Year End Wrap Up 2008-Part Two

august-10-2008-004-2Welcome back for the second installment of the 2008 garden year review. Click here to view part one. We will take up with July, a month highlighted by flying visitors to the blooming abundance.Heliopsis ‘Bressingham Doubloon’ is seen hosting a painted lady butterfly above, a good example of the magic of the summer garden.july-5-2008-10-2Veronica ‘Sunny Border Blue’ has attracted a hairstreak butterfly.july-1-2008-040-2Daylilies and coneflowers carry the ball in the July bloom show. I sometimes get carried away with the daylily varieties, we have seventy five and counting, taking only macro shots of each rather than an overall shot of the garden beds that contain them. Note to self, take more attractive overall shots in addition to the close ups.june-26-2008-018-2Like this view of the yellow white garden featuring the non yellow or white Liatris spicata, bronze fennel, dappled willow and Yarrow ‘Summer Wine?’ to the right.  That is the black garden with red accents so it fits the planting criteria. These two color themed gardens are right next to each other and there has been some hanky panky along the border. You know what they say about the grass always being greener….august-3-2008-005-2Sailing along into August, the veggie garden was giving us plenty of good food to eat. Along with the tomato sauce we freeze yearly we tried our hand at canning for the first time. It was a rousing success and the jars of pickles were even given as Christmas presents to the family.august-28-2008-086-2The self sown bronze fennel was crawling with life from the caterpillars chomping the foliage to the scads of skippers sipping nectar from the umbrellifer blooms.august-29-2008-asheville-041-2In late August we became the proud co owners with offspring Brokenbeat and his wife of  The Hop ice cream shop in Asheville, North Carolina. september-18-2008-077-2The fall equinox in September found changes beginning to take place. The silver lace vine, Polygonum aubertii hacked back to the ground in several attempts at eradication has become a waterfall of white along the back property line, out of the reach of the loppers. It does look pretty through the arborvitae hedge.september-23-2008-015-2Which brings us to the star of September, Muhlenbergia capillaris. It was the best year ever for this hardy grass. The planting along the driveway is in the view from the window above the kitchen sink. It makes doing the dishes much more of a treat.100_1734-2Family time again, this time to join in the Susan G. Komen walk to fight breast cancer. Sister of the Financier and my great buddy Lynn came down from Pennsylvania to celebrate her sixth? year of survival from this dreaded disease. There are so very many of us who have been affected by this scourge, including fellow blogger, Zoe.october-15-2008-032-2October showcases the most wonderful mum of them all, the Sheffies, Sheffield Pink, or Hillside Sheffield Pink. Extra hardy and long blooming, this will turn the head of even the most defiant mum haters.october-30-2008-002-2Uh oh, the first hard frost hit at the end of October, turning the summer annuals into ghostly mush just in time for Hallowe’en.november-8-2008-022-2A warm then cold then warm ad infinitum cycle blessed us with much needed rain and glorious fall foliage. The grasses continued to provide movement and beauty whether covered in ice or merely dew.november-14-2008-macro-020-2November 14 goes into the annals as the day we tested the Kodak versus the Canon and finally read the owner’s manual. The budding sheffie was a prime candidate to test that newly tweaked macro setting.november-28-2008-thanksgiving-092-3Preparations for the big Thanksgiving family bash were rewarded with a great time had by all the clan, as shown by our happy faces.november-25-2008-055-2December continues with frosty mornings and record cold temps. The foliage of the Crocosmia ‘Lucifer’ was still standing after repeated sub freezing nights.december-18-2008-020-2Thanksgiving gives way to Christmas and our gift from the woodpeckers was used to help make it more festive here since we had no Christmas tree.december-28-2008-098-2The winds have been blowing mightily with warm then cold then warm then cold, well you get the idea. Athena and her minions, the Heuchera ‘Silver Scrolls’ stand guard at the corner of the daylily hill to keep us safe.december-28-2008-119-2The winterberry hollies are adding color to the front yard and greeting us warmly as we pull into the driveway after trips long and short. The signs of spring abound despite the cold. Now is the time for seed starting and garden planning, for lists to be followed and lists just for the fun of list making. 2008 has been a new frontier for the fairegarden, with blogging friends made from near and far. The feeling here is that 2009 will be the best year ever! May all your hopes and dreams come true for the fresh beginning on a new path, garden or otherwise!
Frances

This entry was posted in Seasonal Chores. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Year End Wrap Up 2008-Part Two

  1. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Your exuberant garden always is an inspriation Frances. I am so glad you share so much with us. Happy New Year.

    Hi Lisa, thanks and the same back to you! My, you are fast, I had not even gotten through the reading myself after posting to check for errors, found one and corrected it, before your comment appeared! I hope your new year holds many bird sightings!
    Frances

  2. easygardener says:

    Thank you for the all seasons garden tour. It was very enjoyable and reminded me that there is indeed a summer out there, sometime in the future!
    Best Wishes for the New Year.

    Hi EG, thanks and a very happy new year to you too. We have the warm seasons to look forward to and the enjoyable task of plannning and dreaming about what will be!
    Frances

  3. Happy New Year Frances, it has been such a delight to follow you through your garden in 2008, and here’s to another delightful year in 2009.
    K

    Hi my friend Karen, and a happy new year to you also. Thanks for all your help in the last year. Let us look forward to great things for the new one! ETSY here I come? 🙂
    Frances

  4. catmint says:

    Thank you for the photos of your garden, they are stunningly inspirational. Happy New year, I look forward to sharing the ongoing evolution of your garden.

    Hi Catmint, happy new year to you too. Thanks for visiting, I am so glad you enjoyed the review, and thanks for the link about the zen of blogging! BTW, I fixed your url link so people can go to your blog from your name on the comment here. 🙂
    Frances

  5. Frances,
    Wonderful photos. Your garden is just amazing! You have a happy family there, too!
    May 2009 be fantastic!
    Cameron

    Hi Cameron, happy new year to you and thanks for your friendship. I look forward to learning from your gardening and blogging! 🙂
    Frances

  6. A lovely tour of the year, Frances! It makes me want to get back out there and start on the next one. I loved all the photos!

    Hi Susan, thanks and many good wishes for your dad. I hope you will be able to get into the garden soon.
    Frances

  7. Cinj says:

    You’ve always got such great posts Frances. I like how you tied them all together so well too.

    Hi Cinj, thanks, what a sweet thing to say! Happy new year to you and yours!
    Frances

  8. Meems says:

    Hi Frances, How could it have been way back in July when you first showed us that gorgeous first photo of the ‘painted lady’? My how time flies… which is why looking back is so enjoyable. I found the same to be true as you made notes to yourself about taking more varieties of photos. Sometimes we only have “blogging mentality” when camera is in hand. Even still, all your photos are great reminders of the fun we had sharing your gardening experiences this year. I chuckled at this… “for lists to be followed and lists just for the fun of list making” as it describes me to a fault.

    I, too, wish you the very best year in 2009, Frances,… gardening and otherwise. Your family is dear to your heart and I wish the same for them. An extra prayer for the continued success of The Hop this year (BTW:love that planter out in front).Meems

    Hi Meems, happy new year to you and yours. Thanks for your visits, I look forward to your part two also, it seems many of us just couldn’t get the whole year into one post! HA I have to make myself remember to take certain photos of the long view for comparison, not so many macros, maybe a note on my sidebar in the tasks, that helps the best I have found so far. We do need all the good wishes at The Hop too, it is not easy to sell ice cream in winter! Some of us are hopeless list makers, a trait we seem to share! 🙂
    Frances

  9. Darla says:

    Just stunning! That silver lace is beautiful in the background. Thanks for the hardwork in putting the 2nd half of this post together. Happy New Year!

    Hi Darla, happy new year to you and thanks for visiting. Thanks too for knowing the effort that goes into posts like these last two, lots of photos to go over and select and lots of links to choose as well. Good think it’s only once a year! 🙂 That silver lace vine is beautiful in bloom, but is such a terrible thug, it is trying to take over the giant pyracanthas and succeeding. I hope they can coexist!
    Frances

  10. Dave says:

    I’m glad the muhly grass made another appearance! Happy New Year!

    Hi Dave, thanks and happy new year to you and your family. The muhly will be showing up soon again! 🙂
    Frances

  11. Randy says:

    Just lovely, Frances! Your photos always give me such a good feeling. Jamie and I will be going to Asheville in the next few months. Guess where we will be eating ice cream? Happy New Year to you.

    Hi Randy, thanks so much and a happy new year to you! Only one place in Asheville for the very best ice cream, be sure and mention reading about it on Fairegarden for that free cone! 🙂 Love your crafting projects.
    Frances

  12. Gail says:

    Dear Frances, I am totally bowled over on this very cold morning to see our friends of summer the flying critters and the beautiful flowers…Just what I needed! The photos are as always lovely, but I love the Crocosmia’s frost touched foliage! It’s a beautiful reminder that there is always something to see in the garden….just look! Happy New Year my dear friend! I wish you a wonderful year filled with beauty, peace, love, contentment and gardening. Oh, yes and an end to the drought in the Southeastern US! Gail

    Hi Gail, happy new year to you and yours. One of the highlights of 2008 for me was our blooming friendship. I look forward to its continured growth. Our gardens are filled with beauty at all times, we just have to search for it, and get lucky with the camera. Got yours yet? 🙂 All the best for you and your garden in 2009 also!
    Frances

  13. Thank you Frances, bouth for part one and two.
    Your photos on your garden is outstanding and some of them is just breathetaking.
    It is so fun to now that we can go in to your
    blog anytime we like and se whats going on for 2009.
    Se you Frances
    Ken

    Hi Ken and Carina too, a very happy new year to you! Thanks for your friendship and support. I have learned much from your beautiful gardens too. One thing I want to borrow is the photos each month from the same vantage point, a goal worth chasing!
    Frances

  14. tina says:

    You have had an amazing year with that amazing garden! Can’t wait to see how you top it with 2009 but I am betting you will:)

    Hi Tina, thanks and happy new year to you too! Each year is different, with sometimes one thing having a terrific show and others not so much. We never know from one year to the next what will be the star, that is part of the fun. 🙂
    Frances

  15. marmee says:

    hope your new year is as blessed as this last one and more. happy gardening is ahead.

    Hi Marmee, thanks and the same wonderful wishes for you and yours. Loved the locks of love!
    Frances

  16. Victoria says:

    A wonderful year to look back on and let’s all hope for a wonderful year to come. Happy gardening!

    Hi Victoria, thanks and the same good wishes to you too. Good gardening coming up!
    Frances

  17. Racquel says:

    Your garden has just excelled all expectations this year Frances! I’m getting some of that glorious Mulhy Grass, you’ve inspired me to have it in my garden too! It’s been a wonderful experience getting to know you & your garden through your posts. Happy New Year!

    Hi Racquel, thanks so much for those kind words. The garden had some high points and low points, of course I mainly show the high points on the blog LOL. The muhly was a definite high point, though, good luck with it! A happy year in 2009 to you too!
    Frances

  18. Shirl says:

    Hi again Frances,I had to return for part two 😀

    Lovely images once again! I enjoyed seeing the blooming faces in your family pic and the berries in the last!

    A great review of the Fairegarden. I have enjoyed my 2008 visits and our shared comments. Wishing you and yours ‘All the best’ for 2009 in all paths you take 😀

    Hi Shirl, thanks, so glad you came back to finish the year! 🙂 I did decide to show the front view of the family this time. I do look forward to reading your riveting posts in 2009!
    Frances

  19. philip says:

    Hi Frances!
    Part II shows that every month is something beautiful and fun in your garden. The aculpture of Athena…I just noticed you are from Athens TN! I love so many parts you show here, but a favorite has to be the yellow white garden. So pefect with that contrast of liatris and the willow. Lets not forget your signature plant outside the kitchen window! Oh, and then there are the berries…Ok, I cannot pick a favorite, as it all so wonderful.
    A very happy New Years wish to you and yours at Fairgarden!
    🙂
    Philip

    Hi Philip, thanks for returning to finish off the year and a happy new year to you and yours! Athena was identified for me last summer after some debate and research, but Athens deserves an Athena watching over us. So glad you liked that shot, it is a fave of mine. I need to work on taking more photos of garden vignettes in addition to the macros. As a mother of four, we just don’t pick favorites, we love them all!
    Frances

  20. VP says:

    What a great Part II – worth waiting for! And I have a very similar shot of Crocosmia Lucifer. It’s such a good value plant, even in decay 🙂

    What do you sell instead of ice cream at this time of the year?

    Hi VP, thanks so much and happy new year to you and yours. I am in love with the crocosmias and have added several more varieties to the garden in hopes of a sea of them. At The Hop this year a big seller was an ice cream cake yule log for Christmas. Orders were taken plus extras were made and all were sold. They also have an espresso machine and sell lots of coffee drinks and hot chocolate now. They do birthday parties and the like too. Still the business makes most of its money during the warmer months we have found. Thanks for asking. 🙂
    Frances

  21. patsi says:

    Very enjoyable seeing your wonderful photos.
    Cheered me right up!
    Happy New Year,
    Patsi

    Hi Patsi, thanks and a happy new year to you too! That makes me so happy to have cheered you, wonderful!
    Frances

  22. Brenda Kula says:

    I aspire to someday be in the same category of photographer as you, Frances! I get that camera out there every day learning. Some day I would love to stroll on your property. Watching and learning, just as I have from your lovely blog.
    Brenda

    Hi Brenda, thanks so much, but really I am not much of a photographer, it is the reading of the owner’s manual to adjust the settings on the macro of the Canon to superfine. I take hundreds of pictures to get just a couple of good ones. None of my bird pictures are as good as yours are, a trade off for not getting a new camera. I would love to have you stroll the gardens too. 🙂 Happy new year and happy remodeling!
    Frances

  23. layanee says:

    That is a nice way to wrap up the year. All those gorgeous photos to remember the beauty that surrounds you. Happy New Year Frances and may your garden continue to bloom so beautifully.

    Hi Layanee, thanks and the same good wishes back to you and yours. If does feel good to have 2008 behind us so we can look forward to the best year ever!
    Frances

  24. eliz says:

    I liked the family shot. I always appreciate when bloggers show the people behind the garden.

    Hi Elizabeth, thanks and happy new year. I first put in the shot of our backs, then remembered that a couple of people wanted to see the faces so I switched photos. Glad you liked seeing the clan. 🙂
    Frances

  25. Pam/Digging says:

    I think your long shots are quite nice already, Frances. You’ve really done well with your winter pics, which isn’t always easy to do.

    What a great year it’s been. See you in Chicago!

    Hi Pam, thanks so much, I don’t agree but appreciate your kindness. I need to put more thought into the long shots, they are much more difficult to compose, lighting, etc. than the macros, they are almost too easy. There is plenty of winter interest in the garden here, just getting that across with the pictures is difficult if not impossible in a long shot with this lighting. Maybe I need to read that owner’s manual again! 🙂 I do hope to see you again in Chicago!
    Frances

  26. I’m so glad I started blogging in 2008 – otherwise I would have missed beautiful gardens, such as yours!
    Katarina

    Hi Katarina, thanks so much, I am glad you started then too so I could be astounded by your beautiful roses, and stuff. 🙂
    Frances

  27. Rose says:

    I feel as if I’ve taken a trip down memory lane, Frances, remembering many of these flowers blooming in your garden. The pink Muhly grass is still my favorite, but your newfound expertise with your camera makes everything in your garden breathtaking! Enjoyed the full-frontal view of your family, too:) Quite a handsome bunch!

    Hi sweet Rose, thanks so much for strolling along with me through these last months. I do appreciate your support and friendship. Glad you liked seeing the family, it was a switch from the backside picture I had loaded originally for part two. 🙂
    Frances

  28. LindaLunda says:

    Hi sweetie.. You have been a great insperation to me during the time in 2008 that I knew about you!
    I surently looking forward to spend more time with you(yes on distans :o() in 2009!
    Love from Linda and her dragons…..

    Hi dear Linda, thanks so much and I have loved every minute of reading about your creations in the garden and in the kiln, especially the new lantern, it is a masterpiece, but so are all of your works! 🙂
    Frances

  29. gittan says:

    Lovely as always. It sure looks as you have had a great year. I’m looking foreward to follow your garden during this year. I had to look at the post with daylilies. So many and so lovely. I’ve got a small collection myself with 14 different kinds, but none of them are the same as yours. That means that I still have the possibility to by new, lovely, daylilies =)

    Hi Gittan, thanks so much, and I am glad you looked at all the daylilies. I found that no photos had been taken of them as a group! That will be rememdied this year. When the catalogs come with the daylilies, they show none of the ones, or only a couple, that I have either. There must be millions of them, or a whole lot! 🙂 BTW, what is the bulb emerging in your last post with the pink tips and the large crinkled leaves?
    Frances

  30. gittan says:

    Oh, do you have the possibility to order them thrue a catalog? Do you know if it would be possible for me to order from the same place? I don’t know any swedish catalog with daylilies, and me and my husband adore them. You where to fast to visit my latets post =) I was going to translate after supper but you had already been there =P Have o nice weekend / gittan

    Hi Gittan, thanks, I am too fast sometimes, I will go back and read your narrative. 🙂 I have contacted the place where I have bought most of mine, Sunshine Hollow, and here is what they just replied:
    We used to ship overseas but the phytosanitary certificate, time and trouble involved in getting them inspected proved to be too much for us. There are nursery’s like “Oakes Daylilies” that still ship overseas.
    Oakes Daylilies is also in my area and I have been there. Here is their website:
    http://www.oakesdaylilies.com/supplier/home.php?id=s000
    I did not see that they would send plants overseas, but you can contact them about doing so.

    Hope you can find a place that can help you, good luck!
    Frances

  31. gittan says:

    hi, it’s me (again)I forgot to answer your question. It’s rhubarb. They were very early last year, that’s why there are so many pictures of them during these months / gittan

    Hi Gittan, thanks for that. I have never grown rhubarb so didn’t recognize it. I might have to plant some just for the way it looks in early spring!
    Frances

  32. Cosmo says:

    Frances, I’ve really enjoyed spending the year in your garden–you’ve chosen really lovely photos, and I know you must have had zillions to choose from! Happy New Year to you and your family, and I’m looking forward to reading your great gardening advice and seeing more of your wonderful designs in 2009.

    Hi Cosmo, thanks so much and a happy new year to you and yours. You hit the nail with the hammer on the number of photos I had to go through to select these, not just ones that were shown on the posts either. You are so lucky to be able to gaze at the Chihuly glass displays in Arizona, they are my favorite art in the universe! 🙂
    Frances

  33. RobinL says:

    Oh Frances, I’d love to spare that dear clemmie, but you don’t know what I go through trying to get it to survive the rest of the summer! It’s terribly suspectible to clematis wilt, and brown leaves become the norm, no matter how often I clean them all out. I can’t imagine that it will come back to life this spring, but we’ll see. It was a shadow of it’s former self this fall, but still did manage to squeak out a few blooms. I did a bit of research, and it seems that I need to find a clematis with smaller blooms to increase the chance of survival against clematis wilt.

    Hi Robin, I understand completely now that you have given the details. Plants that take that much babying are usually doomed here also. May you find one that gives you great pleasure, I know there are so many varieties out there that will do that. Thanks for stopping by!
    Frances

  34. I shared your photos with my son who is home for Christmas–yippee me to have my kids home. So anyway…I said…here is why I look at and read gardening blogs. He was impressed.

    You are correct, we are going to have a grand 2009. And just because..we answered the call to be friends with fellow bloggers. The naysayers are now working hard to get our attention. We rock.

    Hi Anna, how nice that your son was able to come home for Christmas, it is a time for family. 2009 holds great promise, a happy new year to you and yours.
    Frances

  35. kate says:

    Your photographs are beautiful, Frances … so much to record in your life and in your garden. What a great idea to write a wrap-up-the-year post! I hope you and your family have a wonderful New Year … I’m envying you the ice cream shop!!

    Hi Kate, so very nice to see you here and happy new year! Thanks for the kind words, Last year when I had only been blogging less than a month I noticed others were doing the year end review and liked the idea of going back and picking out the highlights. It was actually harder this year since there were so many posts and photos vying to be included! 🙂 The ice cream shop is still trying to find its way with the tourist economy of Asheville suffering with the downturn and winter is not the best time to be selling frozen treats either, but it will rally with the return of spring and summer, we hope!
    Frances

  36. Robin says:

    Frances, I’ve enjoyed the recap of your gardening year. I love the first photo! The bright color and of course the butterfly just brightens my day!

    Hi Robin, thanks so much. And also thank you for telling blogger users how to make their photos larger, you have done a great service to the blogdom, just like you helped me early last year about the spacing. You are a gem!:-)
    Frances

Comments are closed.