Lunar Looks

There’s a moon out tonightthat can almost compareto the one that exists foronly one night on the deck railing.
~~~
For an absolutely fantastic shot of moonflowers see Annie at The Transplantable Rose’s bloom day post .

This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Lunar Looks

  1. LindaLunda says:

    AAAUUUuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu!!! Wolfie here…
    Lovely photos!
    Linda

    Hi Linda, thanks for howling, er visiting today. I didn’t think of that angle, good one!
    Frances

  2. Cindy says:

    Great shots, of both the moon and the moonflowers – they are one of my favorites and your shots echo the moon perfectly!

    Hi Cindy, thanks so much, the moon has always been a fave of mine too and now the moonflowers are too. They just now started blooming, I have given up on them, but they are so fun to take us into fall, I will planted them again.
    Frances

  3. Gail says:

    Frances, Two of my favorite things! Your Moonflower is spectacular but then so is that moon! Isn’t the fragrance delightful, and the twisted bloom before it opens. Mine has underperformed…well, really it hasn’t performed! Will it bloom through October for my visit? Gail

    Hi Gail, thanks, the twisted bud is lovely too, I should have taken a shot of that also. Maybe yours is just a late bloomer, mine just now started to make buds and I have given it a little more water, try that. If we don’t have a frost you should be able to see it when you come. ;->
    Frances

  4. walk2write says:

    Do you ever get any lunar moths stopping by for a sip? The flowers look so inviting!

    Hi Walk2write, I will have to look for them. We used to have them in our other TN garden. I will have to research and see we have the larval food plant around here. That would be too cool. Thanks for the tip.
    Frances

  5. Cameron says:

    Your photos just leave me stunned! Awesome moonlight and moonvine. Cameron

    Hi Cameron, thanks but snap out of it! You’ve got gardening to do. ;->
    Frances

  6. Rose says:

    Just beautiful, Frances! I saw Annie’s satiny moonflower, too; the moon photos are the perfect companion for this gorgeous flower.

    Hi Rose, thanks. My photos don’t hold a candle to Annie’s but I did use her night setting on the camera to get that textural shot.
    Frances

  7. joey says:

    This crazed ‘Moon Maniac’ loved this clever post, Frances!

    Hi Joey, you too? ;-> I do love the moon and was lucky with the moonflower. I would never have known it was even blooming, there are no flowers during the daytime when I am out working and the vine is not located where I can see it from inside. Next year that will be rectified!
    Frances

  8. tina says:

    Very pretty and such an apt comparison. I love Linda’s comment…yup, can hear the wolves now.

    Hi Tina, thanks. Glad the comment line is showing up for you. That was quite a day yesterday but it is fixed now, I think. Linda is pretty funny, she is always very enthusiatic, a wonderful trait.
    Frances

  9. Skeeter says:

    Too bad the blooms only last one day.
    Poor Saint never got to see one completly open…

    Hi Skeeter, that is too bad, show his the photos! Not the same, for sure, though.
    Frances

  10. You’re a sweetie to link our moonflowers, Frances – I like the way your flower is angled to display that subtle star at the center.

    But your moon photo doesn’t make me want to howl …it makes me think of Cher meeting Nicolas Cage at the opera!

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

    Hi Annie, thanks. Did you see the line *snap out of it* in my reply to Cameron? ;->
    Frances

  11. Fabulous.
    K

    Hi Karen, thanks. ;->
    Frances

  12. PS – I am lovin’ this colour and size of font.
    K

    Hi Karen, the color will change periodically, the size will not. I think it is easy to read but not too large. The goal is met. ;->
    Frances

  13. PPS
    And the changing header – you have done so well!
    K
    (again)
    🙂

    Hi Karen, I can’t keep up with you! Thanks again. ;->
    Frances

  14. Brenda Kula says:

    Wow! That’s one shot I can’t seem to get. The moon! And that one of yours is simply phenomenal! And the flower as well! “Ah!” instantly came from my mouth.
    Brenda

    Hi Brenda, thanks. I used the night setting and zoomed in a little, then a lot. It wasn’t as good a shot as I would like, but the main attraction was the moonflower. Glad you enjoyed it anyway.
    Frances

  15. Pam/Digging says:

    Oh, la luna! Beautiful moon imagery, Frances. I’ve been enjoying moonflower vine in my garden too lately.

    Hi Pam, thanks. I know that you can take a magnificent moon photo, but that was the best I could do. ;-> We now know to go and check out the moonflower everynight, for there are many buds..
    Frances

  16. Racquel says:

    Gorgeous moon & moonflower photos today Frances. I love how you keep changing your header on your page too, this one has alot of texture in the foliage.

    Hi Racquel, thanks. I am having fun with it.
    Frances

  17. Wonderful. The flowers simply glow.

    Hi Happy, thanks.
    Frances

  18. nancybond says:

    The flowers are beautiful, as is that lovely harvest moon. 🙂

    Hi Nancy, thanks. The moon was special that night.
    Frances

  19. Patsi-GardenEndeavors says:

    How many times can I say WOW?
    Just lovely.

    ps -don’t feel like going back to cut and paste my website.

    Hi Patsi, thanks so much. Glad you liked it.
    Frances

  20. Debi says:

    I love your new place! The moon shot is quite lovely, Frances.

    Hi Debi, thanks. I’m so glad to see you over here. Thanks for coming!
    Frances

  21. Siria says:

    Just beautiful Frances… and I love the new header! Have a great weekend.

    Hi Siria, thanks. The header will change as will the font color with the post. Maybe not every time, we shall see where that leads us. Same to you about the weekend.
    Frances

  22. I’d grow these, but I rarely go out into the garden at night in the summer because of the lousy mosquitoes. Your photos are wonderful.

    Hi MMD, ours were blooming and I hadn’t ever seen them so made a point to go out with the camera after seeing Annie’s bloom day post. We don’t go out at night much either, but we should. Thanks.
    Frances

  23. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Just love that first photo Frances. I felt like I should go turn on the porch light for the trick or treaters.

    Hi Lisa, thanks. It is in the air that fall is here, if not the calender just yet, only two days to go!
    Frances

  24. semi says:

    Lu and I looked at the moon the other night. It is so pretty. What a great pic! Love semi

    Hi dear Semi and the Lu, we share the love of all things lunar, thanks my sweets.
    Love, Frances

  25. ourfriendben says:

    Glorious, Frances! What a moon it was!

    Thanks, OFB, that was a special moon. It was so bright it was nearly daylight in the back yard as I was taking the shots.
    Frances

  26. Wow! Beautiful! Great post!
    Karrita

    Hi Karrita, thanks. So glad you enjoyed it.
    Frances

  27. Shibaguyz says:

    What a great photo of the moon… just stunning. Thank you for sharing it with us.

    Hi guyz, thanks. Glad you enjoyed it.
    Frances

Comments are closed.