There Is Not Time For This

november-25-2008-020Really, there is not.november-25-2008-021There will be hungry hoardes descending upon the Fairegarden soon. Why are we still taking photos at the break of day? (The above flower belongs with this foliage, Erysimum linifolium, variegated wallflower.)november-25-2008-095It’s an addiction, that’s what it is. This is my holiday, my turn to host. There is cranberry relish waiting to be made. And potatoes. And brussels sprouts. And desserts. And rolls. (Viburnum ‘Cardinal Candy’, uncropped in my haste, sorry.ย  But look at the light illuminating the red veins, you needed to see this.)november-25-2008-101Why can’t we resist showing you … november-25-2008-102…the wonders that are just outside the door? (Rose ‘Moonlight’ in bud and spent flower against the rusted clothesline pole that supports it in the previous shot.)november-25-2008-118Who cares about the sparkles on the shrubs? (Evergreen azalea Mother’s Day.)november-25-2008-123The frosting on the foliage? (Variegated artemesia and Spirea ‘Magic Carpet’.)november-25-2008-047Theย few standsย of muhly grass on the out of season bloom of a white moss phlox?november-25-2008-0341The cleaning is done, most, some of it, enough of it, the bathrooms. And microwave. Enough that we can show you the busting hearts of Euynomous europaeus rimmed with hoarfrost.november-25-2008-071But I wanted to show you the forest of frost on a tiny epimedium leaf.
~~~
Happy Thanksgiving to one and all.
Frances

This entry was posted in weather. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to There Is Not Time For This

  1. Shibaguyz says:

    Taking time to reflect on what is important to us… sounds like Thanksgiving to us…

    Happy Thanksgiving, Frances!

    talk to you soon…
    The Shibaguyz

    Hi Guyz, thanks for that. I know that you love to feed others too, it is very gratifying. You are either up very late or very early! But there’s lots to be done so let’s get to work! A very happy holiday to you and yours.
    Frances

  2. Pam/Digging says:

    “Who cares?” Well, of course, we do, Frances. I am cracking up over the notion of your running out to take last-minute photos before cooking for Thanksgiving. That’s an obsession all right, but we’re all obsessed too.

    Happy Thanksgiving!
    Pam

    Hi Pam, thanks so much for that support, I do appreciate you so much. It is an obsession, hope the family doesn’t hold an intervention if they catch me doing some blogging during the holiday! It could happen! Enjoy your family time this holiday!
    Frances

  3. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Forest of frost.. beautiful image that will be in my head for a long time. Thank you for your efforts during this busy week Frances. I hope you have a wonderful holiday with your family and everyone is safe and sound.

    Hi Lisa, thanks and do enjoy your holiday time as well. I forgot to mention how wonderful your amsonia looks. It is a gift to show color so late too after most things have turned to drab. Hugs to Luna.
    Frances

  4. Jan says:

    These frosty photos are so interesting. We all need to take time to see the tiny as well as the big.

    Have a happy Thanksgiving with your family and guests.

    Jan
    Always Growing

    Hi Jan, thanks for stopping by. The camera really helps see the little things. I would not get so low to the ground if I was not taking a picture, the creaking joints scare the birds! HA Hope you have a wonderful holiday too.
    Frances

  5. Gosh, how beautiful Frances. I want to wish you a very HAppy Thanksgiving! Tyra

    Hi Tyra, thanks so much. How thoughtful of you to include a wish for us even though you do not celebrate this day, we appreciate your kind friendship.
    Frances

  6. Gail says:

    Hi Frances, Your frosted forest of beauties is delightful…I don’t think I could choose one as a fav…they are all excellent. We have to take time to photograph the frosted beauties in our world…have an easy day! Gail

    Good morning Gail, thanks. Yet another hard frost last night, is there no end? I have a vault of great shots of the frost, now I’m ready for some warmer weather! I am in good shape for the big event, some cooking today and tidy up the house a bit more. Little curious hands can get into so much that we normally leave laying around, preventive measures are needed! I am glad you will have a good day with friends. Wish you could join us here, it is madcap fun galore!
    Frances

  7. Randy says:

    Wow! You really got a heavey frost last night Frances! We had a pretty good frost, it’s still dark when I go to work so I haven’t been able to get any good pictures right now.:-( Have a Happy Thanksgiving!

    Hi Randy, thanks for visiting. We are getting frost after frost each and every night, enough already! Maybe on a weekend you can get out early to get a couple of photos if you have the cold. It is a tradeoff, pretty to look at, but COLD! Do enjoy the holiday as well!
    Frances

  8. Joy says:

    Frances .. “Happy Thanksgiving” .. and good luck with all of the work that goes with it !
    I love these shots .. and yes ! It is like a frozen forest .. you captured some amazing shots : )

    Hi Joy, thanks so much for thinking of us and our big holiday. This is really a good one, all about family and eating!
    Frances

  9. Dave says:

    You’re just addicted to garden blogging! The frosts shots are great. The artemisia is especially neat due to the foliage. Happy Thanksgiving!

  10. Sylvia (England) says:

    Happy Thanksgiving to you Frances. I give thanks to all the people who make the effort to write wonderful gardening blogs for me to read and enjoy. To all those of you who take such wonderful photographs and bring your garden alive for anyone around the world to see, thank you. An extra thank you to you Frances because your blog must be an inspiration to so many people around the world including myself.

    Best wishes Sylvia (England)

    Hi Sylvia, what wonderful words you have left in this comment. It warms my heart and I do appreciate you and all the readers. I love sharing what I have made and learned about gardening and love that it is available to anyone with computer access anywhere. I give thanks to you for the wonderful satisfaction that gives me to know you are inspired.
    Frances

  11. tina says:

    You are a head of me as I have to still make up the guest beds, mop the floors, vacumn, decorate-oh enough! I just want to get in the garden, but not today or tomorrow. I agree, not enough time!

    Hi Tina, wow, that is too much for you to be doing! I am not mopping, it will be a total mess within one minute of the gang coming in the door anyway! The Financier has promised to vacumn tomorrow morning. I have the machine out in the middle of the walkway to remind him. ๐Ÿ™‚ The food is the most important thing to my group, I do what I can about the rest of it. Have some fun tomorrow!
    Frances

  12. Frances — your photos are so beautiful! I think it’s the sharing that is the addiction.

    We host Thanksgiving every year — I’ve not even started other than yesterday’s shopping. I’m reading blogs instead of getting the house and food prepared!

    I’m not posting tomorrow. I don’t know about Friday. I guess it depends upon how quiet it is tomorow night after the crowd.

    Have a wonderful and safe Thanksgiving!

    Cameron

    Hi Cameron, thanks, it is an addiction, but a good one. ๐Ÿ™‚ Sounds like you had better get on the stick or you will have hungry folks and that is never good! I have an old post that I am reposting tomorrow about making troughs that few people saw the first time around. Reruns, just like on TV. Have a wonderful holiday with your friends and family.
    Frances

  13. Rose says:

    I was just thinking….”Only one more blog reading, and then I must start on those salads…and the bathroom cleaning…” Enjoyed all your lovely photos–a great way to begin the day. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving, Frances!

    Hi Rose, so glad you could get that one more blog readin in! I am taking little breaks in between tasks today to catch up. Have a wonderful holiday and don’t work too hard! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  14. Brenda Kula says:

    It is just what gardeners do. I’m amazed at the women who are all three: faithful bloggers, wonderful gardeners, and good cooks. It somehow doesn’t seem right that one can be all three. So perhaps we cannot. I’d go buy one of those family turkey dinners and sneak one over on them. I don’t make an attempt to do big dinners. Family is too far away. And I’d much rather drool over gardening catalogs or if it’s nice spend time outside. Have a good one, Frances. Don’t work too hard. The visitors will all be gone. The house will just be a mess all over again. And your ever-faithful garden will still be there!
    Brenda

    Hi Brenda, you are right, there is not enough time to do all three all the time. Right now cooking has been moved up to number one, it usually is way at the bottom. ๐Ÿ™‚ The Financier will vouch for that. I am not going to mop the floors, a wise friend once told me that you mop up after the company, not before, they won’t even notice and it gets dirty right away anyway, even faster with little ones. It is warmer today and I would love to be out in the garden, but it will have to wait. Have a wonderful holiday, however you choose to spend it!
    Frances

  15. Taking pictures wins over cooking everyday of the week and especially on Thanksgiving my book! Glad to see I’m not the only one, love them! Have a wonderful and blessed holiday, Kim

    Hi Kim, thanks. At least you didn’t have to go out in freezing cold for your beautiful shots! ๐Ÿ™‚ Don’t work too hard and have a wonderful holiday yourself.
    Frances

  16. Shirl says:

    Hey Frances – what are you like ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Wonderful images from your garden! I do hope you find time to relax today too. I expect you will be back here later! I hope so, as I would like to wish you a wonderful time with your family and hope you all have a Happy Thanksgiving ๐Ÿ˜€

    Hi Shirl, thanks. I am taking little breaks now and then to catch up here. Of course I can’t stay away from the blogdom too long! Thanks for the good wishes.
    Frances

  17. Racquel says:

    Happy Thanksgiving Frances. Now get back in the house where it will soon be warm from teh oven. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hi Racquel, thanks. How did you know it was so nice and warm? ๐Ÿ™‚ The oven has been on all day and I am running out of steam!

    Frances

  18. nancybond says:

    The frosted foliage is my favorite, though they’re all beautiful. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving, Frances!

    Hi Nancy, thanks so much, they are all beautiful. This time it’s not a beauty pageant! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  19. Kathleen says:

    I really MUST try these frosty early morning journeys into the garden. You are capturing some incredible photos. The wallflower is something else. The cooking can wait but these will not else the frost will melt and the opportunity will be missed. So we needed to see them, thanks for putting your dinner on hold. I don’t believe there is ever such a thing as being too busy for a beautiful photograph!! Have a very blessed Thanksgiving Frances!

    Hi Kathleen, we have had yet another frosty morning, it’s starting to get old. Where’s the warmth of the south? That wallflower has been blooming since spring and I just now have gotten a clearer shot of it. The foliage is easy and being evergreen is a boost in the garden during the winter too. More wallflowers needed! May you have a wonderful holiday with your friends and family too.
    Frances

  20. Gorgeous photos – it makes me wish for a frost here.

    H Happy, you know what they say, be careful what you wish for! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for visiting. I wish I could get a cheese sample!
    Frances

  21. Gail says:

    Frances,

    We would love to be there with you and get to know the offspring and the offspring’s children!
    We will have to plan sometime! Have a wonderful day and know that I am sending you warm thoughts and hopes for a beautiful day! I have heard a rumor that warm weather is heading our way…then rain. Gail

    Hi Gail, thanks so much. They have actually taken that rain out of our forecast, saying it would stay to the south of us, as of today anyway. Maybe we can get our beach vacations coordinated next summer for some fun in the sun and a meet up. We haven’t chosen the spot or date yet. I can feel those nice thoughts, and the same are going out to you too.
    Frances

  22. Patsi says:

    Just beautiful!
    Love your frosty morning pics.
    Surprised you still have some blooms.
    Happy Turkey Day.

    Hi Patsi, thanks so much. There are just a couple of flowers still trying. If the weather would warm up the pansies and violas might stand up too and look pretty for the company. Have a wonderful holiday yourself.
    Frances

  23. The crystal formations look so enchanting on the leaves of your plants. I’ve never really seen the beauty of Winter in this way.
    Happy Thanksgiving! Hope your day to host is the best!
    Karrita

    Hi Karrita, thanks and the same to you. Seeing the ice through the macro lens of the camera does let us enter a new world. So glad I read the owner’s manual!
    Frances

  24. Siria says:

    Hello Frances! I am so glad you are obsessed because then those of us that are obsessed with looking at your inspirational posts don’t have to wait too long for the next post! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I am now prepping my side dishes and making pies….so much prepping, cooking and cleaning only to be over in such a short while. But it is so wonderful, especially when we can share it with our beloved family and friends. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

    Hi Siria, thanks and happy Thanksgiving to you. I know your meal will be fantastic for anyone with so many paella pans must be a terrific cook. ๐Ÿ™‚ As with so many things in life, the prep and anticipation of an event is part of the enjoyment, to be savored.
    Frances

  25. brokenbeat says:

    being one of the hungry hoardes about to descend upon fairegarden, i will speak for the rest and say that you should be out in the garden to witness and photograph such frosty seasonal displays. as you told me, make the most of it. though responsibility still weighs heavily on my shoulders, i’m certain that the holiday is going to cure any and all pesimism. that’s the whole point. we are so fortunate to have family gatherings as inspiration to release from then rise up and above the muck. tomorrow, then? damn right.

    My dear Brokenbeat, Come on down! We will do our best to soothe your worried brow and bring some lighthearted laughter to your psyche.
    Love, Frances

  26. AnnA says:

    The thing is–everyone is wanting to be with you and the food is only to comfort the body. You our dear Frances…comfort the heart. The food will wait but the garden does not. Happy Thanksgiving!

    Dear Anna, that is the sweetest thing to say, it brings tears to my eyes, thank you so much. Have a happy happy Thanksgiving day.
    Frances

  27. layanee says:

    I woke yesterday to a similar sight in the garden and there is nothing as beautiful as the hoarfrost! Your pictures are serene. Happy Thanksgiving!

    Hi Layanee, same to you and yours. Thanks for visiting and enjoy the day. While it is beautiful, it also means it is too cold to be in the garden doing much for stepping on the frozen foliage is a death sentence. No frost this morning!
    Frances

  28. Jen says:

    Absolutly beautiful. I have been eagerly awaiting the frost to come and visit, but it might be awhile here.

    Jen

    Hi Jen, thanks and hope your holidays were great. We will gladly share some of this frost with you, there is more than enough to go around! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  29. Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving, Frances! And I hope that you distracted your guests with the drop-dead gorgeous photo of the viburnum leaf, while you finished up that cranberry salad… amazingly beautiful!

    Hi Kim, thanks, it was great. Hope yours went well too. Luckily the visitors are all interested in gardening and the weather cooperated to let them stroll outdoors while I finished up. There are a couple still here but they will be leaving today when they get up, those young people like to stay up late and sleep in. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Frances

  30. Connie says:

    Thanks for taking time out of your busy day to share these lovely frost photos. Frost is one of my favorite subjects to capture with my camera, too.

    Hi Connie, thanks, it was my pleasure really. Hope your holiday was wonderful. The frost was starting to be less of an attraction after so many days of it so early in the season. It has warmed a little, I am thankful for that with a house full of people so we could spend time outside.
    Frances

  31. Meems says:

    Hi Frances, Is there ever time for this? Somehow we make time for it – you are right, it is an addiction. All the frosty photos are glorious. If not captured, otherwise lost to our eyes. So thank you for slipping away from your busy Thanksgiving doings to share with us. I somehow know that you managed to have a wonderful dinner for your family as well. A belated Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family.
    Meems

    Hi Meems, thanks and same to you. It is almost time to get back into a normal routine, as far as cooking goes anyway. We have not had frost now for several days, so glad I have a few good photos still in the files for future use. It really was so pretty.
    Frances

  32. Frances, your garden is an inspiration to those of us who need to work on planting for winter interest. I don’t blame you for not resisting the Siren song of the garden. I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving.

    Hi MMD, thanks. Hope your holidays were terrific ones. As a new follower of the Semi-Piet school of non gardening work, leaving everything to stand over the winter has already given many more photo ops and interest just looking out the windows. The clam remarked on how much more there was to look at out in the garden. I do believe that having the right types of plants for this, grasses in particular, helps.
    Frances

Comments are closed.