for many many years.

    Hi Gisele, what a nice thing to say, thanks! I do hope to get back to my normal novel length posts soon, but will slip in some shorties with photos to keep it interesting and fun for me too. I need a break from those longer posts sometimes and this new site makes it easy to do that. I appreciate your support. I have been keeping my eye on those passionflowers fruits. When they are ready to harvest I will let you know.
    Frances

  7. nancybond says:

    Well done. 😉

    Hi Nancy, I honestly could not have done it without your help and encouragement. I mean it. Thanks so much. If there is anything I can ever do to help you in any way, please let me know.
    Frances

  8. Gail says:

    Hey there, I made it over here! Frances, your new home is going to be perfect. You will add the right homey touches, a few flowers here, a favorite photo there and we will feel your warm welcome each time we visit. You rock!

    warmest wishes my dear friend,
    Gail

    Hi Gail, also my dear friend, as you can see I am doing better. So much so that I have not had time to read my favorite blogs! There is still much to do, but we are showing up on blotanical, hooray, the reason for this move. It feels a little more like home each day. Thanks for listening to my ranting and raving through those tough moments!
    Frances

  9. Meems says:

    Hi Frances, Wow. I found you here through blotanical which hasn’t been working for me for so long I haven’t even checked in on it in days. Actually I’ve been so busy I haven’t been blogging in days so I will have to go over to your other blog to hopefully get the backstory on your move. I have SO been thinking about moving to wordpress so I am curious about your thought process for the decision. LOVE the big photos and clean look of the new blog. The zinnia in the header is perfect. Anyway, hope you enjoy exploring and discovering this new way for you… have a great day!
    Meems @Hoe&Shovel

    Hi Meems, so glad to see you here. I hope you and yours are safe, if drenched. The move seems to be the right one, so far. If I was a little smarter about computers it would have been easier. But trial and error is the only way I know how to do anything, so I don’t get too frustrated ( a lie) when it takes many errors to accomplish the tiniest thing. Thanks for the kind words and support. I hope to make many improvements over the next few days to bring this up to the level of the blogger blog.
    Frances

  10. Sunita says:

    What fun! A housewarming post!
    Its looking good, Frances. I’m sure you’ll feel at home here in no time at all.

    Hi Sunita, thanks for following me over here. Thanks for your continued support.
    Frances

  11. Dave says:

    It looks good Frances! There are some positives things with WordPress that blogger doesn’t have. I like the author commenting underneath the actual comment. It seems much more personal. I’ll go update the blogroll!

    Hi Dave, thanks. The comment set up is much nicer, to be able to read the comment as you type the response is so much easier, and it reads better too. There are several steps to accomplish this feat, though and without having read about it in one of Pam at Digging’s answers to a comment I would never have known how to begin to figure it out. Nothing here is straightforward, like it is on blogger. Every single thing is a series of steps that have no logical reason, that’s just the way you have to do it. It is a matter or retraining to remember how to do each thing. A good memory exercise, if nothing else. Hey, great hummingbird shots!
    Frances

  12. Well done Frances – I will update you in my blogroll
    Your site is looking lovely
    Karen

    Hi Karen, thanks. You were of tremendous help to me through those tough beginning steps here. I so appreciate you so much, and if I can ever help you in any way, please don’t hesitate to ask.
    Frances

  13. PS – Got here via blotanical – (even though I knew you were here)
    🙂
    K

    Thanks Karen. Stuart sent me an email saying it was up and running after my umpteenth message to him. There is still a kink in my feed url, but it is showing up in the picks and I can certainly tell the difference by the number of comments. Thanks for looking out for me!
    Frances

  14. walk2write says:

    Don’t worry. It won’t be long before everyone finds you here. You attract a large following with your wonderful posts. Love your pic as usual.

    Hi walk2write, thanks so much. That was a worry, but the post on blogger with the links was a good start. I got that idea from Nancy at Soliloquy, she was a huge help in this move, along with Karen at Artist’s garden and Pam at Digging, and Gail at Clay and Limestone for moral support!
    Frances

  15. Robin says:

    Hi Frances! I’ve never commented on your blog before, but I sure have enjoyed it! Turns out I was just adding a garden blogroll to my blog when I discovered your move, so your new address is up to date. I’ve only been gardening at my new home in central Ohio for two years, so I have a long way to go yet. My blog has been marking it’s slow progress, while trying not to mourn the lovely garden I left behind at my old house in southeastern Michigan. I’ll be back here to visit, believe me. I am quite addicted to garden blogs!

    Hi Robin thanks and welcome! I am so glad you decided to comment, you have been added to my blogroll as a result. I know your new garden will give you great pleasure, after all, it is the gardener who makes the garden, not the other way around. I have left many a garden and will leave this one too someday. The fun is in the making. I can’t wait to start a new one. I’m addicted to the garden blogs as well, there is so much to learn and enjoy out there in the blogdom!
    Frances

  16. Skeeter says:

    I do like the format of your reply under the comment by each person. That is a great asset and time saver! Although, I like to read others comments as well but some days, I just dont have the time to read every single comment. It can be so addictive to me so I do find myself throttling back a bit. One must live outside the computer box ya know. The computer does not do the ironing or house cleaning for me.. lol…

    The top bloom pic is pretty. What is that one?

    Hi Skeeter, thanks so much. The top picture is a seed grown dahlia ‘Bishop’s Children’ grown by offspring Semi last year and given to me in the pot to see if it would winter over in the ground. There were several planted but only two returned. I am tickled to see that color, it is a favorite. They bloom so late, just now starting to open. Grasshoppers have been eating the petals before the buds open for a month now, Arghh! I sow these seeds almost every year, get them from Thompson and Morgan online. They germinate easily but are iffy on hardiness here. Mine are all red. I bet they are perennial in your area though. My computer doesn’t even vacumn, what a lazy machine! LOL
    Frances

  17. Pam/Digging says:

    Hi, Frances. The new template looks fabulous! Congrats on getting it to work, and without the help of a computer guru, so you rock! I’ve changed your URL in my blogroll and I have your new feed too. Looking forward to posts on the new site.

    Hi Pam, welcome to the new digs! I have you to thank for mentioning about the comment replies in the same box. I have always admired that method and remembered you mentioning how it was done in a comment reply. I didn’t know at the time what you were talking about, but did remember the word edit and just fooled around with it until it happened. I wish I had the help of a computer guru, but this way I might be more likely to remember the steps. Why does there have to be so many steps for every little thing here? That is the biggest difference between blogger and wordpress. Oh yes, and the blotanical thing. Thanks once again for everything you have helped me with both then and now. You are so very kind and it is much appreciated.
    Frances

  18. Cinj says:

    Wow, so many people are moving from blogger it’s crazy. I like your new page, it takes a while to get used to a new blog. I should know, I’ve had 4 of them. I have to stop moving or people will start to think I’m nuts.

    Hi Cinj, thanks. I am beginning to like it more all the time. Some things are easier, like answering comments. Some things are very hard, like the widgets, but I finally figured it out and am feeling better about the whole thing. I can’t imagine moving four times though, yikes!
    Frances

  19. Robin says:

    Frances, I’m so bummed that Blogger feeds are not going to Blotanical. I really don’t want to move my blog.
    Your new site looks great. Was it difficult to do?

    Hi Robin, I know exactly how you feel. That is what led me to switch. I kept thinking every day when I got up and turned on the computer that blotanical would be fixed, but it never was. It took some of the joy out of blogging knowing that many were missing your posts that used to come via blot. I cannot lie, it was difficult for me, but I am not techie, although I have to say that after doing this, I am now somewhat techie. ;-> You could get an account and try it out writing and loading photos before making the big switch. That’s what I did several days before feeling confident enough to move. Feel your way around there and be sure and check out the FAQ, there is a lot of good info there. Good luck on whatever you decide. Those hummers are amazing, as are your photos. I have often thought the same thing about holding the feeder.
    Frances

  20. Well, it looks like you’re getting a handle on things now. I hope your learning curve goes smoothly & swiftly.

    Hi MMD, thanks for the good wishes. I am doing better today and feel calmer about the move. There is still lots for me to learn and lots of places to learn from on wordpress in the FAQ and forums. That wil help.
    Frances

  21. Lola says:

    Hi,Looks good.No problem following you. I like this style. Seems much easier.
    Love the flowers. Very pretty.

    Hi Lola, thanks and welcome. Glad you were able to follow the links. It is easier in some ways, and I am getting better at manuevering the site. So glad you are here.
    Frances

  22. Cameron says:

    I have placed you on my blogroll. I love the look of your new blog! I look forward to reading all your posts. Cameron (Defining Your Home Garden)

    Hi Cameron, thanks so much. You have a beautiful garden and I look forward to reading about yours as well, now that I am not spending so much time figuring this out here at wordpress.
    Frances

  23. Wow, Frances! I’m impressed as all get-out and love that direct answer thing…always admired it at Pam/Digging blog.

    Your new address is in bloglines but I didn’t change the blogroll yet – got to get off the computer and cook.

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

    Hi Annie, thanks and welcome. I almost forgot to cook dinner myself, having so much fun on the blog for a change. This is getting better every day.
    Frances

  24. tina says:

    Oh geez! First PGL now you! You guys are making me have to change-oh dear not a good day for this at all for me! Just kidding. Change is good, yes, just takes adjustment. I will update my blogroll. I was wondering what is up. Good thing you came and told me as your last post did not feed to my blog. Looks good. I can’t believe how many are changing to wordpress. Thanks for coming and getting me!

    Hi Tina, I figured something was up when you didn’t come visit, I double posted on both blogger and wordpress with the Moving post but guess you missed it, sorry! Anyway, you are right, change is good. There is a reason for this moving by several of the blogger blogs, and it is Blotanical. Frequent users there have noticed that their posts aren’t showing and it is disheartening to work hard on a post and not have it seen by many that view it through blotanical. I use it that way myself. And yes, we did it just to make more work for you! Get your fingers limbered up because Gail is working on it too! LOL
    Frances

  25. pixiestemple says:

    You were a recommended site in my feed reader this evening. I’m glad I clicked through both links to end up here. Your gardens are beautiful.

    Hi Pixie, thanks and welcome. I am interested in that recommendation, was it something the feedreader did, or was it from another blog reader? It must have come through blogger if you had to go through both posts, thanks so much for following the links!
    Frances

  26. *pixie* says:

    Whoops that was me up above without the proper link.

    Hi Pixie, thanks for the link to your blog so I can add you to my blogroll. That is pretty funny about your pieces of paper. I am bad about that too, or used to be in my younger days. I get rid of papers to the recycle pile or shred them first if there is any sensitive info on them now or they tend to reproduce exponentially!
    Frances

  27. linda says:

    Hi Frances, welcome to your new blog home! It looks great.

    I’ve thought about switching too, but just can’t find the time right now. I do hope the blotanical boondoggle gets straightened out soon!

    Hi Linda, so glad to see you here and thanks. The switch did take time, but more than it should have because I am so computer illiterate. If you are clever at the keyboard you could do it faster. The nice thing is that you can keep both blogs and not lose anything on either. Your old posts and comments can remain on blogger and also be imported intact to wordpress with the click of one button, the magic button it says above it. Some of us have given up on blotanical getting fixed for the bloggers, but it probably will get fixed in the end, or Stuart will tell everyone what they need to do. What if he tells them all to switch to wordpress? They should give him royalties or something. LOL
    Frances

  28. LindaLunda says:

    Hi Frances… You know that I love your blog!!!! I would like to see your garden in real life… but… you are to far away … and that is one of my sorrows..
    Linda

    Hi Linda, thanks and you have been a great follower, it is very much appreciated too. I love your blog and enthusiasm but especially your sculptures, you are such a talent! I would love for you to visit here, maybe some day you never know! ;->
    Frances

  29. *pixie* says:

    Frances—It was done BY the feed reader, specifically Google Reader. The link was for the blogspot blog (obviously now outdated). I’m not sure the logistics of how it all works, but I’m still glad I took the time to click through.

    Hi Pixie, I am so glad you came too. I am curious about why google would do that? I wonder if they could tell that my entired blog posts and comments was transferred to wordpress and wanted to send more readers to the blogspot site? They might be noticing a lot of this happening. I wonder if they can figure out why! LOL
    Frances

  30. Hi Frances~
    New blog looks good so far! The Morning Glory picture is so pretty.
    Enjoy today~
    Karrita

    Hi Karrita, thanks for coming on over. Hope to see you again soon.
    Frances

  31. Skeeter says:

    I picked up two Princess Dahlia plants this summer and put them in the ground at the hottest time of year. With a drought and the heat, they did not make it. I was sad as they were a most beautiful flower color. I may try seeds next year! We do have a lot of stuff return here in GA that will not in TN so maybe they would be perennials and keep on returning for me…

    Hi Skeeter, mid summer planting does not seem to be a good time for me either. I have had the best luck with seeds or packaged roots prestarted inside late winter and then planted out after last frost. You might be able to go right into the ground. In Houston, they were quite hardy and planted as tubers in fall. Good luck!
    Frances

  32. Barbee' says:

    Wow, Frances! Miss a few of your posts, and then find you left home! Did you change the locks, too?! 🙂 Looking good over here. I don’t know what’s going on with Google. Yesterday, I left a scathing message in the Blogger.com Help Group about this whole mess and told them Blogger people were jumping ship to Word Press like fleas leaving a sinking ship, and while fat Google may never notice the difference, we Blogger.com bloggers missed having our friends in the Blogger.com loop. I’m sure they never read it and that it is all a coincidence, but then today Stuart’s news note said it is fixed and that it was a FeedBurner prob, so I went back today and let them have it for not communicating and letting users know they had changed their urls. Honestly. This has just been ridiculous. But anyway, I like your new home, and hope it gets easier for you. I’m sure it will. You do well with new challenges.

    Hi Barbee, thanks so much for coming to find me. While it was not easy to change over, I am feeling pretty good about it now. I am super mad a feedburner for not letting people know about their change in the feed url. That is pretty rotten. There were several of us that had a few very stressful days trying to figure out what to do. We all noticed that the wordpress blogs were not affected and that was hard to take. WordPress has lots of good features, one of which is the ability to answer comments in the same box. I am learning ways to enhance the blog’s look too and will be trying new things over time. You are right, I like a challenge. ;->
    Frances

  33. Eve says:

    You can run, but you can’t hide. LOL. I hate new things even when they are good. lOL…so I will probably stay where I am. I do like the looks of your new blog though. Being able to leave a follow up answer in the same box is great.

    Hi Eve, you are so funny, and here is another funny thing, I hate new things too! LOL Thanks for following me and you have been added to the blogroll, I had to search for your garden blog, the url on the comment email takes one to Traveling on Fumes, but the blogroll has Gardening on the Gulf Coast, is that okay?
    Frances

  34. I am behind on my reading, but I did finally find you, Frances. Welcome to the WP.~~Dee

    Hi Dee, I am so glad you did. A longer reply is below on your other comment. Thanks for coming!
    Frances

  35. Daphne Gould says:

    Yes I don’t comment much, but have found you again. I understand why you switched. I just can’t make myself. But now at least the problem is fixed for blogspot. I had already moved a lot of the blogs that I read to my bloglines, so I wouldn’t miss too much.

    Hi Daphne, thanks and welcome. I’m glad you found me, thanks for taking the time to do it. When we move it’s always a worry that people won’t be able to find us. I am so glad that blotanical is including everyone again. I will probably stay here but the blogger blog is still open in case I change my mind.
    Frances

  36. hayefield says:

    Welcome to WordPress, Frances! I’m finally getting around to doing a bit of blog visiting, and it was a treat to see your new look. One WP feature I find very helpful is the “My Comments” feature you can access through the Dashboard: it’s a quick way to follow-up on comments you’ve left on other WP blogs. Now, I’m off to update your address on my blogroll at Hayefield (oh, and at Gardening Gone Wild, too!).
    -Nan

    Hi Nan, so glad you came over here, thanks so much. Also thanks for telling me about that feature, I have been so busy trying to set the theme and design, not to mention writing posts that I haven’t explored stuff like that. It seems a great time saver. Thanks for the update and you have been added. Oops, I need to add GGW too.
    Frances

  37. patientgardener says:

    Hi Frances – I do like the new look. I use wordpress as you know and I have found it very user friendly. When I had a problem the technical help responded very quickly and sorted it out.

    Hi Helen, thanks and welcome. I see you are using the same theme as my latest one. Do you find that the font is too small? I had some comments about that and have messed with the code to make it bigger, but that is very much of a hassle. I was just working on a draft and had to do the same thing over and over, when saved code was added that would change things. Arghh. They did respond quickly the first time. We’ll see about this time. I see your sidebar is showing.
    Frances

  38. Pingback: How To Grow A Butterfly Bush Standard | Fairegarden

Comments are closed.