Mouse Creek

april-3-2008-027-2The topic of favorite independent garden centers was presented by Fran Sorin from Gardening Gone Wild recently. A poor memory was jogged by her posting into remembering that we had taken some photos of a wonderful nursery in our area, Mouse Creek, last spring. We meant to write a glowing report about this treasure but felt the photos were disappointing at the time, and spring got in the way, and, well, you know how that goes. Looking back at the photos in the dead of winter, they seem more than presentable so let us now introduce you.
~
Shown above is one of the many plants growing in the Fairegarden that came from Mouse Creek. This is Epimedium x versicolor ‘Sulphureum’ on April 2, 2008.march-6-2008-mouse-creek-004-2The nursery is located out in the county. In these parts, that is the way the city folk, like me, refer to the outlying, unincorporated areas. Not out in the country, but out in the county that we also reside in, meaning they don’t have to pay the city tax or follow the not at all stringent rules of city living of what you can or cannot do with your property. The owners of Mouse Creek, named for the creek that runs in the back of their fifteen acres and parallel to Interstate 75 down to Chattanooga, have chosen to use their land to grow perennials and annuals. They have a lovely house and several other buildings there also. Won’t you join me for a little exploring of rural southeast Tennessee?march-6-2008-mouse-creek-006-2Here we are turning into the gravel drive. They have taken the mouse theme and run with it. You can see some of the greenhouses beyond the signage and gate.march-6-2008-mouse-creek-012-2Here is the owner, Ruth standing proudly with her plants. She is very knowledgable and is a past president of the Perennial Plant Association, the same outfit that chooses the Plant Of The Year, so she is up on the best cultivars out there and what will grow best in any given area. She travels extensively on speaking engagements and learning about the new developments in the industry.
march-6-2008-mouse-creek-017-21march-6-2008-mouse-creek-016-2I buy most of my annuals and veggies here, for I know they have been grown in these greenhouses, by cuttings or by seed. Note: the sales are from the nursery site only, no mail order or even a web site at this time.march-6-2008-mouse-creek-026-2There is another reason why we love this nursery too, beyond the reasonable prices, fantastic plants, friendly owner and nearby location, for on the site is another building.church-2A pre civil war church that was moved from its original spot farther down the creek to just behind the greenhouses is used for various functions….bride-surprised-2Including weddings. On a very hot, sweltering August day in 2003, The Financier walked Semi down the aisle to join in holy matrimony with the now Semi’s Spouse. The photo was taken by the mother of the bride in the first row when they got to the front of the church and Semi first saw her poor spouse to be, in coat and tie. It was easily 120F in the non electrified building, even with the windows open. The look on her face says that along with love and devotion, he looks like he is going to pass out from heat prostration.wedding-2After the wedding we all went outside to cool down. The proud parents of the bride, pre red head days for the mom, are still red cheeked but happy. I like to hold flowers when having my photo taken, if possible, and with the help of my friend Ulana from Texas had made the bride’s bouquet, and all the other flower goodies.
~~~
Mouse Creek Nursery is more than a valuable resource for plants and information. It holds the memories of a very special day.
Frances

This entry was posted in memes, Road Trips. Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to Mouse Creek

  1. tina says:

    OMG! I thought that was you! Semi looks just like you! How nice of you to share this hot sultry wedding with us. Bet the honeymoon was nothing compared to 120 degrees at the wedding:) Mouse Creek nursery looks to be a very tidy and lovely nursery. Just my kind!

    Hi Tina, wow, thanks. People have said that we look alike. There are photos of me in my younger days that could be mistaken for her. She has much darker hair than I do, but since I have had every color of hair imaginable, there are dark hair shots of me too. HA What people remember about the wedding was the heat. We call it trial by fire. You would love Mouse Creek and I will take you there when you come again to visit and have time. It’s worth the trip.
    Frances

  2. The wedding party looks lovely, Frances.

    And what a wonderful nursery resource to have availalble.

    Hi Susan, thanks. It was small and we did everything ourselves so it was an affordable affair too. Having the nursery so close is great. I like to spread the wealth to the local businesses here and buying plants is one of my favorite ways to spend! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  3. andrΓ© says:

    That looks like a nice garden center to have nearby! And what a nice place for a wedding..! πŸ™‚

    Hi Andre, thanks so much. It is more of a plant place than a garden center, although they do have a few pots and such. It is about plants, which is fine by me! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  4. Gail says:

    Dear Frances, So much to say about this sweet post. Semi and the Financier both look joyful and you look absolutely beautiful…Semi, if you chance to read this, so do you! I loved Mouse Creek and you know when we visited there more than a few plants came home with me! I wish all nursery owners were as helpful and enjoyable as she was. If MC weren’t so far away I would shop there often …I still want that giant concrete container! On your next visit we will go to Growild so you can meet MIke and Terry…two more good nursery folk. I see warmer days in the forecast!!!! Gail

    Good morning Gail. When I saw the weather forecast for the coming days with highs in the 60s every day and nothing below freezing, I nearly fell off the lazyboy in joy! I knew you would remember Mouse Creek fondly, we shall return! I can’t wait to go to Growild with you too. Spread the wealth to help the economy, it’s our patriotic duty. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  5. Darla says:

    Now that’s a nursery I would have a hard time leaving. What a quaint little church to make such lovely memories. Beautiful bride and Mom!

    Hi Darla, thanks so much, that is very sweet. The bride was especially beautiful, as she always is. The nursery has more than a dozen greenhouses, with some devoted to one kind of plant, such as grasses or hostas. Others are more by shade or sun, so it is easy to shop for your conditions. I love going there anytime of year.
    Frances

  6. Sunita says:

    The Mother of the Bride looks smashing, doesnt she? ;D
    Frances, I cant tell you how nice it is to finally have a face to put to all these lovely posts that I enjoy so much. Thank you.
    It looks like it was an absolutely lovely wedding. (never mind the 120*, thats normal here and we have to dress in heavy silk sarees and even heavier gold jewellery for our weddings. Yes, even the guests!) And I love the white dendrobiums in Semi’s hair.
    And I love that nursery. Its probably a good thing that I’m not likely to come that way… I would have bankrupted our family right up to the next three generations.

    Hi Sunta, thanks so much, how kind of you. At first I was hesitant about showing our faces, but have done it occasionally because like you, I like seeing others too. I know your weddings are very ornate and beautiful ceremonies, but am sorry for the heavy clothing! At least most of us knew to dress for comfort, even the preacher wore shirt sleeves. Only the groom wore a coat and tie, even though she begged him not to. The prices are quite reasonable at this nursery, low overhead, so you could buy all you want and still leave some to your offspring! HA
    Frances

  7. Dave says:

    That little church looks a lot like the one’s up in Cades Cove. Probably from about the same time. What a great place for a wedding. And when it was over you could just walk down and tour the nursery!

    Hi Dave, it is similar to ones in this area. They even had some original pews and artifacts from the era in there. Having the nursery right there was convenient for we had some containers planted up and kept in the greenhouses until the day. We were super busy since we did it all ourselves and didn’t have time to nursery shop that day! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  8. jodi says:

    Frances, dear heart, this is a lovely post, and what a wonderful place for a wedding. May Semi and her hubby enjoy many more years (heading for six, now!) of wedded bliss, just like the Bride’s Parents.

    Why thank you Jodi, what a sweet sentiment. We spend a lot of time with the wild and wacky Semi family, and enjoy them all very much. The Financier and Semi Spouse get along famously, which helps too. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  9. Rose says:

    What a lovely post, Frances! The nursery looks like a great place to visit, and with such a knowledgeable owner, I’d go home with lots of valuable information, not to mention a few plants:)
    But no wonder this is such a special place for you, with memories of your daughter’s wedding. A lovely scene for a wedding! I didn’t recognize you in your pre-redhead days:) but Semi does look like you.

    Hi Rose, thanks for that. This nursery is a jewel in the wilderness and something wonderful always comes home with me from there. The annuals are first rate, I love the viola varieties she grows, when most others are offering pansies. The veggies are wonderful and the herbs too. Since everything is grown right there, you know it has been well taken care of and will perform in our climate. All good.
    Frances

  10. Liz says:

    oh my gosh – initially I didn’t know which I liked best, the nursery or the wedding – but have definately come down in favour of the wedding. Good nurseries abound, but good weddings and marriages are worth their weight in gold!!!

    Hi Liz, thanks, and I agree, a good marriage is more important than even, gasp, plants! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  11. RobinL says:

    It’s so good to see your lovely face Frances, even if you were pink cheeked from the heat! And the Mouse Creek nursery looks fun to visit too.

    <

    em>Hi Robin, thanks so much. We were all pink cheeked in that place. πŸ™‚ Mouse Creek is a favorite here and we like to visit as much as possible.
    Frances

  12. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Frances,
    You and The Financier are a sharp couple and this is a charming post.
    Donna

    Hi Donna, how nice of you to say that, we look so red in the face, but happy. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  13. Great pictures of your family Frances. You clean up beautifully. πŸ˜‰ I like the name of your favorite nursery. I can just see those little mice scurrying around the plants.

    Hi Lisa, thanks, it is rare that I get cleaned up. HA You would love this nursery. The employees, the mice, are her family and mature ladies, all super friendly. It is so relaxing and enjoyable to go there.
    Frances

  14. nancybond says:

    A beautiful post, Frances, and as others have said, it’s a lovely photo of you! Your daughter looked glorious on her special day. The nursery looks like a real gem!

    Hi Nancy, thanks so much. Semi was the most beautiful bride, she was radiant, and not just from the heat. The nursery is a destination I love to drive to, fun, friendly and great plants at great prices, what more could one want?
    Frances

  15. It reminds me of my favorite local nursery but nothing so wonderful as that church. What a treasure and what a memorable place for a wedding! I went to a similar sweltering country wedding about 6 years ago at the little church Frank Lloyd Wright built just below Taliesin, across from the cornfields. Hot but heartfelt and made more so by the location, just like yours. No Hellebore leaves here for at least 2 months; they’re buried under snow. Thanks for adding me to your blogroll. Very generous of you!

    Hi Linda, thanks so much. It was my pleasure to add your wonderful blog to the sidebar. Your FLW church must have been a wonder, how lucky to be able to attend a wedding there. The snow is keeping the plants safe and protected from extreme cold. It is astounding how the hellebores can thrive in places as diverse as ours.
    Frances

  16. Frances,
    So beautiful (the wedding, you and Semi)! What a great event to share with us.
    Cameron

    Hi Cameron, thanks so much. This post was supposed to be about the nursery, but the wedding being held there just had to be shown too. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  17. gittan says:

    Oh, it looks as a beautiful place for both plants and weddings. I appreciated to get a picture of you as well. It’s allways nice to know what your friends look like =)

    Hi Gittan, thanks. It is nice to see a friend’s face. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  18. Kathleen says:

    First things first ~ what a gorgeous epimedium Frances! I ordered a few for my garden earlier this year. I will only hope they bloom but probably not until next season? The Tennessee countryside is beautiful and Mouse Creek Nursery looks awesome. Like a nursery “gone wild” inside, so many different things crammed into the greenhouse. I bet you can spend hours sorting thru everything? And finally, how beautiful are you? That’s really a lovely photo of you and the Financier. You look so much better than I would after enduring 120 degree heat! My hair would be flat and floppy, my make-up would be dripping, etc., etc. I would think of that beautiful day every time I visited the nursery ~ do you?? Now I’ll have to catch up on some of your other posts. I’ve been remiss in visiting for a little bit. Hope things are going well for you.

    Hi Kathleen, thanks so much, for all those kind words. I wore hair spray that day, something I never ever do, because it makes my skin break out, but knew there would be lots of photos so wanted my hair to behave. HA I don’t wear make up either, but had a little mascara on that day, it’s a wonder it didn’t melt off my eyelashes too. I have bought every type of epimedium she has at Mouse Creek, only three or four and by far E. ‘Sulphureum’ is the best, vigorous and lots of blooms. I will have to go catch up with you as well. We are just waiting here for the warm up that is predicted for tomorrow and all next week. There will be major gardening done, finally! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  19. skeeter says:

    A nice local nursery to call your special place! I would have to run with a Mouse logo also. Cute as can be little mice, as long as they are on logo’s. Beautiful bride that Semi. I love the church and share the mood of the hot day. My nephew and bride were married in a similar church in a TN State park. No air and the theme for the happy couple was Renaissance with rented attire from the local college. Those poor kids were melting during the wedding in their heavy wardrobe. I was ever so happy to be a spectator and not partake in the rented heating pads! I was grateful for my dress and the air flow of me fanning the paper program! My 5 year old niece asked. β€œWhen is the play going to start because I’m hot?” Too cute, That was a day to remember.

    I was not sure that was the mother of the bride hugging daddy. That hair is so different but I like it… Do Reds have more fun??? πŸ˜‰

    Hi Skeeter, we do consider it our special place, beyond the purchase of plants. I still love going out there and seeing the little church and remembering the day. That is too funny, well not really knowing how hot those old buildings are, about your nephew. Everyone attending our wedding was warned that there was no airconditioning. We made the programs into fans with those giant popsicle sticks and they were well used. About the red hair, it makes me feel festive, so I guess reds do have more fun. HA
    Frances

  20. Monica says:

    You know, if I ever dared to get married again, I certainly would want to do it in nature, but a 120-degree church sounds like the next best thing???… The nursery also sounds nice. And, red hair rules!

    Hi Monica, you are too funny, as always! Trial by fire, as we say. I agree about the red hair too. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  21. Daphne Gould says:

    My favorite garden center closed down this fall (or at least they told me they were so haven’t gone back to check). The cost of heating their greenhouses last year was too much for them. I hear we are getting more condos. Sigh. I will sorely miss them. They always had what I needed. I have a closer and larger garden center that everyone raves about, but when I walk in looking for something it is never there. My last favorite place was not a garden center, but a feed store. I got my dog food there, but it also had straw, salt marsh hay and large bags of natural fertilizers (which years ago were very hard to find, organic is so much more popular now). That place is now a Vitamin Shoppe. Too bad. I still miss them.

    Hi Daphne, that is too bad about that nursery. Mouse Creek only keeps one of the greenhouses heated, but even that is probably a financial drain for such a small operation. That is one of the things I like about buying perennials there though, you can see what they look like during winter, if they are evergreen, have a little rosette or disappear completely. I get stuff at the farmer’s coop here too. Mouse Creek sells bags of worm castings that I have been wanting to try. I know that is a great fertilizer and soil conditioner. Hope you can find another local spot for your supplies.
    Frances

  22. Monica says:

    I die my hair (to cover gray) “warm medium brown” (my natural color) but after a few weeks, it definitely gets a red “glow,” which I like. Anyhoo, about the eryngium, I’ve not grown it before, but one of the things I like about winter sowing is that it takes care of scarification (moisture over time softens the seed coat so knicking isn’t needed–apparently morning glory grow better with scarification and I had no clue as I always winter sow them) and stratification (cold periods) without me having to do anything extra. So, I would get your self a milk jug or two, soak some peat pots, put in your soil mix, and winter sow your rattlesnake master. You could even put the sown jug into your fridge, which you wouldn’t forget to take out, if you think it’s not cold enough over night. I’ll probably do a post of sowing in milk jugs soon, as I’m teaching a hands-on class on Saturday and will likely take photos.

    Hi Monica, thanks. I am Garnier #56. HA I will get that milk jug going, I like the idea of it and have all the supplies already in the greenhouse. I never though of putting the pots in milk jugs, for protection, right?
    Frances

  23. Sweet Bay says:

    Frances that is so cool that your daughter had her wedding in that church! Wait a minute, cool is entirely the wrong word isn’t it. Your daughter looks so happy in the picture and you are beautiful. You two do look very much alike.

    Hi Sweet Bay, thanks so much. No it was anything but cool! What a nice compliment, thank you. My daughter was especially radiant that day. When I left for the church she was still in her robe and fixing her hair, so I was happily surprised to see how she had decided to place the flowers in her hair.
    Frances

  24. Jean says:

    The photos of the wedding are really beautiful. And as mysterious as we garden bloggers can be sometimes, it’s great to see the “real thing” occasionally. I.e., you, the garden blogger. πŸ™‚

    Wish I had a great out-in-the-county nursery like that. Looks like a great place to spend some money!

    Hi jean, thanks. I have gotten more comfortable showing my own image and some family members. Since we met so many bloggers in real life in Austin, and will meet many more in Chicago, we might as well reveal ourselves. πŸ™‚ Mouse Creek is a great way to spen time looking at the plants and seeing how they look in the off season too. I love going there, as you can probably tell.
    Frances

  25. kanak says:

    Thank you for this wonderful post, Frances. Absolutely beautiful photos of the wedding, especially the bride and you. Mouse Creek looks like every gardeners’ dream.

    Hi Kanak, thank you for those nice words. Mouse Creek is the perfect place to saunter around and look at plants. It is very low key there, no pressure, help only if you want it. It is a dream. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  26. Siria says:

    Hello Frances! What a wonderful, lovely post! Your Semi looks so much like you. What a beautiful wedding this must have been! I believe you posted some lovely photos of one of your grandchildren at this wedding in the past few months didn’t you? Many special memories indeed!!!

    Hi Siria, thanks. What a good memory you have! I almost put the same photo up of my grandson mesmerized by the young violin player at the wedding, but decided it was okay to show some faces. Semi has never looked lovlier than she did on that happy day. Going to the nursery to shop for plants and visit with the owner always brings back those wonderful thoughts too. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  27. What a sweet and romantic place to marry! A lovely post and an even lovlier mother of the bride!

    I love country nurseries! Kim

    Hi Kim, thanks so much. We decided it was the perfect spot since we went there all the time anyway. It suited our laid back outdoor loving families perfectly. You would love this nursery, it is so low tech and really made for avid gardeners. I think your seeds are still good, BTW! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  28. That is a wonderful place. What a treat it must be to visit, even just to look around.

    Hi MMD,
    It really is a treat to go there. With all those greenhouses filled to the gills, the stock can’t be memorized, by this feeble brain anyway, so a visit always has a new discovery to be made.
    Frances

  29. Catherine says:

    The nursery sure looks like a great place. I love the smaller family run type. They seem to care so much and know so much more about their plants. You and your family look so happy! What a great place to be married.

    Hi Catherine, thanks so much. I agree completely, the family run nursery is the best way to find people who are passionate about their business. The wedding that took place at the nursery was one of our best memories.
    Frances

  30. Barbara says:

    Frances – what a lovely family – and how romantic getting married in the country in an historical old church. And, thank you for the nursery tour, Epimedium blooms, shelves of greenery and tales of extreme heat – makes me feel warmer already.

    Hi Barbara, thanks. It was a perfect site for Semi and Spouse and families to gather. Thinking about that day does make me warmer too, thanks for pointing that out! It is the stuff of legend, the world’s hottest wedding! Well, maybe not, but those in attendance would vote that way! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  31. You two look healthy wealthy and wise! I attended a wedding in that little chapel at Tanglewood. It was just as hot and miserable but just as beautiful. Your daughter looks stunning and your husband very handsome.

    The nursery is the kind I like to find. People who grow their own are the best!

    Hi Anna, HA, thanks. Maybe healthy. I agree with your assessment of both Semi and The Financier. It was a happy day, and smiles are the most beautiful make up. You would love this nursery. They like to grow unusual annuals too.
    Frances

  32. VW says:

    What a lovely wedding memory! And this was the first time I’ve seen a picture of you, Frances, you look as sweet and friendly as I’d imagined you. I had my reception at a combo nursery/events center, too! I had walked past the building for years while walking to and from elementary school and junior high, and always thought the old home had special character. Just before my wedding, it was purchased by a nurseryman and remodeled into the event center/nursery. We were one of the first engagements there. Unfortunatly, the business faltered and closed several months later. I’ve always felt blessed to have had my special day there during its brief window of operation. I’m glad to hear your special place is still thriving! Regards, VW

    Hi VW, thanks so much, it is a wonderful memory. I have been showing myself a little more this year and notice others are as well. Since we are going to meet many in Chicago, what’s the harm? That photo is over five years old and my hair is longer and red now, HA. Your wedding experience sounds perfect, too bad the place closed too.
    Frances

  33. Janet says:

    Frances, How sweet to share such a wonderful family event with all of us. What a beautiful setting. Thank you.
    Janet

    Hi Janet, thanks so much. It tied in with the nursery so the decision was made to show a few of our faces on that happy occasion. We were looking our best. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  34. Semi says:

    You guys look so great in that pic it’s one of my all time fav’s. I think the red faces make it even better. We won’t ever forget that sweltering day. I can still see Semi Spouses poor face, almost green. Your decor for the church was also stunning!Thanks for the walk down memory lane! Love Semi

    Hello dear Semi, thanks, happiness makes anyone look beautiful. It was a memorable day.
    Love, Frances

  35. Semi's Spouse says:

    My brother still teases Semi about those conditions in that church that day, i luckily survived that day

    Hi SS, and we are so glad you did survive to tell the tale too! But maybe you didn’t need to wear that jacket.
    Frances

  36. Lythrum says:

    I love going to local nurseries also. It actually isn’t terribly far from where I live so I might end up stopping by one of these days. We’re heading up to Chattanooga for our anniversery in a couple of weeks. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the head’s up. πŸ™‚

    Hi Lythrum, that is exciting. Mouse Creek is just off of exit 42, heading east. You will see the sign to your right for the turn off. Call first, the number is on the sign in my post, area code 423. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  37. Jon says:

    Frances, so nice of you to share these lovely photo of y’all’s “life event” (as my friend calls them)….and to give a “shout out” to the Mouse Creek Nursery. I try to support local family owned and operated nurseries too, because these days with such massive competition price-wise on plants and gardening supplies from the big box stores so many of the little guys are closing
    down…and that is a shame to me…and such a loss to our communities.
    Thanks for sharing this post with us.

    Jon at Mississippi Garden

    Hi Jon, thanks for stopping by. There are several nurseries that just can’t keep up against the big guys, so I try and send lots of business to Mouse Creek to help out. The good thing is that they own the land and live right there so overhead is low. But like so many of these businesses, they are not getting any younger and it is hard work to maintain it. Hopefully their kids will continue with it, but you can’t always count on them wanting to do it. One has to love it passionately.
    Frances

  38. You’re not only sweet for sharing Semi’s wedding with us, Frances – you’re a good sport, too. I’ll vote that she looks like you! I’ve also been blonde and was a redhead for my daughter’s wedding…after that I went cold turkey on hair color. For that wedding everyone walked up a half-mile path to the top of a bluff overlooking the ocean. The day was warm and as in your case – the guests were hot.

    I wonder if the nursery-wedding chapel combination would work for other locations? It’s a lovely idea.

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

    Hi Annie, thanks for that. Your daughter’s wedding sounds wonderful, ocean views are the best! Good thing there are sundresses. Maybe the wedding chapel would help out some struggling nurseries. They could do the flowers too for a package. They also had a horse drawn carraige but we didn’t opt for that. People will spend money on wedding stuff that don’t spend much if anything on plants.
    Frances

  39. Pam/Digging says:

    Frances, I so enjoyed the pics from Semi’s wedding. Thanks for sharing them, esp. that last one of you and the Financier, looking flushed but so happy.

    Mouse Creek sounds like a special place. Cute name too.

    Hi Pam, thanks. You have nailed it with flushed but happy. Luckily no one did pass out. We had lots of bottled ice cold water on site and it was a life saver for us all. The reception was at another location. If you ever get to this area, do stop by Mouse Creek, it is right off the interstate.
    Frances

  40. Kathryn Conant says:

    Good morning, Frances. It’s so nice to be able to put a face (albeit pink cheeks!) to your incredible blog! I have written before to comment on your site, I’m sure you don’t remember, but I am the grandmom of 5 who’s children left her here in west central coastal Florida and moved to your neck of the woods a couple of years ago. I have since inherited the oldest granddaughter (18!!) who is in a state of stall trying to figure out what to do with her life – don’t envy her one bit! Anyway, as I mentioned in my other post, I so want to retire up there and your pictures/text help me to feel closer to the “kids”. I spoke with them the day you posted the snow pictures and they were so surprised that I knew about it! You have inspired me to begin a small garden here – it will be mostly in containers as my yard is very shady and the best sunny spot is in front of the house in the driveway πŸ™‚ You have also inspired me to begin my own blog site! Once I get started I hope you will come for a visit. Take care, and happy Spring πŸ™‚ K

    Hi Kathryn, what a wonderful comment on so many levels! Thanks for visiting and bringing me up to date on your family and garden news. That is terrific that you are going to start blogging yourself too. You will love it and I will be happy to get the word out when you are ready. Just leave me a comment on a recent post and I will take it from there. You should also join Blotanical. You don’t have to have a blog to join and you can meet many other folks from all over the world, but maybe some that even live near you too. Then when you begin your blog you can let the other blotanical members know what you have done. I promise you they will come visit your blog! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  41. commonweeder says:

    A beautiful wedding, and beautiful parents of the bride. Brides are always beautiful we know. Our youngest was married among the roses in our garden 15 years ago when the problem was not heat, but rain! We did have a tent, but it rained all week, stopped on wedding morning, but the moment the bride made it into the tent the rain started again and those assembled burst out laughing. And then there was a gasp when, as they were about to say their vows, the sun came out and our minister led them out into the brilliance to stand under the flowery arch. It was a day!

    Hi Pat, thanks. The wedding in your garden sounds so perfect. I had wanted to have my daughter’s in my garden too, but knew the steep slope would be too much for the older family members, not to mention nowhere flat for a tent or even seating. I love that the sun came out at the end, so romantic!
    Frances

  42. TC says:

    I can only imagine how hot it must’ve been in that church! As a matter of fact, let me do some imagining right now and imagine away all this dang snow we have!

    Hi TC, yes, imagine being so hot that you can hardly breathe, even though the windows are open that lined both sides of the church for cross ventilation and you are almost there. Getting warm yet? πŸ™‚
    Frances

  43. Marnie says:

    Frances, that was a great idea. I love seeing other nurseries. I’ll have to remember to do one on my local ones. Lovely photo of Dad and daughter.
    Marnie

    Hi Marnie, thanks. It is good to give our favorite spots some free advertising on the blogs. They are not getting rich doing what they love and times are tough all around. The Financier and Semi made me so proud. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  44. Racquel says:

    What a nice nursery and a wonderful setting to have a wedding! Thanks for sharing a wonderful family moment with all of us. πŸ™‚

    Hi Racquel, thanks. Using the church located at our favorite nursery was a great idea for everyone. It was a lovely though hot day! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  45. chuck b. says:

    Sweet story! 120 degrees? I think you’re exaggerating. I love to see pictures of people on blogs, but it’s so far outside of my own comfort zone that it rarely happens. So bravo to you. You look very conservative in that hair!

    Hi Chuck, thanks. Anyone in attendance would back up the 120 guesstimate! These were old photos, more than five years ago, so it seems less scary to post them, plus we all looked pretty good that day, even with the flushed faces. About that hairdo, the winter before I had shaved my head when my sister in law lost hers from the chemo from breast cancer and that is how much it had grown back from December to August. That is natural color, don’t mistake the gray for highlighting. I have worn my hair about shoulder length all my life with occasional insanity with the scissors.
    Frances

  46. kerri says:

    How lovely to see these beautiful photos of such a happy occasion, Frances. Your daughter’s sweet face has such a look of happy anticipation πŸ™‚
    I love a good nursery, and Mouse Creek looks like a beauty.
    I can’t wait until it’s time once again to visit my own favorite nursery!

    Hi Kerri, thanks so much. Semi did look wonderful that day, even though she is pretty all the time. I am with you on wanting to visit that nursery and see real plants growing, soon Kerri, soon! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  47. Brenda Kula says:

    You look as radiant as the bride herself.
    Brenda

    Hi Brenda, thanks so much, you are so sweet. Those flushed cheeks were from the high temps! πŸ™‚
    Frances

  48. Oh my goodness Frances, I’m certainly late to the party. Had I known I’d get to see your lovely face I would have rushed here sooner:) It’s wonderful to put a face with a name! What a garden nursery that is, too. Looks like it goes on forever:)

    Hi Jan, thanks, this party never ends so you are not late! πŸ™‚ There are more than a dozen greenhouses at Mouse Creek, all filled with goodies.
    Frances

  49. Dreamybee says:

    What beautiful flowers to complement a beautiful bride!

    Hi Dreamy, thanks so much. Semi was more beautiful than ever that wonderful day and the flowers came out great.
    Frances

  50. Pingback: Wildflower Waterfall With a Friend | Fairegarden

  51. Pingback: Spilling Blooms of Mid-June 2013 | Fairegarden

Comments are closed.